№Hgeocities.com/americanbundesliga/history.htmlgeocities.com/americanbundesliga/history.htmlelayedxйŽеJџџџџџџџџџџџџџџџџџџџџШ@ЗЃUOKtext/htmlpбыўбUџџџџb‰.HMon, 08 Dec 2003 23:30:42 GMT8Mozilla/4.5 (compatible; HTTrack 3.0x; Windows 98)en, *йŽеJU history
    Early soccer in Germany consisted of five regional leagues: North, West, South, Southwest, and Berlin (Oberligen Nord, Sud, West, Sudwest, und Berlin).  Every year the champions of every league would compete for a national title.  However, the players were amateurs and training and playing were merely for some leisure.  Although Germany won the 1954 world cup, the following tournaments were not so successful for germany making 4th and 7th place in the 1958 and 1962 world cups. 
     The German Men's National Team Head Coach,  Sepp Herberger, insisted that a national league be created.  He stated that," If we want to remain internationally competitive we have to improve our qualifications considerably on a nation-wide basis."  Although plans had started for a national league in the fifties, it wasn't until August 24th 1963 that the opening whistle for the bundesliga was blown. All the fears of the national league were soon over when the league showed impressive results as clubs would win european titles and the National Team would appear in six more wprld cup finals, and win three eurocups.
     The first season consisted of 16 teams, and developed into the 18 team league we know now.  Today there are eighteen teams in the first division and eighteen in the second, and at the end of every season the bottom three teams of the bundesliga (first division) and the top three teams of the bundesliga zwei (2nd division) switch places which gives more clubs the oppurtunity to play top-flight soccer.   

Bundesliga Winners:
2002-2003: Bayern Munich
2001-2002: Borussia Dortmund
2000-2001: Bayern Munich
1999-2000: Bayern Munich
1998-1999: Bayern Munich
1997-1998: Kaiserslautern
1996-1997: Bayern Munich
1995-1996: Borussia Dortmund
1994-1995: Borussia Dortmund
1993-1994: Bayern Munich
1992-1993: Werder Bremen
1991-1992: VfB Stuttgart
1990-1991: Kaiserslautern
1989-1990: Bayern Munich
1988-1989: Bayern Munich
1987-1988: Werder Bremen
1986-1987: Bayern Munich
1985-1986: Bayern Munich
1984-1985: Bayern Munich
1983-1984: VfB Stuttgart
1982-1983: SV Hamburg
1981-1982: SV Hamburg
1980-1981: Bayern Munich
1979-1980: Bayern Munich
1978-1979: SV Hamburg
1977-1978: Cologne
1976-1977: Borussia Moenchengladbach
1975-1976: Borussia Moenchengladbach
1974-1975: Borussia Moenchengladbach
1973-1974: Bayern Munich
1972-1973: Bayern Munich
1971-1972: Bayern Munich
1970-1971: Borussia Meochengladbach
1969-1970: Borussia Moechengladbach
1968-1969: Bayern Munich
1967-1968: Nuremburg
1966-1967: Eintracht Braunschweig
1965-1966: 1860 Munich
1964-1965: Werder Bremen
1963-1964: Cologne