History & Information |
Photographs | Map and Access Details |
The Griffiths Island
Lighthouse was built in 1859 by Scottish stonemasons out of bluestone. The
unique stairway is cut with each step being inserted in the next course of stone in the
Originally located on an area known as
Rabbit Island, the island has since been encompassed by the neighbouring
Griffiths Island. The last lighthouse keeper lived on the island from 1929 till 1954, with one
more lightkeeper employed for a short time before the light was automated.
||Port of Melbourne Authority
& short walk
flashing white and twice every 10
||Wind power and battery
tower painted white
* Lighthouses of Australia Inc
* Ibbotson, J. (2001) "Lighthouses of Australia: Images from the End
of an Era", Australian Lighthouse Traders
Photographed by K. Eggleston, 23 April 2000 © Kristie
& ACCESS DETAILS
The Lighthouse is located
on Griffiths Island, just off Port Fairy, which is accessed via a small
footbridge. It is a 400 metre walk across to the southern
tip of the island. The remains of the lighthouse keepers buildings and
gardens are also visible.
The island and lighthouse
reserve is accessible to the public, but the island has large areas
protected as mutton bird rookery reserves - keep to the marked tracks.
Page last updated: 28 December 2003
Copyright © 1999-2003 Kristie Eggleston.
All rights reserved.