A Hard Day's Night
Story Behind the Album
A Hard Day's Night is the third full length album from the Beatles, and it is also the first to have only Lennon/McCartney songs on it. John was writing prolifically at this point and wrote 10 of the 13 songs on the album.  If Paul's three songs don't sound like a lot, that is true, but their quality makes up for it.  His three songs were great hits with "Can't Buy Me Love" and "And I Love Her" reaching number one.  "Things We Said Today", while not receiving as much acclaim as the others, was also a great song and shows Paul is showing improvement all the time.  George sings a Lennon/McCartney song "I'm Happy Just To Dance With You" and Ringo, unfortunately, does not sing on the album.  As I said, John wrote most of the songs, and each of them show great improvement as well. His songs on there like the title track, "I'll Be Back", and "If I Fell" are probably the best written to date, with the latter one often being confused for a lovely McCartney ballad, but it shows John's sensitive side early on.  One of my personal favorites is "You Can't Do That", an upbeat Lennon song that displays his jealously openly.  His voice is very rough, and the music has a great upbeat tempo that gets me in a great mood. Intersting on that  track is that John plays the lead guitar and George is playing a 12 string for the first time.

The album is actually a soundtrack to the Beatles first movie, with the same title. The title itself generates from a mistake Ringo said.  The Beatles were working on the set and they went in at daylight.  As it was a tough day, Ringo, on the way out, commented that it was "A Hard Day...." and when he noticed it was night, he put "night" on the end of it.  When the producers and the other Beatles heard this, they thought it was hilarious, and it was thought that it would make a good title, if only a song could be written about it. It didn't take John long to come up with it.  The movie mirrored the lives of the Beatles at the time. Allen Owun, the writer, watched the Beatles for quite some time, and when he wrote the script he was careful to try and adequately display their personalities.  The Beatles act as their goofy selves and are the cause of some trouble around them.  To mix things up Paul's grandfather is brought along and he does much to stir up the plot.  (For more information on the movie see the movies link on the opening page).
Track Listing
1. A Hard Day's Night
2. I Should Have Known Better
3. If I Fell
4. I'm Happy Just To Dance With You
5. And I Love Her
6. Tell Me Why
7. Can't Buy Me Love
8. Any Time At All
9. I'll Cry Instead
10. Things We Said Today
11. When I Get Home
12. You Can't Do That
13. I'll Be Back
Albums Page
Previous Album
Next Album