Rubber Soul
Story Behind the Album
  Rubber Soul is one of the best albums made by the Beatles.  Like Help, it is a progressive album, and when you compare it to the upcoming albums you can see the transition.  At this point the Beatles are exanding in every horizon.  The musical melody is changing dramatically, as is the content, and the personal lives of the Beatles.
  Like on the last albums, John's songs are becoming more introspective and mellow feeling.  This is due to pot, but also the Beatles were maturing.  John's songs like "No Where Man" show an increasing depressive state, that shows John as a normal man who goes through the same crisis as most do.  In "Norwegian Wood(This Bird Has Flown)", he tells an amusing story that is about an affair he had on his wife, Cynthia.  The song uses a new instrument that will frequently be used in Beatles songs, the sitar.  George, through Help, discovered his affinity for Indian music (later the culture), and decides to learn to play the sitar.  Since "Norwegian Wood" needed something to make it different, they decided to use the sitar on it.  Other of John's songs that show a transition are "The Word", "Girl" and "In My Life".  The latter of which many consider their favorite Beatles song, and has been covered many many times.  The content in that song is entirely different than that of other Beatles songs, as John is now more serious and personal, yet it connects deeply with people.  With "The Word", John is demonstrating a movement would soon sweep the 60s, the hippie movement.
  Paul's songs on the album also show definite improvement.  It is ironic though, that John's songs are more sensitive, and Paul, on this album, is very harsh, especially towards women, specifically his girlfriend Jane Asher.  He shows his dissatisfaction with women in songs like "You Won't See Me" and "I'm Looking Through You".  The words to these songs are very harsh and uncharacteristic of Paul.  He strikes a hit with "Michelle", which is a song that suits Paul as it is very melodic, but the bluesy chorus sets it apart from other love songs.
   On this album, like Help, we see two new Harrison compositions.  Each of these show George is improving rapidly and keeping up with the great compositions of Lennon/McCartney.  His songs "Think For Yourself" and "If I Needed Someone", also tackle serious issues.   Ringo also gets one song, like before, and he also helped to write this song.  Although it is not the greatest song, it shows his improvement as well.
   Rubber Soul is a great album from the Beatles, to understate.  It was  great marker of the   60s and it also was  a great indicator of the times to come.  Also, the Beatles on this album are far different than the mop tops. They are now much more serious, worn out from fame, experienced, innnovative, and all except Paul are married.  Even the title and the picture indicate growth and change as the faces seem older, wiser, unsmiling, and the hari, for that time was unconceivably long.  Also the photo is elongated, showing a strange effect, and the title itself is a pun, which shows the growth and change of the Beatles.
Track Listing
1. Drive My Car
2. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
3. You Won't See Me
4. Nowhere Man
5. Think For Yourself [Harrison]
6. The Word
7. Michelle
8. What Goes On [Lennon/McCartney/Starkey]
9. Girl
10. I'm Looking Through You
11. In My Life
12. Wait
13. If I Needed Someone
14. Run For Your Life
Albums Page
Previous Album
Next Album