The Augustinians Fathers
founded Sara into a pueblo in the year 1877 under the patronage of Saint
John the Baptist, whose feast is celebrated on June 24th. Later
on, it became a regular parish in 1895 with father Paulino Diaz as curate.
Formerly a miserable barrio called San Juan, Sara was transformed into
a prosperous town, rich and aesthetically urbanized through the indefatigable
efforts of its first parish priest. Its ancient church was of curate and
classically constructed, flanked by two beautiful towers excellently fabricated;
its parochial school tribunal was built of stone and rubble work; its cemetery
was made of stone with a beautiful chapel and iron gate with picturesque
gardens, well-illuminated patio and a plaza, also systematically constructed.
Northeastern portion of
Iloilo Province and on the eastern side of Panay Island at coordinates
123 degree 00' 68" longitude and 11 degree 15' 13".
Land area - 18,300
Land use Built-up - 185.05 hectares
Agriculture - 14,241.62
Forest - 3,150.00 hectares
Open Spaces - 85.00 hectares
Open Grass Land - 500.00
Others (Park) - 138.34 hectares
Topography Mountain ranges at the northern
part of the town that occupies about 1/10 of the whole area.
Climate - Type II
Population - 38,528
PLACES / EVENTS
San Juan Falls
Birds Sanctuary, Samponong