Handbook Addendum - 5/11/01
Rules Advisory List
Shane Beddingfield, Steve Crow, David KW Derksen, Ted M. Dickinson, Tomi Griesenauer, Ronald Laufer, Bruce Loebrich, Randall McManamy, Stealth Dave, Tim Small (apologies if I neglected anyone)
Addendum for Highlander: The Card Game - Version 2001.3.20.
Copyright © 1995-2001 Thunder Castle Games - All Rights Reserved. This document may be freely reproduced and distributed, so long as it remains unaltered and the copyright notice is preserved. Highlander is a protected trademark of Davis-Panzer Production & Gaumont Television, used under license.
This Handbook Addendum, along with the associated Rulebook and the original Handbook, replaces and supercedes all official or sanctioned documents and rulings, including Rulebooks, Erratas, FAQs, and Databases, about the rules and text of Highlander the Card Game released before this Handbook and its addended material.
Unlike the Rulebook, this Handbook and its addendum are not designed to be read straight through. If you have not read the Rulebook, you should probably do so to gain at least a basic understanding of the game. This Handbook is a reference tool best utilized when questions arise during Deck Construction, Game Play, and Tournaments. The most recent errata'd card text is included for all of the cards that are legal to use when playing the game.
There are several stylistic conventions used in this document. This is to make things consistent throughout the document, and more importantly, to make it easier for the player to quickly recognize important terms and concepts. These words and phrases all have their own entries that you might need to read as well to fully understand an entry.
This addendum document is officially sanctioned by Thunder Castle Games as of 5/11/01. It is advised that you check with your tournament judge to make sure they have a copy of these rules, as well as the Handbook and On-Line Rulebook, and make sure that they are in effect.
9mm[AT] - S2 - Kinman - 1H - OBJECT
Armory and Rearming- The Armory: Situation does not cause a player to re-arm if it is played while that player is disarmed. It merely prevents players from being disarmed while it is in play. While The Armory is in play, you may not play cards which may disarm your opponent.
Arms and Tactics: "Break Glass"- If your opponent has several cards in play that prevent you from playing a certain type of card, you may use the Arms and Tactics: "Break Glass" (that allows you to ignore prevent effects, or "break glass" ceilings) to ignore ALL cards and effects that prevent you from playing any types of cards.
Attacks - Damage- Unless an Attack states otherwise, it will do 2 damage if successful. Any additional damage done by the Attack is added on to this base amount.
Combination[all editions] - Connor, Duncan, Gen Katana, Kalas, Kastagir, Khan, Kurgan, Luther, Nakano, Nefertiri, Kinman, Richie, Silas - EVENT
Controlling An Opponent's Cards In Play- Only cards that are in play can be controlled. When a player takes control of an opponent's card that is already in play, he also takes control of any cards that are played "on" that card, such as Hidden Resources, Watcher: Revealed, and Security Guard, or any cards underneath that card, such as Dojo and Four Horsemen: Situation. Players may take control of an opponent's Signature cards, but may not take control of an opponent's Pre-Game cards even though they are "in play". While you are controlling a card, it is considered to be "your card" until it leaves play, and is subject to effects that affect "your cards".
Damage - reducing to zero- When damage is "reduced to zero", this occurs after all additions to damage, as long as the effect that is reducing damage to 0 is in play. An attack that does a base 0 damage may be modified upwards.
Disarming & Breaking Weapons- During the course of the game, you may become Disarmed, or your weapon may be broken. If your weapon is broken, you are considered to be Disarmed. While disarmed, you may not play Attacks or Blocks. At the beginning of your turn, in your 'May Do' phase, you have a 1 in 6 chance of recovering your weapon. You do not have this chance if your weapon was broken. Being disarmed is not considered to be prevention.
Disarming and Weapons of Choice- If your opponent has disarmed you, he then chooses which Weapon of Choice has been Disarmed. It is then turned over and has no effect on game play and you cannot play any Weapon Specific cards for that Weapon of Choice. Even though you may have another Weapon of Choice that is not disarmed, you may still roll a die at the beginning of each turn and on a one (1) will regain your disarmed weapon. Also, as long as you have one Weapon of Choice in play, you can still attack and block normally (unless a card says otherwise, i.e., Shield). This includes using Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice. You may only rearm with a weapon that you started the game with.
Discipline (all versions)- Discipline only works when you are prevented from playing Attacks or Special cards (as appropriate) specifically by a card in play.
Duplicating a Card's Effects - If you are duplicating a card's effects, you do not need to
meet any of the requirements for that card to achieve duplication. However, if the card
duplicated has other requirements to achieve its effect, those effects must be met.
Any card or effect that modifies the card being duplicated is also duplicated.
Example 1: Player A plays Police: Remove Situation in conjunction with 3 Excessive Force. Nakano duplicates the Police, and the effects of Excessive Force which modified the Police are also duplicated.
Example 2: Ceirdwyn has Flashback: Ceirdwyn in play. Her opponent plays Watcher: Treatment and Princes of the Universe. Ceirdwyn duplicates the Princes of the Universe using her Flashback and gains 1 Ability for Princes of the Universe.
Example 3: Nakano's opponent plays Watcher: Treatment and Princes of the Universe, gaining 3 Ability. Nakano discards a Special to duplicate the effects of Watcher: Treatment and gains 2 Ability, not 3. Princes of the Universe's effect is not duplicated because it does not modify Watcher: Treatment.
Example 4: Nakano's opponent legally plays Unholy Alliance: Ambush (pt. 3), and discards Unholy Alliance: Alliance and Unholy Alliance: Discovery. Nakano can duplicate Unholy Alliance: Ambush (pt. 3) on his next turn, but unless he also discards an Unholy Alliance: Alliance and Discovery, it has no effect.
Empathy(PROMO) - 3 - [Generic] - SITUATION
Focused Strike- Your opponent cannot Power Block this Attack using any card or effect.
Four Horsemen and Persona Specific cards- While Four Horsemen is in play, ALL Persona Specific cards, whether or not they belong to the Persona you are playing, are placed underneath Four Horsemen.
Illegal Cards- The following cards are banned from tournament play:
Face of Death: Fasil (misprint from Methos Collection)
Quickening: Duncan with the text of a Duncan +1 Premium (misprint from Duncan Collection)
Duncan: Premium with the text of a Duncan Quickening (misprint from Duncan Collection)
Players may not use cards in their deck not printed by Thunder Castle Games made specifically for Highlander: The Card Game, nor may players used marked cards. Players may use marked Pre-Game cards (such as signed Persona cards) if allowed by the tournament judge. The Eyes Have It plot is legal for tournament play ONLY if it announced in advance that it will be legal for that tournament, and that all players in the tournament understand what the text of The Eyes Have It says (i.e., you trade The Eyes Have It permanently for a single card in your opponent's Discard Pile; you keep the card from his Discard pile and he keeps The Eyes Have It plot).
Immortal Research: Methos and "in conjunction" cards- When playing a card from your opponent's Hand using Immortal Research, you may play cards from your own Hand, make an Exertion, or perform any other action in conjunction with that card.
Impressive Move[ME] - 2 - [Generic] - EVENT
Improvised Weapon[ME] - OOO/OSO/OOO - 3 - [Generic] - SPECIAL ATTACK: RANGED
Improvised Weapon: Objects and Head Shots- While you have Improvised Weapon: Objects in play, you are not only prevented from playing the Head Shot: Event, you also may not make any attack a Head Shot, including the various Master's Head Shot Attacks and the Destruction Plot from Movie Edition.
Incense of Pain- When you gain ability, add the amount of Ability to the number of Incense of Pain objects in play, and multiply by 3. That is the number of cards that are discarded from the top of your Endurance. This card has no restriction number, and is not Reserved or Signature.
Joe Dawson[WC] - [Generic] - SITUATION
Kanwulf and Persona Power- Kanwulf may use a single aspect of his Persona Power several times within the limits of his Persona text.
Kanwulf and War Axe- War Axe is considered to be a one-handed weapon with a 1-hand icon when used by Kanwulf for all intents and purposes, both during pre-game and set up and during the course of the game.
Losing Attacks- If you "lose" an attack, you lose your first available attack.
Losing the Game and Checking for 0 Ability- Checking for 0 ability at the beginning of the attack phase cannot normally be skipped - only effects that specifically say to skip checking for 0 ability to see if the game ends will allow this.
Master's Attack: Richie and duplicating Attacks- When duplicating an opponent's Attack, Master's Attack: Richie takes on all characteristics of that Attack once it is played, including whether or not it is a Special Attack. Richie may still play Master's Attack from an Exertion to duplicate a Special Attack because it does not become a Special Attack until after it is played. When duplicating one of several of an opponent's multiple Attacks, Richie must declare which Attack is being duplicated as Master's Attack is played. If Richie is duplicating a Hidden Attack from one of several Hidden Attacks that his opponent has played, he should write down on a piece of paper which Attack is being duplicated as he plays Master's Attack.
Master's Disarm: Fasil and Disarm cards- Master's Disarm: Fasil refers to any "Disarm" card. You can play another Master's Disarm, and can play Disarm: Events.
Master's Dodge[SE/ME] - DDD/DDD/DDD - Connor, Duncan - DODGE
Master's Tactician[4H] - S3 - Xavier - SITUATION
Monkey [4H] - [Generic] -
You may play another Monkey this turn. Your opponent must discard a number of cards equal to the number of Monkeys in play at the end of your turn.
nullify- Example is no longer relevant with revision to Monkey. "one in play" - If a card says that you can only have one in play, you cannot play another such card and then choose to remove one or the other of these cards. Playing the second card would be illegal (but is not prevention.
Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice with a "generic" weapon- Even though you are assumed to have a one-handed weapon if you do not play with a Weapon of Choice, this "generic" weapon is not itself a Weapon of Choice. Therefore, you can not choose to use a Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice by itself.
Pre-Game Cards and "in play" - Pre-Game cards are always considered to be in play unless removed from play.
Prevention- If a card or effect forbids you from playing a card or performing an action that you would normally be allowed to do, such as saying that you cannot do something, or you may only play some cards and excluding others, or you cannot play a card unless you do [X], you are being prevented from doing that action. An exception to this rule is that a Defense that you play does not prevent you from playing an Attack. Also, if you lose Attacks or have no Attack Phase, you are not prevented from attacking; you simply do not have the opportunity to attack. Being Prone or Disarmed is not considered to be prevention.
Removing Cards from the game and Darius: Event- If Darius: Event is removed from the game, the card that it brings into the game is removed normally (as per the on-line rulebook). The owner of the Darius removed chooses which card Darius is removing. If Darius is removed from the game, and that player has a Masters Cannot Be Countered or Removed From The Game (MCBC) Premium in play, AND the player chooses a Master card allowed by Darius, the Master card is not removed from the deck, but the card cannot be played unless it is played in conjunction with another Darius.
Richie Ryan[SE] - Richie - PERSONA
Safe House[4H] - [Generic] - SITUATION
Scorn[SE] - [Generic] - SITUATION
Shield(AT) - Weapon of Choice
Shield and playing Basic Blocks as Guards- When you play a Basic Block while you have Shield in play, you must declare as you play the Block if you will keep it in play as a Guard. You may still play Basic Blocks if you are prevented from playing Guards (i.e. Ruins), although you may not declare them as Guards in this case. You cannot normally have more then one Guard in play.
Signature Cards- Signature cards are similar to Reserved cards in that only the Immortal named on the card (Immortal Specific name) may include that card in their deck. However, Signature cards can not be used or included by any Persona other than the one named on the card BY ANY MEANS. The Restriction number on a Signature card, if present, cannot be altered by other cards or effects. Signature cards also cannot have their implied limit of 6 cards increased beyond 6, such as through Xavier's power or Quickening. Signature cards have a sword symbol wrapped with an "S" in the upper right hand corner of the card.
Special Attack or Block- Some cards state that they are both a Special Attack and a Block. At any given time, this card is either a Special Attack or a Block. While it is in your Hand, it is either, your choice.
Target - (Additional material)- Disarming someone is considered to target the player's weapon, not the player himself. Tripping Events do target a player.
Weapons of Choice: Secondary Weapons- You may use two Weapons of Choice together that state "you may use this Weapon if you are using another Weapon of Choice".
Yuk-Hsui Chun[4H] - 3 - [Generic] - SITUATION