Handbook Addendum - 5/11/01

Rules Advisory List

Shane Beddingfield, Steve Crow, David KW Derksen, Ted M. Dickinson, Tomi Griesenauer, Ronald Laufer, Bruce Loebrich, Randall McManamy, Stealth Dave, Tim Small (apologies if I neglected anyone)

Addendum for Highlander: The Card Game - Version 2001.3.20.

Copyright © 1995-2001 Thunder Castle Games - All Rights Reserved. This document may be freely reproduced and distributed, so long as it remains unaltered and the copyright notice is preserved. Highlander is a protected trademark of Davis-Panzer Production & Gaumont Television, used under license.

This Handbook Addendum, along with the associated Rulebook and the original Handbook, replaces and supercedes all official or sanctioned documents and rulings, including Rulebooks, Erratas, FAQs, and Databases, about the rules and text of Highlander the Card Game released before this Handbook and its addended material.

Unlike the Rulebook, this Handbook and its addendum are not designed to be read straight through. If you have not read the Rulebook, you should probably do so to gain at least a basic understanding of the game. This Handbook is a reference tool best utilized when questions arise during Deck Construction, Game Play, and Tournaments. The most recent errata'd card text is included for all of the cards that are legal to use when playing the game.

There are several stylistic conventions used in this document. This is to make things consistent throughout the document, and more importantly, to make it easier for the player to quickly recognize important terms and concepts. These words and phrases all have their own entries that you might need to read as well to fully understand an entry.

This addendum document is officially sanctioned by Thunder Castle Games as of 5/11/01. It is advised that you check with your tournament judge to make sure they have a copy of these rules, as well as the Handbook and On-Line Rulebook, and make sure that they are in effect.

9mm [AT] - S2 - Kinman - 1H - OBJECT
When played, place up to 9 Basic Attacks from your hand under 9mm. If you do not play any attacks or Special cards during your turn, you may play one attack from under each 9mm as a 1-point Ranged Attack even if you have two Hand Icons in play or you are disarmed.

Armory and Rearming - The Armory: Situation does not cause a player to re-arm if it is played while that player is disarmed. It merely prevents players from being disarmed while it is in play. While The Armory is in play, you may not play cards which may disarm your opponent.
Example 1: Player A is disarmed. Player B plays The Armory. Player A is still disarmed.
Example 2: The Armory is in play. Player B has Master's Disarm: Fasil in his Hand, but cannot play it because The Armory states that you may not be disarmed while it is in play.

Arms and Tactics: "Break Glass" - If your opponent has several cards in play that prevent you from playing a certain type of card, you may use the Arms and Tactics: "Break Glass" (that allows you to ignore prevent effects, or "break glass" ceilings) to ignore ALL cards and effects that prevent you from playing any types of cards.
Example 1: Honor Bound, Intimidate: Slan Quince, and Catwalk are all in play, and you are disarmed. You may use a single Arms and Tactics: "Break Glass" to ignore the prevent effects of Honor Bound, Intimidate: Slan Quince, and Catwalk, but you are still disarmed and cannot play Attacks or Blocks.
Example 2: Your opponent plays Intimidate: Kalas on his turn, which prevents you from making an Exertion. You may not use Arms and Tactics: "Break Glass" to allow you to make an Exertion that turn, as Arms and Tactics: "Break Glass" only works against effects that prevent you from playing cards.

Attacks - Damage - Unless an Attack states otherwise, it will do 2 damage if successful. Any additional damage done by the Attack is added on to this base amount.
Example: Player A plays 3 consecutive Flurry Strikes. Each Flurry Strike does an additional point of damage for each other Flurry Strike played that turn. If successful, each Flurry Strike will do 4 points of damage; 2 + 1 + 1. The Flurry Strike doing the damage is not counted when calculating its damage. (This is a correction to the Example in the Handbook)

Combination [all editions] - Connor, Duncan, Gen Katana, Kalas, Kastagir, Khan, Kurgan, Luther, Nakano, Nefertiri, Kinman, Richie, Silas - EVENT
You may play an additional Attack this turn. If you make more than 1 Attack this turn, this Attack may be Hidden.

Controlling An Opponent's Cards In Play - Only cards that are in play can be controlled. When a player takes control of an opponent's card that is already in play, he also takes control of any cards that are played "on" that card, such as Hidden Resources, Watcher: Revealed, and Security Guard, or any cards underneath that card, such as Dojo and Four Horsemen: Situation. Players may take control of an opponent's Signature cards, but may not take control of an opponent's Pre-Game cards even though they are "in play". While you are controlling a card, it is considered to be "your card" until it leaves play, and is subject to effects that affect "your cards".
Example 1: Kronos has End of Time in play. Kane plays Shapeshift and trades Nexus with End of Time, even though End of Time is Signature. Kane may use End of Time as his own.
Example 2: Player A has a Thunder Castle Games card in play. Player B may not use Impulse to take control of that card.
Example 3: Player A has Garfield in his Discard pile. Player B may not use Impulse to take control of that card.
Example 4: Kane has a Masters Cannot Be Countered (MCBC) Premium in play, and plays his opponent's Master card from the top of his deck. That Master card cannot be countered because it is considered to be Kane's card until it leaves play

Damage - reducing to zero - When damage is "reduced to zero", this occurs after all additions to damage, as long as the effect that is reducing damage to 0 is in play. An attack that does a base 0 damage may be modified upwards.
Example 1: Player A completes the Blood of Kings plot, which reduces his opponent's next 3 successful Attacks to zero. The Kurgan plays a Thrust, which does 2 points of damage plus an additional point of damage for its card text PLUS an additional point of damage for The Kurgan's Persona Power. The Attack still does zero damage when damage is resolved.
Example 2: Duncan has the Kurgan Quickening (+1 damage) in play. He plays Leg Sweep, which does a base 0 damage. If the Leg Sweep is successful, it will do 1 damage.

Disarming & Breaking Weapons - During the course of the game, you may become Disarmed, or your weapon may be broken. If your weapon is broken, you are considered to be Disarmed. While disarmed, you may not play Attacks or Blocks. At the beginning of your turn, in your 'May Do' phase, you have a 1 in 6 chance of recovering your weapon. You do not have this chance if your weapon was broken. Being disarmed is not considered to be prevention.

Disarming and Weapons of Choice - If your opponent has disarmed you, he then chooses which Weapon of Choice has been Disarmed. It is then turned over and has no effect on game play and you cannot play any Weapon Specific cards for that Weapon of Choice. Even though you may have another Weapon of Choice that is not disarmed, you may still roll a die at the beginning of each turn and on a one (1) will regain your disarmed weapon. Also, as long as you have one Weapon of Choice in play, you can still attack and block normally (unless a card says otherwise, i.e., Shield). This includes using Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice. You may only rearm with a weapon that you started the game with.
Example: Player A has Claymore in play and is disarmed. During his Sweep Phase, he rolls a 1 and rearms. He must rearm with the Claymore; he cannot rearm with another Weapon of Choice or the default one-handed weapon.

Discipline (all versions) - Discipline only works when you are prevented from playing Attacks or Special cards (as appropriate) specifically by a card in play.
Example 1: Player A plays Fast Talk: Hugh Fitzcairn. Player B has Discipline in her Hand, which explicitly gives permission to play Discipline if she is prevented from playing a Special card from her Hand or "any cards". She may now play cards as normal, since Fast Talk, a Special card, is preventing her from playing "any cards" and Discipline/Special gives permission to play itself in this case.
Example 2: Player A has Safe Haven: Situation in play. Player B plays Discipline (Attacks). Player B may now play Attacks, but is still prevented from playing any Special cards which may do damage to Player A.
Example 3: Slan Quince plays Intimidate. His opponent plays Discipline: Special in her hand. She plays it and is now allowed to attack since Intimidate, a Special card, is preventing her from playing "any card" (in this case, an Attack).

Duplicating a Card's Effects - If you are duplicating a card's effects, you do not need to meet any of the requirements for that card to achieve duplication. However, if the card duplicated has other requirements to achieve its effect, those effects must be met. Any card or effect that modifies the card being duplicated is also duplicated.
Example 1: Player A plays Police: Remove Situation in conjunction with 3 Excessive Force. Nakano duplicates the Police, and the effects of Excessive Force which modified the Police are also duplicated.
Example 2: Ceirdwyn has Flashback: Ceirdwyn in play. Her opponent plays Watcher: Treatment and Princes of the Universe. Ceirdwyn duplicates the Princes of the Universe using her Flashback and gains 1 Ability for Princes of the Universe.
Example 3: Nakano's opponent plays Watcher: Treatment and Princes of the Universe, gaining 3 Ability. Nakano discards a Special to duplicate the effects of Watcher: Treatment and gains 2 Ability, not 3. Princes of the Universe's effect is not duplicated because it does not modify Watcher: Treatment.
Example 4: Nakano's opponent legally plays Unholy Alliance: Ambush (pt. 3), and discards Unholy Alliance: Alliance and Unholy Alliance: Discovery. Nakano can duplicate Unholy Alliance: Ambush (pt. 3) on his next turn, but unless he also discards an Unholy Alliance: Alliance and Discovery, it has no effect.

Empathy (PROMO) - 3 - [Generic] - SITUATION
If you are forced to discard cards from your hand by your opponent you may discard Empathy to force your opponent to discard the same number of cards from his hand at the beginning of his next turn.

Focused Strike - Your opponent cannot Power Block this Attack using any card or effect.
Example: Duncan plays an Upper Left Attack in conjunction with Focused Strike, and makes an Exertion to make that Attack a Power Blow. Luther plays an Upper Center Block, but cannot make it a Power Block even though he may normally do so without an Exertion. (This is a correction to the Example in the Handbook)

Four Horsemen and Persona Specific cards - While Four Horsemen is in play, ALL Persona Specific cards, whether or not they belong to the Persona you are playing, are placed underneath Four Horsemen.
Example: Richie Ryan has Four Horsemen in play. During his turn, he plays Trip: Duncan and Master's Attack: Richie. On his next turn during his Sweep Phase, both cards are placed underneath Four Horsemen.

Illegal Cards - The following cards are banned from tournament play:

Face of Death: Fasil (misprint from Methos Collection)

Quickening: Duncan with the text of a Duncan +1 Premium (misprint from Duncan Collection)

Duncan: Premium with the text of a Duncan Quickening (misprint from Duncan Collection)

Players may not use cards in their deck not printed by Thunder Castle Games made specifically for Highlander: The Card Game, nor may players used marked cards. Players may use marked Pre-Game cards (such as signed Persona cards) if allowed by the tournament judge. The Eyes Have It plot is legal for tournament play ONLY if it announced in advance that it will be legal for that tournament, and that all players in the tournament understand what the text of The Eyes Have It says (i.e., you trade The Eyes Have It permanently for a single card in your opponent's Discard Pile; you keep the card from his Discard pile and he keeps The Eyes Have It plot).

Immortal Research: Methos and "in conjunction" cards - When playing a card from your opponent's Hand using Immortal Research, you may play cards from your own Hand, make an Exertion, or perform any other action in conjunction with that card.
Example: Methos plays Immortal Research in his Attack Phase, and wants to play his opponent's Head Shot: Event. He may do so, playing an Upper attack from his own hand to do so. He may even Exert for an Upper attack, as this is permitted by the rules.

Impressive Move [ME] - 2 - [Generic] - EVENT
Play during your attack phase. Your opponent cannot draw any cards during his next turn.

Improvised Weapon [ME] - OOO/OSO/OOO - 3 - [Generic] - SPECIAL ATTACK: RANGED
This Attack does no damage. If this Attack is successful your opponent must take the top 3 cards from his Endurance and place them in his Discard Pile. You may play this Attack even if disarmed.

Improvised Weapon: Objects and Head Shots - While you have Improvised Weapon: Objects in play, you are not only prevented from playing the Head Shot: Event, you also may not make any attack a Head Shot, including the various Master's Head Shot Attacks and the Destruction Plot from Movie Edition.

Incense of Pain - When you gain ability, add the amount of Ability to the number of Incense of Pain objects in play, and multiply by 3. That is the number of cards that are discarded from the top of your Endurance. This card has no restriction number, and is not Reserved or Signature.

Joe Dawson [WC] - [Generic] - SITUATION
Discard Joe Dawson to duplicate the effects of any Watcher Event played on your opponent's last turn. Or, you may discard Joe Dawson to remove James Horton from play.

Kanwulf and Persona Power - Kanwulf may use a single aspect of his Persona Power several times within the limits of his Persona text.
Example: Kanwulf discards 3 defenses from his hand. As per his Persona Power, he plays 3 additional non-Special Attacks that turn.

Kanwulf and War Axe - War Axe is considered to be a one-handed weapon with a 1-hand icon when used by Kanwulf for all intents and purposes, both during pre-game and set up and during the course of the game.

Losing Attacks - If you "lose" an attack, you lose your first available attack.
Example: Player A has Rapier in play and plays Dodge, which causes him to lose an attack. He loses his first attack, but can still play a non-Special Attack as per Rapier. He may NOT play a Special Attack if Rapier is his only means of playing an additional attack that turn.

Losing the Game and Checking for 0 Ability - Checking for 0 ability at the beginning of the attack phase cannot normally be skipped - only effects that specifically say to skip checking for 0 ability to see if the game ends will allow this.
Example: Player A is reduced to 0 Ability on his last Ability Adjustment Phase. On his next turn he plays Holy Ground (Discard 4) during his Defense Phase. Although this card causes him to skip his attack phase this turn, it does not specifically say to skip checking for 0 Ability at the beginning of his attack phase. The game ends.

Master's Attack: Richie and duplicating Attacks - When duplicating an opponent's Attack, Master's Attack: Richie takes on all characteristics of that Attack once it is played, including whether or not it is a Special Attack. Richie may still play Master's Attack from an Exertion to duplicate a Special Attack because it does not become a Special Attack until after it is played. When duplicating one of several of an opponent's multiple Attacks, Richie must declare which Attack is being duplicated as Master's Attack is played. If Richie is duplicating a Hidden Attack from one of several Hidden Attacks that his opponent has played, he should write down on a piece of paper which Attack is being duplicated as he plays Master's Attack.

Master's Disarm: Fasil and Disarm cards - Master's Disarm: Fasil refers to any "Disarm" card. You can play another Master's Disarm, and can play Disarm: Events.
Example: Richie Ryan has Master's Disarm: Fasil, Master's Disarm: Kurgan, and Disarm: Event in his Hand. He plays Master's Disarm: Fasil in conjunction with Disarm: Event for a 3 in 6 chance at disarming his opponent. He can also play Master's Disarm: Kurgan in conjunction with Master's Disarm: Fasil for a 4 in 6 chance.

Master's Dodge [SE/ME] - DDD/DDD/DDD - Connor, Duncan - DODGE
[no text]

Master's Tactician [4H] - S3 - Xavier - SITUATION
At the beginning of each of your turns choose any Situation in play. This card duplicates the text, title, and effects of the chosen Situation as long as the chosen Situation remains in play.

Monkey [4H] - [Generic] - SITUATION
You may play another Monkey this turn. Your opponent must discard a number of cards equal to the number of Monkeys in play at the end of your turn.

nullify - Example is no longer relevant with revision to Monkey.

"one in play" - If a card says that you can only have one in play, you cannot play another such card and then choose to remove one or the other of these cards. Playing the second card would be illegal (but is not prevention.
Example 1: Simple Mind is in play. Its owner cannot play a second Situation and then remove that Situation from play, because the initial play of the second Situation is illegal.
Example 2: Silas has Quality Blade: War Axe in play. He cannot play a second Quality Blade, because Quality Blade: War Axe states "You may only have one Quality Blade in play."

Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice with a "generic" weapon - Even though you are assumed to have a one-handed weapon if you do not play with a Weapon of Choice, this "generic" weapon is not itself a Weapon of Choice. Therefore, you can not choose to use a Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice by itself.

Pre-Game Cards and "in play" - Pre-Game cards are always considered to be in play unless removed from play.

Prevention - If a card or effect forbids you from playing a card or performing an action that you would normally be allowed to do, such as saying that you cannot do something, or you may only play some cards and excluding others, or you cannot play a card unless you do [X], you are being prevented from doing that action. An exception to this rule is that a Defense that you play does not prevent you from playing an Attack. Also, if you lose Attacks or have no Attack Phase, you are not prevented from attacking; you simply do not have the opportunity to attack. Being Prone or Disarmed is not considered to be prevention.
Example 1: Your next Attack cannot be blocked or dodged is a prevent action.
Example 2: Master's Advance states that you must Discard a Dodge to play a Dodge, thereby preventing you from playing a Dodge.
Example 3: Player A plays Fast Talk: Hugh Fitzcairn. Player B plays Discipline: Special, which specifically allows it to play itself if you are prevented from playing Edge cards.
Example 4: Slaughterhouse is in play. Player A plays an Upper Center Attack. Player B plays an Upper Guard and has only Upper Attacks in his Hand. Even though he cannot attack to areas covered by the Guard, he is not prevented from playing an Attack. On his next turn, Player A cannot play a Special card due to Slaughterhouse.
Example 5: Pedestrian (Hidden Attack) is in play, which states that you may only play Hidden Attacks. This prevents you from playing Attacks that are not Hidden.
Example 6: Distraction says that you lose an Attack. You are not prevented from attacking.
Example 7: Kronos says that his opponent cannot play more Attacks than he did. He is therefore preventing you from playing additional Attacks beyond the number of Attacks that Kronos played.
Example 8: Chessex and Holy Ground (Discard 4) both tell you to skip your Attack Phase. You are not prevented from attacking, you simply do not have the opportunity to attack.

Removing Cards from the game and Darius: Event - If Darius: Event is removed from the game, the card that it brings into the game is removed normally (as per the on-line rulebook). The owner of the Darius removed chooses which card Darius is removing. If Darius is removed from the game, and that player has a Masters Cannot Be Countered or Removed From The Game (MCBC) Premium in play, AND the player chooses a Master card allowed by Darius, the Master card is not removed from the deck, but the card cannot be played unless it is played in conjunction with another Darius.
Example 1: Player A has 3 Darius cards in his deck, which allow him to include Master's Attack: Duncan, Disguise: Kurgan, and Battle Rage: Annie Devlin. Player B plays Amnesia and removes a Darius from Player A's Discard pile from the game. Player A must choose any one of his 3 Darius'd cards and remove it from the game along with Darius.
Example 2: In Example 1, Player A has an MCBC Premium in play and chooses Master's Attack: Duncan as the card Darius brought into his deck. Darius is removed from the deck, but Master's Attack: Duncan is not. Player A may still play Master's Attack: Duncan as long as it is played in conjunction with one of his remaining Darius.

Richie Ryan [SE] - Richie - PERSONA
You may use one non-Signature Immortal Specific card from each Persona. You may include up to five Master cards.

Safe House [4H] - [Generic] - SITUATION
Place all Allies in your hand under this card when it enters play. Instead of playing a Special card on your turn you may play an Ally from under this card as if from your hand. If your opponent removes this card from play, place all cards under it into play during your next turn.

Scorn [SE] - [Generic] - SITUATION
While this card is in play, target player loses 2 Ability. This card is removed from play after your opponent's next 2 turns.

Shield (AT) - Weapon of Choice
You may use the Shield if you are using another one-handed (1 Hand Icon) Weapon of Choice in play. Play this card before the game begins. You can only attack as if disarmed if the only Weapon of Choice you are armed with is Shield. Any basic block you play may remain in play as a Guard and is considered to be a Standing Defense. At the beginning of your turn, you must discard the top card of your Endurance for each Guard you have in play.

Shield and playing Basic Blocks as Guards - When you play a Basic Block while you have Shield in play, you must declare as you play the Block if you will keep it in play as a Guard. You may still play Basic Blocks if you are prevented from playing Guards (i.e. Ruins), although you may not declare them as Guards in this case. You cannot normally have more then one Guard in play.

Signature Cards - Signature cards are similar to Reserved cards in that only the Immortal named on the card (Immortal Specific name) may include that card in their deck. However, Signature cards can not be used or included by any Persona other than the one named on the card BY ANY MEANS. The Restriction number on a Signature card, if present, cannot be altered by other cards or effects. Signature cards also cannot have their implied limit of 6 cards increased beyond 6, such as through Xavier's power or Quickening. Signature cards have a sword symbol wrapped with an "S" in the upper right hand corner of the card.
Example 1: Richie Ryan may not include Hogg: Kern.
Example 2: Hugh Fitzcairn may not use Darius: Pre-Game to include a third Fast Talk.
Example 3: Caspian is using the Quickening which allows you to include twice the number of Situation: Plots normally allowed in your deck (Xavier Quickening). He may still only include 4 Famine because it is Signature.

Special Attack or Block - Some cards state that they are both a Special Attack and a Block. At any given time, this card is either a Special Attack or a Block. While it is in your Hand, it is either, your choice.
When you play a Special Attack or Block, it is played as either a Block or a Special Attack.
Example: Player A has Master Swordsman in his hand. Battlefield is in play. Fitzcairn plays Charm. Player A decides to make Master Swordsman a Defense during his Must Do phase when he responds to Charm. He is not required to discard Master Swordsman from his hand. Then, he resolves the Battlefield's effect. Player A then makes Master Swordsman a Special Attack, and he does not have to discard it.

Target - (Additional material) - Disarming someone is considered to target the player's weapon, not the player himself. Tripping Events do target a player.
Example 3: Methos has Secret Identity in play. His opponent may play Events to try and trip Methos, but they have no effect.

Weapons of Choice: Secondary Weapons - You may use two Weapons of Choice together that state "you may use this Weapon if you are using another Weapon of Choice".
Example 1: You may use 1 Parrying Blade and 1 Shield.
Example 2: You cannot use 2 Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice or 2 Shield WoC because you can only associate 1 of each unique Pre-Game card in your deck. You cannot have a Parrying Blade: Objectss and a Parrying Blade: Weapon of Choice in play at the same time because the Weapons of Choice explicitly states that you can only have one Parrying Blade in play.

Yuk-Hsui Chun [4H] - 3 - [Generic] - SITUATION
At the beginning of your Draw/Discard Phase, you may draw cards so you have a number of cards equal to your opponent's Hand size. You then proceed with your normal Draw/Discard Phase.