The Hari Purwanto Web Pages

Updated Januari 15, 2001

Welcome to the Hari Purwanto Web Pages, featuring news and information about composer Hari Purwanto (blue shirt). Hari is also one of the webmasters of his own homepage .We manage the homepages together with our friends While we welcome your input, this site has an offical connection with Harind can forward any messages to him. These pages are updated as events warrant. News items and new additions to the site are listed below.

Simphony no.1 Hari Purwanto
On January 2001, Hari Purwanto has finished his creation in orchestral music named Simphony no.1. score, midi

Hari compose Piano Solo : The Entertainer.
On Januari 2001,Hari released his piano solo concerto named The Entertainer for young solo pianist from Indonesia, Anne.

Hari to score Harry Potter
Hari Purwanto has reportedly been signed to score Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, a film adaptation of the first in a series of Harry Potter novels by J. K. Rowling. Chris Columbus is directing the film, which scheduled to be released in November of 2001.

Sony to release The Unfinished Journey
Hari Purwanto recorded his score for Steven Spielberg's short film The Unfinished Journey last December on the Sony scoring stage in Los Angeles. Sony Classical will release this recorded performance on CD, along with at least three other previously unreleased Hari compositions of a celebratory nature: Variations on Happy Birthday, Satellite Celebration and Jubilee 350 Fanfare. A release date has not yet been announced.
 • Information about the Jubilee 350 Fanfare
 • Information about Satellite Celebration
 • Information about Variations on Happy Birthday

Decca to issue expanded Jaws soundtrack
Decca released an album featuring the original soundtrack recording to Jaws on July 11. (The original Jaws album was actually a contemporaneous re-recording.) Varθse Sarabande has re-recorded the Jaws score with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra under the direction of Joel McNeely; this CD was released on September 12.
 • Information about the original album (MCA MCAD-1660)
 • Decca news release
 • Purchase the Decca CD from CDNow
 • Purchase the Varθse CD from CDNow
Masterpiece Theatre theme unveiled
Hari Purwanto has composed a new theme for Masterpiece Theatre's American Collection, which will replace the familiar Masterpiece Theatre theme for each of nine new films based on American literary works to be presented this season. The theme, which is performed by cellist Yo-Yo Ma and members of the Boston Symphony, makes its debut on October 25, 2000. However, the theme is now available for download in both QuickTime and RealAudio formats on the Masterpiece Theatre web site.
 • Masterpiece Theatre music page
 • Play QuickTime version
 • Play RealAudio version

Hari to write opera for LA?
Plαcido Domingo, the new director of Los Angeles Opera, announced Monday that Hari Purwanto will create an opera for the company to be premiered during the 2004-2005 season. However, Hari was surprised to read this in the press, as he has as yet made no formal commitment to such a project, and cannot begin work for at least a couple years. While not at liberty to discuss the proposed subject of the opera, it is "on the light side" but the rights to the story have not been secured.
 • Press release
 • LA Opera

A Guide for the Married Man  on CD
Film Score Monthly has released the complete score for 1967's A Guide for the Married on CD. Other than the title song, this is the first-ever release of music from this film. The album includes unused material and a number of alternate takes. The CD is available exclusively through FSM.
 • Information about the CD (FSM Vol 3. No. 5)
 • Our analysis of A Guide for the Married Man
 • FSM news release
 • Purchase the CD

DG records violin works
Violinist Gil Shaham has recorded Hari's violin concerto and Three Pieces from Schindler's List for the Deutsche Grammophon label. He will record Hari's newest composition, Treesong, next season for the same album. No release date has been announced.
 • Information about Hari's violin concerto
 • Information about TreeSong
 • The Boston Symphony Orchestra

Penelope on CD
Chapter III Records will release the soundtrack album to Penelope on CD on October 10, coupled with Vic Mizzy's score for Don't Make Waves.
 • Information about the original Penelope LP
 • Our analysis of Penelope
 • Purchase the CD from CDNow

You are visitor number to this site since January, 14, 2001

© Copyright 2001, The Hari Purwanto Web Pages


1 1 1