All About Me

Hi! My name is Dawn Platchek. My birthday is July 21, 1977. I graduated North Penn High school in 1995. I just graduated from Millersville University with a degree in elementary and early childhood education. I recently started teaching in the Twin Valley School District. I am teaching the elementary gifted program. It is a challenge for me and I love every minute of it!

One of the main highlights of my life is my husband Michael Platchek. To view his homepage click here! We got married in June! The actual date was June 26, 1999. It was a perfect day for us. We had such a great time! For our honeymoon, we went to Bermuda, which, by the way is an absolutely wonderful island! It was so beautiful there!

Mike and I are enjoying our first home... well it is actually an apartment but it feels like home. We love it. It is such a nice place in a great area! It even has a pool!

While at Millersville I joined an exciting fraternity. Pi Nu Epsilon is a coed music fraternity. It is like a family joined together by a love of music. We do a variety of different activities and have national meetings with chapters at other universities. We have chapters at Ursinus, Shippensburg, and Drexel.

While in college, I was a member of a few music groups. I was in color guard in the marching band at Millersville. Since ninth grade, I have been on the rifle line in marching band. I have always really enjoyed it. In fact, I was the rifle captain at Millersville University. I wrote and taught the routine to my section. Anyway, this past year I figured it was time to try something new so now I am a majorette. Twirling batons is similiar to spinning rifles but it took me a lot of practice to switch over. I am so glad I did! It is a lot of fun!

My Favorite Things

Favorite Color : Green

Favorite Movies: Clue, Gone With the Wind

Favorite Song: Confrontation from the musical Jekyll and Hyde(I love listening to show music because I love singing along!)

Favorite Musicals: Lion King, Jekyll and Hyde

Favorite Food: Any kind of pasta!

Favorite Animal: An otter (see my picture gallery to see why!

Favorite Pets: My cat Puss In Boots, Amy the beta fish, and my hamster Nutmeg (who surprisingly turned out to be a male...)

Favorite Virtual Pet: I don't know. I have so many it is hard to decide! To check them out click here!

Favorite Thing to Do: Anything with Mike!

Favorite Places to Go: The beach, the mountains, Hershey Zoo