Minneapolis Real Estate Guide - Info4today
a residential relocation guide to Minneapolis,
By Dave Malas
To learn about each Minneapolis neighborhood,
select "Community Pages" in the column on the upper, left-hand
side of this page. Let us know if we can
be of any further assistance to you by selecting
the "Contact Us" link, also located in the left-hand
This might be a good time for you to review
the driving rules in Minnesota if you are planning to visit Minneapolis from
outside the state. The following is a brief overview of a few,
but certainly not all, of the rules
road. So, be sure to visit this link
Department of Public Safety for complete and updated information.
- The maximum speed limit for drivers is generally
65 miles per hour. The speed limit may be 70 miles per hour in
some rural areas of the state. However, rural
Minnesota also has a substantial deer population,
and your chances of hitting one of these
animals increases with speed.
- Seatbelts are mandatory for the driver and
- Helmets are mandatory for motorcycle drivers
and child seats are mandatory for
under 5 years of age or under 54
- Minnesotans qualify for a drivers license
at age 16.
- Once you move to Minnesota, a Minnesota driver's
license is required after 60 days of residency.
If you have a commerical driver's license,
a Minnesota license is requred after 30 days
of residency. If you are a member of the
U.S. Armed Forces, and you hold a valid license
from another state, you may be exempt from
- If you have a driver's license from another
U.S. state or from a province in Canada,
a written test is required, but the behind-the-wheel
portion of the examination is not required.
There is a vision check for Minnesota drivers.
State identification cards are available
to residents who do not drive. The cards
are commonly used in place of a driver's
- Minnesota motor vehicles are required to
have No-Fault automibile insurance. The Minnesota
No-Fault Act makes it a crime for an owner
to operate or permit operation of an uninsured
motor vehicle or motorcycle upon a public
road, street, or highway.
- All of this information is subject to change,
so check here for the current information. The Vehicle
Registrar office hours, at 300 South
Street, are 7:30 AM and 4:30 PM,
Friday, Central Standard Time (CST). The telephone number is 612-348-8240.
Copyright, ©2005, Dave Malas