Armoria ecclesiastica
Church arms in South Africa
Bishop of Durham blesses his flock

Arms and the Church

Roman Catholic ChurchUnited Congregational Church of South AfricaChurch of the Province of Southern Africa (Anglican)Nederduitsch Hervormde KerkPresbyterian Church of South Africa

Diocese of Cape Town (Anglican)Diocese of Grahamstown (Anglican)Diocese of Natal (Anglican)Diocese of St Helena (Anglican)Diocese of the Free State (Anglican)Diocese of Zululand (Anglican)Diocese of Mthatha (Anglican)Diocese of Pretoria (Anglican)Diocese of Mashonaland (Anglican)Diocese of Lebombo (Anglican)Diocese of Kimberley and Kuruman (Anglican)Diocese of Johannesburg (Anglican)Diocese of George (Anglican)

Arms of dioceses

Diocese of Damaraland/Diocese of Namibia (Anglican)Diocese of Lesotho (Anglican)Diocese of Matabeleland (Anglican)Diocese of Swaziland (Anglican)Diocese of Port Elizabeth (Anglican)Diocese of St Mark the Evangelist (Anglican)Diocese of the Highveld (Anglican)Diocese of Matlosane (Anglican)Diocese of Umzimvubu (Anglican)Diocese of Christ the King (Anglican)Diocese of Niassa (Anglican)Diocese of False Bay (Anglican)

Robert Gray, first Anglican Bishop of Cape TownErnest Green, former Roman Catholic Bishop of Port ElizabethNathaniel Merriman, third Anglican Bishop of GrahamstownMichael Coleman, current Roman Catholic Bishop of Port ElizabethHenry Bousfield, first Anglican Bishop of Pretoria

Arms of bishops

St Mary’s Cathedral, Port ElizabethSt Cuthbert’s, Port ElizabethSt Katharine’s Church, UitenhageChrist Church, Arcadia, PretoriaSt Michael and All Angels, Observatory, CapeAll Saints’ Church, Kabega Park

Arms of parishes

The Roman Catholic Church as such does not have a coat of arms; rather, it has many coats of arms – those of its bishops, archbishops, cardinals and the Pope, as well as its many Orders. The arms shown above are those of the Holy See, also used by the Vatican City State (which is the Diocese of Rome in its role as a sovereign state). See here for a note on the arms of the Pope and of the Vatican City.

The Church of the Province of Southern Africa uses a version of the Anglican Communion’s compass rose emblem as its own provincial emblem, but does not have a coat of arms. Its dioceses, however do have coats of arms, a tradition going back to the establishment of the metropolitan see, the Diocese of Cape Town. See this page.


South Africa South Africa

God bless South Africa

This website set up and maintained by Mike Oettle

Back to top of index

Vir Afrikaans, kliek hier

Back to Armoria index

International Association of Amateur Heralds associate member International Association of Amateur Heralds weblink image

The owner of this website is a Fellow of
The International Association of Amateur Heralds

Title graphics prepared using MS Picture It!®