Confederate Monument in Boydton, Virginia
Monument is an interesting piece of Mecklenburg’s history.
It has a unique story that needs to be told so that the Citizens
of Mecklenburg County will understand the importance the Confederate
Veterans placed in having it erected.
The L. A. Armistead Camp #26, Confederate Veterans, erected the granite base of the Monument in 1899. These old soldiers had a dream and decided to fulfill it. At a cost of about $650.00 the stone was placed on the Courthouse lawn. Not satisfied with just a granite Monument these men began a fund raising drive that lasted nearly ten years and ended with the purchase of the bronze statue that is located on top of the granite still here today. The community people all pulled together and had many fund raising events but the original $400.00 needed for the statue turned into $2,000.00. In the course of ten years inflation raised the price of the sculpture that much.
After a long
struggle to erect the Monument one piece at a time it was finally
unveiled before an immense concourse of people.
There were three young girls, descendants of Confederate
Veterans, invited to unveil the statue.
One of these girls was Virginia M. Goode granddaughter of Colonel
Thomas F. Goode. On August 7, 1908 the twenty-foot high Monument was unveiled
and it has not been changed since, with the exception of, the direction
in which the bronze statue faced.
The second part of this story is also unique. There is an article in an old edition of the “Confederate Veteran” Magazine (see below) that states a Private Jonathan W. Bowen, a one armed Veteran, climbed a ladder and was photographed for posterity by the artist that created the Statue. Private Bowen was a resident of Mecklenburg County living in the La Crosse area. He is buried in the Smith/Cook family cemetery. Until recently he did not have a military marker but on July 21,2002 our Camp held a marker dedication for Private John Wesley Bowen
|Return to Top|
Saturday November 2nd 2002 our Camp held the rededication of
the restored Confederate Monument. The
program began at 10 am with a living history encampment display.
At 11 am Mr. Stan Clardy and his wife Kathy provided us with
music and entertainment. Stan’s
songs and programs were truly inspirational. The
Old Brunswick Camp 512 cooked a Brunswick stew and fed the crowd. At 1
pm Sgt Major Eddie Willard and the regimental fifes and drums performed
a drum and fife program that is probably still echoing in the streets of
rededication ceremony began at 2:30 pm with guest speakers, Mr. Bill
Blalock, Senator Frank Ruff, Commander Red Barbour, Commander Russell
Darden, Mr. Fred Taylor and Dr. David Black.
Stan Clardy performed a couple of musical numbers as did the Lake Country
Chorale. An assortment of re-enactors fired a musket volley across
the courtyard. Taps was played by Ms. Melanie Hazlewood and Mr. Nathan Black
at the conclusion of the ceremony.
Camp would like to extend a very heart felt thanks to all that played a
part in our rededication. Without
the assistance of these fine Southern sons and daughters it would not
have been possible or as pleasant. We
would also like to thank those that came out to celebrate and those that
made donations to the restoration.
Mecklenburg residents showed this County how much our Monument means to us, this was shown in how much was raised and in the short amount of time in which it was completed.
|Return to Top|
Return to Top