Direwolf Magic Items FAQ v6.02

Format

Q = Question
A = Answer
S = Source


Q. Does a character have to have the option of a mundane version of a
magic item (like a shield) in his army list entry in order to take a
magical version?

A. A character who may not take normal armour (ie, has no option for
normal armour in his army list entry) may not wear magic armour. A
Battle Standard Bearer who can’t have a normal shield can’t take a
magical shield. Similarly, a Battle Standard Bearer is not allowed to
take magical weapons that require two hands. 

However, note that these last two are specific restrictions for
Battle Standard Bearers – a character who does not normally have the
option for a great weapon could still take a magic weapon that 
requires two hands to use, for example. The same goes for ranged 
magic weapons – you don’t necessarily need a mundane missile weapon 
option to take one. Only Wizards can take Arcane items. Some 
characters (such as Slann Mage-Priests, or Dwarf Daemon Slayers) may 
have additional restrictions or allowances.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004, page 116.

*****

Q. If a character has an armor upgrade option, but not a shield upgrade
option (the DE Beastmaster in the errata for example), can he take
magical shields, and/or magical armours that are stated to include a
shield (armor of darkness) 

A. No. 
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. Must a character armed with a magical close combat weapon 
always use it in close combat?

A. Yes. Page 152 states "A character who has a magic close 
combat weapon cannot use other close combat weapons".  A 
character with a functioning magic weapon must use it.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. Can magic weapons or shields be combined with mundane weapons or
shields and still receive the bonus Armour save in close combat?

A. No, magic weapons and shields don’t grant the bonus Armour save, in
any combination. You must have a mundane hand weapon and mundane 
shield (and be a model on foot) to earn the bonus Armour save.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004, page 116.

*****

Q. When the bearer of a magic item that affects models in base to 
base contact is engaged in a challenge, which models are affected 
by the magic item ?

A. In a challenge, only the model engaged in the challenge counts
as being in contact with the bearer.  The Direwolf FAQ Council has
used the main challenge rules in conjunction with the detailed 
description of the Tomb Kings magic weapon, The Destroyer of 
Eternities, to arrive at this anwer.
S. Rulebook page 99 / Tomb Kings Army Book page 36 /
Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation 

*****

Q. Do the hits from all magic weapons, including bows and 
other missile weapons, count as "magical"?

A. Yes. Any attack from a magic weapon counts as magical.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. For purposes of magic items which protect against 'missile'
fire (e.g. Storm Banner, Golden Eye of Tzeentch, Wristbands 
of Black Gold, etc.), what constitutes a 'missile'?

A. Any item which does direct damage and originates from a 
source not in base contact with the target.  This includes 
hits from missile weapons, war machines, template attacks, etc.  
Note, however that the only spells which constitute 'missiles' are 
those specifically noted as "magic missiles".  Also, just for the
record, a Banshee's scream is not considered a missile!
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Anthony Reynolds - 
Warhammer Design Team / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

Q. How do you work out close combat attacks that do multiple wounds 
against units of creatures with multiple Wounds (such as Trolls,
Ogres or Fellbats)?

A. When fighting rank and file troops with more than one Wound, use 
the same procedure you would for normal troops. Roll to hit, roll to
wound, make saves. After this, roll for each wounding hit to see how 
many actual wounds are inflicted by the weapon. The maximum number 
of wounds per hit is the number of Wounds the enemy models have. 
For example, if you have a magic sword that does D3 wounds and are 
fighting Fellbats (which have 2 Wounds each), you would have to 
count results of 3 as 2 wounds inflicted. Once the total number of
wounds have been rolled, add them all up and remove whole models as 
normal. To continue the previous example, if you did 1, 2 and 2
wounds from three hits, this is 5 wounds and so you remove two 
Fellbats and one Fellbat has a single wound remaining.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004, page 115.

*****

Q. When a model that has an item providing a ward save against the
first wound suffered is attacked by another model with killing blow,
what will happen if a normal wound and a killing blow is inflicted? 
Will the killing blow be deflected or will you roll to see which 
wound was dealt first? 

A. You roll to see which wound was inflicted first. 
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)

*****

Q. Can the Gem of Blood save against a Killing Blow? If so, is the
Killing Blow rebounded back onto the attacker?

A. In cases like these, items should be treated just like a Ward
save. So, if the save is passed, then the character takes no
damage, and the wound rebounded. However, just a single wound is
rebounded, not the killing blow itself.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)

*****

Q. Can you use a Dispel Scroll to dispel a spell cast in a previous
turn and has remained in play?

A. No. It says in the description of the item that it needs to be 
used "as soon as a spell has been cast." If the spell was cast in 
the previous turn, this won’t be the case.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004, page 115.

*****

Q. Can a fleeing Wizard use Dispel Scrolls?

A. No. It states that ‘fleeing Wizards are not allowed to cast or
dispel spells’. I’d say using a Dispel Scroll counts as dispelling
a spell.
S.  Wahammer Chronicles 2004 page 115

*****

Q. Can I use a Powerstone as the only source to power a spell, or can
I only use it to add to dice I am already using?

A. No, a power stone cannot be used on its own. 
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)

*****

Q. May a Wizard be equipped with Power Stones and another Arcane item 
at the same time? 

A. No. The general rule is that characters may only be equipped with one 
magic item from each category (Magic Weapons, Talismans, Arcane Items, 
etc.) 

While Wizards have been granted an explicit exception in the Power Stones 
description which makes it possible for several Wizards to carry Power 
Stones and for a single Wizard to carry more than one, they are not given 
an explicit exception to allow a single Wizard to carry Power Stones and 
another Arcane item. 
S. Rulebook pages 152, 153, 154

*****

Q. If a battle standard bearer in a unit refuses a challenge and goes
into the back, does the unit still benefits from the magic banner he
holds ? 

A. No, unless specifically stated otherwise (for example, Skaven) a
unit is only affected by a magic banner if it is in the front or
fighting rank. 
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004, page 116.

*****

Q. If a unit is fleeing but has not dropped its magical standard, is
the magical effect still "on" ? A banner that improves Ld would be
useful in this case… 

A. No (with the exception of magical banners that affect rally 
attempts or automatically rally units). 
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum) / 
Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

Q. Some armies have items/runes that can destroy a spell on a 4+. Can
you use them to destoy the Casket of Souls incantation (since it's 
said to be an incantation of power level 2D6)? What about the Anvil 
of Doom?

A. These items have no effect on the Casket of Souls or the Anvil of
Doom, even if they can affect bound items.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004, page 116.

*****

Q. May an magic item, spell, or special ability that allows a player to 
re-roll a D6, be used to re-roll a D3? 

A. Yes.  The instructions in the Rulebook for a D3 begin: "Roll a D6 and 
halve the score."  A player may re-roll the result of a D6 prior 
to halving the result to generate the D3 result. 
S. Rulebook page 37 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation 

    Source: geocities.com/mi_whplayers/faqs

               ( geocities.com/mi_whplayers)