Direwolf Beasts of Chaos FAQ v6.06
Format
Q = Question
A = Answer
S = Source
Q. May a Beasts of Chaos character with the Mark of Khorne,
Nurgle, Tzeentch, or Slaanesh ride in a Tuskgor Chariot?
A. No. All Tuskgor Chariots have the Mark of Chaos Undivided
and only characters bearing the same Mark (Undivided) can ride
in the chariot.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Beasts of Chaos Army Book
pages 55, 60
*****
Q. When exactly do Ambushing units move onto the table?
A. During the Remaining Moves step of the Movement phase the turn
the brayhorn is sounded. Note that the Beasts of Chaos player sounds
the brayhorn, marks his intended entry points, and takes the Ambush
leadership tests before the Rally Fleeing Troops step of the
Movement phase.
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 18 / Rulebook pages 44,76
*****
Q. With the Unliving Idol gift (Beasts of Chaos, page 62), the
Daemon counts as a Beast General when choosing the army. Does it
mean that you can have in that case a Shaggoth in this army?
A. Oh, sneaky! Still, the answer is no. It was our intention that
a general who is a Daemon would not have Shaggoths in the same
army (even if the Daemon counted as a Beast for army selection).
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Can a mortal general that becomes a Daemon with the Chalice of
Chaos (Hordes of Chaos, page 53) take a Shaggoth in his army?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Can you put both "Unliving Idol" and "Master of Mortals" on a
Daemonic character?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. What are the sacred numbers of the four gods of Chaos?
A. Slaanesh: 6; Nurgle: 7; Khorne: 8; Tzeentch: 9.
S. Warhammer Sourcebook (3rd Edition) Realms of Chaos - The
Slaves of Darkness pages 16, 17 / Warhammer Sourcebook (3rd
Edition) Realms of Chaos - The Lost and the Damned pages 14,
32 / Warhammer 40,000 Codex: Chaos Space Marines page 38
*****
BEAST HERDS
Q. If you inflict enough wounds in hand-to-hand to a Beast Herd to
kill all the Gors (including the command), what happens? Can you
"save" the command by allocating two wounds to Ungors? If not, are
the standard and instrument lost or can Ungors pick them up?
A. You cannot choose to remove Ungors instead. If the Gor command
are slain, the Ungors cannot pick up the standard or instrument.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. When lapping around the enemy with Beast Herds, will Gors
normally push past the Ungors to get to the enemy and thus be
the first models "lapping" around?
A. No. According to the rules for Beastmen Herds the herd
adjusts it's formation when intially charged or charging.
It is silent as to the topic of lapping around, therefore the
main rules take precendence and Ungors in the 'rear' ranks
will normally lap around first.
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 19 / Rulebook page 77
*****
Q. What is the proper procedure for allocating / removing casualties
in close combat from Beast Herds containing both Gors and Ungors?
A. If your unit only touches Gors at the start of the combat, the
models with the highest Initiative value's attacks can only score
wounds on Gors. This round of attacks can rack up no more wounds
than the number of Gors, not counting additional wounds from other
circumstances (overkill, etc.).
Any killed Gor models in the front rank would be replaced, by Gors
if available, otherwise by Ungors.
The models with the next highest Initiative value's attacks would
then proceed, and those attacking models touching more than one
type of model have to say what they're attacking against. Again,
attacks against Gors can score no more wounds than the number
of Gors. Also, attacks against Ungors can score no more wounds
than the number of Ungors.
At the Gor's Initiative value in the sequence, the survivors of
the original front row (if any) can fight against their attackers.
The Ungors would not get to strike in this round of close combat,
unless they had models able to strike at the start of the combat
round (with spears for instance) that were not killed.
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 19 / Rulebook page 68
*****
Q. If a Beast Herd is hit by a template, how do you allocate the
wounds? Are the models under the template the only ones that can be
hit? Or can you allocate the wounds affecting Gors under the
template to Ungors out of the template?
A. The template only kills the types of models touched, so the
wounds are not transferred onto Ungors in this case.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. If an Unruly unit (i.e. a Beast Herd) declares a charge vs. a
fear causing unit and fails the required fear check (thus not moving)
does a subsequent Unruly result (i.e. a roll of "1" at the start
of the compulsory movement phase) give the Unruly unit another
chance to charge the fear causing unit? Or does the original
failed fear test take precedence?
A. Units failing an Unruly test must charge "if there is an
enemy unit that can be charged using the normal rules". When a
unit fails a fear test when wishing to charge, the main rulebook
indicates that the unit "may not charge or shoot and must remain
stationary in that Movement phase". As they are disallowed from
charging or moving per the 'normal rules', the original failed fear
test takes precedence. Basically, Unruly is a drawback, and so it
would seem odd if they could charge because of it, when normally
they would not be able to.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Beasts of Chaos Army
Book page 18 / Rulebook page 81
*****
Q. Should a player roll for Unruly units (i.e. Beast Herds) if they
have just rallied that turn?
A. No. The Unruly rules indicate "if there is an enemy unit
that can be charged using the normal rules". When a unit rallies
it is unable to move that turn, and thus is not eligible to declare
a charge. Basically, Unruly is a drawback, and so it would seem
odd if they could charge because of it, when normally they would
not be able to. I'd rather not have a situation when a player wants
to be Unruly.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Beasts of Chaos Army
Book page 18 / Rulebook page 45
*****
Q. How does a chariot’s impact hits work against a Beast herd? Are
causalties removed like shooting (so, removing Ungors first?)
A.Casualties are caused against models in base contact first – so
Gors will normally be struck by the chariot first. Any further hits
are randomised.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
TROPHIES OF THE BEASTS
Q. How many Beasts characters are able to wear Chaos Armour in
an army?
A. One. 'Chaos Armour' is a magic item in the Beasts of Chaos
book. Per the magic items section of the main rulebook,
"No specific magic item can be carried by more than one model
in the army, with the exception of scrolls."
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 63 / Rulebook page 152
*****
Q. Can Great Bray-Shamans or Bray-Shamans wear magic armour?
A. Generally no as characters without the option to wear mundane
armour may not wear magical armour, however there is one exception.
The magic item 'Chaos Armour' in the Beasts of Chaos book states
"May be given to a Bray-Shaman". Note that the magic item
also states that "A model may wear Chaos Armour and still cast
spells."
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book pages 52,53,63
*****
Q. Can mortal characters wear the Trollhide armour or are
they "stuck" wearing Chaos armour?
A. Mortal characters may drop their Chaos armour to wear the
Trollhide armour. The Beasts of Chaos book indicates that
mortals may use any magic items not specifically barred in the
item's description.
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 62
*****
Q. The Staff of Darkoth is an Arcane magic item which holds a spell and
"counts as a Braystaff" in close combat. The text does not explicitly
state that the attacks "count as magical", hence there is confusion
over whether or not attacks from the Staff of Darkoth "count
as magical". Can you please clarify this for us?
A. I would say that the attacks count as magical.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team
*****
CHAOS MAGIC
Q. When an enemy unit is affected by Green Fire of Tzeentch and
strike themselves, does the unit use its main weapon (caster
basically chooses), or does the owner of the unit get to choose?
For example, if a unit is equipped with great weapons and shields,
would they use the great weapons (caster's choice) or hand weapon
and shield (owners choice)?
A. Caster’s choice.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. If casting the Tzeentch spell Green Fire on a unit of swordsmen can
the caster freely choose what equipment the combat is fought with? To
specify can it be cast on a unit of Empire swordsmen that then elect
to only use their hand weapons not using the shields?
A. The caster chooses which weapon to attack with. The Swordsmen will
defend themselves as best they can though, so they would use their
shields. However, if a unit was armed with halberd and shield, the
caster may choose for them to attack with the halberd, so they could
not use their shields to defend with, as they are using a two-handed
weapon.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. How does the spell Green Fire of Tzeentch work against a Beast
Herd?
A. In a mixed unit, the models will hit other models of the same
type. So, the Gors will all hit other Gors, and Ungors will all
hit other Ungors.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Do spells from the Lore of Tzeentch (which are all named as a
different color of fire) count as 'Fire' attacks?
A. No they do not. None of the Tzeentch spells include the
wording "This is a Fire attack and causes double damage against
flammable targets" as pure flaming spells do. This was confirmed
via the High Elf Q&A for Dragon Armour which states that models
with Dragon Armour are NOT immune to Tzeentch spells.
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 78 / Warhammer Chronicles
2004 page 117 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
*****
Q. If the Tzeentch spell Indigo Fire is cast upon a unit of
skirmishers, where are Horrors placed? It is normally in contact
with the front rank, but skirmishers obviously do not have a
front rank.
A. They are placed against the skirmishing model closest to
the caster.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. The Titillating Delusions spell. May an affected unit still
declare charges against units in LOS but not on the line designed
by the spell? What about frenzied units who are forced to declare
charges when possible? If a unit is affected, is it considered
"immune to psychology", or can psychology effects alter their
movement? Can you choose to flee from a charge, away from the
direction nominated by the spell? If you cast a magical movement
spell or incantation at an affected unit, can you freely choose
the direction or are you forced to move the unit in the direction
given by the Delusions spell?
A. The thing affected by the spell is the unit's voluntary movements:
all voluntary movement, including those that result from a spell or
incantation, even charge declarations, have to be made in the
direction given by the delusions spell. This includes the voluntary
direction that Spawn and Pump Wagons move in. However, the affected
unit is not Immune to Psychology, and all compulsory movement still
obeys its own rules (compulsory charges, failed terror tests, etc.).
The unit can still flee a charge, but will still be affected by the
spell as soon as it regains its freedom of movement.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Can a unit be affected by the Slaanesh spell Luxurious Torment
several times, thus suffering additional damage at the start of
each turn?
A. Yes.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Does Luxurious Torment effect mounts?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. If the target of the spell Delectable Torture is riding a
monstrous mount or a chariot, does he attack his monstrous mount
or chariot?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
               (
geocities.com/mi_whplayers)