Chaos Dwarfs (Ravening Hordes Army List)
Direwolf FAQ v6.04
Q. What is the correct description for Blunderbusses?
A. P.32: Blunderbuss rules. The last two sentences should be
changed from "Hits are resolved at S3 if firing in 1 rank, S4
if firing in 2 ranks and S5 if in 3 or more ranks. Ranks must
be complete to count." to "Hits are resolved as S3 plus 1 per
extra rank up to S5. Ranks count if at least 4 wide. A single
character in the front rank will not effect the unit’s fire."
S. US White Dwarf #258 page 40
*****
Q. How exactly do Chaos Dwarf Blunderbusses work with the Stand
and Shoot charge reaction?
A. The rules are applied exactly as with any other unit. If the
chargers start within 12" then any models within 12" may be hit.
If the chargers are outside 12", the charging unit is stopped at
maximum range as normal, and so in this case only the front rank
of the charging unit will be in the zone of fire.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 120
*****
Q. Do Blunderbuss units need line of sight and range to a
declared enemy target unit in order to shoot?
A. Yes, as no exceptions to the main rulebook requirements for
these items are listed in the Blunderbuss special rules. Note
however that all enemy models caught in a Blunderbuss unit's
'fire zone' will be hit as normal, regardless of whether or not
they belong to a enemy unit which the Blunderbuss unit has LoS to.
S. Ravening Hordes page 32 / Rulebook page 58
*****
Q. Do enemy characters / champions hit by a Blunderbuss unit's 'fire
zone' receive a Look Out Sir! roll (provided there are five or more
rank and file models in the unit with them)?
A. Yes. This falls under "other missiles not governed by the normal
target restrictions (concerning characters)" as stated in the Look
Out Sir! section of the Rulebook.
S. Rulebook page 100
*****
Q. Can you fire Chaos Dwarf Blunderbusses if there is a friendly
unit in combat with an enemy in the same fire zone?
A. No.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 120
*****
Q. Is a Blunderbuss unit allowed to shoot if the 'fire zone' will
cover friendly models not engaged in close combat?
A. No.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 120 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation
*****
Q. Can you Killing Blow a Bull Centaur?
A. No. Refer to the Direwolf Special Rules FAQ for details.
S. Rulebook pages 112 and 113 / Anthony Reynolds – Warhammer
Design Team / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation.
*****
Q. If the special ability of the Dark Mace of Death is used against
a character on a monstrous mount or in a chariot, how are the
wounds distributed?
A. If a target is riding a monster or chariot, then both the rider
and the monster or chariot take D3 wounds, with no armour saves
allowed.
As this question is not specifically answered by the
Rulebook, the Direwolf FAQ Council has used the detailed
description of the Tomb Kings magic weapon, The Destroyer of
Eternities, which states "If a target is riding a monster or
chariot, then both take two automatic hits." in conjunction with
the answer given in Warhammer Chronicles 2004 that 'both the
Character and the Mount/Chariot take a wound/hit' from magic spells
which cause a wound/hit to each model to arrive at this anwer.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Tomb Kings Army Book
page 36 / Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 115
*****
Q. What is the correct number of crew for Hobgoblin Bolt
Throwers?
A. P.33: Hobgoblin Bolt Thrower entry. Change the Unit Size
rule from "1 War machine with 3 crew" to "1 war machine with
2 Hobgoblin crew".
S. US White Dwarf #258 page 40
*****
Q. Are Flying moves affected by the Earthshaker's special rules?
A. Yes. The Earthshaker's description states "Any troops
within this distance in inches from the centre of the
template move at half rate in their next turn...". No
exceptions for flyers are noted.
S. Ravening Hordes page 32 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation
*****
Q. Do Chaos Dwarfs benefit from the Dwarf special rules of
'Ancestral Grudge', 'Relentless', and starting with a
base of four dispel dice?
A. No. Chaos Dwarfs are a separate race from Dwarfs and
do not benefit from these special rules.
S. Ravening Hordes page 32
*****
Q. Are Chaos Dwarfs players suppose to use the Orcs & Goblins
Army Book?
A. Yes. In US White Dwarf #250 on page 11 it states:
Ravening Hordes - Chaos Dwarfs
The new Orc & Goblins Army book completely replaces the list
in Ravening Hordes. However, dedicated Orc & Goblin armies
are not the only ones to employ the Greenskins in battle. The
Chaos Dwarfs also use them and, as the complete rules are now
out, it will be good to use them for the Chaos Dwarf's slave
troops, too. To do this you'll obviously need both Ravening
Hordes and the new Orc & Goblins book. The following changes
bring the list up to date:
- Replace the Special unit entries in Ravveening Hordes for the
Orc Boyz, Goblins and Black Orcs with the following army list
entries from the Orc & Goblin Armies book: Goblins, Orc Boyz,
Orc Arrer Boyz and 0-1 units of Black Orcs. One unit of Orc
Boyz may be upgraded to Big'Uns as per the normal rules in
the book. All these units count as Special units in the Chaos
Dwarf army.
- Delete special rule 5 about Orcs ignoriinng panicking Gobbos
(this is replaced by the full rules from the book)
- Troops described in the Orc & Goblin booook follow the rules
there rather than the shorthand versions in Ravening Hordes.
- Hobgoblins suffer Animosity just as a uunnit of Goblins would
in the Orc & Goblin book. This replaces the animosity rule in
Ravening Hordes (special rule 3).
S. US White Dwarf #250 page 11
*****
Q. May Greenskin units in the Chaos Dwarf army use the magic
banners from the Orc & Goblin army book?
A. No they may not. Greenskins in a Chaos Dwarf army are not
part of a free Orc and Goblin Waaagh!, they are slaves and do
not have access to the magic banners in the Orcs & Goblins book.
Note however that due to the White Dwarf update (see Q&A above)
a unit of Orc Big 'Uns and Black Orcs may carry the magic
banners available to the Chaos Dwarf army (e.g. The War Banner
and The Banner of Slavery).
S. Ravening Hordes page 32 / US White Dwarf #250 page 11 /
Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
               (
geocities.com/mi_whplayers)