Direwolf Hordes of Chaos FAQ v6.09
Format
Q = Question
A = Answer
S = Source
Q. Can I have a daemonic character in my mortal army even though
its Leadership value is higher than my mortal General's Leadership
value?
A. No. Chaos armies are not exempt from the main rule that the
character with the highest Leadership value must be the General.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos
Army Book page 55 / Rulebook page 102
*****
Q. Can daemons use the Chaos General's Leadership value for
Instability tests?
A. Yes they can.
From Page 102 of the main Rulebook "Any unit within 12" of the
General model may use the General's Leadership value instead of its
own when making a Leadership-based test..."
On page 29 of Hordes of Chaos while discussing Instability
tests it states "Roll 2D6 and compare this to the daemons'
Leadership value, with no combat resolution modifiers..."
Nowhere in Hordes of Chaos does it state that the General's Ld
value may not be used and in fact the specific wording used by the
design team (as shown above) makes it clear that daemons may use
the Ld value of the General for Instability tests.
S. Hordes of Chaos Army Book page 29 / Rulebook page 102
*****
Q. Does a Chaos Battle Standard Bearer allow daemonic units to
re-roll Instability tests?
A. No. Daemons don't get the benefit of the Battle Standard
Bearer re-roll due to the instability test *not* being a break
test (Instability test is made instead of a break test).
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos Army
Book page 29
*****
Q. Can Chaos characters join unmarked units such as Marauders
and Chaos Hounds?
A. Yes.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos Army
Book page 46
*****
Q. If a character with the Mark of Chaos Undivided joins a unit
of Marauders, can that unit then re-roll failed psychology tests?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. What are the sacred numbers of the four gods of Chaos?
A. Slaanesh: 6; Nurgle: 7; Khorne: 8; Tzeentch: 9.
S. Warhammer Sourcebook (3rd Edition) Realms of Chaos - The
Slaves of Darkness pages 16, 17 / Warhammer Sourcebook (3rd
Edition) Realms of Chaos - The Lost and the Damned pages 14,
32 / Warhammer 40,000 Codex: Chaos Space Marines page 38
*****
Q. Are Nurglings skirmishers? In their description, it
says so, but in the army list it doesn’t.
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. What happens if a unit of Tzeentch Screamers makes a slashing
attack on a unit that does automatic hits, like a Night Goblin
Fanatic?
A. Both units inflict and take damage. In the example of the
Fanatic, the Screamers take D6 S5 hits and simultaneously each
do a S3 hit on the Fanatic.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. What is the unit strength of a Chaos Warhound and are Chaos
Warhounds a ranked unit?
A. Chaos Warhounds have a unit strength of 2 each and as they are
not classified as 'Fast Cavalry' they do receive a rank bonus.
S. Hordes of Chaos Army Book page 28 / Warhammer Chronicles 2004
page 114
*****
Q. Are each of the heads of a Chaos Dragon allowed to pick a
different target? Or is the model bound by the normal rules for
shooting?
A. It is bound by the normal rules for shooting. If there is a unit
which can be reached by both breath weapons, the Chaos Dragon cannot
Divide Shots. Otherwise (i.e., no unit can be reached by both breath
weapons) the Divide Shots rule applies and the breath weapons can
attack different targets.
S. Rulebook pages 61, 114 / Hordes of Chaos Army Book page 61 /
Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
*****
Q. Where can I find the rules for Mounted Daemonettes?
A. In Warhammer Chronicles 2004
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 36
*****
FLAMERS
Q. Do Tzeentch Flamers move separately?
A. Yes they do. On page 40 of Hordes of Chaos change the wording
"After that they are free to move as they like, and they count
as a separate unit for the rest of the game" to "After that they
are free to move as they like, and EACH counts as a separate unit
for the rest of the game."
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 126
*****
Q. Can Flamers hurt fire immune units (Dragon Princes..) in close
combat?
A. Yes.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Can flamers stand and shoot?
A. Yes.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
MORTAL CHARACTERS & DAEMONIC MOUNTS
Q. Does a character on a daemonic mount benefit from its immunity
to psychology?
A. No.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Can a mortal Chaos character mounted on a daemonic steed
join a unit of daemons?
A. No. Only a mortal character with the Chalice of Chaos
(which makes him a daemon) may join a unit of daemons.
Non-daemonic models may not join a daemonic unit.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos
Army Book page 29
*****
Q. Can a mortal Chaos character mounted on a daemonic steed join a
mortal unit?
A. Yes. A daemonic steed may be joined to a mortal unit, as long
as the mortal chaos character riding the steed is alive.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos
Army Book page 29
*****
Q. When a mortal Chaos character mounted on a daemonic steed
and joined to a mortal unit is killed, what happens to the
daemonic steed?
A. At the end of the phase in which the mortal Chaos character
is killed, the daemonic steed is separated from the mortal
unit (you might like to place him 1" away to make sure this is
clear). If the daemonic steed is involved in combat when the
character is killed, place it so it remains in base to base
contact with the enemy. In addition, remember to take a Slain
Rider test and generate a Monster Reaction if the test is
failed.
S. Hordes of Chaos Army Book page 29 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation
*****
DAEMONIC GIFTS
Q. If two units with Cloud of Flies are fighting each other, or
Plaguebearers are affected by a spell which makes them attack
themselves, do they suffer the -1 to hit modifier?
A. No.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. If an enemy unit is fighting against two Chaos units, one
with Cloud of Flies and one without, does the enemy unit
suffer a -1 to hit only the unit with Cloud of Flies or both?
A. Both. The rule states "Any unit in close combat with one
or more models with a Cloud of Flies suffers a -1 modifier on
rolls to hit."
S. Hordes of Chaos Army Book page 49
*****
Q. Can the Spell Breaker Gift be used to dispel a 'remains-in-play'
spell in a subsequent turn?
A. Yes it can.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos Army Book
page 48
*****
Q. Can you put both "Unliving Idol" and "Master of Mortals" on a
Daemonic character?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Can a mortal character with the Chalice of Chaos purchase
Daemonic gifts since he becomes a deamon ?
A. No. He can still get other mortal magic items though.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
ARTIFACTS OF THE DARK GODS
Q. When using the Staff of Change, may I re-roll the dice used to
cast or dispel a spell one at a time?
A. No. Per the Errata printed in Warhammer Chronicles, the bearer
can make a single re-roll of one or more dice rolled to cast or
dispel each spell.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 126
*****
Q. How do you resolve a combat where the attacker is entitled to
re-roll missed hits (e.g. Hatred) and the defending Chaos character
is wearing the Armour of Damnation (which forces the attacker to
reroll all successful hits)?
A. The attacking player rolls to hit and re-rolls misses. Then
the defending Chaos player makes the attacker re-roll all
successful attacks.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. If a Slaanesh Lord has the Pendant of Slaanesh (any wounds taken
give bonus attack to the Chaos Lord for the rest of the game) and
the Crown of Everlasting Conquest (Regenerate), and the lord takes
a wound that is then regenerated, does he gain an extra attack?
A. Yes.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. I mount a Chaos Lord of Khorne atop a Chaos Dragon, and equip
him with Chaos Runeshield and the Berzerker Sword. Do all the
models in base to base contact with my Dragon count for the effects
of both items?
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Does the Golden Eye of Tzeentch provide a ward save to a chariot
the character is riding in? In other words does a chariot count
as a mount for purposes of this item?
A. Yes it does.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos Army Book
page 52
*****
Q. If Gaze of the Gods turns my Khorne Lord into a Chaos Spawn, is
it a Bloodbeast of Khorne or just a normal Chaos Spawn?
A. Just a normal spawn (not that any spawn is really ‘normal’ !)
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. What mounts can a character take if he has the Chalice of Chaos?
A. The character may ride on a Chaos Steed or a Daemon Steed, but
may not ride a Chariot or a Dragon of Chaos.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
CHAOS MAGIC
Q. When an enemy unit is affected by Green Fire of Tzeentch and
strike themselves, does the unit use its main weapon (caster
basically chooses), or does the owner of the unit get to choose?
For example, if a unit is equipped with great weapons and shields,
would they use the great weapons (caster's choice) or hand weapon
and shield (owners choice)?
A. Caster’s choice.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. If casting the Tzeentch spell Green Fire on a unit of swordsmen can
the caster freely choose what equipment the combat is fought with? To
specify can it be cast on a unit of Empire swordsmen that then elect
to only use their hand weapons not using the shields?
A. The caster chooses which weapon to attack with. The Swordsmen will
defend themselves as best they can though, so they would use their
shields. However, if a unit was armed with halberd and shield, the
caster may choose for them to attack with the halberd, so they could
not use their shields to defend with, as they are using a two-handed
weapon.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. How does the spell Green Fire of Tzeentch work against a Beast
Herd?
A. In a mixed unit, the models will hit other models of the same
type. So, the Gors will all hit other Gors, and Ungors will all
hit other Ungors.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Do spells from the Lore of Tzeentch (which are all named as a
different color of fire) count as 'Fire' attacks?
A. No they do not. None of the Tzeentch spells include the
wording "This is a Fire attack and causes double damage against
flammable targets" as pure flaming spells do. This was confirmed
via the High Elf Q&A for Dragon Armour which states that models
with Dragon Armour are NOT immune to Tzeentch spells.
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 78 / Warhammer Chronicles
2004 page 117 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
*****
Q. If the Tzeentch spell Indigo Fire is cast upon a unit of
skirmishers, where are Horrors placed? It is normally in contact
with the front rank, but skirmishers obviously do not have a
front rank.
A. They are placed against the skirmishing model closest to
the caster.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. The Titillating Delusions spell. May an affected unit still
declare charges against units in LOS but not on the line designed
by the spell? What about frenzied units who are forced to declare
charges when possible? If a unit is affected, is it considered
"immune to psychology", or can psychology effects alter their
movement? Can you choose to flee from a charge, away from the
direction nominated by the spell? If you cast a magical movement
spell or incantation at an affected unit, can you freely choose
the direction or are you forced to move the unit in the direction
given by the Delusions spell?
A. The thing affected by the spell is the unit's voluntary movements:
all voluntary movement, including those that result from a spell or
incantation, even charge declarations, have to be made in the
direction given by the delusions spell. This includes the voluntary
direction that Spawn and Pump Wagons move in. However, the affected
unit is not Immune to Psychology, and all compulsory movement still
obeys its own rules (compulsory charges, failed terror tests, etc.).
The unit can still flee a charge, but will still be affected by the
spell as soon as it regains its freedom of movement.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Can a unit be affected by the Slaanesh spell Luxurious Torment
several times, thus suffering additional damage at the start of
each turn?
A. Yes.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Does Luxurious Torment effect mounts?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. If the target of the spell Delectable Torture is riding a
monstrous mount or a chariot, does he attack his monstrous mount
or chariot?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
SPECIAL CHARACTERS
Q. Where can I find the rules for the Hordes of Chaos character,
Crom the Conqueror, Herald of Archaon?
A. In Warhammer Chronicles 2004
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 78
*****
Q. Does Crom the conqueror nullify combat “skills” not given by
a weapon ? For example, killing blow for Executioners, Blood Dragon
Vampires, or High Elf Swordmaster characters…
A. The rule say that you treat the model as having a mundane hand
weapon, so all other effects not dependant on the weapons are still
there.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
               (
geocities.com/mi_whplayers)