Direwolf Orcs & Goblins FAQ v6.10
Format
Q = Question
A = Answer
S = Source
Q. Do the boars pulling Orc Boar Chariots benefit from the
‘Tusker Charge’ special rule? It doesn’t seem to be mentioned.
A. Yes they do get the Tusker Charge.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. If a Goblin Doom Diver lands "among" the models of a skirmisher
unit, but not exactly on one, is the hit ignored or transferred
to the closest member of the unit ?
A. It must actually hit a model to cause any damage.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. When an Animosity result of "We'll Show 'em" is generated does
the Greenskin unit always have to move towards an enemy unit it
has an existing line of sight to?
A. No. The unit immediately makes a full normal move (not a
march move) towards the nearest enemy unit, regardless of whether
or not the Greenskin unit had line of sight to the enemy unit
when the result was generated. While moving towards the nearest
enemy unit, the Greenskin unit deducts the usual penalties for
terrain, turning, etc.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Orcs & Goblins Army Book
page 9
*****
Q. Goblin Wolf Chariots, Goblin Rock Lobbers, Goblin Spear
Chukkas, and Goblin Doom Diver Catapults do not include
"Fear Elves" in the Special Rules section of thier Unit
Entry boxes. Was this intentional or an oversight?
A. It was intentional. The Orcs & Goblins Army Book states
"Note: The Fear Elves, Animosity and Hatred rules described
above only apply to goblin infantry or cavalry units, and
characters. They do not apply to war machines, Chariots,
Fanatics or Squigs who are just too crazed or brainless to care.
Only big mobs of Goblins are affected by these wayward
tendencies as they goad each other into acts of cowardice,
betrayal and petty vindictiveness."
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book page 13
*****
Q. Does the exemption regarding "Fear Elves" still apply in
situations where a Goblin character is riding in a chariot
or has joined a war machine?
A. Yes it does. The Rulebook states "If a character is liable
to a Terror or Fear test which doesn't apply to the rest of
the unit, he can ignore any tests."
S. Rulebook page 100
*****
Q. Can a Gobbo artillery crew use the Orc Bully's leadership?
A. Yes.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Can a character join a Squiq Herd unit?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. How do you distribute hits from missile fire among a unit of
Squiqs, Squig Hoppers, and Night Goblins?
A. Hits from missile fire should be allocated / randomized as
appropriate. For example if the unit consisted of 3 Squig Hoppers,
6 Squiqs, and 9 Night Goblins and was hit 6 times you would
allocate 1 to the Squiq Hoppers, 2 hits to the Squigs, and 3 to the
Night Goblins. In cases where the allocation does not exactly work
out, roll a D6 to randomize the extra hits among the various unit
types. For example if the unit above was only hit once you would
allocate the hit to the Squiq Hoppers on a roll of "1", to the Squigs
on a roll of "2" or "3", and to the Night Goblins on a roll of "4",
"5", or "6".
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Orcs & Goblins Army Book
page 18
*****
FANATICS
Q. If a Night Goblin Fanatic hits a ridden monster, who are the hits
worked out against: the rider or the monster?
A. Fanatic hits should be randomised in the same way as shooting.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. Night Goblin Fanatics can hit flyers when first released. Does
this mean that flyers cannot voluntarily pass over Fanatics without
charging, and if they charge over a Fanatic, do the flyers take hits?
A. Except when they trigger the release of the Fanatic themselves,
flyers can freely move and charge over Fanatics without being hit -
Fanatics are not known for their ability to get airborne...
S. July 2002 Q&A Update on the Warhammer Chronicles website
*****
Q. Does a frenzied unit have to charge through a Night Goblin
Fanatic, or is it allowed to stop like other units?
A. The frenzied unit must complete its charge, even if this
takes it through a Fanatic.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 113
*****
Q. Say I move a unit through forest and only one model comes out of it,
triggering a Goblin Fanatic. It says that Fanatics die the minute they
touch an obstacle, and since only one model would be exposed, would the
whole unit get hit (they're all still in the forest) by the Fanatic, or
just the single model?
A. As long as one model is hit by the Fanatic, the whole unit takes
hits.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Do hidden units (in woods, for example) trigger fanatics?
A. Yes.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Do freed squiqs or released fanatics from your own army,
trigger other fanatics in your army?
A. No, although they can hurt your troops, they are not enemies.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A on the
Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. If the damage from a Fanatic causes a Panic test, when is the Panic
test taken?
A. Immediately. The Fanatic rules state "If a Panic test due to
Fanatic casualties has already been taken and passed then another test
is not needed."
Note that charging units, units under compulsary movement, pursuing,
etc. will keep moving through multiple Fanatics until they have taken
enough casualties to require a panic test. If they take it and pass
it, then they can freely continue moving through Fanatics during that
turn.
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book page 16 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation
*****
Q. If Ambushing Beastmen, Dwarf Miners, etc. (or an enemy unit which
had pursued a friendly off the table in the previous turn) arrive on
a table edge that is less than 8" away from a Night Goblin unit
containing Fanatics, are the Fanatics released in a random direction?
A. Yes. The Fanatic rules indicate that if an enemy unit suddenly
appears closer than 8" to a Night Goblin unit containing Fanatics,
then the Fanatics are released in a random direction. No exceptions
are noted.
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book pages 15 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation.
*****
GIANTS
Q. Can items/powers that remove Attacks, such as the Hand of Khaine,
affect the Giant?
A. No. In the Giant's description his attacks are listed as
"special". Further in the detailed rules for the Giant it states that
his attacks are not considered normal. The Giant rolls randomly for
his "special" attack (i.e. he does not choose it) and none of the
"special attacks" result in something which affect the "Attack"
characteristic.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 117 / Orcs & Goblins Army Book
page 22
*****
Q. How does the Giant’s Yell and Bawl special attack affect Undead
or Daemonic units?
A. The Giant counts as winning the combat by 2, regardless of
whether its a break test, Undead, instability, etc.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. After a Giant Yells and Bawls, can he still be attacked by models
not in base to base contact with him, such as models that "fight in
ranks" in the second or subsequent ranks?
A. No. The Yell and Bawl description states "Neither the Giant nor
models in contact with him actually fight if they have not already
done so this round, but the combat round is automatically won by the
Giant's side." As the Giant's side automatically wins the combat,
the combat is ended at that point.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Orcs & Goblins Army Book
page 23
*****
BIG 'UNS
Q. If I want to field a unit of Big'Uns, what does "type" refer
to in the statement from the O&G book, "Whichever type of unit
you choose to upgrade you must have at least as many normal
models of that type"?
A. Each of the four listed units is a distinct type: Orc Boyz,
Savage Orc Boyz, Orc Boar Boyz or Savage Orc Boar Boyz. E.g.,
in order to field a unit of 30 Orc Boyz Big'Uns, you must field at
least 30 normal Orc Boyz - either 1 unit of 30, a unit of 20 and
a unit of 10, etc. In order to field a unit of 10 Savage Orc Boar
Boyz Big'Uns, you must have at least 10 Savage Orc Boar Boyz in the
army, etc.
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book page 6
*****
Q. If I want to field a unit of Big'Uns, do the regular models
need to all be in a single unit?
A. No. The rule states, "Whichever type of unit you choose to
upgrade you must have at least as many normal models of that type
in other units before you take the Big'Uns." It does not state that
these need to be in the same unit. Also, note that it does explicitly
state that the normal models are in "other units" (i.e., it is plural).
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book page 6
*****
Q. If I want to field a unit of Big'Uns, do the normal models of the
same type have to be armed in the same manner as the Big'Un unit?
A. No. The rule states, "Whichever type of unit you choose to
upgrade you must have at least as many normal models of that type
in other units before you take the Big'Uns." It does not state that
these need to be armed in the same way.
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book page 6
*****
GREENSKIN MAGIC
Q. Do you collect an extra power or dispel dice for each shaman
within range of a qualifying Orc or Goblin unit engaged in close
combat during the magic phase?
A. No. The extra dice are generated by the units, not the shamans.
Page 27 of the Orc and Goblin book (emphasis from FAQ Council): "For
each Orc UNIT... of 10 models or more, or each Goblin UNIT ... of 20
or more models, which is within 12" of a Shaman and engaged in close
combat, the player adds +1 Power dice to his pile in his own turn, and
+1 Dispel dice in the enemy's turn." This clearly states that the
extra dice are generated from the units, not from the Shamans, so you
could have multiple shamans all within range of 1 qualifying unit and
you will only get +1 dice for it.
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book page 27
*****
Q. Do fleeing shamans generate additional power or dispel dice if
within range of a qualifying Orc or Goblin unit?
A. No. It requires the the shaman to harvest it, and, while fleeing, a
wizard generally can't do anything except flee.
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book page 27 / Rulebook page 139 /
Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
*****
Q. If a greenskin shaman suffers a miscast and rolls the "2" result
on the Waaagh! miscast table, what exactly does it mean that "he
behaves like a loose squig in the compulsory movement phase"? Will
he explode if he rolls a double for his bounce distance? Also, can
he flee from an enemy charge?
A. The shaman will move like a squig (moves/bounces 2D6" in a randomly
determined direction during the compulsory movement phase) but does
not actually turn into a squig. Therefore, the shaman does not
attack like a squig or explode if he rolls a double for his bounce
distance; if he rolls a double for his bounce distance, simply move
him the specified distance. If the shaman happens to bounce on top
of a friendly or enemy unit he will not stop or attack, but instead
bounces again. In addition, as the shaman does not actually become a
squig, he is not immune to psychology and he may flee from an enemy
charge, but will resume moving like a squiq once he rallies and regains
freedom of movement.
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book pages 19, 27 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation
*****
Q. What happens if a successful Gork's Warpath later lands
on a unit with Magic Resistance?
A. Only a unit that is nominated as the target of the spell when
initially cast can use Magic Resistance, even if the spell later
lands on a unit with Magic Resistance.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. Hand of Gork - it says it can move any Orc or Goblin unit of any
type. Does this mean any unit in the army (Trolls, Giants, etc), or
does it mean just Orc/Goblin units (units of that race, including
Snotlings)?
A. The spell affects any Greenskin units - Orcs of all types,
Gobbos of all types, and Snotlings, including chariots and pump
wagons. This spell does not affect Trolls, Giants or Dogs of
War which are not Orcs or Goblins. The same is true of the Waaagh!
spell.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. How are we suppose to interpret the wording "provided that the
target unit (they) could charge the enemy if it was the greenskin’s
Movement phase" which is present in the Little Waaagh! spell, The
Hand of Gork and the Big Waaagh! spell, Waaagh!?
A. Any conditions impacting the units that would keep them from
charging that turn also means they are not subject to the affects
of the spell. For example, if the unit has failed an Animosity check
and is Squabbling, or rallied this turn they would not be able to
charge. Also note that war machine crews are never allowed to charge
and thus are not subject to the affects of these spells either.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Orcs & Goblins Army Book
pages 28,29 / Warhammer Annual 2002 page 20
*****
Q. What happens when the Big Waaagh! spell, Waaagh! is cast and both
sides are using Orc & Goblin armies?
A. If both players have units that could charge if it were their
movement phase (see Q&A above) then do the following:
1. Determine all eligible units at the time the spell is cast and
mark them with a dice or counter. Marking them is necessary to avoid
confusion once the enemy units start moving as units which could not
charge when the spell was cast do NOT become eligible to move simply
because enemy units subsequently move into range while working out
the spell results.
2. The player who cast the spell chooses an eligible unit of his own
and charges with it as outlined in the spell.
3. The other player chooses an eligible unit of his own and charges
with it as outlined in the spell.
4. Repeat steps 1 and 2 until all eligible units have charged.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Orcs & Goblins Army Book
page 29
*****
SHINY STUFF
Q. If an Orc and Goblin army has both the Staff of sorcery and Mork’s
Spirit Totem do they get a +2 modifier to their Dispel roll (are the
affects of the two magic items cumulative)?
A. In this case, yes they do get +2 to dispel.
S. warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. Does the use of Ditto’s Double Doin Doo Dahs allow you to cast a
spell on the same unit twice?
A. Yes
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team
*****
Q. If an Greenskin character armed with Porko's Pigstikka becomes
engaged in a challenge on the turn he charges, does he still receive
the additional attacks?
A. Yes. The item states "...on the turn he charges he also gets
one extra Attack per rank in the enemy unit (up to a maximum of
+3)". The item description does not exclude the character from
gaining the additional attacks due to being engaged in a
challenge.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Orcs & Goblins Army Book
page 31
*****
Q. Buzgob's knobbly staff allows you to re-roll all dice used to
cast a spell. A Night Goblin Shaman also carries mushrooms (used
to add one dice to the roll, after dices have been rolled). Does
he decide to use mushrooms before or after deciding to use the
Staff’s re-roll ? If he uses the re-roll after the mushrooms,
are the mushrooms dices re-rolled along with the basic
casting dice?
A. A Night Goblin Shaman casting a spell with the Knobbly Staff
may re-roll his casting dice. After this is done, he may choose
to use his mushrooms, but the mushroom dice may not be re-rolled
- they are not ‘true’ casting dice.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. How does the Glowy Green Amulet work against Tomb Kings ?
Technically speaking, the Tomb Kings player does not roll
power dice.
A. But technically speaking, they are ‘treated as normal spells’
except that they are always cast, never Miscast and never cast
with Irresistable Force. The Glowy Green Amulet doesn’t work
against normal Bound Items, because Bound Spells don’t roll any
dice. For Tomb Kings Incantations (specifically the Incantation
of Vengeance) the player with the Glowy Green Amulet rolls the
same number of dice that the Liche Priest used to cast (ie two
against a Liche Priest, three against a High Priest), just
like against any other spell.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. Can Savage Orc Characters (shield option only) take magic
armour, or magic shields only?
A. Magic Shields only, as anything else in Magic Armour counts
as armour, which they cannot use!
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 116
*****
Q. If Porko’s Pigstikka is bought for a Wywern mounted Warlord,
can he still use it if the steed dies?
A. No.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
SPECIAL CHARACTERS
Q. What are the correct special rules for Grimgor Ironhide?
A. On page Page 67 of the Orcs & Goblins book under Grimgor Ironhide
replace the first line of ‘SPECIAL RULES’ with "Ignore Greenskin
Panic; Quell Animosity".
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 125
*****
Q. Where can I find the rules for the Orc character, Azhag
the Slaughterer?
A. The Warhammer Annual 2002
S. Warhammer Annual 2002 page 62
               (
geocities.com/mi_whplayers)