Direwolf Storm of Chaos FAQ v6.02

Format

Q = Question
A = Answer
S = Source


GENERAL QUESTIONS

Q. Will the Storm of Chaos army lists be official even after the
campaign is over?

A. Yes.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. In some cases, the variant army lists have selection restrictions
that differ from those in the regular army lists, e.g., there's no
0-1 restriction for a troop type in a variant army list, while there
is one in the regular army list. Should the restriction default to
the one in the original army book? For example, should Knights of
the Realm be a 1+ in an Errantry list? Should White Wolves be a 0-1
choice? Should Von Carstein Vampire Lords be 0-1?

A. If no selection restrictions appear in the variant army list,
there are no restrictions on that unit type in the variant list.
So, Knights of the Realm are not a 1+ choice. Multiple units of White
Wolves ARE allowed in a Middenheim army list, and Von Carstein
Vampire Lords are NOT 0-1 (it's a bad idea to fight in Sylvania). Any
exceptions to this are noted in the relevant army sections in the
Q&As below.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Some units in Army books have notes that allow two units to be
chosen as a single unit choice. For example, two High Elf Bolt
Throwers may be taken as a single Rare choice in a normal High Elf
army. Do these two-for-one deals apply in the Storm of Chaos lists?
They generally are not marked as such.

A. Players should refer to the Army book unit entries for everything
but selection restrictions (as noted above). In this case that means
that if they are allowed more than one unit as a single choice in the
standard Army book list, then they are allowed more than one unit for
a single choice in the variant list as well. Thus, for instance, two
Bolt Throwers in a Sea Patrol list may be chosen as a single Rare
choice; two Spear Chukkas are a single Special choice in Grimgor's
`Ard Boyz: and two Chaos Spawn are a single Rare choice in Archaon's
Horde.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If a unit included in a standard army list has special rules, does
that same unit type in a variant army list have those same special
rules, even if those special rules are not specifically listed in
the variant army list? For instance, are Slayers in the Slayer army
still Relentless?

A. Yes, unless stated otherwise, the relevant special rules in Army
books are always used. Thus, Dwarf Slayers in a Slayer army ARE
Relentless, Unbreakable, etc., even though they are not noted as
such in the Slayer army list.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can new units, magic items, skills, and the like that appear in
the Storm of Chaos lists be used in regular armies of the relevant
type?

A. Only where specifically stated (e.g. the Dark Elf magic items,
the Hellcannon, and Malakai Makaisson's Goblin-Hewer).
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

ARCHAON'S HORDE

Q. Warriors of Chaos get free upgrades if they number 16 or more
models in a unit. Does this apply to Chosen units also?

A. Yes, as they are still Warriors of Chaos.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

HELLCANNON OF CHAOS

Q. In a regular Mortal Chaos army, the Hellcannon can be taken as a
0-1 rare choice and takes up 2 Rare slots. What are the restrictions
for taking Hellcannons in Archaon's Horde?

A. In Archaon's Horde, the 0-1 restriction is removed. They still
take up two Rare slots, however.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can the Hellcannon fire normally if it moved? Can it Spew Ichor
if it moved?

A. War machines cannot move and shoot. However, when the Hellcannon
Rampages, it IS allowed to Spew Ichor, as noted in the special rules
for the Hellcannon.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If a Hellcannon charges a friendly unit, should that unit take a
Terror test?

A. No.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If a Hellcannon misfires and a six is rolled on the Misfire chart,
all wizards on the table are affected. Does this affect Warrior
Priests, Tomb Kings and the like?

A. No, only models that are explained as working as wizards – so
Liche Priests will be affected, but Warrior Priests and Tomb Kings
will not.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. How are Victory Points worked out for the Hellcannon?

A. The Hellcannon is a war machine. However, for such an expensive
model that can continue to cause damage after its crew has been
destroyed (albeit sometimes to its own side), we decided that Victory
Points should be awarded in a slightly different way than normal.
If all the crewmen are destroyed, the enemy gets half the Victory
Points for the unit. If the Hellcannon itself is destroyed, then the
enemy gets the full Victory Points for the unit, even if the crewmen
are still alive.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can the Hellcannon be spiked like a normal war machine?

A. No!
S. Phil Kelly - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. On Page 17 under Rampage it states "When the Hellcannon is
rampaging OR IN COMBAT it may only Spew Ichor in the Shooting phase."
Later under Spew Ichor it states "Instead of firing normally, the
Hellcannon can opt to spew out a great gout of body parts and
daemonic ichor." This seems to suggest that it can only spew ichor if
normally allowed to shoot (i.e. not in close combat). Is the
Hellcannon truly allowed to Spew Ichor when it is engaged in close
combat?

A. The Hellcannon IS ALLOWED to Spew Ichor if it is engaged in
close combat.
S. Phil Kelly - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. As the Hellcannon is classified as a Large Target, if there is a
friendly unit between it and an enemy unit (blocking the Hellcannon
crew's line of sight to the potential target) may the Hellcannon
still fire or must the crew be able to see the potential target?

A. The Hellcannon rules specify that it fires in exactly the
same manner as a stone thrower with the only exceptions listed
related to special affects of the hit. The stone thrower rules in the
main rulebook specify that they do not need to see their specific
target, but they MUST see that there are enemy in the direction they
are firing. This is confirmed in the 2002 Annual War Machines article.
Therefore, if the LoS of the crew to enemy units is completely
blocked by a friendly unit, then the Hellcannon may not fire.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 17 / Rulebook page 120 / Warhammer
Annual 2002 pages 18,19

*****

DAEMONIC LEGIONS

Q. Do Flesh Hounds count toward the minimum Core unit requirement, or
not, as in the Horde of Chaos book?

A. They do count as a Core unit in a Daemonic Legions list, though
not as a True Core unit.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Be'Lakor has only five of the six Dark Emissary spells listed as
available to him. Is this correct?

A. Yes. These are the five spells that he uses in battle.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can the Screamers pulling a chariot of Tzeentch perform a slashing
attack?

A. No.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. In a Daemonic Legion, the spell Yellow Fire of Transformation is
fairly useless, as the Daemons already get a ward save. Should we
treat the effects of Yellow Fire in the same way as the Diabolic
Splendour gift? What about the Blasted Standard?

A. In both cases (Yellow Fire and the Blasted Standard), treat them
in the same way as Diabolic Splendour.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. What happens when a Daemon with the Diabolic Splendour gift casts
Yellow Fire of Transformation? Does Yellow Fire of Transformation
still effect the whole unit? Does the Daemon generate a 3+ ward
save?

A. Yellow Fire of Transformation has been rewritten for the
Daemonic Legions as a way to cast Diabolic Splendour as a spell as
noted in the Q&A (printed in White Dwarf) above.

Diabolic Splendour only affects the Daemonic character to whom the
gift has been given (Storm of Chaos page 27). Hence Yellow Fire,
when successfully cast, will only affect the Daemonic caster.

Also note that the effect of multiples of the same gift is not
cumulative (Storm of Chaos page 27). Since Yellow Fire is
effectively Diabolic Splendour as a spell, if the Daemonic character
has Diabolic Splendour gift already, casting Yellow Fire
will not increase his ward save past 4+.

This also means that the Blasted Standard, when carried by a
Daemonic Herald, will only affect the Herald and will have no effect
on the unit he is attached to. Note that the Unholy Icon which gives
the unit carrying it a 4+ ward save is not the Blasted Standard and
rules for the Unholy Icon do not affect the way that the Blasted
Standard works.

S. Storm of Chaos Book page 27 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation / October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine
(US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Has the 0-1 limitation on Screamers been removed in the Daemonic
Legions list?

A. Yes.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If you give a Daemonic Herald the Mark of Khorne, he gains a 6+
armour save. If you also give him the Armour of Khorne, does he get
a 4+ save or is it cumulative (so that he gets a 3+ save)?

A. The effects are not cumulative. Thus, a Herald with the Mark of
Khorne and the Armour of Khorne will have a 4+ armour save.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. The way that the new Daemonic mounted units are presented
represents a combined profile of the rider and the steed. Are they
treated as cavalry in other respects?

A. Yes. For spells and the like, Daemonic mounted models are
treated as normal cavalry and they are also subject to Killing Blow.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Being cavalry, do the new Daemonic mounted units get +1 to their
armour save for being mounted?

A. Mounted Daemonettes, Changebringers, Plagueriders, Pleasureseekers,
and Bloodcrushers are all cavalry and thus gain +1 to their Armour
Save. Note that this is already included in the Bloodcrushers' 5+
Armour save.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can a Daemonic Legions army hire Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown
units?

A. No. Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown are not listed as an option
in the Daemonic Legions army list. In addition, note that in the
standard Hordes of Chaos book an army led by a Daemon may not hire
Dogs of War (Regiments of Renown) units either.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 31 / Hordes of Chaos Army Book page 55 /
Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team

*****

ARMY OF MIDDENLAND

Q. Do I choose exactly when I want to use the Shard of Skoll? Or is
it assumed to always be in use and therefore might be spent at any
time?

A. You must specify that you are using the Shard of Skoll prior to
making a Dispel attempt.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. The rules state that the Hunt Master cannot be singled out by
missile fire, yet isn't he quite bigger (a man on a horse) than the
rest of the unit (hounds)?

A. The Hunt Master cannot be singled out, as he is regarded as the
same size (i.e. on a cavalry base) as the hounds.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. The Cloak of Anraheir says that the bearer causes fear in
Minotaurs. However, Minotaurs would normally be immune to fear as
they themselves cause fear. How does that work?

A. The bearer of the Cloak causes fear to Minotaurs, even though they
would normally be immune to fear.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Although Crossbowmen and Handgunners are Rare units, can they be
taken as detachments for Core units?

A. No. They can only be taken as parent units, not as detachments at
all.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can an Army of Middenland field a Steam Tank?

A. No. The Army of Middenland is not an Empire army. Numerous items
available to an Empire army are not available to the Army of
Middenland and the Steam Tank is one of them. If the Army of
Middenland was able to field a Steam Tank, it would have been listed
as an option under the Army of Middenland's Rare Units.
S. Storm of Chaos Army Book page 50

*****

GRIMGOR'S 'ARDBOYZ

Q. Can every Orc unit be Big 'Uns, or should there be at least the
same number of common Orcs as in the O&G army list?

A. You can have as many Big `Uns in the army as you want without the
need to have the same number of "normal" Orcs. Thus, if you wanted,
you could have an entire army of Big `Uns!
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can every Big 'Un and Black Orc unit carry a magic Standard?

A. Any unit of Black Orcs or Big `Uns can have a magic banner.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Grimgor's bodyguards can now be armed with great weapons at no
additional cost. Is this true also in a regular Orc army?

A. Yes.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. There must be "more" Warbosses/ Bigbosses than Great Shamen/
Shamen. Does this mean "at least one more" or "at least the same
number"?

A. More means MORE! There must be MORE Warbosses and Bigbosses in
total than there are Great Shamans and Shamans.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Black Orc characters only take up an extra Hero slot if they are
mounted. Do they count as mounted if they are riding a Chariot?

A. Yes.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. How big should the Effigy of Gork be?

A. A movement tray (100mm x 75mm) is about the most suitable size.
See the pictures on p.60 of the Storm of Chaos book for two examples
of Effigies.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Does Borgut Facebeater count as two hero slots in Grimgor's
'Ardboyz?

A. No, Borgut only takes up a single hero slot in Grimgor's 'Ardboyz,
though he takes up two slots in a regular Orc and Goblin army.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can a Grimgor's 'Ardboyz army hire Dogs of War / Regiments of
Renown units ?

A. No. Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown are not listed as an option
in the army list. The only exception to this is Ruglud's Armoured
Orcs, which may be hired using a Rare slot as specifically noted in
the army list.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 58 / Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer
Design Team

*****

SLAYER ARMY OF KARAK KADRIN

Q. Can I take the Goblin Hewer as a Regiment of Renown in a Dogs of
War army?

A. Yes. It takes up a Rare unit choice and a Hero slot.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If the "Look, Snorri, Trolls!" rule brings Slayers in contact with
enemy scouts, do the Slayers count as charging? Can the enemy
declare a reaction?

A. Yes, and no charge reaction except Hold permitted.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Unbreakable is not listed for the Brotherhood of Grimnir. And
it's not listed in the Slayer rules of the dwarf book. Are they
Unbreakable?

A. Members of the Brotherhood are still Dwarf Slayers and thus
have all the special rules of Slayers in the Dwarf Army book.
They are are Unbreakable.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can a Brotherhood of Grimnir unit take a banner with the Master
Rune of Grimnir on it?

A. No. Although a Brotherhood of Grimnir unit may take a runic
standard worth up to 50 points, only army Battle Standard Bearers
may take Master runes.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can I give a Slayer character in a normal Dwarf army Slayer
Skills?

A. No.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Long Drong's pirates always attack with their pistols at S4 with
armour piercing. Do these attacks also benefit from the Slayer skill?

A. No.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can the Wards of Grimnir (Magic Resistance (1) within 6") be used
against a spell that targets an 'area' (such as Invocation of Nehek)
rather than a unit if part of the area is within range?

A. Yes, although no specific model is targeted, if the spell is cast
or the target is within 6" of the Wards of Grimnir, the Magic
Resistance will come into effect. Note that in regards to Sylvanian
Grave Markers, if the Grave Marker OR the target is within 6", the
Wards of Grimnir apply.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298) /
Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. Do Wards of Grimnir work against Bound Items?

A. Yes. I intended for the Wards of Grimnir to work against all
spells, including bound ones.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. If an enemy spell would affect (or fall within 6") of multiple
models with the Wards of Grimnir, can the Slayers add a dispel dice
for each model with the Wards?

A. No, in cases where there are more than one eligible source of
Magic Resistance the highest MR value is used, they are not added
together.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. The Master Rune of Grimnir mentions deflecting arrows and
cannonballs and states "Any friendly unit within 12" of the standard
gains a 5+ Ward save against any ranged attack." What exactly does
"ranged attack" mean in regards to this item? Does it only protect
against shooting, or does it protect against magic as well?

A. The Master Rune of Grimnir was intended to work only vs. shooting
attacks, not magic missiles and other spells. The Slayers have the
Wards of Grimnir and additional dispel dice to protect them against
magic.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. Can a Slayer Army of Karak Kadrin hire Dogs of War / Regiments of
Renown units ?

A. No. Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown are not listed as an option
in the army list. The only exceptions to this are Long Drong's
Slayer Pirates and Malaki Makaisson's Goblin Hewer which may be hired
as specifically noted in the army list.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 70 / Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer
Design Team

*****

Q. If we go strictly on the rules, a fanatic cannot be attacked in
close combat and thus, it appears a Doomseeker can not harm a
fanatic. Is that how we are to play it?

A. You are correct - simply apply their existing rules.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. As Doomseekers do not attack normally, if you are an enemy model
in a ranked unit the maximum amount of hits you can take from
attacking Doomseekers is one, correct?

A. This is correct. Regardless of the number of Doomseekers
attacking a ranked unit, any model in that ranked unit may only
take one hit.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. If you are an enemy model in a ranked unit and two Doomseekers
are in base to base contact with you, you still only take one
automatic hit, correct?

A. This is also correct.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. How exactly are Rank and File model casualties caused by
Doomseeker attacks removed? Do we remove casualties as we would in a
standard combat, or are the Doomseeker attacks considered to be
"allocated" attacks?

A. The Doomseeker attacks are considered to be allocated attacks. As
stated in the Whirlwind of Death rules, the Doomseekers do not attack
normally in close combat. Thus, when resolving a Doomseeker's
attacks against Rank and File models (rolls to wound, armour saves,
etc.), it is very important to segregate hits against the rank and
file models which will have an opportunity to strike back at the
Doomseeker if they survive (e.g. models in base to base (or corner to
corner) contact, models armed with spears, etc.) from those that do
not have an opportunity to strike back at the Doomseeker. Obviously
it is also important to separately resolve hits against characters
and champions.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Storm of Chaos Book page 64 /
Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

Q. If two Doomseekers are in base to base contact with a single
enemy model (e.g. a chariot) how many hits does the single enemy
model take? One D3 or two D3?

A. D3 per Doomseeker.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. When a Doomseeker scores hits against a single model with multiple
parts (e.g. a character riding on a monstrous mount or chariot) does
the Doomseeker get to choose which part of the enemy model is hit?
Or is it randomized as shooting?

A. As the Doomseeker does not attack normally, it should be randomly
allocated as shooting.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. Does a Doomseeker get re-rolls to hit Greenskins in the first
round of combat due to hatred? Does a Doomseeker need sixes to hit an
enemy unit behind a defended obstacle?

A. No. He does not attack (or roll to hit) in the normal manner and
therefore, the re-rolls to hit do not apply. In addition special
rules or magic items which modify a "to hit" roll do not apply to a
Doomseeker.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. How do we resolve a situation where a Doomseeker is engaged with
a Skaven model (or models) armed with Plague Censers?

A. The Doomseeker strikes first, as he strikes before all types
of other special attacks. Note however, that the Doomseeker is still
required to pass a Toughness test (or lose a wound) as the test is
required of all models in base to base contact with a Plague Censer
at the beginning of the close combat phase.
S. Storm of Chaos Army Book page 67 / Skaven Army Book page 32 /
Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

CULT OF SLAANESH

Q. Does the Anointed's gift, Avatar of Slaanesh, allow units of
Daemonettes to re-roll instability checks?

A. No. Units of Daemons do not take Break tests.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If an Anointed is upgraded to a sorcerer, can he use armour or a
shield and still cast spells?

A. The Anointed may use Chaos Armour, magic Armour, and magic shields
and cast spells, but cannot cast any spells if he has any other
mundane armour (including shields).
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. The description of Mounted Daemonettes refers to the Daemonic
Legion listing. Do they therefore have Ld9 and a true 5+ ward save?

A. No. Mounted Daemonettes do not benefit from the Daemonic Legion
bonuses. Mounted Daemonettes in the Cult of Slaanesh army have a
Leadership of 8 and a 5+ Daemonic Aura rather than a true Ward Save.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If a unit of Cold One Knights has the Soul Shadows Standard,
fails its Leadership test and becomes Stupid, can it still elect to
flee (and then automatically rally) when charged?

A. Yes. This is because a unit that becomes Stupid effectively
becomes Immune to Psychology, and the standard states that units
that are Immune to Psychology can still use it.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can a unit that is Frenzied that has the Soul Shadows Standard
choose to flee from a charge?

A. No.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Do Dark Elf Sorceresses with the Mark of Slaanesh gain a total
of +2 to cast spells (+1 for being a Dark Elf Sorceress and +1
for the Mark of Slaanesh?)

A. No. The +1 was printed as a reminder that Dark Elf magic users
receive a +1 to cast spells. They do not get +2 if they are given
the Mark of Slaanesh.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. Can a Cult of Slaanesh Army army hire Dogs of War / Regiments of
Renown units ?

A. No. Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown are not listed as an option
in the army list. The only exception is the Regiment of Renown -
Mengil's Manflayers as the rules for the unit specify that they
may be hired by a Cult of Slaanesh army.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 87 / Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer
Design Team / September 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine
(US #296 / UK #297)

*****

Q. Can a High Sorceress with the Mark of Slaanesh or a Druchii
Anointed be equipped with a Chaos Daemon Sword?

A. Yes. Both are allowed to take Hordes of Chaos magic items tagged
as "Models with Mark of Slaanesh Only" per the army list. The Chaos
Daemon Sword is tagged as "Models with a Mark of Chaos Only"
as the item's effects change based on the patron god. The item meets
the "Models with a Mark of Slaanesh Only" intent as in this case,
the sword grants the bearer the same WS, S, I, and A of a Keeper of
Secrets (Slaanesh Greater Daemon).
S. Hordes of Chaos Army Book page 50 / Storm of Chaos Book pages
86,87 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

Q. Does the Righteous Fury special rule for Empire Warrior Priests
of Sigmar, which states that the Warrior Priests and the unit they
are with hate all models in ALL Chaos armies, apply against the Cult
of Slaanesh army?

A. Yes. The name of the army alone gives us the answer, as the
army is clearly affiliated with Chaos. Upon the sight of daemons
and/or the symbols of Chaos, the Warrior Priests will whip their
units into a righteous fury. Warrior Priests of Sigmar
and the unit they are with hate all models in a Cult of Slaanesh
army.
S. Empire Army Book page 16 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

Q. Are High Elves immune to panic when fighting against a Cult of
Slaanesh army?

A. Yes. As all Cult of Slaanesh armies are led by a Dark Elf and
include Dark Elf units, High Elves are immune to panic when fighting
against a Cult of Slaanesh army. The blood fued between the Asur
and the Druchii is rooted in the original founding of the Cult of
Slaanesh by Morathi and finding chaos followers of Slaanesh
accompanying a Dark Elf army would neither surprise or weaken the
resolve of the Asur.
S. High Elves Army Book page 6 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

THE ARMY OF SYLVANIA

Q. If a Grave Marker scatters into the enemy's deployment zone, may
I place it there?

A. Yes
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. What happens if there is a unit on top of a Grave Marker?

A. At least one model being raised must be within 6" of the marker,
and no model may be within 1" of an enemy unit. If it is not
possible, to position a newly raised unit as such, no unit may be
raised. If the raised models are being added to an existing unit,
then at least part of the existing unit must be within 6" of the
Grave Marker.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. When raising a new unit of Dire Wolves with the Wolf Lord
Bloodline power, do you still need to summon five or more wolves for
the spell to work?

A. Yes. Just as when trying to raise any other unit, if less than
five models are created, the spell has failed to work and no models
are placed on the table.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If a Von Carstein Vampire (from the Army of Sylvania) casts
Invocation of Nehek, does he raise Militia/Levy or regular units
from the Vampire Counts book?

A. In an Army of Sylvania, replace Skeleton units with Sylvanian
Militia units and Zombie units with Sylvanian Levy units when
casting Invocation of Nehek. These units may be armed with any option
allowed to Militia or Levy units (e.g. a Militia unit would have
light armour and could be armed with a spear and shield, a halberd
and shield, or a crossbow).
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. The equipment options for Sylvanian Militia are a bit unclear.
Is it "spear and shield, or halberd and no shield" or "shield plus
either spear or halberd"?

A. Sylvanian Militia come with light armour and shield, and either
a spear or a halberd.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can Sylvanian Militia armed with crossbows, shoot on the turn 
they are raised? 

A. Yes, unless they were moved in the same magic phase via Vanhels 
Danse Macarbre, Sylvanian Milita may fire their crossbows on the turn 
they are raised.  Note that models raised via Invocation of Nehek 
do not count as having moved. 

S. Mat Ward - Warhammer Design Team / Vampire Counts Army Book page 58 

*****

Q. Do Sylvania Militia and Levy also come equipped with hand weapons?

A. Yes. All models are considered to have hand weapons, unless it is
specifically noted otherwise (e.g. the unit's entry would have to
state that the unit is not armed with hand weapons, or only armed
with claws, etc.)
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 121

*****

Q. Can an Army of Sylvania army hire Dogs of War / Regiments of
Renown units ?

A. No. Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown are not listed as an option
in the army list.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 88 / Mat Ward - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. May Mannfred Von Carstein be included in an Army of Sylvania?

A. Yes! He is the ruler of Sylvania at the time of the campaign.
S. Storm of Chaos Army Book page 82 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation

*****

Q. If Mannfred Von Carstein is included in a Sylvania army, how does
he interact with the Army of Sylvania special rules?

A. Mannfred counts as one Von Carstein Vampire Lord for Grave Marker
purposes. While including him in an army takes up a Lord and two
hero slots, he does NOT satisfy the 1+ Von Carstein Vampire Thrall
requirement.
S. Vampire Counts Army Book page 70 / Storm of Chaos Army Book
page 88 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation

*****

Q. May an army chosen from the Army of Sylvania list include
Vlad & Isabella Von Carstein (Warhammer Annual 2002 page 61) as
special characters?

A. No. No reference is made to Vlad or Isabella in the Storm of
Chaos materials and the realm of Sylvania was different during
the reign of Vlad & Isabella than it was during the Storm of Chaos
campaign. When fielding Vlad & Isabella it is recommended that
players use the Von Carstein appendix army list in the Vampire
Counts Army book as it represents the make-up of the army
of Sylvania during their reign.
S. Storm of Chaos Book / Warhammer Annual 2002 page 61 /
Vampire Counts Army Book page 78 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation

*****

BRETONNIAN ERRANTRY WAR

Q. Battle Pilgrims are listed as a Rare choice. Do they accompany a
Grail Reliquae?

A. Oops, this entry should read `Grail Reliquae with Battle
Pilgrims', just like in the Bretonnian armies book.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Is a Battle Standard mandatory in an Errantry War army list? Is
the army allowed the extra hero slot like normal Bretonnian armies?

A. Yes, the Battle Standard is still mandatory, and the army is still
allowed an additional Hero (see pages 64 and 65 of the Bretonnian
Army book for details).
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Are Pegasus Knights still a 0-1 choice?

A. Yes, they are still a 0-1 choice unless the general is mounted on
a Royal Pegasus.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can an Errantry War army hire Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown
units?

A. No. Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown are not listed as an option
in the Errantry War army list. In addition, note that standard
Bretonnian armies may never hire Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown
units either.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 90 / Bretonnia Army Book page 65 /
Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team

*****

SKAVEN CLAN ESHIN

Q. The rules for Under Cover of Darkness say that "You cannot shoot,
charge, or cast spells at targets you cannot see." Can spells that do
not require LOS still be cast at targets in range?

A. Yes. This is a line of sight special rule to represent the battle
taking place at night – if a spell does not require line of sight,
then it may still be cast.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. The rules for Under Cover of Darkness state "At the start of
each game turn roll an Artillery dice and multiply the result
by three....". Do you generate and apply the results six times in
a standard Pitched Battle scenario or twelve times?

A. Six times. Note that the term "game" turn is used instead of
"player" turn. Both players utilize the result for each full game
turn.
S. Phil Kelly - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. May a Clan Eshin model use the Skitterleap spell to effectively
charge an enemy unit in a zone that the Clan Eshin model would not be
able to during a normal on foot charge? For example, may a Clan
Eshin Assassin starting in the front zone of an enemy unit be placed
in base to base contact with a model in the flank or rear zone of
the enemy unit using the Skitterleap spell?

A. Yes to both.
S. Phil Kelly - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. If a Clan Eshin Master Assassin is equipped with the Fellblade,
does the increase to Strength 10 conferred by the blade only
apply to close combat attacks, or does the Strength increase also
apply to his throwing stars?

A. It only applies to his close combat attacks.
S. Phil Kelly - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. If a Clan Eshin Master Assassin is equipped with the Fellblade and
he is currently "Hidden" (per the rules on page 18 of the Skaven
book) does the Assassin have to roll each turn to see if he takes a
wound from the Fellblade?

A. Yes.
S. Phil Kelly - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. If all of the Clan Eshin units engaged in a multiple combat are
equipped with Smoke Bombs, can the Smoke Bombs be utilized if one
or more of the units has to flee from the combat?

A. No, they may not be used.
S. Phil Kelly - Warhammer Design Team

*****

HIGH ELF SEA PATROL

Q. Which comes first, the extra round of shooting or the
Bretonnian's praying for the Blessing?

A. The Bretonnian Prayer occurs before the Master of the Mists
shooting.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Can Ship's Company armed with spears fight in 3 ranks like other
High Elves?

A. Yes. They are still High Elves.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Do units take panic tests as a result of the Master of the Mists
round of shooting?

A. No.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If two Sea Patrols are fighting each other, who gets to shoot
first with the Master of Mists special rules?

A. Roll a dice to see who gets to shoot first. Whoever rolls highest
may choose one of his units and work out shooting from that unit,
then the enemy chooses one unit and resolves its shooting. Continue
to alternate shooting units until every unit that is allowed to shoot
has done so.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. Does the Master of the Mists Honour and the exemption from the
Intrigue at Court rule only apply to Sea Lord Aislinn? If I am using
the Sea Patrol army in a setting outside of the Storm of Chaos
campaign, and choose to have the army led by a Sea Lord other than
Aislinn, does he also benefit from the Master of the Mists Honour
and the exemption from the Intrigue at Court rule?

A. The Master of the Mists Honour and the exemption from Intrigue at
Court applies to all Sea Lords. The name of the Sea Lord at the time
of the Storm of Chaos campaign happens to be Aislinn. Also note that
Aislinn is not considered to be a "special character".
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. May characters deployed with a unit of Sea Guard or Sea Rangers
also fire during the Master of the Mists special round of shooting?

A. Yes.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. If during deployment, I attach a mounted character (e.g. a Sea
Lord on a Dragon) to a unit of Sea Guard, may he also fire during
the Master of the Mists special round of shooting?

A. No. The intent was that only characters on foot attached to a
unit of Sea Guard or Sea Rangers would benefit from the special
round of shooting.
S. Andy Hoare - Warhammer Design Team

*****

Q. Can a Sea Lord (or Commodore) with the Radiant Gem of Hoeth or
Loremaster Honour act as a mage for purposes of the Summoned from
the Deep rule?

A. No. The special rule refers only to Storm Weavers and Mist Mages.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. During the Master of the Mists special round of shooting, may
shots be directed at the flanks of enemy units?

A. No!
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. A Merwyrm must take an immediate Leadership test, using the
leadership of the mage who has bound it, if it fails a Regeneration
roll. If there is no regeneration roll (i.e. the Merwyrm
has been wounded by a flaming attack), what happens?

A. A Leadership test is taken if the Merwyrm fails a Regeneration
roll. If there is no Regeneration test, then it cannot be failed –
thus the Merwyrm does not need to test.
S. October 2004 Issue of White Dwarf Magazine (US #297 / UK #298)

*****

Q. A Merwyrm must take an immediate Leadership test, using the
leadership of the mage who has bound it, if it fails a Regeneration
roll. If it fails this test, it must then roll on the Monster
reaction table (treating a result of 5-6 as the creature acting dumb
instead of guarding a fallen rider). If the test is failed and a
Monster reaction applied to the Merwyrm does the reaction apply for
the remainder of the game?

A. No. If the test is failed, apply the Monster reaction on the
owning player's next turn - after which the mage is considered to
have regained control of the Merwyrm (unless it has failed a
subsequent Regeneration roll and Leadership test).
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 94 / Andy Hoare - Warhammer Design Team.

*****

Q. If the mage who has bound the Merwyrm has been slain, does the
Merwyrm still have to take Leadership tests for failed Regeneration
rolls?

A. No, if the mage has been slain, then the Merwyrm no longer has to
take such Leadership tests. Note however that the Merwyrm will have
to take a Leadership test (on its own leadership) at the start of
the owning player's turn and that if this test is failed the
subsequent Monster Reaction result will apply for the remainder
of the game.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 94 / Andy Hoare - Warhammer Design Team.

*****

Q. Can a High Elf Sea Patrol army hire Dogs of War / Regiments of
Renown units?

A. No. Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown are not listed as an option
in the High Elf Sea Patrol army list.
S. Storm of Chaos Book page 94 / Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer
Design Team

*****

HIGH ELF SEA PATROL ERRATA

Add to page 94:
Special Units: 2+ Lothern Sea Rangers (Shadow Warriors)
Great Eagles

*****

Add to page 94: Insert between second and third paragraph under
Master of Mists special rule.

"No enemy unit may be shot at a second time during this round of
shooting, unless all enemy units on the table have been shot at
once. No enemy unit may be shot at a third time during this round of
shooting, unless all enemy units on the table have been shot at
twice,
etc."

*****







    Source: geocities.com/mi_whplayers/faqs

               ( geocities.com/mi_whplayers)