Direwolf Tomb Kings FAQ v6.07
Format
Q = Question
A = Answer
S = Source
Q. Does a Tomb Kings army receive 2 power dice in their magic phase?
A. Yes. All armies receive a base of 2 power dice in their magic
phase. The Tomb Kings army may use these dice to attempt to dispel
'remains in play' spells.
S. Rulebook pages 135,139
*****
Q. Can Tomb Kings single characters and skirmishers move at double
thier Movement value?
A. No. The only case when it is possible for a Tomb Kings unit to
move at double speed is when charging.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. What base size does the Tomb Scorpion use? What is it's unit
strength?
A. 50x50mm. It has a Unit Strength of 4.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team (Online Q&A
on the Games Workshop Warhammer Forum)
*****
Q. For purposes of determining if fear causing units outnumber their
foes to force an auto-break situation, do you determine it by the
largest fear causing unit engaged in the combat or do you use the
total Unit Strength of the fear causing units and compare it to the
defender’s combined Unit Strength?
A. Neither. If a unit is outnumbered by fear-causing enemies, then
it automatically breaks. Operative word is unit, not side, so it
is worked out on its Unit Strength versus total Unit Strength of
fear- causing enemies it is actually fighting (i.e. in base to base
contact with), in the same way that break test are rolled for
individually rather than per side.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Rulebook page 81
*****
Q. In the rules for removing rank bonus it states that "This
bonus is lost if the unit is charged in the flank or rear by
an enemy with a US of 5 or more." This leads to the following
question: Will an Undead unit that is currently less than US5
at the time it charges the enemy and is subsequently raised
to US5+ remove the enemy's rank bonus at the start of the
first round of close combat at which the US5+ status has been
reached?
A. With a strict interpretation of the rule (and therefore
the one that keeps it closest to the basic rules), the unit
has not been 'charged' by an enemy with US 5 or more, and
therefore has not been disrupted enough to lose its rank bonus.
However, you will still get flank and rear bonuses as normal.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Rulebook - page 73
*****
Q. Are Undead immune to poison, since it does not say this
anywhere?
A. Undead are no longer immune to poison. The reference to
unliving targets in the poison description means chariots,
war engines, buildings, etc.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 117
*****
Q. Can you use items like the Bretonnian Mantle of Blood, or
Malekith’s armour to suffer only 1 wound instead of 1D6 from a
Tomb King’s/Prince's Curse?
A. The Tomb King’s/Prince's Curse is treated like any other
multiple wound attack for this purpose.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Ushabti are armed with "Huge ritual blades", are these
Great Weapons?
A. No, if they had great weapons it would say ‘Weapons: Great
weapons’ in the army list entry.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Do Skeleton spearmen in the second rank get to fight when the
Incantation of Righteous Smiting is cast upon the unit?
A. No. The Incantation of Righteous Smiting explicitly says
"models in base-to-base contact".
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Incantations vs Drain Magic. Can an incantation be cast at a
power level of 0 or lower? If so, is it automatically dispelled by
the opponent if he wishes to, or is a D6 roll still necessary ?
A. An incantation is always cast, regardless of its power level.
The opponent must still spend one of his dispel dice to dispel
the incantation. However, the result will automatically be higher
than 0 and the incantation will be dispelled.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. A Tomb King/Tomb Prince is not listed as a Wizard (he can’t
take arcane items, and doesn’t generate dispel dice). Can he
still be a target for Drain Magic?
A. No, as he isn’t a wizard. It is more his indomitable will that
forces his minions to perform his bidding rather than ‘magic’ in
the normal sense. In a similar vein, Drain Magic cannot be cast
against Settra.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Can a Tomb Kings army take advantage of a "4" result for a
Miscast by an enemy wizard? A "4" result on the Miscast table
allows one of the opponent's wizards to have a "free" casting of
any spell that has a casting difficulty equal to or less than the
spell that was Miscast.
A. No. A Tomb Kings army cannot take advantage of magical powers
from such things as an enemy Miscast.
S. Tomb Kings Army Book page 34
*****
Q. Skaven Screaming Bell score of 13 : do you treat the Tomb Kings
army as if the Hierophant, not the General, has been killed.
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. In a Tomb Kings army that includes Dogs of War or
Regiments of Renown units, do the DoW / RoR units have to
take panic checks for the destruction of nearby Undead
units?
A. Yes. No exemption to taking panic checks for DoW / RoR
units has been granted in the Tomb Kings Army Book.
While the units may be "Undead" they are still considered
"friendly" units for purposes of Panic.
S. Rulebook page 80
*****
Q. Is it legal for a living character, such as a Dark Emissary,
to join an Undead unit? Likewise, is it legal for an Undead
character to join a living unit, such as Dogs of War pikemen?
A. The intention of the rules is that no, Undead units cannot be
joined by non-Undead characters and vice versa.
S. Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team
*****
Q. If the Tomb Kings hire a Dark Emissary or Truthsayer, when do
they cast their magic within the hierarchy?
A. As long as they don't disturb the hierarchy, they can cast at
any time, before or after it, but never during.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
CHARIOTS
Q. How do you resolve challenges involving the Champion of a
Chariot unit?
A. If the Chariot is charging, any impact hits are worked out
against the unit as with other challenges. However, except for
the impact hits, the chariot takes part in the challenge as a
single model, so all crew and steeds fight in the challenge.
This is necessary as there is no separate Wound for the
Champion himself and so attacks against him cannot be separated
out.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Does a charging chariot unit cause impact hit for ALL of its
chariots, or only the ones that are in base-to-base contact ?
A. Only the chariots that are in base-to-base contact can cause
impact hits.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. While he is with a Chariot unit, if I kill a Tomb King or Tomb
Prince's chariot, he becomes separated from the unit at the end
of the phase. If this happens in close combat, does he become
an independent character before or after combat resolution? If
the Khemri unit wins and the opponent flees, does the Tomb King
and Chariot unit pursue together or separately?
A. Both combat resolution and pursuing/fleeing happen before the
end of the phase, so the character would count as part of the
unit (unfortunately, this would also mean the Chariots only pursue
2D6" because his Movement value is not more than 6").
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Can you resurrect a Tomb Kings character's chariot if it has
been destroyed but the character is still 'alive'?
A. No. The character and his chariot are treated separately. Neither
can you resurrect the character if the chariot is still 'alive'!
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. If a Tomb King character riding a chariot is killed is the
chariot automatically destroyed as it has no crew?
A. No. Per Gav's answer in the above Q&A the character and
the chariot are treated separately.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
*****
Q. If I destroy a Tomb Kings character's chariot, but not the
character do I earn victory points for destroying the chariot
(which is purchased as equipment for the character)?
A. Yes, as per the above Q&As a chariot and a Tomb Kings
character are treated separately, you earn victory points for
whichever parts you destroy (the character, the chariot, or both).
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
*****
SCREAMING SKULL CATAPULT
Q. If a Screaming Skull Catapult engaged in close combat loses,
but doesn’t lose all its crew, can the additional wounds suffered
from combat resolution be allocated to the Catapult itself rather
than the crew?
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. If a Screaming Skull Catapult has lost all its crew, can they
be brought back with the Incantation of Summoning, so long as
the Catapult itself is still standing?
A. Yes, and vice versa.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
BONE GIANT
Q. How many attacks does a Bone Giant have, including his second
weapon?
A. 5. He has 4 Attacks in his profile and gets an extra 1 with
the second weapon.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. How does the Bone Giant’s Unstoppable Assault work against the
Steam Tank, castle walls and other targets that don’t have Wounds?
A. It has no affect at all; if the target does not have a Wounds
characteristic, there’s no life force for the Bone Giant to feed on!
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. If the Incantation of Righteous Smiting is cast on a charging
Bone Giant, can he use the unstoppable assault rule?
A. Yes, but remember that he attacks only once, not five times
when using the Incantation of Righteous Smiting.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
TREASURES OF THE NECROPOLIS
Q. Do hits from the Destroyer of Eternities which hit each model
carry over onto the unit if attacking rank and file models?
A. These special attacks do not carry over to other models, treat
them all as allocated attacks.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. If the Incantation of Righteous Smiting is cast on a Tomb King
with the Destroyer of Eternities, can he use the special attack
instead of the single one allowed by the incantation?
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can the Collar of Shapesh transfer wounds from combat resolution?
A. No.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can wounds be ‘transferred’ onto a Screaming Skull Catapult
or a Chariot with the Collar of Shapesh?
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Does the Collar of Shapesh work against the Black Amulet's
rebound?
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can saves provided by magic items which are not classified
as Armour or Ward saves (e.g. Collar of Shapesh) save against a
Killing Blow?
A. Yes, treat it as a ward save for this purpose.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team
*****
Q. Can you use the Banner of the Undying Legion to restore wounds
to a character that has joined the unit ?
A. No, it only affects the unit.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can a unit charge on the turn it is raised by the Banner of the
Hidden Dead? Can the banner still be used if the Icon Bearer is
killed before the unit is revealed?
A. As the banner states, they appear in the Remaining Moves part of
the turn, which is AFTER charges have been declared. When the Magic
phase rolls around, however... If the bearer is killed, you can’t
activate the power of the banner and the unit won’t appear in this
battle. Your opponent does not get victory points for the missing
unit though.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can an Icon Bearer take the Icon of Rakaph? The description of
the item seems to indicate it may only be used by Tomb Guard
and Skeleton Warriors.
A. Yes, the Icon Bearer may take the Icon of Rakaph. This is
actually the only way that Skeleton Warriors can benefit from it
(Skeleton Warriors may only have a banner that is up to 25 points
and the Icon of Rakaph is 40 points).
S. Tomb Kings Army Book page 39 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Interpretation
*****
Q. Does the Blade of Mourning have any effect on Undead?
A. No, as Undead do not take Break Tests.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
TOMB BLADES
Q. Do models on foot armed with Tomb Blades and mundane
shields qualify for the hand weapon and shield bonus in
close combat?
A. Yes. "Tomb Blades" is actually a special rule which
applies to the various types of mundane weapons that the
models carry. If these models on foot choose to use their hand
weapons along with mundane shields, they qualify for the
bonus.
S. Tomb Kings Army Book page 27 / Rulebook page 88
*****
Q. How do magic items which negate the affects of magical
weapons interact with Tomb Blades?
A. "Tomb Blades" is actually a special rule which
applies to the various types of mundane weapons that the
models carry.
The Tomb Blades special rule indicates that the mundane
weapons carried by the models all have the the Killing
Blow special ability attached to them.
The Tomb Blades special rule also makes the mundane
weapons carried by these models count as "magical" for
purposes of being able to wound ethereal creatures, able to
hit certain characters who are protected by magical armour,
etc. but they still retain their mundane property.
So a magical item which negates the affects of magical
weapons would stop the attacks from these models counting as
"magical", but would not stop the Killing Blow ability
attached to them.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Tomb Kings
Army Book page 27
*****
Q. How does the High Magic spell, Vaul's Unmaking affect
Tomb Blades?
A. It doesn't. Vaul's Unmaking only affects Magic Items.
Tomb Blades are not magic items.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Tomb Kings
Army Book page 27
*****
Q. How do spells which destroy mundane weapons, such as the
Lore of Metal spell, Bane of Forged Steel (as amended
in Warhammer Chronicles 2003), affect models armed with
Tomb Blades?
A. As the "Tomb Blades" special rule states that the
Killing Blow and the ability of the weapons to count as
magical are attached to the mundane weapons carried by the
models, the models would no longer benefit from either of
those special rules.
In additon, as they would be striking with their fists,
they would not receive any strength bonuses from weapons
or be able to receive the +1 Armour Save bonus for using
a hand weapon and shield.
S. Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation / Tomb Kings
Army Book page 27 / Warhammer Chronices 2004 page 122
*****
CASKET OF SOULS
Q. What happens if an enemy unit with Magic Resistance is in
line of sight of the Casket when its incantation is released?
Do you really add the Magic Resistance dice to the Dispel roll
(and very easily screw up the incantation)? More generally, if one
of the targets for the Casket has a special ability against spells
(magic resistance, rebound, dice stealing, casting score reducing),
does it apply to the whole Casket’s spell effect?
A. Magic Resistance does work against the Casket’s Light of Death,
so long as the model/unit with Magic Resistance would be affected.
Where there is more than one unit with Magic Resistance that will
be affected, only one model/unit can add their extra dice (usually
the highest). In all other respects, the Light of Death counts
as magic that affects any enemy unit that can see the Casket,
so other effects would also work as they would against any other
magic. Having said that however, a magic item that ‘rebounds’
spells isn’t going to have any effect - the Light of Death only
ever affects enemies.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Are enemy units which are involved in close combat, but still
have line of sight to the Casket of Souls, affected by the Light
of Death?
A. The Casket does not affect units that are engaged in combat at
all. It is assumed that they are engrossed in the combat, and so
will never be affected.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 115
*****
Q. Are any types of units immune to the affects of the Casket of
Souls?
A. No. The Casket of Souls gives no exceptions to what it affects.
The Light of Death affects everything including Undead, Daemons,
troops immune to psychology, and even war machines.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team
*****
Q. How do you resolve wounds from the Casket of Souls against a war
machine? Is the machine itself affected or only the crew?
A. Randomise wounds between crew and machine as you would for
missile hits.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can you use the General’s Leadership value (if in 12" range) when
determining the number of wounds from the Casket of Souls?
A. Yes.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. How are skirmishers and lone characters on foot (360° line of
sight) affected by the Casket of Souls?
A. Just like everybody else!
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Fast cavalry can shoot all round, so does this mean they have
360° line of sight for the purposes of the Casket of Souls?
A. No, as described in the rules for fast cavalry, they use normal
line of sight for everything except shooting.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. How far can the Liche Priest go away from the Casket of Souls
without being considered out of range from it?
A. A model must remain within 1" of a war machine (or in this case
the Casket of Souls) to count as being part of its ‘crew’.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can another Liche Priest join the Casket (the same way a
character can join a warmachine crew)? If so what happens if the
original Liche Priest is killed? Can the other Liche Priest sustain
the casket?
A. Yes. In the description for the Casket (p. 33) it says ‘If...
there is no Liche Priest or Liche High Priest acting as part of the
crew for the Casket at the beginning of any Tomb Kings turn, the
Casket and its two Casket Guards immediately collapse...’. It
doesn’t say anything about the original Liche Priest - as long as
there is at least one Priest acting as crew it operates as normal.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Is it true that when fighting in close combat the Priest joins
the first rank and personally defends the casket?
A. Yes, a Priest must fight in the combat. The Priest and his
bodyguards form up like war machine crew.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Can a character with the Collar of Shapesh and within 6" of a
Casket of Souls redirect wounds to the Casket itself (and therefore
have them ignored)?
A. No, it must be redirected to a model with a Wounds
characteristic.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
SPECIAL CHARACTERS
Q. Settra’s armour of Golden Magnificence. Do weapons or spells
that nullify armour saves work or is it like a second 4+ ward save?
Oh, and is the 2+ armour save improved by +2 with the chariot?
A. As stated, he is allowed a 4+ save even against attacks that
normally allow no save, and yes this is in addition to his ward
save. No, he always has a 2+ armour save, whether mounted or not.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
*****
Q. Does Settra generate any dispel dice or is an army led by him
limited to the base 2?
A. No, Settra doesn’t generate any dispel dice, even though he
can use Incantations.
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 118
*****
Q. Does Queen Khalida count as a Tomb King for army selection?
A. Yes (the only other character you are required to take is a
a Hierophant).
S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 119
               (
geocities.com/mi_whplayers)