The Avco World Trophy

The AVCO World Trophy was given yearly to the champion of the league. Like the Stanley Cup the players names ar engraved onto the cup on side panels. The cup was donated by the AVCO Fiancial Services Corporation with $500,000. This is why they call it the AVCO world trophy. The NHL disliked the WHA and the cup calling it an ugly second cousin to the Stanley Cup. It was true that it wasn't as good looking as Lord Stanley, but it was a real accomplishement like any other championship to win it. There were only 3 AVCO trophy's made. They all reside in Canada with one in the Hockey Hall of Fame, the other in Nova Scotia in a Sports Complex, because the President of Avco lived there and donated it to the Arena, and the other is at the Winnipeg Arena who's Jets won the final AVCO World Trophy.

  • 1972-1973 - New England-4 Winnipeg-1
  • 1973-1974 - Houston-4 Chicago-0
  • 1974-1975 - Houston-4 Quebec-0
  • 1975-1976 - Winnipeg-4 Houston-0
  • 1976-1977 - Quebec-4 Winnipeg-3
  • 1977-1978 - Winnipeg-4 New England-0
  • 1978-1979 - Winnipeg-4 Edmonton-2

    Return to Main Page

    This page hosted by GeoCities Get your own Free Home Page