Queen's College was founded on Monday, October 10, 1927. It was the first government-owned school for girls. Its first principal, Miss Wordsworth, was a great-grand niece of the famous English writer, William Wordsworth. Originally called Government School for Girls, Lagos, it officially became Queen's College on April 12, 1928. The school's original site was in the heart of Lagos, on King George IV street. It was later moved in 1958 to its present site in Yaba. At QC's inception, its population was modest. There were 7 students in Form 1 and 13 in Form 2. The college's curriculum was essentially concerned with preparing girls for roles as mothers and housewives. Subjects included Prayers, Housework, Drill, English, Needlework and Embroidery, Singing, Geography, Mathematics, Hygiene, History, Reading, and Games. The 1930s saw the introduction of science into the Queen's College curriculum. A strong brother-sister relationship was nurtured between King's and Queen's Colleges because Queen's College science lessons were conducted at the brother school. In 1939, the school song, "Pass on the Torch" was written by Miss Dorothy Peel and music composed by Mr. Woodham. Since then, the school's motto has been "Pass on the Torch." The college has witnessed a rapid expansion since the sixties. It has grown from 2 streams to its present 8 in the Junior Secondary School and 6 in the Senior school. In 1988, the college phased out the Sixth Form programme according to government policy. The college has grown from a modest 20 students in 1927 to its present population of over 2500.

Miss Wordsworth (later Mrs. Tolfree)1927-1930
Miss. W.W. Blackwell 1931-1942
Mrs. Mather 1942-1944
Dr Alice L. Whittaker 1944-1946
Miss Ethel Hobson 1946-1950
Miss Mary Hutcheson 1950-1954
Miss Joyce Moxon 1954-1955
Miss Magaret Gentle later Mrs. Harwood 1956-1963
Mrs. Efunjoke Coker 1963-1977
Mrs. Theresa Chukwuma 1978-1982
Mrs. A.A. Kafaru 1982-1986
Mrs. Ejueyitchie 1986-1987
Mrs. Jane Namme 1988-1991
Mrs. Helen Marinho 1991-1996
Mrs Sojinrin 1996 to date


1928 Ebunola Ajagbe (Mrs. Potts Johnson)
1929-1930 Olatunbosun Davies(Mrs. Marinho)
July-December 1929 Titilola Johnson (Mrs. Banjo)
1930Irene Liverpool (Chief Mrs. Willoughby)
1932Aina Vaughn (Mrs. Phillips)
1933-1934Olayiwola Odufunnade (Mrs. Kukoyi)
1935Ibironke Williams (Mrs. Doherty)
1937Aurora Folashade Allen (Mrs. Ajose)
1938Eudora Peterside
1939Minnie Odamtten (Mrs. Fisher)
1940Efunyemi Hughes (Mrs. Akerele)
1942Matilda Duke (Mrs. Briggs)
1943Mary Ekpiken
1944Grace Onuoha (Mrs. Mogo)
1946Alexandra Coco-Bassey (Mrs. Ukpong)
1947Esther Shola Garrick(Mrs. Gwem)
1948Comfort Oluyemi Adedeji (Mrs. Akinla)
1948Bernice Iduma (Mrs. Chuku)
1949Amoni Furo (Mrs. Pepple)
July-December 1949Hedwig Climer (Mrs. Epelle)
1950Leah Ayaria Cookey(Mrs. Okonkwo)
1951Veronica Morenike Ojo (Mrs. Esan)
1952Joy Emelumadu
1953Hannah Omotayo Johnson
1954C.Y. Macorroh (Mrs. Coker)
1955Modupe Sangonuga (Mrs. Oyebolu)
1956Folashade Durojaiye
1957Maria Folashade Ibare-Jones (Mrs. Fanoiki)
1958Titilola Awofeso (Mrs. Osunsanya)
1959-1960Abimbola Ayodele Okenla
1961Cumer Eno Mba (Mrs. Bassey)
1962Abeke Lawal (Mrs. Lawal)
1969Olatokunbo Olusola (Mrs. Somolu)
1988-1989 Shade Gbadamosi Hanatu Musa
1990-1991 Brenda Achukwu Chichi Eronini, Ibilola Jegede
1991-1992 Rotkang Gomos Emma Unoh, Nafisa Buba-Mohammed
1992-1993 Ijeoma Ofoegbu Nneka Emenyonu, Yetunde Noah
1993-1994 Nnenna Mba Fanta Kaloma, Yinka Babalola
1994-1995 Shuwaram Shettima Chinwe Obianwu, Ijeoma Akunyili
1995-1996 Tosin Otitoju Chinedu Momah, Janada Mamsa
1996-1997 Amaka Ezechi Saratu Samande
1997-1998 Toyin Omotosho Chioma Dinobi, Chinelo Okafor
1998-1999 Amaka Momah Anu Adeosun, Funke Oyinlola & Mariam Buba Mohammed


Queen's College comprises seven academic departments, six levels of learning, academic and non-academic staff as well as a female student body.
The seven departments of Humanities, Mathematical and Technological Sciences, Languages Guidance and Counselling, the Natural Sciences, the Social Sciences and Vocational Studies are made up of various subjects, each headed by members of the teaching staff.
The school's education system is based on Nigeria's Policy on Education - the
6-3-3-4 Education System. As a secondary school QC covers the 3-3 portion of the system.

Seventeen subjects are offered in the Junior school. Girls go through a maximum of 13 and a minimum of 12, at least 6 of which they are required to pass.

As mentioned earlier, recent years have witnessed the steady increase in the number of arms in each year, from five in 1992 to eight (S-Z) in both the junior and senior school.


Membership in at least two of the following clubs is mandatory for students:


1997 Simisola Marinho