Welcome To the Website of  Dr. Sanjoy Kumar Pal

 

Curriculum Vitae

 

Research Activities

Research Papers

Posters and Presentations

Electronic Publications

Appreciation Letters

Extra Curricular Activities

Family

Miscellaneous

Contact Address

 

I was the first child of my parents. When I was very young my father was transferred from Kolkata to Kharagpur. He was a dermatologist in the South Eastern Railway. I studied in the Higli Higher Secondary School, situated in the Indian Institute of Technology campus. From my childhood I had a wish to become a scientist. However, I was not very good in my studies. But, I was a good badminton player, my school friends still remembers me as a badminton champion. I left Kharagpur in 1980 after I completed my High School. I did my graduation from Saifia College Bhopal; thereafter, I did my M.Sc. in Genetics from the School of Life Sciences, University Teaching Department, Bhopal University in 1987. For my doctoral degree I joined Indian Veterinary Research Institute. I received my Ph.D. in Animal Genetics in 1993. For my post doctoral research I got an opportunity to associate with Prof. S S Agarwal in the department of Medical Genetics, Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences (SGPGIMS), Lucknow. However, due to an accident I was forced to take rest for a prolonged period. A specific incidence again instigated me for undertaking intensive research. When my father-in-law Mr. Brojen Das (King of Channel) was detected with cancer I had to do an extensive literature search for the best available treatment. To my surprise I could not find any therapy that was target specific and free from adverse side effects. After the first chemotherapy as predicted the general condition of my father-in-law deteriorate due to serious side effects. For continuing his treatment we tried alternative homeopathic & herbal therapy. To our surprise he responded to herbal therapy and recovered fast. He survived for about a year after the diagnosis of his malignant disease. After this incidence I got interested in two things i.e. ‘Alternative Medicine’ and ‘Cancer’. I did a correspondence course on Alternative Medicine from Indian Board of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata. In 2000 I again joined SGPGIMS and started working on genetic aspect related to gall bladder cancer. Later, I was awarded an Indian Council for Medical Research project to study the various complementary and alternative cancer therapies that was popular in the northern India. For the last few years I am researching on various popular alternative cancer therapies of India with a special focus on HUMA therapy. I have worked as faculty in the Department of Biotechnology, Sardar Bhagwan Singh (PG) Institute of Biomedical Sciences and Research, Dehradun from 2006 - 2008. Presently, I am working as a Senior Scientific Manager in Ipca Traditional Remedies Private Limited, Mumbai

 

Site updated on January 01, 2009

     TOP

1 1