The Seven Pearls
For Individual Biographies Click Here.
  Sigma Gama Rho Sorority, Inc. was founded on November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven school teachers: Mary Lou Little, Dorthy Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Dulin Redford, Bessie M. Downey Martin, and Cubena McClure.  The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929 when chater was granted to the Alpha chapter at Butler University.
Sigma Facts
Sigma Flower - The yellow tea rose
Sigma Mascot - The poodle
Sigma Colors - Royal blue and Antique gold
Affliate Organizations
Support Organizations
United Negro College Fund
National Council of Negro Women, Inc.
March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation
National Urban League
National Pan Hellenic Council, Inc.
Black Women's Agenda
National Mental Health Association
American Association of University Women