SARAH'S SITE

Hi, I'm Sarah. Well actually, Sarah Jayne Robinson. I am from Johannesburg in South Africa. And yes, we do have electricity and cars and real houses.

I am 19 years old and finished high school at the end of last year. I attended Rand Park High School. I have a mom, Irene, dad, Leigh, older brother, Jonathan, sister-in-law, Nicky and a younger sister, Julie. My mother is from Canada, so we have a lot of family in Canada.

One of my interests is volleyball!! I played for the First Team at my school and I played for my Province, Gauteng. My school team completed a tour to Cape Town in August last year. Check out my volleyball page for our results and other information.

I also play the guitar. I have been playing for about 5 years. I used to be apart of a band and we would practise most Friday nights.

I spend a lot of time writing. I enjoy writing poems, songs and essays. I have a book which contains all of my writing and I will soon be posting some of my work on this page.

I also enjoy music. Some of my favourite bands are Counting Crows, Live, Ash, John Lennon, Manic Street Preachers, Just Jinger, REM, The Corrs, Jewel, Goo Goo Dolls, Dave Matthews Band and Sarah McLachlan.

I also enjoy rollarblading. And of course surfing the net and talking to people on the chat lines!

Most Friday afternoons I would go to the Princess Alice Home and help look after the babies. Just about all of the babies are black and their ages range from a few weeks to 14 months. There are about 20 babies.

Since finishing school last year, I decided that I would take a few gap years and try do a bit of travelling. I left South Africa on January 21st and flew to London. I have been staying with a family friend in Milford, Surrey, about 45 minutes from London. For the first four months of the year I worked and tried to do a bit of sightseeing around England. I visited places like Brighton, Stone Henge, Leeds Castle, Stratford Upon Avon, Warwick Castle, Arundle Castle and a few others. I spent the Easter weekend in Paris with friends of my mother's. I spent about four days travelling around Paris taking in the amazing sights.

On June 9th I flew to America where I would be spending three and a half months. I would spend two months working in a summer camp for kids, two weeks in Canada and then three weeks driving across the States. I arrived in New York and spent the night at the University of Columbia where we had our camp orientation. The following day I flew to San Francisco. My camp, Cloverleaf Ranch, is situated an hour north of the city in Santa Rosa. Camp was amazing. I coached volleyball, tennis, taught riflery, archery and music. I made many good friends with the other counselors and had some excellent experiences with the kids. I can't wait to return to camp next year. After camp I flew up to Calgary in Canada where I spent two weeks with my family. I then flew down to Los Angeles where I would be joining up with 12 other people doing Trek America. We spent the next three weeks driving to New York. We stopped and spent time at the following places: Disneyland, Las Vegas, Zion National Park, Lake Powell, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Slim and Cody's Cowboy Camp, Santa Fe, Carlsbad, Del Rio, Mexico, San Antonio, New Orleans, Alabama, Tennessee, Washington DC and New York. We did a variety of activities like sunrise jeep tours, horse riding, swamp tours and white water rafting. It was excellent. Again I made many new friends. I flew back to London on September 21st after a great time in the States.

Now back in England I am working again in hope of returning to America next summer. I may be going home to South Africa for Christmas but at this stage nothing is finalised. It is great to travel around and see the world and I plan to do this for the next few years.

SOME INTERESTING INFO

* Favourite Colours > Blue, Green, Purple

* Favourite Car > Opel Kadet 200is

* Favourite TV Shows > Alley McBeal, Felicity, Mad About You, Spin City

* Favourite Food > Chicken, Italian

* Favourite Song > Colorblind - Counting Crows / Dave Matthew's Band - Two Step

* Favourite Radio DJ's > Ian F and Sasha Martinengo (5FM)

* Favourite Actresses > Helen Hunt, Calista Flockhart, Meg Ryan, Sandra Bullock

* Favourite Actors > Ben Afleck, John Travolta, Tom Hanks, Matt Damon, Bruce Willis

* Favourite Movies > Saving Private Ryan, Cruel Intentions, Patch Adams, Shawshank Redemption, The General's Daughter, The Matrix, The Sixth Sence

* Favourite Author > John Grisham

* Favourite Book > The Partner: John Grisham, Seven Habits Of Highly Effective Teenagers - Sean Covey

* Favourite Quote > "May the forces of evil become confused on the way to your home."

* Thought For The Day > "Whether I fail or succeed shall shall be no man's doing but my own. I am the force." Elaine Maxwell

* My ICQ Number > 1989206


MY VOLLEYBALL PAGE

Links to other sites on the Web

Fresh Tabs Guitar Tablature
The Top 100 Guitar Sites
Mark's Poem Of The Day Page
Vellum Gallery Of Calligraphy, Illumination And Letter Arts
Official Counting Crows' Page
Live
My Counting Crows Site
My RT Friend, Amy's Homepage
5Fm - 5FM Music Radio
Just Jinger's Official Page
Work Experience USA
Camp Counselors USA
Overseas Visitor's Club
Active Ankle
Official International Volleyball Site
Beach Volleyball World Tour
Schneid's Volleyball Page
Volleyball Coaches Corner
Cloverleaf Ranch Summer Camp
Cloverleaf's Staff Homepage For 2000
Trek America

Sign Guestbook

If you have any comments about my page, please sign my guest book or e-mail me. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks for visiting my site.

1997 sarah.jr@usa.net


This page hosted by GeoCities Get your own Free Home Page


1