Holy Days of Obligation

On Line Since 03-08-00

Last Modified: 04-Aug-00

The 1983 Code of Canon Law identifies Sunday as "the primordial holy day of obligation" in the universal Church.
In addition to Sunday there are 10 other days of obligation:
1. The Nativity of the Lord Jesus Christ (Christmas)
2. The Epiphany (Jan. 6.)
3. The Ascension (40 days after Easter)
4. The Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)
5. Holy Mary, the Mother of God (octave day of Christmas, Jan. 1)
6. The Immaculate Conception (Dec. 8)
7. The Assumption (Aug. 15)
8. St. Joseph (March 19)
9. Ss. Peter and Paul (June 29)
10. All Saints (Nov. 1)

Explanation of each (Please click here)

These are the days other than Sundays when Catholics are obligated to attend Mass.

Assumption of Mary -

(Holy Day of Obligation)

 August 15


Solemnity of All Saints -

(Holy Day of Obligation)

 November 1-


Immaculate Conception of Mary -

(Holy Day of Obligation)

 December 8-


Christmas -

(Holy Day of Obligation)

 December 24-

 December 25


Solemnity of Mary - Mother of God -

 January 1


Ash Wednesday (beginning of Lent)



Palm Sunday Masses -





Holy Thursday (Mass of the Lord's Supper) - 2001


Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament


Good Friday

Friday, April 13, 2001


Holy Saturday -



Easter Sunday -



Return to the top of the Page