Sult cover
(click on cover image
for larger version)

Sample, review, or order this CD now at

Sult: Spirit of the Music
Various Artists

UK: Hummingbird Records HBC0009 (Released 1996)
US/Canada: Bottom Line Records BTL-97303-2 (Released 1997 - see below)

  1. Sult theme - The Sult House Band featuring John McSherry (2:16)
  2. St. Dominic's Preview - Van Morrison (6:43)
  3. Óró - Máire Brennan (the lead singer with Clannad) (3:50)
  4. Causeway - Nollaig Casey (3:01)
  5. On Raglan Road - Mark Knopfler (5:28)
  6. Murphy tunes - Sharon Shannon & Laoise Kelly (3:30)
  7. Rocks of Bawn - Paul Brady (4:50)
  8. Liquid sunshine - Máirtin O'Connor (3:57)
  9. Siúil a Rúin - Maighréad Ní Dhomhnaill & Iarla Ó Lionaird (4:41)
  10. Rollicking boys of Tandagree - Nomos (4:11)
  11. The parting of friends - Matt Molloy (flute player with the Chieftains) (2:23)
  12. Mystic Slip Jigs - Máire Breatnach (3:30)
  13. Crazy Love - Brian Kennedy & Anúna (3:09)
  14. Brídín Bhéasaigh/Peata na Mhaoir - Steven Cooney & Sheamus Begley (4:30)
  15. Rinn na Mara - John Spillane (2:12)
  16. The Brown Haired Girl - Liam O'Flynn (4:00)
  17. Sult theme - The Sult House Band featuring Nollaig Casey (3:23)

Musicians: (see above, and notes below)

Review from Denis Healy:
{Van fans] may be interested to know that an album has been released in Ireland containing a VM track which is not available elsewhere. It is a compilation of tracks recorded especially for a music programme called Sult, which was broadcast on the recently launched Irish language TV station (TnaG).

Van does a lovely (seven minute) acoustic version of "St Dominic's Preview" with a band, consisting of many well known Irish musicians from the traditional and popular music genres. Band members are: Mary Black (backing vocals), Brendan Power (harmonica), Richie Buckley and Keith Donald (saxophones), Nollaig Casey (fiddle), Donal Lunny (bouzouki), Stephen Cooney (bass), Pat Crowley (keyboards), Noel Bridgeman (drums and backing vocals). Van himself contributes lead vocal and acoustic guitar.

The album is called Sult: Spirit of the Music and is released on the Hummingbird Records label - its number is HBC0009. Hummingbird was the production company of the TV series "Bringing it all back home" which was broadcast all over the world about five years ago. Their E-mail address is

Also of interest to VM fans may be a vocal version of Van's song "Crazy Love" performed by VanŐs vocal collaborator on "Days Like This", Brian Kennedy, and Irish group Anúna. Both tracks are only superb as is most of the album (to these Irish ears at least).

Kevin Kiernan from The Bottom Line Record Co.
writes to inform me (and other Van fans) that his company has picked up North American rights for Sult: Spirit of the Music. Sult was released in the US on September 2, 1997. Primary distributor is Navarre Corp.; secondary distributors are Silo Music and Music Design. Product code (in both countries) is BTL-97303-2. No cassette is available at this point.

Part of the unofficial website