The Angel Hierarchy

      Angels are a pretty accepted fact in Islam, Judaism, and Christianty.  They are considered to be mindless, bodieless spirit entities that who prefom various services for God or for people on God's behalf.  They are considered to be "good" and are frequently mentioned in the Bible, Koran, and Torah.  Angels are classified by rank.  Each type of angel has a different duty.  There are three tirads of angles.
The First Triad
The Second Triad The Third Triad
Seraphim The Dominions The Principalities
Cherubim The Virtues The Archangels
Thrones The Powers The Angels
The First Triad

Seraphs are the highest order of God's Angels.  They stand by God's throne chanting "Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord of Hosts, the whole earth is full of His Glory" (Isaiah 6:3) or "Kadosh, Kadosh, Kadosh."  These are being of pure light and thought and have direct communication with God.  They appear with six wings and four heads glowing with the Fire of Love.  There are only four Seraphim according to Enoch which correspond to the four directions or winds.  It was later interpreted that this means there are four princes who rule over the Seraphim.  These four are Gabriel, Kemuel, Nathanael, and Matatron or Satan.  There are passages which refer to Seraphim as "fiery serpents."  There is a lot of confusion in the ranks of angels and some of the Seraphim are also considered Archangels; despite that Archangles are ranked signficiantly lower than the Seraphim.  Metraon is identified as Satan, Prince of Darkness, or "old dragon" sometimes and is said ot have thrity-six wings and many eyes. 


"On the east side of the Garden of Eden cherubim and a flaming sword flashing back and forth to guard the way to tree of life."  (Genesis 3:24)
The Hebrew word "kerub" is usually transalted as "one who intercedes" but it may also mean "knowledge."  The Karibu were the terrible, monstrous guardians of the temples and palaces in Sumer and Babylon.  There were similiar guardians in the Near East and there were winged, eagle-headed deities that guarded the Assyrian Tree of Everlasting Life.  These are said to have four faces and four wings.  In Exodus 25 it is said the Ark was to be decorated with Cherubim but Samuel 4:4 states the Lord is "enthroned between the cherubim" on the Ark.

The Thrones are also known as Galgalin or Ophanim.  They are God's actual chariots.  Galgal in Hebrew means both "pupil of the eye" and wheels.  They are said to reside either in the third or fourth heaven.  They inhabit a region in which Heaven meets Earth.  Raphael is thought to be their ruling Prince.

The Second Triad

The Dominions
These are the angels that "regulate" angels' duties according to Dionysius.  They are described as Lords, Kuriotetes, Hashmallim, or Dominions.  They reside in the second heaven, the same place where the celestial letters of the Holy Name are.  There ruling Princes are said to be Muriel, Yahriel, Zadkiel, and Hashmal (also known as Chasmal or the "fire speaking angel"). 

The Virtues
Also called Tarshishim, Dunamis, and Malakim they are known as "The Brilliant or Shining Ones."  These are the angels that bestow blessings usually in the form of miracles.  These are the angels which escorted Christ to Heaven during the Ascension.  They were also present at the birth of Cain according to the
Book of Adam and Eve.  The leaders are said to be Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Bariel, Trashish, and before his fall Satanel. 

The Powers
Also known as the Authorities, the Potentiates, and the Dynamis they are said to have been the first angels created by God.  They reside along the border between the first and second heavens.  It is their job to guard against demons.  The leader of the order is Camael who's name means "he who sees God."  The Magus suggests that he is one of the seven angels who stands in the presence of God.  Camael is said to have the body of a lepard.  Another intersteing fact is that Camael is also identified as a Duke of Hell.  Some people associate him with the god of war, Mars.  He is a commander of Vengeance, Punishment, Destruction, and Death and as Kemuel a mediator between Israel and the Hierarchs of teh seventh heaven.  Camael is said to be the angel who wrestle Jacob, appeard to Jesus in the Garden of Gethsmane, and tried to prevent Moses from receiving the Torah from God. 
It is the powers who guide the soul.  They are the angels who attempt to balance the good and bad in hopes the bad will not overpower the good leaving the individual to fall to the darker sie.  They also guide soulds who have left the body and lost their way.

The Third Triad

The Principalities
These are the angels who are in charge of great cities and nations on Earth.  Later they were interprated as the protectors of religion.  There is no one leader, but many possiblitiels.  One possible leader is Nisrock; an Assyrian diety sometimes considered the chief chef to the Demon Princes of Hell.  Anael, one of the seven angels of creation, is another possiblity.  Anael is governor of the second heaven and associated with human sexuality.  Another Principalitie is Hamiel, the angel who transported Enoch to Heave (despite that he is called the Chaldean diety Ishtar).  Cervil, the Prince of Strenght who helped David to slay Goliath is also a principalitie. 


In Chrisitan and Jewish traditions there are seven Archangels, however, in the Koran there are only four.  Also in the Koran, only two of the four archangels are named.  The two named are Michael and Jibril (Gabriel).  There is a difference in who the Jewish and Chrisitan sources in who they are named.  They do agree that Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel, and Michael are archangles.  The three other archangles are either Remiel, Sarile, Raziel, Raguel, Anael, and Metatron.  The archangles are in a constant battle with the Sons of Darkness.  They are the m ost important intercessionaries between God and Man.

The Angels are the last order of the hierarchy.  The angels are intermediaries between Man and God.  The term "angel" comes from the Greek "angelos."  The Greek took "angelos" from the Persian "angaros"which means couirer from the Sanskrit "angeres."  Finally we come to the Hebrew word "mal'akh" which means "a messenger."