GP2, Bologna Motorshow (I), December 8th-9th 2006

GP2, Bologna Motorshow (I), December 8th-9th 2006

In 2006 the now traditional F3000 event was joined by GP2, which had replaced FIA F3000 as the premier F1 feeder series in 2005. Three Italian based teams, Fisichella Motor Sport, Durango and Trident each fielded two cars.

Former Minardi F1 driver Patrick Friesacher made his GP2 competition debut with FMS, alongside Marco Bonanomi, runner-up in the Euroseries 3000 with Giancarlo Fisichella's team. Renault World Series runner-up Borja Garcia made a GP2 return with Durango, alongside Ernesto Viso, 6th in the 2006 GP2 championship with iSport. Trident Racing fielded two newcomers, Kohei Hirate from the F3 Euro Series and Renault World Series front-runner Pastor Maldonado.

Viso took the overall win, defeating Friesacher in the two 3-lap races which made up the final. Garcia and Hirate both took a win in their final to determine third and fourth, but Garcia clinched the final step on the podium by having the quickest aggregate time.

Bologna Motorshow GP2 entries
No. Driver Team Car/Engine
16 Patrick Friesacher (AUT) FMS International Dallara GP2/05-Renault
17 Marco Bonanomi (ITA) FMS International Dallara GP2/05-Renault
22 Borja Garcia (ESP) Durango Dallara GP2/05-Renault
23 Ernesto Viso (VEN) Durango Dallara GP2/05-Renault
26 Kohei Hirate (JPN) Trident Racing Dallara GP2/05-Renault
27 Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Trident Racing Dallara GP2/05-Renault
Vitaly Petrov (RUS) was initially expected to drive #16 car
Timed Practice
Best time: Viso, 22.05 secs
See the full results
Qualifying races
Bonanomi and Maldonado eliminated
See the full results
Viso v. Garcia (1-1); Viso wins
Friesacher v. Hirate (2-0); Friesacher wins
See the full results
Final for 1st and 2nd (winner decided by total time)
Viso v. Friesacher (2-0); Viso wins
See the full results
Final for 3rd and 4th (winner decided by total time)
Garcia v. Hirate (1-1); Garcia wins
See the full results
Final placings
Pos Driver Team
1 Ernesto Viso (VEN) Durango
2 Patrick Friesacher (AUT) FMS International
3 Borja Garcia (ESP) Durango
4 Kohei Hirate (JPN) Trident Racing
Elim Marco Bonanomi (ITA) FMS International
Elim Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Trident Racing