chicago white sox
chicago white sox chicago white sox chicago white sox
chicago white sox chicago white sox

Charles Comiskey in Sioux City , Iowa founded Chicago White Sox in 1893. The team was known as Sioux City Cornhuskers and won their first league pennant in 1894 before moving to St. Paul , Minnesota . The league was known as St. Paul from 1895-1899 before shifting to Chicago and adopting the moniker White Stockings aka White Sox. White Stockings signed pitcher and manager Clark Griffith who led the team to the American League's first pennant in 1901. In the following years White worked on their pitching and defense to make it strong. Ed Walsh was included as a pitcher and he pitched more than 400 innings each season. The White Sox moved to the Comiskey Park in 1910. Chicago won four AL pennants and two World Series titles from 1901 through 1919. Chicago played against many dominating teams and won World Series championships in 1906 and 1917. But the team's success was blemished by the notorious Black Sox scandal. Shoeless Joe along with seven other teammates was expelled from baseball as they were accused of giving away the 1919 World Series to the Cincinnati Reds. The White Sox soon overcame the hurdles and topped the American League the following year. Later the team comprised of star players like Luke Appling, Ted Lyons, and Al Simmons but failed to win another AL pennant in next 40 years. From 1952 to 1958 Chicago White Sox stood among the top three teams in the AL but could not compete with the East Coast team, New York Yankees. Under the guidance of manager Al Lopez, the White Sox won an AL pennant in 1959. The team at that time included shortstop Luis Aparicio, second baseman Nellie Fox, and pitcher Early Wynn. Unfortunately the league could not win the World Series losing to Los Angeles Dodgers. Between 1963 and 1965, Chicago White Sox finished at the second place consecutively. After many years in 1983 the White Sox made up their best team since the Black Sox scandal and won their division title. The team comprised of outfielders Baines and Kittle, catcher Fisk, and nominated hitter Luzinski. Kittle as AL rookie of the year, Tony LaRussa was named the AL manager of the year and pitcher LaMarr Hoyt won the AL CY Young Award. The same year team lost to the Baltimore Orioles in the American League Championship Series. Finishing at second place in 1990 and 1991, the White Sox won another West Division title in 1993 led by manager Gene Lamont. First baseman Frank Thomas won his first of two successive AL most valuable player awards, and pitcher Jack McDowell earned the AL Cy Young Award. Unluckily this time the Chicago White Sox again lost out in the AL Championship Series. In the 1994 expansion, the team was placed in a new AL Central Division. In 2000, the White Sox had one of their best teams since the 1983 club. The club won 95 games on their way to AL Central division title. In 2004, the Chicago White Sox hired former White Sox shortstop Ozzie Guillén. Ozzie led the White Sox to a great start in 2004.

MLB Baseball playoffs 2005 and white sox are there. Its been a while they have been to post season. Get your white sox playoffs tickets now and enjoy the dream run to world series

Generation Joinery London Wooden Sash Windows | Generation Joinery - Generation Joinery specialise in wooden sash windows and casement windows. We also manufacture bespoke timber sash windows and doors.



  Home and Garden Directory | Travel Insurance Directory Directory