The House of Assembly

The following Acts concern the evolution,constitution and powers of the House of Assembly:

The Independence Legislative Council Act, 1874

Probited Members of the appointed Upper House, or Legislative Council, from running for election to the Lower House of Assembly without first vacating their seat in the Council.

The House of Assembly Amendment Act, 1925

By which women in Newfoundland were granted the franchise. Enthusiasm for this great day for equality should be tempered by noting that the age of electoral majority was set at 25 for women, but remained at 21 for men. Property or income qualifications were also retained.

The Newfoundland Act, 1949

Terms 14 to 16 of the Terms of Union of 1949 re-established the legislature in Newfoundland (and Labrador) that had been suspended in 1934. While the former 'Upper House' or Legislative Council was not re-established, it is open to the existing House of Assembly to ressurect the old bicameral legislature.

The Electoral Boundaries Act

The Electoral Boundaries Act provides for an Electoral Boundaries Commission to divide the province into electoral districts, and establishes the demographic, geographic, and other considerations which guide the Commission in drawing the electoral map.

The House of Assembly Act

Provides for the constitution and powers of the House of Assembly, and the privileges of its members.

The Office of Speaker Vacancy Act

Provides for the election of an acting Speaker of the House of Assembly.