The Collected Rulings File
This file exists to provide more in-depth explanations to rules in the
book, new rulings made since the rulebook was published, and card errata. If
you want a shorter, more concise guide to the most common problems, the FAQ
may serve you better.
NOTE: The Term IBAD is used as a variable for the different type of rites
Intrigue/Battle/Arbitration/Duel.
1) Cards
A. Card Types
i. Personas
ii. Personnel
iii. Ventures
iv. Tactics
v. Events
B. Allegiance
C. Talents
D. Special Operations
i. Direct
ii. Counter
iii. Capture
E. Resistance
1) Cards
A. Card Types
There are several different card types, most of which require no
additional explanation. Here, however, we will address the five most complex
types Personas, Personnel, Ventures, Tactics, and Events.
i. Personas
Personas include all Aides and Allies. In other words, all the yellow
bordered cards. Personas, once deployed or successfully Petitioned, sit in your
House domain. They are not to be assigned to any homeworld, charter, or fief.
Personas are the means via which you can directly affect your rivals through
Rites which you initiate. Your personas only defend in Rites when eligible.
This means in the case of all Intrigue and Dueling Rites, and in cases
when your personas can Counter against a given Rite.
Personas are all either Allies or Aides. If one of your personas gains
one of these types by virtue of another game card, they lose their previous
subtype. In other words, a persona cannot be both an Ally and an Aide.
Allies are all either Nobles or Vassals. If one of your Allies gains
one of these types by virtue of another game card, they lose their previous
subtype. In other words, an Ally cannot be both a Noble and a Vassal.
Aides may become Nobles or Vassals, as a result of a card or game effect,
but they remain Aides unless the effect also specifically grants them the Ally
subtype. If an aide gains the Ally subtype, it ceases to be an Aide.
Native personas function exactly the same as other personas, except that
you must govern a Dune fief in order to deploy them. Like all other personas,
they are not assigned to a fief, they are placed in your House domain as
normal. The Forbidden Zone has been fixed to include the phrase 'Dune fief' in
the card subtype text.
ii. Personnel
Personnel are assigned to either personas, charters, or fiefs. What
choice you can make in this respect is always stated on the card. Unless you
choose to engage it to participate in a Rite, it has no effect on the Rite
does not add any Force during Force Distribution, and does not need to be
subdued before its parent card can be Vanquished.
Personnel which do not state they can be engaged to participate can
still participate, but they must be declared as participants during Defender
Declaration. Cards which do state they can engage to participate as an
Engagement tactic allow you to wait until Defender Engagement before you
engage them and need not be named as participants during Declaration.
Personnel, along with all other resources, cannot be moved from one
card to another, once assigned, unless you have a card which specifically
allows you to do so. The exception to this occurs if you move to Dune, in
which case all of your original Homeworlds resources may be transferred to
Dune, providing Dune is a legal target for these resources.
iii. Ventures
Ventures are missions you order your personas to perform for you. They
are deployed during your House Interval on an eligible target. An eligible
target is one that meets the talent, etc.. requirements on the card. You
cannot assign a venture to a persona governed by a rival
You can assign as many ventures as you like to a given persona.
The venture just sits there, doing nothing, until you declare your intent
to engage its parent persona to produce its effects, giving other players a
chance to deploy Tactic : Declaration cards. This can be done immediately
after deploying the venture, later that turn, or on a subsequent House
Interval. But it can only be done by a disengaged persona who engages to
produce the venture's effects.
Ventures initiating Rites are treated normally, requiring the player to
Declare his intent to activate the venture followed by the engagement of the
parent persona to produce its effects. Since its effect is a Rite, a Rite is
immediately initiated with the venture's assigned persona becoming the Leader
of the Rite. That Leader is now engaged, as a result of the venture, but thats
fine. The Rite is initiated by the venture, not the persona, so the 'a persona
must engage to initiate a Rite' rule is waived. Rites initiated by ventures do,
normally, count against your House Limit unless the venture specifically
states that its Rite does not count against your Limit.
If you have several ventures on a persona, you can pick which one (and
only one) you intend to activate when you Declare your intent to activate a
venture. If your persona engages for any other reason, as the result of a
rivals tactic, your own choice to use that persona to initiate a Rite, or any
other reason, the venture is not affected. It is not discarded. It continues to
be assigned to the persona, and can be activated later on your House Interval
if you manage to disengage the persona, or on one of your subsequent House
Intervals.
Ventures such as Litany Against Fear and Wierding Way have been changed
to read 'Initiate a Rite. . .' and then the text that's already there. In other
words, you only get the bonus for those cards if you initiate the Rite with
the venture. In both these cases, the acting persona can intitate any Rite,
even one for which it does not have the appropriate talent.
Ventures often include the word Intrigue, Battle, Arbitration, or
Dueling in the Card Subtype. These are references either to the talent
necessary to deploy the persona, the talent the venture utilizes when
activated, or both.
Ventures are discarded after their effects are resolved. Ventures which
say Duration Effect continue to operate after being activated until the end of
your House Interval, after which they are discarded. Once discarded, the
effects of the venture cease.
If a persona with a venture assigned to it is captured or discarded,
the ventures can be transferred to another eligible persona (i.e. a persona
to whom the venture could have been assigned originally). If there is no such
eligible persona, discard the venture.
If a persona with a venture is subdued, the venture is also subdued, but
does not gain deferment tokens, and instantly redeploys when its parent card
does.
iv. Tactics
Tactics are surprises you spring upon your opponents. All tactics are
deployed in reaction to something a player does. This player can be you, or
any of your Rivals. With the exception of Duration Effect tactics, all
tactics are all resolved instantly. You cannot deploy a tactic in response to
another players tactic, in the hopes you will prevent his tactic. If two
players wish to deploy tactics at the same time, they do so in order of
Initiative. In the case of Duration Effect tactics, the tactic is deployed
and remains in play, producing its effect, until the operation it effects has
been resolved, after which is is discarded. These tactics can be the target
of other cards which discard tactics.
There are two categories of Tactic: Declaration and Engagement.
Tactic : Declaration cards are deployed in response to any player
Declaring his intent to perform any operation, including all Rites,
Petitioning, a CHOAM Exchange, activating a venture, etc... If a Declaration
Tactic has another term in its card subtype, such as Dueling, this means the
tactic can only be used by one of the two players involved in that type of Rite.
Initiative Declaration tactics are deployed anytime during the Initiative
phase before the order of play is determined.
Tactic : Engagement cards are deployed in response to any player engaging
a card for any reason. Like Tactic : Declaration cards, if a
Tactic : Engagement card has another term in its subtype, this means it can
only be deployed during that operation.
The target of a tactic need not be the persona enacting the operation
(in the case of Rites, for instance) nor does it need to affect the player
performing the operation. For instance, Matt can play Security Sweep on Craigs
Homeworld in response to Daves Declaration of his intent to start a Dueling
Rite.
During a Rite, Tactic : Declaration cards can be played by all players
during the Attacker Declaration phase. The two players involved can play
Tactic : Declaration cards and Tactic cards specific to that Rite. After that,
all tactics can only be played by the two players involved in the Rite.
v. Events
Events are large-scale occurrences which can dramatically shift the
balance of power in the game. There are two types of events; Imperium and Dune.
All events are first placed face down in your House domain. This does not
count as deployment. Events accrue deferment tokens normally. You cannot make
up the difference between an events deployment cost, and its current number of
deferment tokens in solaris. Once an event has accrued its deployment cost in
deferment tokens, you may, at your discretion, deploy the card on your House
Interval.
Imperium events can only be deployed while you govern a Homeworld. Since
Dune becomes your homeworld if you move to it, this means that you can deploy
Imperium events as long as your homeworld is not subdued. You can only play
one Imperium event per House Interval.
Dune events require you to govern a Dune fief before they can be deployed.
This includes Arrakeen, Carthag, The Open Bled, etc...and Dune itself.
Therefore governing Dune fulfills the requirements for deploying both Imperium
and Dune events. Only one Dune event can be deployed per House Interval.
B. Allegiance
Cards bearing the symbol of an Imperial Power in their upper right
corner, have Allegiance to that power. While you choose a Power when you buy
a starter, you are not -technically- playing that Power in the game. You are
playing your own, unique Minor House, with the Imperial Power you chose as
your sponsor.
Regardless of the Imperial Power you choose as your sponsor, there is at
least one other Power bent on your destruction. This is your Adversary. You
cannot include cards with Adversarial Allegiance in either your Imperial or
House deck.
If you capture a card bearing allegiance to your Adversary you must
immediately subdue it. Once subdued, you can deploy the card, subject to
normal deployment rules, but you must discard an amount of favor equal to the
deployment cost of the card. If the card is later subdued again, you must
again burn favor equal to the cards deployment cost to bring it out.
You can freely place cards bearing allegiance to your sponsor in your
Imperial and House deck. When Petitioning to deploy an Imperial Card bearing
allegiance to your sponsor, you may choose to spend fewer solaris and make
the difference up in favor. An Atreides player, deploying Duke Leto (deployment
cost 5), may opt to pay only 2 solaris and 3 favor. This does not permit you
to waive the rules for bidding. You must still have solaris equal to your final
bid in order to deploy the card, and you cannot bid more solaris than you have.
You may place cards bearing allegiance to another, non-adversarial, power
in your Imperial deck, but you gain that Power's Adversaries as well. These
additional adversaries are treated exactly like your original adversary and
acquire the same restrictions.
You can only place cards with allegiance to another, non-adversarial
House, in your House Deck if you have included cards with the same allegiance
in your Imperial deck. Any time you deploy a card with allegiance to another,
non-adversarial power, or successfully Petition one, you must discard one
favor. This includes deployment after subdual and deployment from your hand.
If a card has Allegiance to an Imperial Power you can only assign it to
cards with the same allegiance, or no allegiance.
If a persona Gains or Adopts a new allegiance, the persona now has two
allegiances and is immediately subject to all the above rules. If this new
allegiance is to an Adversarial Power, you need not subdue the persona, but
you must discard favor each time you redeploy it. If you have a card which
changes allegiance depending on a certain condition (e.g. Doctor Kynes) and
you have already met the condition before deploying or Petitioning the card,
the card is played as though it already had the dual allegiance. If you
already govern the card when the condition is met, immediately reevaluate the
new allegiance and, if the new allegiance is Adversarial, subdue the card.
Otherwise nothing significant occurs.
If you come to govern Dune, the Dune card (only) adopts allegiance to
your Sponsor, losing any previous allegiance gained from another player.
C. Talents
Certain cards have talents listed on them. In the case of cards with a
talent icon in the upper right, this is the talent and rank required to
assign or play that card. Talent Rank 0 is a level of Rank and there are some
cards which possess a listed Talent Rank of 0. Cards without a talent rank are
not presumed to have a 0 in that talent.
Cards which give a bonus to a talent rank give their parent cards a rank
of 0 + the listed bonus. For instance, Arms Training gives a persona +1 dueling
rank. Breaking this down using the above rule; the card actually bestows rank
0 +1, for a total of Dueling 1. If there were a card which stated: Target
gains Dueling talent, this would bestow Dueling 0 on that persona.
Ventures often have talents listed in their card subtype. This is a
reference to the talent required to play the card, or utilized by the card
in its resolution.
Tactics often have talents listed in their card subtype. This is a
reference to the type of Rite that must be initiated by someone (not
necessarily you) in order to play the card.
Anytime a card, in its text, refers to a talent thusly; 'in a battle',
or 'a battle', it means during that type of Rite.
Personas possessing Talent rankings can initiate a Rite against any
legal target of that Rite. The only restrictions to what cards can be targets
of Rites are 1: the target cannot possess the same allegiance as your acting
persona. 2: the target must be a card of the appropriate type for the Rite.
See fig. 6 on page 52 of your rulebook for a list of the appropriate targets
of each Rite. Legal targets do not have to have the same talent. Any persona,
for instance, without allegiance to your acting persona, can be the target of
a Duel.
If a persona ends up, via Counter or some other method, defending in a
Rite for which it does not have the talent, it merely applies no force to its
opponent. Such a persona receives force normally, even if it isnt the
appropriate target of the Rite. A persona who can Counter against Battle
Rites can become the target of a Battle Rite and could be subdued by Battle
force normally. For more information on Rites, see that section in this file.
D. Special Operations
Certain cards possess interesting abilities, called Special operations.
All Special operations are either Declaration operations, meaning they are
played in response to a player declaring something, or Engagement operations,
meaning they are used in response to a player engaging something.
There are two Special Declaration operations; Direct and Counter, both
of which require additional explanation.
i. Direct
Direct is a Special Declaration operation which, during a Rite, allows
your Leader to bring additional personas to the Rite with him, when he is the
attack or defense leader. The additional participants must have a total command
rank less than that of the Directing persona. For instance; Count Glossu
Rabban can Direct when leading Battle Rites. He has a Command Rank of 2. He
can, when Directing, bring one other persona of Command Rank 1 with him. If
his Command Rank was somehow raised to 4, he could bring three personas of
rank 1, or two of ranks 2 and 1, or one of rank 3.
All additional personas brought into the Rite by the persona Directing,
must also be disengaged, and must posses the same allegiance as the Directing
persona or no allegiance. Eligible personnel assigned to these additional
personas may also be included as participants.
In order to vanquish a persona with Direct, you must do the following in
order: vanquish all the participating personnel assigned to the additional
personas brought into the Rite, vanquish the additional personas themselves,
and vanquish the participating personnel on the Directing Leader. Then, if you
still have enough force left over, you may vanquish the Directing persona.
Your leader must be disengaged to Direct.
ii. Counter
Counter is a Special Declaration operation which, during a Rite, allows
you to change the target of the Rite to the persona Countering. In order for
a persona to Counter, it must be disengaged and not posses the same allegiance
as the attacking persona.
Cards which allow an Eligible target to Counter refer to a personas
eligibility, as described in the preceding paragraph, not a cards eligibility
to be the target of a Rite. Thus you could, via innate ability or card effect,
have a persona Countering and becoming the new target of a Battle or
Arbitration Rite.
In rare cases, a persona may Counter who has no applicable talent. At
such times, the Countering persona merely assigns no force to the opposing
persona, but can be subdued normally.
If a player changes the target of a Rite by Countering, the attacking
player gains no bonus if the new target is subdued. A persona cannot Counter
to himself in the hope of denying his rival a bonus.
iii. Capture
There are three Special Engagement operations; Surprise, Capture, and
Discard. Surprise and Discard are explained sufficiently in the rulebook, but
Capture requires a bit more clarification.
If you Capture an opposing persona, you gain control of them, usually
permanently. Many cards which allow Capture are Duration Effect cards, but
this means the card stays around longer than normal producing its effect.
This is not a limit on the Capture, which is still permanent.
Capturing a persona allied to another Imperial Power does not cause
you to gain that Powers adversaries as your own.
E. Resistance
Many cards have Resistance values which would not normally be the target
of a Rite. However there are cards that can apply force to otherwise
untargetable cards. For this reason also, cards with no listed Resistance are
considered to have a Resistance of 1.
2) The Turn Sequence
A. The Opening Interval
i. Initiative
B. The House Interval
i. General Operations
a. Deploying Cards
b. Petitioning
C. Restricted Operations
i. Deploy Subdued Event (see Events)
ii. Rites
iii. CHOAM Exchange
iv. Requesting Admittance to the High Council (winning the game)
D. The Closing Interval
i. Imperial Discard
ii. Imperial Draw
iii. House Discard
iv. House Draw
The Turn Sequence
Certain segments of the Turn Sequence, such as Disengagement and Deferment,
seem easily understandable. Others will benefit from further explanation.
A. The Opening Interval
i. Initiative
The initiative phase is broken down into two sections; declaration and
assignment. During the declaration segment, all players announce their current
favor, referred to as their declared favor. This is not the same as their
actual favor, and cards which affect declared favor only change the declared
amount, which is used solely for the purpose of determining initiative.
Declaration : Initiative tactics can be played at this point either
prior to declaring your favor, after it, or in response to another players
declaration of favor.
After all tactics and effects have been resolved, Initiative ranks are
assigned. Ties are resolved by discarding cards normally. If your favor at
this point is 0 or less, nothing significant happens. You still draw and
discard cards normally to resolve ties. Having 0 or negative favor prevents
you from drawing cards during the Closing Interval only, it does not restrict
your ability to draw cards during the Initiative Phase.
On the seventh turn the player with the first initiative rank (i.e.
highest declared favor) will effectively be forced to move to Dune unless
they have removed deferment tokens from it, or have found some other mechanism,
such as Usurp Holding, to delay its deployment. Being forced to move to Dune
represents the very likely occurrence that the Landsraad has become
dissatisfied with Dune's current governance, and has decided to command a
favored House minor to assume its governorship.
B. The House Interval
Your House Interval is when you'll perform most of your game operations.
Your House Interval is not synonymous with your turn because there are many
things you may do during a given turn, but not necessarily during your House
Interval.
There are two different types of operations you can perform during your
House Interval, General operations and Restricted operations. You can perform
these operations in any order. General operations and Restricted operations
do not represent different segments of your House Interval. You could, for
instance, perform a General, two Restricted, two more General, then another
Restricted operation during your House Interval.
i. General Operations
a. Deploy Card.
The act of playing a card face-up is called deployment. This includes
playing a card from your hand and turning a subdued card face up.
When playing a card from your hand, all you need to do is pay its cost
in solaris. You may not reduce the cost for cards aligned to your sponsor and
make up the difference with favor as is possible during a Petition. Cards
played from your hand are always deployed disengaged.
For purposes of this operation, there are two types of cards; subdued
event cards, and subdued non-event cards.
Subdued event cards gather deferment tokens normally; one per turn. You
may not pay solaris to make up the difference between deferment tokens and
deployment cost. When a subdued event has its deployment cost in deferment
tokens, you may deploy it at any time on your House Interval. You may choose,
however, to wait until a subsequent House Interval. For when each type of
event can be played, see the section on events.
Subdued non-event cards accrue deferment tokens, one per turn, with the
exception of subdued ventures. After a card has at least one deferment token
on it, you may pay the difference, in solaris, between its deployment cost and
the number of deferment tokens it has on it. You may deploy a card at any
point during your House Interval, then later that Interval deploy its assigned
cards.
Additionally, all subdued non-event cards must be deployed once they have
accumulated their deployment cost in deferment tokens. You may choose to
deploy these cards at the beginning of your House Interval, at the end, or
anywhere in between.
The only restriction to these rules are assigned cards. Assigned cards
can only be deployed once their parent cards have been deployed. This means
an assigned card with its deployment cost in deferment tokens does not deploy
normally until its parent card had been deployed. Once the parent card has
been deployed, an assigned card which has accumulated its deployment cost
in deferment tokens must be deployed during your House Interval, just like
any other subdued non-event card. If the assigned card does not have its
deployment cost in deferment tokens, the difference can still be made up in
solaris to deploy it, but only after its parent card has been deployed.
Assigned cards being deployed from subdual must remain with their
original parent cards.
All subdued cards are deployed disengaged. They may be immediately
engaged to produce their effects.
You may not deploy subdued cards in your rivals territory.
b. Petition Assembly Card.
At any time during your House Interval, you may reveal one of the cards
in your Assembly and announce your intent to Petition it. You begin the
bidding and must bid at least the cost of the card, although you may bid
higher in an attempt to lock other players out (or for any other reason).
Once you have passed your option to bid, you may not bid on that card
again.
You may not bid higher than your current solaris.
When Petitioning cards bearing allegiance to your sponsor, you may
discard an amount of favor in order to decrease the final cost by an equal
amount. This does not allow you to bid more solaris than you have.
If, via some card effect, you are the victor of Petition and cannot
pay the cost normally, you must discard favor equal to amount you are unable
to pay. You may then deploy the card normally.
Effects which return a card to into your Assembly, with no victor, are
considered to cancel the Petition. You may then continue Petitioning for other
cards at your discretion. Otherwise, barring some other card effect, once
you have lost a Petition, you may not Petition another card during that House
Interval.
You may not bid an amount equal to that bid by a previous player. You
must, in other words, either raise or pass.
If the victor is not the player Petitioning the card, the amount paid
is the difference between the cards deployment cost and the final bid.
If the victor is the Petitioning player, the card is deployed, engaged,
in his House domain.
Cards successfully Petitioned for, if later subdued, need not be
Petitioned again. They are deployed normally.
C. Restricted Operations
i. Deploy Subdued Event. See the above section on Events.
ii. Initiate Rite.
Initiating Rites is perhaps the most common form of player interaction.
All Rites are initiated by personas. The persona must have the required
talent in order to Initiate the Rite. See figure 6, page 52 of the rulebook
for the appropriate talents.
The target of the Rite must be a card appropriate to the Rite (a persona
for Intrigue and Duels, a charter for Arbitration, and a fief for Battle) and
must not bear the same allegiance as the attacking persona. You cannot
initiate a Rite against your own cards. These are the only restrictions. The
defending cards need not be disengaged.
After the attacker declares his intent to initiate a Rite, indicating
which of his personas is the attacker and which of his rivals cards is his
intended victim, all players, beginning with the defender may play
Tactic : Declaration cards. The two players involved in the Rite may play
Tactic : Declaration cards and Tactic : IBAD : Declaration cards.
After this phase, the Attacker Declaration phase, only the two players
involved may play tactics.
Next, the Attacker engages his acting persona and any additional declared
participants. The two players involved in the Rite may now play
Tactic : Engagement cards and Tactic : IBAD : Engagement cards.
Next, the Defending player may Counter. If his persona is disengaged, he
declares the Countering persona as the new target. If he is not Countering, he
declares the target of the Rite as his defense Leader. In either case, both
players may now, again, play Tactic : Declaration cards and
Tactic : IBAD : Declaration cards. For more information on Countering, see
that section.
The Defender now has the option to engage his Defense Leader. If he
chooses to do so, the Rite proceeds normally, and a new round of
Tactic : Engagements are played as before. If he chooses not to engage his
Defense Leader, then his leader applies no force to his opponent, cannot
declare any additional participants (even if otherwise eligible), but must
still have its resistance equaled or exceeded in order to be subdued.
The Rite then proceeds normally as described in the Rulebook.
You may only subdue a leader once you have subdued all participating
personnel. If assigned personnel are not engaged to participate they dont
effect the Rite. Cards or rules which give bonuses for participating cards
give no bonus for personnel not engaged to participate.
As described in the rulebook on page 54, bonuses are awarded for
victory in the various Rites. Only the attacker gains these bonuses, and only
if the original target was subdued. If a Countering target was subdued, or
if assigned personnel were subdued, but not the target of the Rite, no bonus
is awarded. Bonuses are awarded even if the attacking persona was subdued
by the Rite. If, in a CHOAM Rite, the attacker vanquishes his original target,
and chooses to impose a Solaris Penalty on his opponent when his opponent
doesnt have enough solaris to meet the penalty, his opponent must pay all
he has.
Directing leaders can only be subdued once all the other participants
have been subdued. For more information, see the Direct section of the CRF.
Personas which can Capture vanquished participants do so only if they
Survive the Rite, or if their Capture ability is described as a tactic that
takes effect before Rite Resolution.
When a card or rule refers to a leader in a Rite, it means either the
Initiating persona, or the Target of the Rite. This means charters and fiefs
can be Leaders just as personas can.
iii. CHOAM Exchange.
During your House Interval you may either buy or sell spice. Not both.
All such transactions are limited to three spice. Cards which give additional
CHOAM Exchanges grant another transaction of up to three spice.
A CHOAM Exchange is done in one block. You may not buy/sell one spice,
do something else, then buy/sell more spice. The CROE is adjusted after each
individual spice traded.
You may never buy spice for less than 1 solaris per spice.
iv. Requesting Admittance to the High Council
You may request admittance the High Council at any time during your
House Interval. To do this, you must engage your Homeworld or an aligned ally
to win. If all your aligned allies and your Homeworld are already engaged,
and you have no means via which to disengaged them, your turn proceeds
normally and the game continues.
D. The Closing Interval
During the closing Interval, all players, in order, discard any
undesirable Imperial cards, replace them if possible, then discard any
undesirable House Cards, drawing to replace them.
i. Imperial Discard.
If you have any undesirable cards in your assembly, you may discard
them now. If, as a result of game play, you end up with more cards in your
Assembly than your Assembly limit, you must now discard at least enough to
bring your number of cards back down to your limit. You may choose which
cards to discard, and may discard more than the minimum needed to reach your
Assembly limit if you desire.
ii. Imperial Draw.
You now draw cards, if possible. If your Imperial deck has been
exhausted, you continue play normally. There is no penalty for being unable
to draw Imperial Cards. If, during the course of your turn, you have
increased your Assembly limit, now is when those changes take effect.
Additional cards are drawn to fulfill your new Assembly limit.
iii. House Discard.
You may now discard as many cards from your hand as you wish.
iv. House Draw.
You now must replenish your hand to seven cards. If you have increased
your Hand limit during the game, now is when additional cards must be drawn
to meet your new size limit.
If your House Deck is depleted, and you must draw a card, you
immediately lose.
If your favor is 0 or less, and you must draw a card, you immediately
lose.
If you enter this phase with seven cards and choose not to discard,
you continue play normally, regardless of favor or number of cards in your
House Deck.
All discard cards are placed face-up in your discard pile. Discard
piles are not kept secret from other players, who may, politely, examine
your discards at any time. They must, however, maintain the order of cards.
3) Rules and Terms
A. Favor
B. Governance
C. Subdual
D. Engagement
E. Spice Production
F. Solaris Production
Rules and Terms
A. Favor.
Apart from any other problems you may encounter as a result of having
favor of 0 or less, you also cannot draw cards to replenish your hand. This
is the only rule-induced penalty. You do not immediately lose. You will very
likely lose once you come to your House Draw, but that rule is covered under
that section of the CRF.
B. Governance
You govern all deployed cards in your House domain. Subdued cards are
not considered governed by any player.
Anytime a card refers to subdued cards you govern or any reasonable
variation thereof, consider the card to say subdued cards in your House domain.
Regardless of Governance, you always own all your cards. Anytime a card
or a rule refers to a cards owner, it always means the physical property of
the player, regardless of where in the game the card has been deployed.
C. Subdual
Whenever one of your cards becomes subdued, assigned cards only become
subdued if this occurred during a Rite, and they participated. Cards which
remain deployed continue to produce their effects and can be transferred off
their subdued parent card if you have some way, such as a Carryall, to move
them. Subdued assigned cards accrue deferment tokens normally and may not be
deployed until their parent card is. You cannot assign cards to subdued cards.
Assembly cards are not considered Subdued, they are considered face-down.
They do not gain deferment tokens. Once positioned within your domain, they
need not be rePetitioned when redeployed from a subdued state.
A player may, at any time, examine all the face-down cards in their
assembly and any subdued cards in their domain. Unless a card effect
specifically allows it, a player may never examine the subdued or face-down
cards in his rivals territory.
Spice tokens on deserts remain on those deserts even if subdued. While
subdued they have no effect on the game unless a card specifically targets
spice on subdued deserts. If later redeployed by the same player, they may
again be the subject of normal game effects. If deployed by a different
player, the new governor of the fief must discover his own spice. If the
desert were captured by another player, and then deployed, the new governor
would have access to all the spice produced by the old governor.
Like spice, deferment tokens remain assigned to subdued cards when
captured.
Subdued cards may not be the target of Rites.
D. Engagement
Cards which produce effects without engaging do so even if they are
engaged by a rule or card effect.
E. Spice Production
When designing your House Profile, your starting spice represents the
amount of spice stockpiled by your House prior to the game. When establishing
your starting spice, each unit of spice costs X solaris. X equals the
starting CROE+1. The starting spice you stockpile with your creation points
is produced in your Hoard, and does not come from the Guild Hoard as if you
had purchased it on the Exchange.
Cards which produce spice, such as deserts, deliver spice from means
independant of CHOAM dealings. Produced spice is therefore never taken from
the Guild Hoard.
F. Solaris Production
The Imperial Treasury is boundless. It need not be kept track of. When
a card or a CHOAM Exchange operation produces solaris, these may be taken
from the Imperial Treasury.
G. IBAD
Any time a card, in its text, refers to Intrigue, Battle, Arbitration,
or Duel, it is referring to a Rite. This is distinct from IBAD references in
a cards subtype, for which see the card type (Ventures, Tactics, etc...)
4) Errata
A. Rules Errata
B. Card Errata
Official Errata
The following are changes to the official rules, and alterations to card
text. All players are recommended to use these new rulings and should expect
to see them enforced during sanctioned tournaments.
New Rules
1) When designing your House Profile, the cost to buy spice is the CROE +1
2) At Setup, the amount of spice in the Guild Horde is 4 + 2 per player.
3) When a card becomes subdued during a Rite, only cards which
participated in the Rite are also subdued. Cards which remain deployed
continue to produce their effects. If you have a card which allows you to
move attached cards off their parent, such as Carryall, you may use them to
move deployed cards off subdued cards.
Attached cards which are subdued gain deferment tokens normally and
cannot be redeployed until their parent card is. You cannot attach cards to
subdued card.
4) During the Rite Initiation Interval, during Defender Engagement, the
Defender has the option to engage the declared target. Targets which are not
engaged during this phase do not apply force as normal, cannot have attached
eligible cards engaged to participate, and must have their resistance equaled
or exceeded normally in order to subdue them.
If the Defender opts to engage the Target of the Rite, the Rite proceeds
normally.
5) The House Disadvantage has been errataed to read:
"Whenever you come to govern a persona bearing allegiance to another
Imperial Power, you must discard one favor. If you ever Capture a persona
bearing Adversarial Allegiance, you must immedeately subdue it. If you later
deploy the card, you must discard favor equal to its deployment cost."
Card Errata
Wierding Way should read "Initiate a Rite. The assigned persona gains a +X
bonus to their Force where X is the target's Wierding Rank." The Persona using
this card need not posses the required talent for the Rite.
Litany Against Fear should read: "Initiate a Rite. The assigned persona gains
a +X bonus to their Resistance where X is the target's Wierding Rank." The
Persona using this card need not posses the required talent for the Rite.
Caladan Exports should have a resistance of 6.
Forbidden Zone has the following card type/subtype: Homeworld : Dune Fief
Petitioning Tithe should read: Once deployed, no other House may deploy
Petitioning Tithe during the current petition. If this card is used by the
Petitioner, the cost for the card is paid to himself. This does not lower the
cost, or allow you to ignore the restrictions on bidding.
Usurp Holding may be used to target Dune and should read: "Transfer a target
subdued, non-homeworld holding to it's governor's assembly. "
Well-Placed Bribes should be a declaration tactic, not an engagement tactic.
Shield Failure should read "discard a target shield."
Secret Allegiance is assigned once, and the second allegiance of the target
persona is chosen then. This allegiance does not change from the initial
assignment to further deployment from subdual.
Best Blade should read "Apply X force to target ally. If applied force equals
or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned
persona's dueling rank."
Implicate Traitor should read "Apply X force to target ally. If applied force
equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the
assigned persona's intrigue rank."
Pogrom should read "Apply X force to target fief. If applied force equals or
exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned
persona's battle rank." This will affect Tupile, since Tupile is immune to
Battle Rites, not Ventures, and this Venture does not create a Rite.
Provoke Insurgency should read "Apply X force to target charter. If applied
force equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals
the assigned persona's arbitration rank."
Brilliant Rhetoric should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter."
Perilous Terrain should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter."
Secund-Elect Dueling should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter."
Unforeseen Difficulties should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may
Counter."
               (
geocities.com/area51/rampart)                   (
geocities.com/area51)