Subject: NetRep rulings thru October 1998
Date: Wed, 28 Oct 1998 22:02:28 -0500
From: rdmckown@iglou.com 

Owen requested that I start posting a monthly list of the rulings...
so that everyone can either keep up on what the *masses*
are being told/doing OR to yell and scream at me, I can't remember
which.

This first list is long because I am compiling all of the rulings to
date, so from now on they will be a lot shorter.  Sorry for the length.

Most of these are paraphrased to what I posted, some are sort of
verbatum.....any questions please let me know.

****************Russell's Rulings********************

Re: Guild Bank Arbiter
        At the present moment consider any card that is a "Charter" and a "Dune
whatever" to be considered a target Dune charter for this card.

Re: JOC Harkonnen Sleeper
        I believe that Matt ruled earlier that if a player attempts to use an
ability like Gauvir's in an inappropriate situation (ie: trying to look
at a non-event card) then the card is still engaged/used and you would
simply state that it is not an event.

Re: Grant Furlough & Voice Command
        Voice Command takes precedence here, meaning that you may sell a
persona with Grant Furlough but at the end of your turn when Voice
Command is discarded, they are transfered back to the original owner.

Re:  Production Quota
        1. Does Production Quota (Guild JOC Event) gain Spice for the Guild
Hoard from Deserts that are already Engaged?
        1)  No.  The reason is that Production Quota must be used to engage the
deserts to produce the spice in the hoard.  In essence, this card is the
Emperor saying, "I want more spice available and you will send your
spice in now."

Re:  Voice Command
        Any secondary effects from using a captured persona are the "current"
governor's gifts.  Example:  If I VC Piter and capture someone with him
then I keep the persona....even when Piter goes back.

Re:  Renegade Sister
        Her special ability may only be used on the governor's turn.

Re: Kaldo Radij/Jamis vs Emperors Truthsayer
        Emperor's Truthsayer may be used to change the target of a rite
performed by either of these individuals.

Re:  Military Transport vs. Smuggler Frigate
        Using Smuggler Frigate negates any cost, even when doubled by Military
Transport.  Zero cost doubled is zero.

Re: Effect of enhancements on subdued personas
        Cards that are assigned to a subdued target still have their printed
effect, so long as that card effect does not require you to engage it.
Here's an example: Full Reverednd Mother always gives the following
effects to its assigned target:  +1 Weirding Rank, +1 Resistance and
Immunity to Poison Effects  or to use your example, Subterfuge always
gives its assigned target +1 Intrigue Rank but Carryall could not be
used to transfer a Spice Harvester if the Spice Harvester or the desert
it was assigned to are subdued nor could you move them to a subdued
desert.

Re:  Palace Keep & Homeworlds
> 1. Does Palace Keep work on the new Dune based JOC Homeworlds?
        Yes, it works on all homeworlds except Forbidden Zone.

Re:  Desert Hawk & El-Sayal vs. Windtrap
> 2. Can a Desert Hawk and/or EL-SAYER discard a Windtrap?
        If by "EL-SAYER" you mean El-Sayal (Rain of Sand) then the answer is
yes, both may affect a Windtrap card assigned to the appropriate target.

Re:  Umma
> 3. Can you use Umma to FREELY deploy an Event which requires No extra
Deferment tokens?
        If the target event currently has deferment tokens equal to or greater
then the deployment cost then yes, you may deploy it using Umma, at a
cost of zero. You must still engage the persona to do so.

Re:  Assassin's Honor
> 4. If Player A declares an Intrigue Rite vs Player B's Guard Commander
and B plays Assassin's Honor on A's House Assassin do both cards end up
subdued?
        Yes.  And quite honestly, I had never considered using Assassin's Honor
in this manner but since I can assign it to my opponent's attack leader
then it will definitely work.  I like this use a lot........

Re:  Mahdi
        Well, currently it looks as if Mahdi does allow its governor to engage
*any* Fremen persona to counter.  I am not sure if this is correct, I
vaguely remember this coming up in our playtest and can not remember
what was decided, but it does make sense that any Fremen would lay their
life on the line for Mahdi.  So for the present moment, consider the
ruling to be that yes he can engage a rival's Fremen to counter.

Re:  Programs
        You must have an Imperial card in your deck to purchase an alligned
Program.  Also, Progrmas are not Ventures!  Cards that effect Ventures
do not specifically effect Programs.  Unless a card says it effects
either Programs or Plans it does not effect Programs.

Re:  Shadow Partnership
        A player may have deployed in their domain, Shadow Partnership and the
card it was used to copy originally.  You copy my Suk School, subdue
mine and then deploy your own is perfectly legal.

Re:  Elacca Languor
        The discard happens immediately.

Re:  Diplomatic Settlement
        This card refers to the main defense participant when it states
'target'.  It may be used by attacker or defender.  It has no effect
when the main defense participant is already engaged.

Re:  Spice Mining Inspection
        The player must pay the full amount in spice.  If they can not
then they must pay favor equal to the CROE and no spice.

Re:  A Leader with a Decree
        The leader must be disengaged to use the tactic on a decree
unless the decree does not state "engage target".

Re:  Governor of Arrakis
        If someone governs Dune then you must discard this card.  Thus
if someone already governs Dune then you would not want to play this
card as you would immediately discard it.

Re:  Soo-Soo
        His 'Engagement Tactic' is not a duration effect. You can use
during an engagement phase and it would end at the end of the rite it
was used in.

Re:  Gang Assailants (and its kind)
        You use this card to group current, legal, already included rite
participants into one massive force for the duration of the rite.

Re:  Petitioning Tithe
        Duration Effect. Assign to the petition target. The victor must pay [X
solaris of the final deployment cost] to you instead of the Imperial
treasury. X equals the final deployment cost minus the listed deployment
cost. Once deployed, no other house may deploy Petitioning Tithe.

Re:  Hellhounds
        It means if you have 2 Hellhounds assigned to a persona then you would
pay 1 solaris per Hellhound.

Re:  Homeworld/Dune Discard, Capture and Transfer
        Homeworlds & Dune may not be Transfered, Captured or Discarded.  Usurp
Holding no longer works to send Dune back to the Assembly.

Re:  Counter Conspiracy
        You may pay X and assign the Venture now......and use it at a later
date.  You must, however, track what you payed for it so that you do not
use it against an illegal target.  (I would have a different token to
mark how much I pay for it - I do this with Spice Infusions now).  You
may indeed use this card against a venture of less cost but MAY NEVER
use it against a higher cost then you paid.
        Yes, you can set X to whatever you want using Gurney (TaT).

Re:  New Duncan Idaho
        A Fabled Crysknife does count as a Crysknife for his ability.

Re:  Regent-Siridar
        Regent-Siridar either increases a cards spice production or increases a
cards solaris production.  It does not allow a card to gain a new type
of production.

Re:  Wake Shot
        The key words here are "when engaging......to assign deferment
tokens......" so it won't really help Yueh or any other physician that
isn't engaging to add tokens.

Re:  Beyond the Faufreluches (Smugglers)
        Here, you must first be at 0 or less favor before this card has any
effect.  If you are at 0 or less AND THEN you are required to lose favor
you may assign tokens to it.

Re:  Master at Arms
        Only the Master at Arms may use this ability......not anyone else.

Re:  Arrakeen Richece
        AR must be a participant to gain any favor from them.

Re:  CHOAM Complot
        Yes, this stops persona's tactic abilities, if they say they are
'tactics'.

Re:  Maneuver Pawn
        You, the current player, gains any secondary benefits from using this
card, like capturing while using Piter.  It can be used to attack the
'current' governor of the persona and thus may either cause them to pay
the penalty or you both gain the reward (solaris or favor).

Re:  Piter (EotS version), Margot, Liscia
        They must survive the rite to capture/discard.

******************End List******************

Let the screaming commence. 

Russell D. McKown
Official Dune NetRep
Bluegrass Wargames Group (Louisville, Ky)
House:  Silence of the Lambs (Council Member #1001)
......You Will Pay......

    Source: geocities.com/area51/rampart/1937

               ( geocities.com/area51/rampart)                   ( geocities.com/area51)