Age of Renaissance
Errata
Below is the latest (December 30, 2000) Official Errata
& Rules Clarifications from Designer Jared
Scarborough. Numbers in ( ) indicate the rule section that was
referenced in the original printing of the errata.
Advances:
- A player may
not claim a rebate with Printed Word by patronizing a
leader even if he owns Printed
Word and Patronage (9.33)
- If you own Printed
Word and play a leader with credits
toward two or more advances, one of which you already have, you
may take the
rebate even if you do not plan to buy the unowned Advance
(9.33)
- You may
not use Wind/Watermill to force a
trade if you co-existed with another player and then used
competition to gain control. You must take the province "from
another player" to use Wind/Watermill, meaning that
player must control it completely first (9.53)
- If someone has purchased all 26 Advances, the
final turn is
played out fully, including a Final Card
Play Phase (11.1)
- You cannot Cathedral a province that has
more than one player in it unless all players in the province are
non-owner's of Cathedral
- If a province contains more than one player
and all the players are non-owner's of Cathedral, a player
may
Cathedral
that province but this competition counts as a Cathedral usage against all
of the players in the province
- If a player owns Renaissance and is the victim
of Civil War,
the Civil War
penalty is enacted first and the player may then have a chance to use
Renaissance
to trade places
- Master Art
does not
allow a player to immediately discard a card upon its purchase but
this immediate dicard ability is a standard house rule used by
many
- Nationalism
affects the doubling of a player's capital by doubling the tokens
after taking into account Nationalism. Examples: Genoa attacks its
own capital held by Paris, Genoa needs 5 tokens (5 x 2 = 10). If
Venice controls the province with Nationalism, Genoa needs 6 (6 x
2 = 12). If Paris owns and Genoa has Nationalism, 5 tokens still
needed since the market number must be matched in tokens
regardless of strength (4.4/9.53)
- Cathedral
can be used
on either offense or defense but only once against each non-owner
(9.53)
Cards:
- After the Mongol
Armies, the Marco Polo credit is worth
$40 for both Overland
East and Cosmopolitan
Chaos:
- Players in Chaos are assumed to be
buying zero expansion tokens and play order is determined in the
usual fashion. Thus, to buy off a Shortage/Surplus, a player
must bid negative or win the tie at zero (9.32)
Diplomacy:
- Players may not pay cash to other players for
the play, discard, or non-discard of cards, or for performance of
other "services". Players may plead, protest, and whine, but the
actual payment of bribes for services rendered is strictly
illegal. That is not to say a player could not be influenced into
taking a different course of action in exchange for a promised
favor in return. It is strictly illegal to show any card before it
is played. You can promise to play a card a certain way, but you
absolutely cannot show the identity of any card you hold before it
is played. Such promises are entirely unenforceable and any direct
payment for services rendered should be considered the lowest form
of cheating. (10)
Expansion:
- In using Caravan to go from
Venice to
Belgrade via
Dubrovnik,
you must compete with a player in Dubrovnik only if
Dubrovnik is
fully occupied at the time of transit. If fully occupied, you must
place enough tokens to initiate competition in Dubrovnik and only if
successful may you pass through with more tokens to go to
Belgrade (2.2
#5)
- Tokens in their capital are doubled for both
defense and attacks (4.4)
- All Galleys of a player with
The Heavens
may use it to cross one sea. The limit is one sea per shipment,
not one sea per player (9.41)
- The loser of any competition loses all tokens
in the province, both colored and white-side-up. Example: If Blue
has colored squares in an unfilled province co-existing with
recently arrirved Red tokens, all Blue tokens are removed in a
competition loss initiated by white-side-up Blue tokens
(9.53)
- As long as one of several defenders in a
province has a military advantage, the attacker is required to
place an additional token to counter the military advantage
(9.53)
- The conversion from square tokens to circular
tokens takes affect immediately as each competition roll is
conducted (9.53)
- You only get tokens that are available at the
time of allocation between cash and tokens. You may not later
collect expansion tokens that were not available at the time of
allocation (if more tokens were placed in stock by Black Death, etc.)
- You can attack a second province
via Caravan
through a newly controlled province (9.5)
- You cannot place extra tokens in
a friendly dominated province for defense purposes. A Dominated
province cannot receive extra tokens except for the purpose of
placing sufficient tokens to attack that Domination
(9.5/9.53)
- A player cannot buy more than one card
per Expansion Phase (9.51)
- In order to voluntarily remove a Domination
marker, a player must actually need the domination marker as a
result of having 25 markers in play. Even if this occurs, the
Domination marker does not count towards the expansion
bonus
Final Card Play Phase:
- You do make new Shortage/Surplus rolls for
application to the Final Card Play
Phase (11.1)
- A card cannot be discarded (using
Master Art)
instead of being played after the Final
Turn Income Phase and before the
Final Card Play Phase (11.2)
- The Final Card
Phase is not
considered to be a different turn
(11.2)
- If Enlightened
Ruler is played during the final turn's
Play Card Phase, it still protects a player during the Final Card Play Phase
(11.2)
- If a War continues past the last
player during the Final Card Play
Phase, the game ends without further die
rolls for the War. (11.2)
- If Civil
War is played in the Final Card Play Phase, the
victim does not have to lose half their cash. They can lose half their 0 tokens.
Therefore, the only impact is the reduction of their capital and
an increase in Misery
History Cards - Events:
- The Pirates/Viking card
can reduce
domination markers in the Far
East and New
World boxes (4.1)
- If all expansion tokens have been purchased
(none remain in stock) when a player loses a domination marker to
a disaster (Rebellion, etc.) the player may, at his
option, replace the marker with a
square token from his expansion pool. Alternatively, he
may leave the
space empty if he has no tokens in stock (9.32)
- Armor and
Stirrups
can be played
in the same turn by the same player to gain a +2 advantage
(9.32)
- If Armor/Stirrups has been
played and Gunpowder/Long
Bow is played later in the same
Play Card Phase, the only effect is that the Armor/Stirrups card has
no effect
versus the player(s) who played Gunpowder/Long Bow.
Armor/Stirrups is
still used against other players and discarded at the end of the
Expansion Phase. Since Armor/Stirrups is already in
play, it cannot be held as a misery burden (9.32)
- In the case of a tie with the War Card, rerolls occur at
the start of each player's portion of the Play Card Phase (possibly
continuing to the next turn's Play Card
Phase). (11.2)
- If a tied War continues into the next
player's Play Card turn and that player is in the War, he can play a military advantage
card prior to resolving the War. The War die roll, however,
must be
resolved before any non-military card is played. (11.4)
- Gunpowder's
advantage over Long Bow applies to ties in War in addition to
Gunpowder's
+1 which caused the tie
- Cash spent on Urban
Ascendancy is
not protected from Alchemist's Gold except for
the phrase "penalty cannot exceed current cash" if the
Urban Ascendancy card purchase was all of the player's money
Map:
- St. Gali
does not
support Nuremburg. However, house rules allowing it are encouraged since
that was the designer's intent
- The Bay of
Biscay is considered adjacent to all
coastal provinces between Edinburgh and Seville (4.2)
- Paris
does connect
to London and
Portsmouth
across coastal waters
- Bari
does connect
to Corfu
across coastal waters
- Barca's coastal
waters do
connect to the Eastern Mediterranean
Sea
- Libya's coastal
waters do not
connect to the Central Mediterranean
Sea
- The Norwegian
Sea does
not have any significance for play. You
can only cross one sea with The Heavens
and the areas that are adjacent to the
Norwegian Sea
are also accessible by coastal water
- Iceland and
West Africa
are only
accessible by sea and require either The Heavens or Seaworthy Vessels
(4.1)
Shortage/Surplus:
- A commodity Shortage/Surplus roll of 12
(affecting both Gold and Ivory) does cause card draws or payments for both commodities. In
shortage, two cards could be drawn (9.61)
- Only $10
is paid to remove a joint
Shortage/Surplus of Gold/Ivory (9.61)
- When there is a double Shortage or Surplus of a Commodity, the player
will either
draw twice or pay twice
Token Purchases:
- A player cannot buy more expansion
tokens than he has available to pay off Holy Indulgence penalties but
he may pay more in order to attempt to go last during the
Expansion Phase
Return
to BPA Age of Renaissance PBeM Home Page
Return
to Age of Renaissance Home Page