KULT COLLECTABLE CARD GAME FAQ
FEBRUARY 14, 1996
Well, here it is, the FAQ for the KULT CCG. Below you will find a few
notes and clarifications about the general play of the game, followed by the
complete card list. If there is a question or clarification about a certain
card, it will be found in this list. You will find that most cards are
self-explanatory, and this FAQ is mostly a just to be sure list of
clarifications.
If you have any other questions or comments about Kult, feel free to e-mail
me directly at DOOMTROOP@AOL.COM.
And by all means, pass this FAQ on to anyone and everyone you know!
Bryan Winter
Creator of the Doomtrooper, Kult, James Bond 007 and Crow Collectable
Card Games
GAME PLAY
Here are a few important aspects of KULT that may not be exactly clear
while reading the rules. First, we will go over the Order of Play, and then
we will focus on a few general topics.
THE ORDER OF PLAY
1) DRAW CARDS
You must fill your hand to 7 cards at this point. If you already have 7 or
more cards in your hand at this point, you may not draw any cards.
In effect, this step actually has three phases to it. The reason is that
you or your Adversaries may want to play Commandments either before or
after the actual drawing takes place, but still within the Draw Step.
It is important to note that when you draw cards, it is an
INSTANTANEOUS EVENT. This means that you may not play ANY cards at
all (especially those you just drew) until you have drawn ALL your cards.
This means you cannot draw a play at any time Commandment card, play
it, and then draw another to replace the card you just played!
So, the actual Draw Step goes like this:
1) The player's turn begins, as does his/her Draw Step. Players may play
relevant Commandment cards at this time (including cards that state Play
during your turn or Play at any time).
2) The player draws cards to fill his/her hand to 7 cards.
3) Players may again play relevant Commandment cards at this time
(including cards that state Play during your turn or Play at any time).
If you have 7 or more cards in your hand at the beginning of your turn,
you STILL have a Draw Step! This also means that players who play
CHESED or GAMICHICOTH (and are limited to 4 cards) do indeed have a
Draw Step as well, even though they draw a card whenever they use one.
2) SWAY POP MARKERS
An important thing to remember here is that your may only Sway Pop
Markers INWARD toward your Hub (from your Cast to your Stage and from
your Stage to your Hub). You may not Sway a Pop Marker from a Cast
member to another Cast member, for instance. Also, both cards involved
MUST be face-up, since Swaying will cause both cards to Turn. Exception:
your Major Arcanum card is never Turned when Swaying.
If a card has 2 or more Pop Markers on it, you may only Sway one Pop
Marker at a time, since each Sway must be from a face-up card to another
face-up card (and since the cards are then Turned). If the card has 2 Pop
Markers on it, the first one Swayed from the card will cause the card to
Turn. Therefore, it may not Sway again.
3) RECRUIT POP MARKERS
At this point you place a Pop Marker from the Population Pool on each of
your FACE-UP Cast members. You may not place a Pop Marker on cards
that are already holding as many Pop Markers as they are allowed, but you
may place a Pop Marker on a card that already has a Pop Marker but may
hold more. For example, if a card may hold up to 2 Pop Markers, and it
currently has one Pop Marker on it (and it is face-up) you may Recruit a
Pop Marker to that card.
An important thing to remember here is that Recruiting a Pop Marker to a
Cast member does NOT cause the card to Turn! The only thing that does
cause a card to turn is SWAYING (plus various card effects).
Also, you may only Recruit onto cards in a Cast, you may not Recruit onto
cards in a Stage.
Finally, here is a VERY IMPORTANT clarification that you may have heard
otherwise (even from me). Recruiting Pop Markers is NOT MANDATORY.
However, you must choose to either Recruit or not Recruit at all. You may
not Recruit to some cards and not to others.
For example, I have placed the SECRET AGENT into your Cast. It's time
for you to Recruit. You may either Recruit to ALL of the cards that may
take a Pop Marker (including my Secret Agent, imagine that) or choose to
NOT Recruit AT ALL.
Even if you choose not to Recruit Pop Markers, your Recruit Step STILL
occurs. This is important because some players may want to play card
effects at this time.
4) PERFORM DEEDS
You may perform the PROCLAIM and INFLUENCE deeds as many times as
you wish. There is no limit to the number of deeds you may perform. This
is particularly true with CHESED and GAMICHICOTH, who may continue to
draw cards and put them into play without restriction! Take a look at
SUITS below for more.
PROCLAIM
Originally it was intended that the Proclaim Deed could be used to place
cards in other player's Mystic Crosses without restriction, and lately that
idea has (incorrectly) come up again. You may NOT Proclaim a card into
another player's Mystic Cross unless that card states that it may be played
in this manner (for example: the SECRET AGENT).
The only cards that are Proclaimed are BEINGS and REGIONS. They are
placed in empty Stations to fill that Station. They essentially become the
BASE CARD of that Station.
INFLUENCE
However, there is no restriction to playing Influence cards in other players'
Mystic Crosses. In fact, many Influence cards are best suited for your
opponents! One thing to remember is that you are not restricted to playing
bad Influence cards in your opponents' Mystic Crosses and good cards
in yours. You may play any type of card in anybody's Mystic Cross.
Sometimes it is best to hurt your own Beings for the greater goal!
5) ATTACK
Your Beings MAY attack other Beings in YOUR Mystic Cross. The attack
rules still apply (Cast members may only attack Cast members). Often this
is the best way to eliminate an unwanted Being.
You may not attack Regions.
An important thing to remember here is that you can do just about
anything DURING the combat modification portion of combat, especially play
cards that may be played at any time. However, AFTER the combat has
been modified the combat is resolved and nothing more can happen (see
TIMING, below!). This is an important aspect. Take advantage of it! For
example, the DRUG DEALER has a wicked ability take lets it discard any
Pawn in play by making a simple Repel. Let's say the Drug Dealer is
attacked by a Nepharite - certain doom for the Drug Dealer. During combat
modification the Pawn may perform it's Special Ability (any time is any
time!) and perform a bunch of Repels to get rid of a bunch of Pawns on its
way out! Another example of this is if the Drug Dealer is attacked by
another Pawn. The Drug Dealer may make a Repel and discard it's attacker,
ending the combat!
WEAPONS
Many Influence cards are designated as WEAPONS. A Being may only USE
one Weapon during a combat. However, the Being may HAVE as many
Weapons as you wish to give it. At the beginning of each combat, simply
choose which Weapon you will use. If the current Weapon is somehow
affected, you may switch over to a different Weapon at any time. The only
rule is that only one Weapon (per Being involved) may affect the final
outcome of the combat.
6) DISCARD ONE CARD FROM YOUR HAND
This is purely optional. You do not have to discard a card if you do not
want to.
Remember, all discards in KULT are FACE-DOWN. This means that you do
not have to show your opponent which card you discarded!
If CHESED or GAMICHICOTH discards a card during this step, they may
draw a card to replace it. However, they only are permitted one discard per
turn (just like anybody else). Also, see THE VOID.
7) TURN YOUR CARDS FACE-UP
This is MANDATORY. You must turn all of your Turned cards face-up at
this point. If a card is not allowed to be flipped face-up, it is not flipped.
This is the end of your turn.
GENERAL GAME TOPICS
SUITS
As with all new Collectable Card Games (CCGs), the comparison to MAGIC:
THE GATHERING eventually springs up. While MAGIC does deal in five
colors and KULT deals in five SUITS, the similarities stop there.
Here is a bit of background. By now you are probably aware that the
correlation between KULT and a deck of Tarot cards is heavy. This was my
principle design aspect. I wanted to make sure that KULT maintained the
flavor of a traditional Celtic Cross Tarot reading as possible, but still
exploit the KULT setting and the potential of a CCG. The five Suits in
KULT correspond to the five suits in a typical Tarot deck. More
importantly, they correspond to the TAROTICUM, a mystical Tarot deck
which is very prominent in the KULT ROLE-PLAYING GAME setting. This
deck is involved in the KULT RPG adventure called TAROTICUM, and is a
tremendous amount of fun. In that book the Taroticum is detailed, and the
KULT CCG springs from that principle idea.
Okay, on to the game. The five Suits in KULT are not tangible things
that you manipulate, such as you directly manipulate the colors in MAGIC.
Instead, the five Suits represent the five mystical Realms that permeate all
of Reality. Those Realms are Death, Passion, Madness, Dreams and Time &
Space. The five Suits of Skulls, Roses, Eyes, Crescents and Hourglasses
correspond to these Realms.
The four Suits that each Major Arcanum starts with represent that hold
and power each Archon and Angel of Death has on those five Realms. A
Major Arcanum who has control over a great many Skulls, like GOLAB -
THE TORTURER, is very involved in the Realm of Death. One would say
that he is quite at home there!
All Major Arcana are able to work within the five Realms. Some are better
than others in certain Realms. Some are fairly adept in many Realms (like
KETHER). The four Suits are merely a measure of how that Major Arcanum
works. For example, GOLAB is strong in the Realm of Death, and therefore
he has great control over Beings, Regions and Items that adhere to the
principles of Death, such as the INCINERATOR. However, CHAGIDIEL is
strong in the Realm of Passion, and he has great control of all things
passionate, such as PRIESTS and NEPHARITES.
When a Major Arcanum is in control of a Suit, It represents its control
over other cards that utilize those Suits. As long as a card falls under its
power, the Major Arcanum may play that card. This does not use up his
resources, they are always there. This is where long-time MAGIC players
may become confused, since in that game their resources are drained as
they are used.
One of the aspects of KULT that may seem improper to some players
(especially long-time MAGIC players) is that because the Suits are not used
up, and because you may play as many Beings, Regions, Spells and Influence
cards as you wish (provided you can take care of the Suit requirements for
each card), it is possible to play the cards out of your hand very quickly.
In fact, if you are playing CHESED or GAMICHICOTH, you can keep playing
cards as you draw them and practically never stop! This is perfectly legal,
and should be encouraged! That's why you can only have 8 base cards in
your Mystic Cross!
You will find that a game of KULT develops into two phases. The first
phase deals with building up your Mystic Cross, and the second phase deals
with actually winning the game! You will spend the first part of your game
establishing your Mystic Cross in preparation for Swaying Pop Markers and
interacting with your Adversaries. Once you get that out of the way, you
can concentrate on getting those Pop Markers to your Hub! Experienced
KULT players will often have their entire Mystic Cross filled within a
couple of turns.
A good way to look at the concept of Suits is with an example. Lets say
you have a ring of keys. Each key is shaped like one of the Suits. Now
let's say that the Suits listed on the top left corner of each card are
locks. The only way you may play the card is if you can unlock it from
your hand. In order to unlock a card, you must have the right kinds and
numbers of keys. You must turn all the keys at the same time, so you
cannot use the same key twice on the same card. When you use a key to
unlock a card, the key does not break. In fact, you can then use that key
on the next card. When you perform a Repel to gain a Suit, you are in
effect creating a special key that you may use as often as you wish, but it
will break at the end of the current player's turn.
Let's give our example a little more relevance. It is the beginning of the
game. You are playing KETHER, who has a ROSE, an HOURGLASS, an EYE
and a CRESCENT on his card. This means that Kether has one Rose key,
one Hourglass key, one Eye key and one Crescent key.
Now let's look at Kether's hand. In his hand he has a PRIEST, INFERNO,
an USHER and an O LUONG. It is time to Proclaim these cards into his
Mystic Cross. The Priest card has a Rose Suit on it, so let's say that to
unlock the Priest card from your hand you must unlock it with a Rose key.
You have one of those, so you use it to unlock the card and put it into
play. The Rose key is not broken, you still have it any may use it on
another card. You next decide to Proclaim Inferno. Inferno has one each of
an Eye, a Crescent and a Rose. Kether takes his Eye key, his Crescent Key
and the same Rose key he used before, unlocks the Inferno card from his
hand, and puts it into play. Now it's time to Proclaim the Usher. The
Usher has two Eyes and an Hourglass on it. This means that Kether needs
two Eye keys and an Hourglass key in order to unlock the Usher from his
hand. He has the Eye key he just used to unlock Inferno, and he has an
Hourglass key. However, he needs one more Eye key, since he can't use the
same key on two locks. Kether performs a Repel for an Eye Suit. A second
Eye key appears which he may use to unlock the Usher. He does so, and
plays it. Finally, it's time to Proclaim the O Luong. The O Luong has two
Eyes on it, so Kether needs two Eye keys to unlock the card. He has his
original Eye key, plus the Eye key he acquired by Repelling (which he may
continue to use until the end of his turn, at which time it will break). He
unlocks the O Luong with his two Eye keys and plays it.
AFFILIATION
Yes, it really is impossible for a Major Arcanum to play a card that has an
opposite affiliation. In other words, if your Major Arcanum is red-affiliated,
you cannot play blue-affiliated cards, and vice-versa.
There is ONE exception. The MISGUIDANCE card may be Influenced onto
your Major Arcanum card to allow it to play any BEING card, regardless of
affiliation.
There is no card that allows a player to play opposite-affiliation Regions.
We have no plans to create such a card in the near future. So don't even
bother putting opposite-affiliation Regions in your deck!
STATION INDICATORS
Station Indicators are one of the hidden wonders of KULT - and it is an
aspect of the game we are quite proud of! A card may not be PROCLAIMED
or INFLUENCED onto a Station if it's Station Indicator is not highlighted
in red. This also means that if a card is moved, it must adhere to Station
Indicators, unless the card effect states otherwise! Most card effects that
involve moving cards around will also state whether or not you must adhere
to the Station Indicators.
TURNED CARDS
While a card is Turned (and is face-down on the table), it may not be
involved in certain aspects of the game. Here is a list of things to keep in
mind regarding Turned cards:
1) A Turned card may not attack or be attacked.
2) A Turned card may not use any special ability listed on its card or on
its attachments. For example, if a card provides one HOURGLASS, it will
NOT provide that HOURGLASS while it is Turned. Or if you have a
SPELLCASTER in your Mystic Cross, you may not cast Spells if that
Spellcaster is Turned. If an attachment affects the card's ability to hold
Pop Markers, this still takes effect (see #5 and #7, below). An exception to
this rule is if the card states WHILE IN PLAY... (or a variation) on it. In
this case the card is always in play no matter if it is face-up or
face-down, so it's effects are always on while it is in your Mystic Cross.
The best example of this is the KINGPIN, who allows you to have 10 cards
in your hand while he is in your Mystic Cross.
3) A Turned card may not receive a Pop Marker during the Recruit phase.
4) A Turned card MAY be involved in a Repel. In other words, when you
Repel, you may move a Pop Marker to and/or from a Turned card.
5) If a card is allowed to hold more than one Pop Marker, it may continue
to hold more than one even if it is Turned. In other words, Turning has no
effect on how many Pop Markers a card may hold or move.
6) A Turned card may not be involved in a Sway (since this is how they
typically become Turned in the first place).
7) A Turned card MAY have Influence cards played on it! As noted above,
attachments only take affect when a card is face-up, unless that card
affects the card's ability to hold Pop Markers, in which case it takes
effect immediately.
8) Spells may not be cast on Turned cards.
9) The only time you may flip your Turned cards face-up again is at the
end of your turn during the TURN YOUR CARDS FACE-UP step of your
turn. This means that if your card became Turned during another player's
turn, you may not flip it over again until the end of your turn.
ATTACHMENTS
An important thing to remember with cards that become attached to
other cards is that they will often lose their original status. For example,
the FEMME FATALE may be attached to another Pawn in your Mystic
Cross. Once this happens, she is no longer a BASE CARD, she is an
attachment. Attachments may not hold Pop Markers, attack or be attacked
(of course, unless individual cards say otherwise).
Another example is with the MANIFESTOS. If the Manifestos defeats a
Pawn in combat, the Pawn becomes attached to the Manifestos, and the
Pawn's CV is added to the Manifestos'. Now let's say that you have a
PROSTITUTE and a MANIFESTOS in your Mystic Cross. You decide to
attack the Prostitute with the Manifestos in order to defeat it and attach
it to the Manifestos (of course, since they have equal CVs you will have to
play a Commandment card or other effect, so lest's assume you did this
and the Prostitute is defeated). The defeated Prostitute is attached to the
Manifestos, and the Manifestos now has a CV of 6. The VERY IMPORTANT
thing to remember here is that the role of the Prostitute has changed from
being a BASE CARD in your Mystic Cross to an attachment on another
BASE CARD. This means that the Prostitute may not hold Pop Markers (and
does not allow the Manifestos to hold an additional Pop Marker). The
Prostitute may not attack or be attacked, and it's special ability of +3 to
CV against Pawns is no longer in effect (in other words, her special ability
does not transfer to the Manifestos). Her ONLY role now is to provide the
Manifestos with an additional +3 to its CV.
USING ITEMS AND SPECIAL ABILITIES
You always have the OPTION of using an ITEM or special ability. For
example, if your Being has an AUTOMATIC RIFLE, you do not HAVE to use
it during combat if you do not wish to.
TIMING
Okay, this is a big one - but not in the way you think. In most CCGs
currently on the market, the notion of timing is very important and very
complicated. Once again I will revert to MAGIC: THE GATHERING to
compare and contrast, as that is the established norm.
MAGIC uses a system of complex fast effects called instants and
interrupts to break into the action and, in essence, play a game
retroactively. Consider this typical exchange between two MAGIC players:
PLAYER ONE: "I play a card that makes your cool enchantment go away."
PLAYER TWO: "Well, before that happens I play a card that moves the
enchantment to another creature."
PLAYER ONE: "Well, before THAT happens I play a card that discards that
creature before he can get the enchantment."
PLAYER TWO: Okay, before THAT happens I play this card to give the
creature protection against something like that...
And so on. In effect, you are playing BACKWARDS. With the notion of
interrupts, you are stopping the action of the game to affect the card
play before the cards have a chance to do anything. In essence, you are
looking into a crystal ball and seeing what is going to happen, and then
making sure that those things cannot happen. It can be very messy.
Not so in KULT. When you play a card, or instigate a card effect, it's
effects IMMEDIATELY TAKE PLACE, before anything else can happen. The
only thing you can do is play a card to perform a card effect that
DIRECTLY AFFECTS the thing that is happening, NOTHING ELSE!
This is an EXTREMELY important aspect of KULT (in fact it is the same
concept that permeates all of our other card games as well:
DOOMTROOPER, CROW and JAMES BOND 007).
Here are a couple of examples:
The UNHOLY HUNGER card is an Influence card. If it is attached to a
Being, that Being must have a Pop Marker on it at all times or be
immediately discarded. Obviously, the best way to play this card is to
Influence and attach it to a Being that does not have a Pop Marker on it,
thereby causing it to be immediately discarded. So let's say you have a
TEACHER with no Pop Marker on it in your Cast. I decide to Influence
that Teacher and give it an UNHOLY HUNGER. You may NOT at this point
Repel a Pop Marker to the Teacher in order to save it, since that Repel
has nothing to do with the Unholy Hunger card or my Influence Deed. The
only thing you can do is play a card effect that DIRECTLY AFFECTS the
action going on. For example, you may play LACK OF FAITH to make my
Influence card ineffective. This is allowed because it DIRECTLY AFFECTS
the Influence card. You could NOT play a card that moves the Teacher to a
Station that the Unholy Hunger may not be played on, because that has
nothing to do with the action at hand.
The important thing to remember is that everything happens IMMEDIATELY
unless you can do something to STOP it or AFFECT it. You may not
interrupt the action to play retroactively!
Another important thing to consider is that after every single act ALL
players have a chance to respond. KULT can move pretty fast, but it is
important to give players a chance to respond to every action.
Here is another example to emphasize this. The card FLY IN THE
OINTMENT is a card that you may play at any time to force a player to
lose the control over one of his/her Suits until the end of the current
player's turn. This card is best played after someone makes a Repel to gain
a Suit, since it is obvious that player needs that Suit. However, you may
NOT wait to see what the player will DO with that Suit and THEN play the
card - it is too late, the card has been played!! Fly in the Ointment is not
a card that AFFECTS the card being played, it affects the Suit needed
BEFORE it was played.
To further exemplify, here is the way the interaction could go:
PLAYER ONE: I Repel one Pop Marker to gain a Skull. You want to affect
my action?
PLAYER TWO: You bet! I play FLY IN THE OINTMENT. You have control
over one less Skull.
PLAYER ONE: Rats. Okay, I Repel another Pop Marker to get another
Skull. Do you want to do anything NOW?
PLAYER TWO: Hah! I have another FLY IN THE OINTMENT! You have
one less Skull.
PLAYER ONE: Sheesh. I was hoping I could save this card, but I can't
afford to Repel again. I play SORRY. Your FLY IN THE OINTMENT is
ineffective and discarded. My Repel still works.
PLAYER TWO: Not so fast! I have a SORRY too! I SORRY your SORRY!
My FLY IN THE OINTMENT still works.
PLAYER ONE: Shoot. I guess I can't play my card. But I promise I will
get even!
The interaction could NOT have gone like this:
PLAYER ONE: I Repel one Pop Marker to gain a Skull. You want to affect
my action?
PLAYER TWO: Not yet.
PLAYER ONE: Okay, I have four Skulls so I Influence by VETERAN and
give him an INCINERATOR!
PLAYER TWO: Wait! Before that happens I play FLY IN THE OINTMENT
to take one Skull away.
See the difference? In the first example, you have to make ASSUMPTIONS,
RISKS and GUESSES. In the second (incorrect) example you just react.
Here is another example.
ANTON TEPTOV (CV of 6) has no Pop Marker on him. He attacks an
ARTIST (CV of 3) with a Pop Marker on it. Let's assume that TEPTOV will
certainly win the combat. Can the Artist's player do anything to prevent
Teptov from getting the Pop Marker?
The answer is: it depends on what you are doing and when you are doing
it. The only time you could move that Pop Marker is DURING the combat
modification portion of combat, which is pretty open-ended. One thing you
might want to do is play a FAITH SHORTCUT during the combat to move
the marker. There are other things as well. However, once the combat
modification is over, the combat is resolved and if that Pop Marker is still
on the Artist, Teptov will get it. The important thing to remember is to
make your move DURING combat, not AFTER combat (unless, of course, the
card states that its effect takes place after combat!).
What this all boils down to is that sometimes bad things will happen to you
and you won't be able to do anything about it. Life is hard - KULT IS
HARDER!
THE SUGGESTED RESTRICTED LIST
Let's be honest here - there are a few cards that are just plain mean. We
tried to make sure these cards were limited in some fashion right in their
text (for example, the TOMB BONDAGE card states that it must be removed
from the game once it is played), but we missed a few. We have put
together a list of cards that can be considered restricted in deck building,
as well as some cards that should be removed from the game after they are
played. These cards are IN ADDITION to any such cards that already have
these restrictions printed right on them.
IMPORTANT NOTE: These lists should NOT be considered OFFICIAL - they
are simply suggestions. OFFICIAL lists will be included in the OFFICIAL
KULT CCG TOURNAMENT RULES, currently in development.
RESTRICTED CARDS:
The following cards are restricted to one per deck. In other words, when
you build a deck, you may not have more than one of each of these cards
in your deck.
CLEANSING
ASTAROTH STIRS
OUT OF CONTROL
FETTERED - Restrict this card by the number of opponents: If you have
only one Adversary, you may only have 1 FETTERED in your deck. If you
have 2 Adversaries, you may have 2 FETTEREDs in your deck. And if you
have 3 or more Adversaries, you may have 3 FETTEREDs in your deck.
REMOVED FROM PLAY:
The following cards are removed from the game after they are played, and
may not return during the same game.
CLEANSING
ASTAROTH STIRS
KARMA
OUT OF CONTROL
THE CARD LIST
Here is the complete KULT card list. The Major Arcana cards are listed
first, then the Minor Arcana (both in alphabetical order). If there is a
question or comment about a certain card, it will be found after the card
listing. If you have a question you do not see on this list, or that is
handled above, feel free to e-mail me at DOOMTROOP@AOL.COM! Read
carefully, some of the questions are actually hidden tips!
LIMITED VS. UNLIMITED EDITON CARDS
What will be the difference between Limted edition cards and Unlimited
edition cards?
All KULT cards currently available are LIMITED EDITION, meaning they
came from the very first print run. When we reprint the KULTcards, we
will print UNLIMTED EDITION cards, so card collectors will be able to tell
the difference between the Limited and Unlimited editions. The difference is
minor. Take a look at one of your KULT cards. Do you see that fine red
pinstripe surrounding the card? The pinstripe means the KULT card you
have is from the LIMITED EDITION. When we reprint the baisc set, we will
remove that red pinstripe from all the cards, so you will be able to tell
between editions. The black border will remain (this is much more
aesthetically pleasing). Also, whenever we produce an expansion (look for
the first expansion, INFERNO, to be released in late March 1996), the first
printing of THOSE cards will have the pinstripe as well. Right now all
cards from expansions will not be reprinted, but if the game takes off (like
we know it will) some of the best cards from expansions may return to the
game, but without the pinstripe! In fact, the red pinstripe motif is used in
out other CCGs: DOOMTROOPER and THE CROW. In fact, I understand that
many recent CCGs have also adopted this strategy, so we must have done
something right!
THE MAJOR ARCANA
Does Hierarchy have any other role in the game?
No. It is only used when determining who goes first.
BINAH
What happens if BINAH is Turned with the PURGE POWER card?
While BINAH is Turned, she loses her Special Ability, which means that the
cards in her Stage may not hold one extra Pop Marker. This being the
case, if she is Turned, all excess Pop Markers must be immediately moved
outward in her Mystic Cross until they can reside on a card that may hold
them, or be returned to the Population Pool (the same way Pop Markers
behave when their base card is discarded (see pg. 27 of the rulebook). Once
she is face-up again, she may again have extra Pop Markers in her Stage.
CHAGIDIEL
What happens when CHAGIDIEL is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
If CHAGIDIEL is Turned during your Draw step, you may only draw up to 7
cards.
If the KINGPIN is in CHAGIDIEL'S Mystic Cross, may he draw to 11 cards?
No. The KINGPIN only allows you to draw up to 10 cards, no more.
CHESED
CHESED is also discussed in various places above.
What happens when CHESED is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
Because the card essentially has no Special Ability while Turned, you may
not replace cards you use while your Major Arcanum card is Turned. If
your Major Arcanum card is still Turned during your Draw Step, you must
follow the normal rules. Therefore, you must draw up to 7 cards, just like
normal. If at the end of your turn when you flip over your Major Arcanum
card, you still have over 4 cards in your hand, you must immediately
discard cards from your hand until you have 4 cards in your hand. Your
Special Ability is restored.
When does CHESED draw cards?
Every time a card leaves CHESED'S hand, he must immediately draw a card
to replace it. This means that Chesed never really draws cards during his
Draw Step. This also means that as soon as he draws a card, he may play
it, draw another, play that one, and so on until he can play no more cards
(or wishes to play no more cards).
CHOKMAH
See CHAGIDIEL.
GAMALIEL
What happens when GAMALIEL is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
GAMALIEL'S Special Ability only affects cards that he PLAYS, not cards
that he previously played. This means that if GAMALIEL is Turned during
your Perform Deeds step, you must adhere to Station Indicators when
playing Influence cards. Cards that he played previously are already in play
and are not affected.
GAMICHICOTH
See CHESED.
GEBURAH
What happens when GEBURAH is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
If GEBURAH is Turned while his Beings are in combat, his Beings do not
win if the result is a tie.
Some cards mention that combat ends in an unbreakable tie. Does
GEBURAH break these ties?
No. Unbreakable ties may not be broken, so the combat ends in a tie with
no winner or loser.
GOLAB
See GEBURAH.
HAREB-SERAP
What happens when HAREB-SERAP is Turned due to the PURGE POWER
card?
If HAREB-SERAP is Turned during his combat step, he may not make
another attack after his initial attack.
When does my extra attack take place?
Immediately AFTER your initial attack has been completed, you may make
another one with a Being that was not involved in the previous attack. The
two attacks are TOTALLY independent. Cards played during one attack have
no effect on the other.
HOD
What happens when HOD is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
If HOD is Turned during his combat step, he may not Repel for the +2 to
CV bonus.
May I Repel to give +2 to another player's Being's CV?
Yes. Notice that you Repel to affect one Being. It doesn't say YOUR
Being! You can affect any combatant this way!
May I Repel 2 (or more) Pop Markers to give a Being +4 (etc.) to its CV?
Yes, you may Repel any number of times to gain the effect.
KETHER
What happens when KETHER is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
Since you may not flip your Turned cards over until the end of your turn,
it is possible that your Major Arcanum card will be face-down during your
Sway and Recruit steps. Because the card essentially has no Special Ability
while Turned, you must perform your Sway and Recruit steps in the proper
order while the Major Arcanum card is Turned.
May I Sway Pop Markers I just Recruited?
Yes. Since Recruiting does not cause cards to Turn, and since you may only
Recruit onto a face-up card, you may Sway from the cards that just
received Pop Markers.
Isn't this a VERY powerful effect?
Yes, it is. We expect that many players will want to use KETHER (and
THAUMIEL) during tournaments and such. However, there is that rule about
switching your decks if your Major Arcanum cards are the same...
MALKUTH
What happens when MALKUTH is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
While MALKUTH is Turned, all the Pawns in his Mystic Cross lose their +1
to CV bonus until he is face-up again.
NAHEMOTH
See MALKUTH.
NETZACH
See HAREB-SERAP.
SAMAEL
What happens when SAMAEL is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
If SAMAEL is Turned when his Being is defeated, he may not make a
retaliatory attack.
When does my retaliatory attack take place?
Immediately AFTER any attack in which your Being was defeated, you may
attack the Being that defeated your Being. The two attacks are TOTALLY
independent. Cards played during one attack have no effect on the other.
What if I am not able to attack the other Being? For example, what if the
Being was able to attack from its Stage, but I do not have a way to attack
into a Stage?
The retaliatory attack is not a mandatory thing. If you are not able to
make the retaliatory attack following the normal combat rules, you may not
attack.
SATHARIEL
What happens when SATHARIEL is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
If SATHARIEL is Turned during your Discard step, you may only discard up
to one card from your hand.
THAUMIEL
See KETHER.
TIPHARETH
What happens when TIPHARETH is Turned due to the PURGE POWER card?
While TIPHARETH is Turned her Beings are not automatically considered
SPELLCASTERS. This means that She may not play Spell cards unless there
is an actual SPELLCASTER in her Mystic Cross.
TOGARINI
See TIPHARETH.
YESOD
See GAMALIEL.
THE MINOR ARCANA
22/24 RUE DE SEVIGNE
44 LADBROOKE HILL
ABILITY TO DUPE
ACE IN THE HOLE
Do GEBURAH's or GOLAB's special abilities break the tie created by ACE
IN THE HOLE?
No.
ADMIRAL LYLE P. CROWLEY
ADNAN KAZOUR
AGGRESSION
AGITATOR
May I play an AGITATOR to move a Pop Marker within my own Cast?
No. The Pop Marker must move to a different Cast.
ALTER YOUR BODY
Does the ALTER YOUR BODY Spell also provide the duplicate with the
source-Being's CV?
Yes, plus any attachments and modifiers from outside sources.
What if I cast ALTER YOUR BODY on my Being and duplicate a Pawn in
MALKUTH's or NAHEMOTH's Mystic Crosses, does my Being also get the
+1 to CV bonus provided my the Major Arcanum card?
Yes.
ANDREA BERGSTROM
Is ANDREA BERGSTROM affected by cards that affect Lictors or those that
affect Pawns?
She is affected by both.
ANSELM HODER
ANTAGONISM
If my Creature is Influenced with an ANTAGONISM, am I allowed to attack
with it, or only my Adversaries?
You may attack with your own ANTAGONIZED Creature as well.
ANTON PRADWYCK
ANTON TEPTOV
Do the Pawns attached to ANTON TEPTOV provide their effects?
No. They lose their card effects, and may not attack, be attacked, or hold
Pop Markers. Their only role is to provide TEPTOV with +1 to his CV.
ARTIST
ASTAROTH STIRS
See the SUGGESTED RESTRICTED LISTS above.
AUTOMATIC RIFLE
AVENGER
May the AVENGER be used to defend a Pawn in another player's Mystic
Cross?
Yes, if you wish. Notice that the wording states he may defend in the place
of a Pawn under attack, not necessarily your Pawn. Also, you do not
need the other player's permission. You may Repel and take over, and there
is noting the other player may do about it! (Of course, if the player
REALLY wants his own Pawn to be attacked, he could play a PEARLS FOR
THE SWINES, but that doesn't stop you from performing another Repel!)
This leads to a number of good tricks, especially in multi-player games!
AVENGING ANGEL
May my AVENGING ANGEL attack another Being in the attacking player's
Mystic Cross if the initial attacking Being was defeated?
No. The AVENGING ANGEL will only retaliate against a living attacker.
However, it may attack the attacker if the initial combat was a tie!
AZAQUI
BAAL RESHEF-LORD OF PESTILENCE
When BAAL RESHEF Turns himself to DISEASE a Being, is the -2 to CV
permanent?
Yes.
A Pop Marker sits on BAAL RESHEF (who sits in a Cast) and becomes
INFECTED. It then Sways to a Region in the Stage (it is still INFECTED,
but this does not affect Regions). Through card play, the INFECTED Pop
Marker is then moved back to BAAL RESHEF. Is BAAL RESHEF discarded?
Yes.
BEIRUT HILTON
BERNAUER KRANKENHAUS
BLACK GUARDSMAN
BLOOD ANGEL
BLOOD VENUE
BLOODTHIRST
BLUE-COLLAR WORKER
What are ITEM cards?
Some Influence cards are designated as ITEMS. Examples are the CAMERA
and the HANDGUN. The BLUE-COLLAR WORKER allows you to play these
cards regardless of which Suits you control. You must still follow Station
Indicators. In effect, the BLUE-COLLAR WORKER makes ITEMS for you!
BORN AGAIN
When I resurrect a Being with the BORN AGAIN card, does the Being still
have it's special abilities?
Yes. The only thing the Being suffers from its resurrection is the -2 to its
CV.
BULLETPROOF VEST
BURNT-OUT OCCULTIST
BUSINESS EXECUTIVE
How can I Turn the BUSINESS EXECUTIVE to Sway a Pop Marker from
him and then Turn him after the move?
Sorry, this could have been worded better. Here is a better version: The
BUSINESS EXECUTIVE will allow you Sway one Pop Marker. After the Pop
Marker is moved, cards are Turned as normal. Also Turn the BUSINESS
EXECUTIVE if it was not one of the cards involved in the Sway.
CAMERA
CARDINAL GIORGIO BIOTTI
May I Repel a Pop Marker to attach a PRIEST in another player's Mystic
Cross to my CARDINAL BIOTTI?
Yes!
Do PRIESTS attached to CARDINAL BIOTTI provide one Rose each?
No. They lose their card effects. Their only role is to provide BIOTTI with
+2 to his CV.
CARRIER OF PESTILENCE
Some cards mention that combat ends in an unbreakable tie. Does the
CARRIER OF PESTILENCE break these ties?
No. Unbreakable ties may not be broken, so the combat ends in a tie with
no winner or loser.
CHILD OF CHAGIDIEL
CLEANSING
What happens to attachments on cards that are returned to their draw
piles?
They are discarded as normal.
CLEAVING
COATLICUE-GODDESS OF CHAOS
COMPANY CAREERIST
CONJURER
CONTORT OTHER
If a Being that has been CONTORTED is discarded, does it revert to it's
previous form?
Yes.
If I have an extra copy of the card that my Being has been CONTORTED
into, may I exchange the cards?
Sure, if that will help you remember. But the extra card must have come
from outside the game. Once the CONTORTED card is discarded, be sure to
change it back!
CROSSBREED
Does a CROSSBREEDED Pawn gain the CV of the Creature?
No, it keeps its original CV. It only gains the special abilities in the
Creature's text box.
CURSE
If my Being is CURSED, does it receive modifiers that double it's CV, like
from MALICE?
No. Anything that increases the Being's CV is not permitted.
DJERABA
DON MICHAEL CIMARRO
Does DON MICHAEL CIMARRO give all PAWNS OF DEATH in play +2 to
their CVs, or just those in the same Mystic Cross?
He gives the +2 to CV bonus to all PAWNS OF DEATH in play.
DR. MORTIMER BLANCO
DREAM WALK
DREAM WORLD
Once this card is in my Mystic Cross, is it still considered a Spell card, or
just a Region?
It is just a Region. Assume the card transformed into a Region card.
May I play POWER FAILURE on a DREAM WORLD after it has been
successfully put into a Mystic Cross?
No. POWER FAILURE may only be used on a Spell AS IT IS BEING CAST.
DRIFTER
When the DRIFTER copies another Pawn's abilities, does this include
attachments and CV or just what is written in the text box of the copied
card?
The DRIFTER only gains the special abilities written in the notes box of
the Pawn's card. It does not gain the Pawn's CV or any effects from
attachments or other outside sources.
DRUG ADDICT
DRUG DEALER
May the DRUG DEALER use its ability during combat?
Yes! As long as it does this during the modify combat portion of combat.
And it may use it's ability as many times as you wish to Repel. Once I
played a game in which an Adversary attacked my DRUG DEALER after he
broke a pact made earlier in the game. I knew the DRUG DEALER was
toast, so I Repelled 4 times and discarded all of the Adversary's Pawns! I
didn't win the game but it sure was fun!
If the DRUG DEALER is in combat with a Pawn, may it use its ability to
discard the Pawn?
Yes. This ends the combat immediately. However, the DRUG DEALER did
not defeat the opponent in combat, since no combat was resolved!
Therefore, any Pop Marker on the discarded Pawn is treated like any other
Pop Marker that has it's base card discarded out from under it (see pg. 27
of the rules).
DUPONT CIRCLE
ERASER
EXCRUCY
EXECUTIONER
EYE FOR AN EYE
FACTUARY
FAITH SHORTCUT
FAMILY SECRET
FAST REACTIONS
Some cards mention that combat ends in an unbreakable tie. Does FAST
REACTIONS break these ties?
No. Unbreakable ties may not be broken, so the combat ends in a tie with
no winner or loser.
FEMME FATALE
When the FEMME FATALE is attached to another Pawn, do you have to
follow the Station Indicators on the Femme Fatale? In other words, am I
allowed to attach the FEMME FATALE to Stations other than the First and
Third?
Yes, you may attach it to any Pawn in the same Mystic Cross.
FETTERED
FETUS ALTERATION
FIGHT FIRE WITH FIRE
If additional CV modifiers are played after FIGHT FIRE WITH FIRE is
played, are they still provided to both combatants?
Yes. This card affects the whole combat.
FIND OBJECT
FLY IN THE OINTMENT
Does FLY IN THE OINTMENT effect an entire Suit or just one icon of
one particular Suit? In other words, does it cancel all of my Skulls or do I
just have one less Skull?
It only cancels ONE of a particular Suit. So you would only have one less
Skull, not lose ALL your Skulls. This card is often used to force "one
more" Repel. (Also, see TIMING, above).
GANG MEMBER
GARDEN OF THE WHITE DRAGON
GENERAL HU
GENERAL JUAN MARTINEZ
GORY
GRAND MASTER MARCUS
GRENADE
When do the GRENADE'S effects take place?
As soon as you announce you will discard the GRENADE, the combat
immediately ends and the opponent loses. The only thing that will stop it's
effects are cards which DIRECTLY affect the GRENADE (see TIMING).
GUILTY!
HADES WALK
HANDGUN
HAUNTED
HAUPTQUARTIER ARGENTE
HAURY
HAYWORTH EMERGENCY AID
HERALDS OF DEATH
HERRINGTON'S DISTRICT
HOLE IN THE SKY
HOOKED UP
May my HOOKED UP Pawn borrow any other Pawn's special ability, or
just Pawns in my Mystic Cross?
It may Turn and borrow the abilities of any Pawn in play.
How long does the borrowedspecial ability last?
It is a one-shot effect per Turning. You may gain the use of the effects
once, but must Turn the cards again to gain the effect again.
But how can the HOOKED UP Pawn use the special ability if it is Turned?
Ah.... Hmmm.... Well.... Good question. That one got by! The Pawn uses the
special ability WHILE it is Turning - so fast that it seems as though the
Pawn is Turned, but it isn't! Really. Honest. We said so....
HUANG LI-PAO
HUNGER SPIRIT
Please clarify the first sentence of this card.
Basically, the HUNGER SPIRIT may not be defeated in combat unless it's
opponent has a (modified) CV of 10 or more.
What do you mean by full turn?
In other words, if the same Pop Marker sits on the HUNGER SPIRIT from
the beginning of it's player's turn until the end of it's player's turn, it is
removed from the game.
HUNTING INSTINCT
IMPALED
INCINERATOR
When do the INCINERATOR'S effects take place?
As soon as you announce you will use the INCINERATOR, the combat
immediately ends and the opponent loses. The only thing that will stop it's
effects are cards which DIRECTLY affect the INCINERATOR (see TIMING).
INFERNO
INSANE KILLER
JELENA KALENKO
JONATHAN HAYWORTH
Does JONATHAN HAYWORTH give +2 to the CVs of all HUNGER SPIRITS
and HAURYS in play, or just those in the same Mystic Cross?
He affects all HUNGER SPIRITS and HAURYS in play.
JOURNALIST
JUST IN TIME
May I play a Play at any time Commandment card, play JUST IN TIME on
it, and then play it again? For example, may I play AGITATOR, move a Pop
Marker from my Adversary's Cast to mine, play JUST IN TIME on the
AGITATOR, and then play AGITATOR again right away to take another Pop
Marker?
Yes. That is all perfectly legal.
KALI DURGA TEMPLE SERVANT
KARMA
KINGPIN
When does the KINGPIN allow me to draw up to 10 cards? Right after I
Proclaim him or during my next Draw Step?
During your next Draw Step.
If the KINGPIN is Turned am I still allowed to have 10 cards in my hand?
Yes. Notice that the KINGPIN states While in your Mystic Cross... this
takes precedence over Turned status.
What happens if the KINGPIN is put into CHESED'S or GAMICHICOTH'S
Mystic Cross?
The word NEVER on these Major Arcanum cards takes precedence over the
advantage the KINGPIN provides. These Major Arcana are still limited to 4
cards in their hands. (Tip: don't bother putting the KINGPIN in your deck
if you are playing one of these two Major Arcanum cards).
KNIGHT OF LIGHT
See AVENGING ANGEL.
KTONOR
LACK OF FAITH
LE MARQUIS
LEASH OF BELIEVERS
LEONARD SAKHIL
If the only Pawns in play are in the same Mystic Cross as LEONARD
SAKHIL, if he attacks, must he attack one of those Pawns?
Yes.
What if the only Pawns in play are all in Stages? May LEONARD SAKHIL
attack other Beings, or may he not attack at all?
He may attack other eligible Beings. Basically, LEONARD must attack a
Pawn if there is one available to attack, and provided he can legally attack
it. Otherwise, he may attack anything.
Then if LEONARD has a TRACKING DEVICE, must he then attack those
Pawns in Stages?
Yes. Now he is ABLE to attack them, so he must!
LICTOR
When cards mention that they affect LICTORS, do they mean this card, or
any card with the LICTOR designation?
They affect any card with the LICTOR designation.
LONGFEATHER'S PURGATORY
LOS RENUNCIONES MISSION
LUIGI CANTORRE
MAD SCIENTIST
MADNESS WALK
MALICE
What happens when a MASS SUGGESTION and a MALICE are affecting the
same combat?
The effects cancel each other out.
What happens when a STRAPPED and a MALICE are affecting the same
combat?
The effects also cancel each other out.
MANIPHESTOS
If the Pawn attached to the MANIFESTOS is somehow taken away from it
(like with a TORN ASUNDER), may it gain another Pawn attachment
through a subsequent combat?
Yes.
MANIPULATE DEATH
MANIPULATE DREAM
MANIPULATE PASSION
MANIPULATE SENSES
MAORO NAKEMI
MARBAS-LORD OF PAIN
When may I attach my Pawns to MARBAS?
You may attach a Pawn in the same Mystic Cross to MARBAS at any time.
MARBAS may have any number of Pawns attached to him. Any Pop Marker
on the Pawn are treated as if the Pawn was discarded (see pg. 27 of the
rulebook).
MARIA FEODOROVA
MASS SUGGESTION
What happens when a MASS SUGGESTION and a MALICE are affecting the
same combat?
The effects cancel each other out.
What happens when a STRAPPED and a MASS SUGGESTION Are affecting
the same Being?
Since modifiers are not counted with either card, one is the affecting card
and the other is an ignored modifier. Since STRAPPED makes a Beings CV
halved rounded DOWN and MASS SUGGESTION halves the CV rounded UP,
the STRAPPED card should take precedence.
MEAT HOOK
MISGUIDANCE
Will there ever be a card that lets you Proclaim Regions or play other
cards that are of opposite-affiliation, the way that MISGUIDANCE allows
you to Proclaim opposite-affiliated Beings?
Probably not.
MISLEAD
MOLEST SOUL
When may I cast this spell?
You may cast it at any time.
If I cast MOLEST SOUL, do I get Pop Markers for PAWNS OF MADNESS
that were in other player's Mystic Crosses?
Yes.
MORBID EXPERIMENTS
MORGUE
Is the MORGUE affected by cards that affect Regions or cards that affect
Influence cards?
Both.
MUCKRAKER
MUSICIAN
NACHTKINDER
NATURAL WEAPON
Does the NATURAL WEAPON count as the only WEAPON a Being may use
during combat?
Yes. This was not stated on the card due to limited space. A Being may
only use one WEAPON during combat (see WEAPONS, above).
NEONATE
When I move the NEONATE by Repelling a Pop Marker, do attachments
and/or Pop Markers on the NEONATE move as well?
Yes.
NEPHARITE
NEW AGE PAGAN
NO MAN'S LAND
Do you Recruit Pop Markers onto the NO MAN'S LAND? And if so, are
they then removed from the game?
Once the NO MAN'S LAND is placed on a Station, it becomes a barren
wasteland. No Pop Markers would want to be Recruited there! So the
answer is no, you may not Recruit a Pop Marker onto this Station.
However, if a Pop Marker is moved there by other means, it is then
removed from the game.
NO PAIN, NO GAIN
NYWERE
O LUONG
OAXICI
May I Repel a Pop Marker and attach an OAXICI to JUAN MARTINEZ, even
if JUAN is in another Mystic Cross?
Yes. But only an OAXICI'S controller may decide to attach it. JUAN
MARTINEZ'S controller may not make that decision!
OCCULT EXPERIENCE
OPEN ARTERY
OUT OF CONTROL
See the SUGGESTED RESTRICTED LISTS, above.
Are Pop Markers in Hubs affected by OUT OF CONTROL?
Yes.
OUTCAST
PACT WITH DARK POWER
PARTHENOGENESIS
PEARLS FOR THE SWINES
PERPETUITY
PETTY CRIMINAL
PIERRE LOMBARD
If a Pawn attacks PIERRE LOMBARD, may he defend normally?
Yes.
PLAGUE
Are Pop Markers in Hubs affected by PLAGUE?
Yes.
PLAINCLOTHES COP
POPULATION EXPLOSION
POSSESSED
POWER FAILURE
PRIEST
PRINCE RAINER VON HABSBURG
PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR
May the PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR allow you to look at the top 2 cards of
any Draw Pile?
Yes.
PROFESSIONAL
Does the card text mean that the PROFESSIONAL has a base CV of 1 when
he is attacked but a base CV or 6 when he attacks?
Not quite. He has a BASE CV of 3 - that does not change. When he is
attacked, his MODIFIED CV is 1. When he attacks his MODIFIED CV is 6.
The PROFESSIONAL always fights with a modifed CV!
Then what happens when a CURSE is put on the PROFESSIONAL?
Since the CURSE negates all positive modifiers, the cursed PROFESSIONAL
will fight with a CV of 3 when it attacks.
PROSTITUTE
PROTECTIVE SKIN
The PROTECTIVE SKIN says that an opponent must have a modified CV
greater than twice the base CV of the Being with the PROTECTIVE SKIN
in order to defeat it. What if the Being with the PROTECTIVE SKIN also
has a lot of other attachments that make its MODIFIED CV greater than
double its base CV? In other words, suppose I have a PRIEST with a
PROTECTIVE SKIN. Opponents need a CV of 7 or more to defeat him. But
then I give the PRIEST an AUTOMATIC RIFLE and FAST REACTIONS. I
can Repel a Pop Marker to give him a total modified CV of 10, so an
opponent needs an 11 to beat him. What happens?
A Being in combat may always use the method of CV modification that will
be to it's best advantage.
PSYCHOTHERAPY
PURGATORY
PURGATOV
Is it me, or does the PURGATOV look like Rush Limbaugh?
You'll have to ask the artist.
Bryan's note: Personally, I would say that this is merely a coincidence.
Everyone knows Limbaugh's true form is a not a Purgatov - he's a
Compostate! See the METROPOLIS SOURCEBOOK for the KULT RPG (pg.
151) if you do not know what a Compostate is. This concludes the political
portion of our program...
PURGE POWER
This card is also discussed at length in the MAJOR ARCANA section above.
May I Sway Pop Markers onto my Major Arcanum card if it is Turned?
No. You may not Sway to any card that is Turned.
When does my Major Arcanum card flip over?
The same time all your other Turned cards are flipped over - at the and of
your next turn. So if your Major Arcanum card was Turned during your
turn, it is flipped over at the end of that turn. If it was Turned during an
Adversary's turn, it is flipped over at the end of your next turn.
PURIFIED
PUTREFY OTHER'S BODY
RAGE OF THE MASSES
May I Repel Pop Markers from my Hub after I play RAGE OF THE MASSES
(gaining a Suit for each Repel) to put more Pop Markers into my Stage and
Cast, thereby increasing the bonus given from RAGE OF THE MASSES?
Yes, this is perfectly legal, as long as you perform your Repels during the
combat modification portion of combat.
RAZIDE
When cards mention that they affect RAZIDES, do they mean this card, or
any card with the RAZIDE designation?
They affect any card with the RAZIDE designation.
REDEMPTION
REGENERATION
A Being with REGENERATION on it is killed. I place it and the attachments
I played on it on the top of my Draw pile, like the card says. The Being
also has two attachments on it that were played by other players. The
REGENERATION card says that the cards are returned to the other players,
but what happens to their cards?
They are discarded. They may not be placed on their Draw piles.
RELOCATE
RESEARCHER
Do I decide to exchange the Hub card before or after I examine it?
After. Remember that no one (including you) may look at the card you
replace it with.
If I decide to exchange the Hub card, is it placed on top of the Draw Pile
where the other card came from?
Yes. The cards are exchanged.
RUN, YOU FOOL, RUN!
May I attack a Pawn and then immediately play a RUN, YOU FOOL, RUN
on it to force it to be returned to its owner's hand?
Yes. This is often a very good way to get rid of annoying attachments!
SABBATH
Do GEBURAH's or GOLAB's special abilities break the tie created by
SABBATH?
No.
SADOMASOCHIST
May I attack and defeat my own Being, then play SADOMASOCHIST to
attack another player's Being at +5 to CV, saving my attacked Being in the
process?
Yes, this is perfectly legal.
SAMUEL HARRINGTON
SANATORIUM
Is the SANATORIUM affected by cards that affect Regions or cards that
affect Influence cards?
Both.
SAND RIDER
SCALPEL
SECRET AGENT
SELL YOUR SOUL
SERAPHIM
Does Swaying cause the SERAPHIM to Turn?
No.
SERVAILANT
SIAMESE TWIN
I attack a Pawn with my VOICE OF PAIN. The Pawn has SIAMESE TWIN
on it. Does the VOICE OF PAIN kill both the SIAMESE TWIN and the
Pawn or just the SIAMESE TWIN?
Just the SIAMESE TWIN.
SKIN TRADE
May I play SKIN TRADE even if I have no Pop Markers in my Cast?
Yes! Often this is the best time to play it!
If I play SKIN TRADE, do I have to return a Pop Marker to a Station
where one resided before, or may I place one on a Station that didn't have
a Pop Marker on it before the SKIN TRADE?
You may place the Pop Markers on any legal Stations, no matter how they
were previously arranged.
If I play SKIN TRADE, may I place Pop Markers on Turned cards?
Yes. This is not Recruiting. You are simply putting the Pop Markers on
cards where they are allowed to reside. This includes any face-up or
face-don card that is allowed to hold one or more Pop Markers.
SLAVES OF PAIN
If I defeat a Being in combat, and the SLAVES OF PAIN are discarded
instead, do I still get the Pop Marker that was sitting on my original
opponent? If not, do I get a Pop Marker that is sitting on the SLAVES OF
PAIN?
Because you defeated the original opponent, you get any Pop Markers that
are sitting on it, even if the Being was not discarded. You do not get any
Pop Marker on the SLAVES OF PAIN, since you did not win them from
that card.
SOLDIER
SORRY
May I play a SORRY on a SORRY that has just been played, thereby
canceling it's effects and re-activating the card that was hit with the
original SORRY?
You bet! I've played in games where 4 or 5 SORRY cards were thrown out
in succession. Now that's fun! (Also, see TIMING, above).
SPINELESS
STRAPPED
What happens when a STRAPPED and a MASS SUGGESTION Are affecting
the same Being?
Since modifiers are not counted with either card, one is the affecting card
and the other is an ignored modifier. Since STRAPPED makes a Beings CV
halved rounded DOWN and MASS SUGGESTION halves the CV rounded UP,
the STRAPPED card should take precedence.
What happens when a STRAPPED and a MALICE are affecting the same
combat?
The effects cancel each other out.
STUDENT
SUB-MACHINE GUN
SYMBOL BONDAGE
TAKEO OSHIMA
Does TAKEO OSHIMA give +2 to the CVs of all PAWNS OF DEATH in play,
or just those in the same Mystic Cross?
He affects all PAWNS OF DEATH in play.
TEACHER
TELEKINESIS
When an ITEM is moved with TELEKINESIS, are Station Indicators taken
into account?
No.
TEMPLE OF KALI DURGA
TEMPORARY INSANITY
When may I cast this spell?
You may cast it at any time, except during a combat in progress.
May I attack Beings in any order I choose, even moving between Mystic
Crosses and back?
Yes, in any order you choose.
Must I attack my own Beings?
Yes, if they are legal defenders (face-up and in your Cast).
THE BERGSTROM INSTITUTE
THE BORDERLAND
Are Beings Proclaimed onto the same Station as THE BORDERLAND affected
by the BORDERLAND in any way? Are they attachments?
No. THE BORDERLAND merely allows you to put more than one BASE
CARD on a Station. Each Being may hold Pop Markers, Sway, Recruit,
attack and be attacked as normal. THE BORDERLAND simply makes the
Station big enough to hold as many BASE CARDS as you wish. However, if
THE BORDERLAND is discarded, so are all of the Beings on it, except one.
THE CATHEDRAL
THE CITY OF THE DEAD
THE CROSS
May I Recruit onto the Fifth and Sixth Stations, and may Beings on these
Stations attack and be attacked?
Yes and yes!
THE CUBE
THE GUARDIAN
THE HATCHING CHAMBERS
THE HUNTING GROUNDS
THE INNER LABYRINTH
THE LABYRINTH
THE LIVING CITY
THE LORD GIVETH, THE LORD TAKETH AWAY
THE MACHINE CITY
THE MAZE
THE MIRROR HALLS
THE NAKAMURA BUILDING
THE RUINS
THE TORMENTED ARMY
THE UNDERGROUND
THE VOICE OF THE BLOOD
If THE VOICE OF THE BLOOD is in my Stage, and I am able to attack
with her, must I?
NO. Even if you are able to attack with THE VOICE OF THE BLOOD while
it is in your Stage (through card play), you do not have to. The only time
you MUST attack with THE VOICE OF THE BLOOD is if it is in your Cast.
THE VOID
What happens of CHESED or GAMICHICOTH has THE VOID?
During normal play, when these Major Arcanum discard their single card
during their discard step, they may immediately draw a card to replace it.
If they have THE VOID, they must first choose how many cards to discard,
discard them all at once, and then draw to replace them. This ends their
turn. They may NOT continue to draw a replace cards as long as they wish.
TIME AND SPACE WALK
TIPHANY REEDER
TOMB BONDAGE
TORN ASUNDER
TRACKING DEVICE
TRUE VISION
TWO IS MORE THAN ONE
May both members of the attacking team use attachments like WEAPONS?
Therefore, must they also be restricted by bad attachments?
Yes. The modified CVs of the two Beings are added together, not just their
base CVs.
U.S.S. RELIANT
UNCONTROLLED SHAPE CHANGE
UNDER THE SKIN
I played UNDER THE SKIN on my Adversary. During his turn, he Turned a
Region that provided some Suits. Do I lose the use of those Suits?
Yes.
UNDERTAKER
UNHOLY HUNGER
May I play this card on a Being without a Pop Marker on it to immediately
discard that Being?
Yes. (Also, see TIMING for a detailed example).
UNHUMAN APPEARANCE
USHERS
VACUUM
May I Sway a Pop Markers using the BUSINESS EXECUTIVE or KARMA if
the VACUUM is running?
Yes. VACUUM only prohibits the Sway STEP of a player's turn.
VETERAN
If I have 2 VETERANS in my Mystic Cross, do the SOLDIERS in my Mystic
Cross gain +4 to their CVs?
Yes, the effects are cumulative.
VICTIM OF CRIME
What do you mean by a Station next to the Pawn's?
The First Station is next to the Second Station. The Second Station is next
to the First and Third Stations. The Third Station is next to the Second
and Fourth Stations. Finally, the Fourth Station is next to the Third
Station. If a Pawn on the Third Station is the VICTIM OF CRIME, there
must be a Being in either the Second Station OR the Fourth Station (or
both) at all times, or the Pawn is discarded. Even though a Being may be
on the First Station, that does not count as being next to the Pawn.
May I play this card on a Pawn that is alone in its Cast to immediately
discard it?
Yes.
VOICE OF PAIN
If the VOICE OF PAIN attacks a Pawn, is there ANY time to play
combat-oriented cards or other special abilities? For example, if it attacks
my DRUG DEALER, does the DRUG DEALER have any time to take out a
few Pawns before it is discarded?
No. Once a player announces that the VOICE OF PAIN will attack a Pawn,
the combat is instantaneously resolved.
If my Pawn is attacked by a VOICE OF PAIN, can I save it by playing a
RUN, YOU FOOL, RUN!?
No. There is no time, since this card would normally be played during the
combat modification portion of the combat. Since the combat steps are
not performed, there is no chance to play this card.
VORTEX
May I cast VORTEX to switch two Beings in an Adversary's Mystic Cross,
forcing BOTH to be discarded?
Yes.
WAR HOUND
YOSHIKO NAKAMURA
Does YOSHIKO NAKAMURA give +3 to the CVs of all BUSINESS
EXECUTIVES and COMPANY CAREERISTS in play, or just those in the
same Mystic Cross?
She affects all BUSINESS EXECUTIVES and COMPANY CAREERISTS in
play.
YOUTH PRISON 315
That's it! I hope you are enjoying the game, and I welcome your comments!
Bryan Winter
Creator of the Doomtrooper, Kult, James Bond 007 and Crow Collectable
Card Games
Back to ContentsTo Kult CCG page