DOOMTROOPER FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

This document, and all it pertains to, are Copyright 1995 Target Games AB. All Rights Reserved. DOMMTROOPER, MUTANT CHRONICLES and all Character names and the distictive likeness(es) thereof are Trademarks of Target Games AB. This documet may be freely distributed, and may be printed and copied for personal use. This paragraph must always accompany the document or file. No part of this document may be sold in any way. Thank you for your cooperation, now on with the show!

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

(I've tried to make this as organized as possible, but please forgive me if topics shift around. Also, let me apologize up front for any typos, grammatical errors, and stuff that my 8th grade English teacher used to hate! - BW)

What's the deal with the white bordered cards? How can I tell from Unlimiteds?
A very common question. We decided early on to abandon the whole black/white border thing. To us, it has always seemed distracting. All Doomtrooper limited edition (first printing) cards will contain a small red pinstripe running around the card. When a card is reprinted, the pinstripe goes away. We think this is much more elegant. How about you?

Will a Factory Set be made?
The jury is still out on this one. The advantage of a factory set is that it provides you with one of every card. The disadvantage of a factory set is that it provides you with one of every card. :) Right now we're leaning against it, but would love to hear everyone's input. If we were to do one, it would probably have cards that you can use, but would not be allowed in "official" games - and we would encourage groups to not allow the cards as well. We want to keep our collectibility intact, after all! Plus, if we do one, it won't be until we've at least one, if not two expansions out.

What's that about expansion sets?
The first expansion set is called INQUISITION, and will ship around April or May. It has more of everything you love, but will feature the Brotherhood and the Dark Legion. Inquisition will contain well over 100 cards and will also include a new type of card called RELICS. These are ancient powerful objects that are unique, and will certainly have an effect on your game! But I've said too much already...

What was the size of the first print run?
We know everyone wants to know exactly how rare their rare cards are, but we're still trying to put that information together. The very first printing of Doomtrooper was printed in English, Swedish, Italian and Spanish, so we have to compile all the data. We'll be adding even more languages when we reprint (they will have the red pin-stripe, though, since they will be first printings for the language). As soon as that info is compiled we'll send it around.

What is the quality of the card stock?
We did get a few questions about the stock quality, and I want to take the time to talk about it. Doomtrooper is printed on very high quality playing card stock. While we don't like to compare our game to others, I will measure our stock against the standard game's. Basically, our stock is much, much better. The stock is strong and durable, and will still be intact after your millionth shuffling. The coating is also first class, so the cards "slide" easily. As a test, take a Doomtrooper card you don't want and tear it in half (go on, you can do it!). Notice that the stock is comprised of THREE layers. There is a center black layer that serves as reinforcement. This is truly the heart of the card! Now tear one of the standard's cards in half - no third layer! Believe me, I have been shuffling and shuffling a "deck" of about 60+ cards ever since I received it, and it is still shuffling beautifully! With a game as good as it is, and art as good as it is, we didn't want to cut corners (sorry about that pun) when it came to quality! We will, however, be increasing the thickness of the card stock that the Starters are packed in when we print the unlimited edition, to make them more sturdy. We are always looking for new ways to make our product the best on the market in every way - please feel free to e-mail me with any comments on this matter. We live through your feedback!

Where can I find more information about MUTANT CHRONICLES?
The MUTANT CHRONICLES line is growing all the time. In addition to this game, there are a number of board games, a role-playing game with numerous supplements, novels, and a complete miniatures line. In the future you will see a minis battle game called WARZONE, more supplements and figs, and a complete line of awesome licensed products, including a video game for your Sega or Nintendo from Playmates. More is comng, but I'm sworn to secrecy. In the meantime, look for issues of SYMMETRY where you bought your game (ask for it!). This poster-magazine features everything aboutthe Mutant Chronicles line. Issue #2 is currently being reprinted, and features a complete limited edition checklist, as well as a hot full-size poster of the ALGEROTH cover, with art by Paul Bonner!

I've heard that some rules have changed. What happened?
Check out the REVISED CHANGES section below. In short, warriors in cover only get +3 to A (instead of +5) and you may no longer attack our own warriors.

When you say that no attacks may be made on the first turn, does that mean the first player's turn, or everyone's first turn?
It means that one complete circuit of turns must occur before anyone may attack. All players must take their first turn. When the"first" player has his or her second turn, he or she may start attacking.

Do I have to have both a Squad and a Kohort?
Well, yes and no. While you are always allowed to just put Dark Legion warriors in your Kohort (or just Doomtroopers in your Squad), you still "possess" both a Squad and a Kohort, even if there are no warriors in them. That way, even though there are no warriors there, your Squad or Kohort may still be affected during the game.

There are many ways (through card play) to attack twice during my turn. Can the same warrior attack more than once?
Yes. If you are able to attack more than once during your turn, the same warrior may attack multiple times - as long as it survives, it can keep going!

And may the same opponent be attacked more than once?
You bet. As long as the warrior is alive, it's a target! Remember that each attack is conducted separately.

If I get to attack multiple times during a turn, can I have more than one Doomtrooper attack the same guy?
Yes, but not all at once. Each attack action is taken separately. You may not"pool together" warriors unless you can get reinforcements into the combat (through card play).

Does it cost actions to play Special (key icon) cards?
Only if it says so on the card.

Does it cost actions to play (cast) Art cards?
Only if it says so on the card.

Can you attack another player even if he or she has warriors on the board or do you have to chew through them first?
You may only attack a PLAYER if he or she has no warriors in play. This is incentive to get those warriors out fast, and keep them coming!

What happens when there is a"stand off"? For instance, I have an Imperial warrior and a Brotherhood warrior in play, and my opponent has a Mishima warrior in play. He kills my Imperial guy, and now I only have a Brotherhood warrior in play. Since the Brother can't attack the Mishima warrior, can I then attack the player?
Nope, sorry! You may only"attack" a player when that player as NO warriors in play. You'll just have to wait and augment that Brother until you can get more warriors into play. Incidentally - the warrior is not really"attacking" the player. It is simply using its resources to lessen his or her"potential", and increase yours.

OK, that brings up another question. Who exactly am I playing here? Do I have to be a member of The Veil?
Not at all! We introduced the concept of The Veil to draw players further into the game. Veil members are dedicated to one thing - personal power. This is a way for you to command both Doomtroopers and Dark Legionnaires. However, you can change your"role" in the game to whatever you want; nothing is set in stone. For instance, if you have an Imperial-only deck, you could imagine yourself to be the Imperial Serenity herself. If you have a ton of FOLLOWERS OF ALGEROTH, why not be Algeroth himself? Do whatever you want, that's what makes the game fun and exciting!

I've seen a lot of ads and coverage in SCRYE and other places where the cards look a little different. What's going on?
Those ads and images are actually from prototype designs of the cards. We never printed them, and never will, but we needed something to show we meant business early on! You won't see those images any more.

LONGSHORE and FUKIDO seem to be mixed up as far as affiliation goes. Isn't FUKIDO a Mishima city?
No it isn't. In the MUTANT CHRONICLES history (mostly known through the RPG products) FUKIDO was taken over by Imperial, and is now an Imperial stronghold. LONGSHORE has always been a Mishima city.

AGENT NICK MICHAELS - Give me the scoop.
Agent Michaels has been the source of many questions. Here is some clarification in general. Nick is considered a member of all five corps, this essentially means he can attack (and be attacked by) only the Dark Legion. However, he can use any cards designated for the five megacorps. This is very handy (combo alert) if you can get all five corporation cities into play. Because he is a member of all five corps, he gets +2 to A from all five cities, giving him a +10 to A! Very grim! Also, Agent Nick may not count as five members for the WELL ROUNDED SQUAD mission. He may be used for any one of the five corp members, but he is just one man.

Are fortification effects cumulative?
Yes and no. A warrior may not benefit from multiples of the same fortification, but may gain the bonuses from different applicable fortifications. For instance, your Capitol warrior with SPOKE IN THE COG could gain +2 to A from SAN DORADO, +2 from HEIMBURG, +2 from a FOXHOLE and +1 from a SPIKED BARRICADE. He could not, however, gain the effects of two SPIKED BARRICADES. Be sure to look at the REVISED CHANGES below for more about Cities and Citadels.

What about the INSPIRED card?
This is another one that has caused some"are you sure?" questions. Yes, it is as powerful as it seems. You may play INSPIRED at any time to take three non-attack actions. You may do this to break into combat so you can equip your warrior with gobs of stuff; you can interrupt spellcasting to perform three quick Meditates giving you the D you need; you can do just about anything you want. It is a great card - well worth stocking five into your deck at all times.

Have you heard about the cool GIFT OF FATE tricks?
Gulp. We thought we caught all of those"infinite recursion" combos, but this one slipped past our fingers! For those who don't know, you can do all kinds of nasty things by having GIFT OF FATE return other GIFT OF FATE cards to your hand (very nasty). The OFFICIAL RULING is"Gift of Fate cards are TAKEN OUT OF PLAY once used; they are not simply discarded." This rule is not on the limited cards, and I think we missed it on the first unlimited printing as well. But it will make it into the next reprint. In the meantime, spread this new rule around like wildfire! Sorry for the glitch...

What, no timing rules?
Good gosh no! The only thing you need to know about timing is that a Special card played later always takes precedence over a Special card played sooner! Once Special cards are played, the one played last affects the ones played before it, and then the next one down, and so on (last in, first out), This is usually obvious, but it is worth a mention here. Of course, use your common sense as well, that's why it's there!

At what point do combat modifiers take effect?
At step 5: RESOLVE COMBAT. No matter what cards are played, they all take effect after they are all played. Because timing rules are built in (since players take turns modifying the combat) cards played are still"last in, first out" (see above). However, questions can come up with cards that are already there. For instance, suppose a warrior with TICKER is in combat with a warrior with a PERSONAL ANTI-PERSONNEL MINE. If both are used during the combat, the TICKER will cancel out the effects of the PA-PM, no matter who"engaged" their equipment first, becasue nothing takes effect until Step 5: RESOLVE COMBAT.

But what about cards that double my warrior's ratings, when does the doubling take place? For instance, I have a Brotherhood warrior with a handgun giving +2 to S, who then casts IMPROVE SELF. Since this card doubles the warrior's S, does my warrior get his +2 from the handgun and THEN that total is doubled, or do I double the warrior's natural ratings and THEN add the +2?
Great question. I'll fall back upon the rules of general mathematics to provide an answer. When modifying a warrior (or anything else for that matter) ALWAYS multiply BEFORE you add. If that means that you have to recalculate the total modified score a couple of times after each new card is played, that that is what you must do. But remember one thing - you should always first include cards which"permanently affect a warrior's natural ratings (like DEMOTED) before anything else. Hope that makes sense!

Many cards let you change the Attacker and the Defender in the combat. When exactly does the change take place, and what about the new"can't attack your own" rules?
The Attacker and Defender switch as soon as the card causing the switch is played. Any cards that affect the Attack and/or Defender played so far now affect the new Attacker and/or Defender. With the new rules, if a warrior is forced to attack a member of it's own Squad or Kohort, then the player controlling a warrior that scores a kill earns points AS NORMAL, no matter if your killed warrior was killed by your own warrior, and they may be converted into D or Promotion Points, just like attacking a different player's warriors.

With GREATER HYPNOSIS, can I change the Attacker and Defender if my warriors aren't affected? In other words, can I break into (and change) a combat between two other players?
Absolutely! Plus, as noted above if you switch the Attacker and Defender to two of your own warriors, and they BOTH get killed, you get the points for both, AND you can convert them into Destiny Points OR Promotion Points (or split, as normal)! This trick also works with LESSER HYPNOSIS as well....

Can I make a warrior attack itself?
No. Never. You can sacrifice warriors and kill them off all you want, but you may never assign the same warrior as both Attacker and Defender in a combat.

What about all these cards that let me put cards from my collection into play? Are you sure about that?
Certainly! "Collection Cards" (as we like to call them) are one of your most powerful tools. Any card that will let you get a card from your"collection" does just that: you can take any card you own, not just the ones in your draw or discard piles. You cannot, however, take a card in play. This is especially helpful for breaking the five-card per deck limit. For instance, you are only allowed to put five FOXHOLEs in your deck at the beginning of the game. But the TRENCHER will make FOXHOLEs for you, and you can take them from anywhere. Suddenly you have the potential to get more than five FOXHOLEs into play!

What the heck is this Immunity thing all about?
A very good question, and one we've been answering a lot. Sad to say, this is one one area of Doomtrooper where we are getting the most confusion. Here is the whole enchilada: There are three types of Immunity (Immune to the Art, Immune to DARK SYMMETRY GIFTS, Immune to DARK SYMMETRY cards) and they all work essentially the same. Basically, a warrior who is immune to something is not affected by that thing if it can interact with it in any way. That's pretty vague, but that's the general idea. Immunity suffers from case-by-case basis syndrome, but it should usually be obvious. Offensive spells or abilities won't have any effect, of course, but the confusion enters when talking about defensive spells and abilities. Because these distinctions are most prevalent during combat, the best way to answer is that during combat, no spells may be cast if the opponent is immune to the Art, and no Dark Symmetry abilities may be used if the opponent is immune to the Dark Symmetry (if the warrior is immune only to DARK SYMMETRY GIFTS, it is still affected by GIFTS OF APOSTLES). When it is not during combat, no spells or special abilities may be used against immune warriors (this is usually very obvious). I hope that clears things up!

Can you clarify the different DARK SYMMETRY cards?
This has also caused a bit of confusion. All Dark Symmetry cards are considered"gifts". These gifts are bestowed on good Dark Legion toadies for exemplary service to the Great Darkness. In Doomtrooper, there are two levels of gift. General DARK SYMMETRY GIFTS are less-powerful gifts that may be bestowed on any Dark Legion warrior. GIFTS OF APOSTLES (GIFT OF ALGEROTH, GIFT OF DEMNOGONIS, etc.) may only be bestowed on Followers of the Apostle mentioned (FOLLOWER OF ALGEROTH, FOLLOWER OF DEMNOGONIS, etc.). Some warriors are immune to DARK SYMMETRY GIFTS (which means just the less-powerful ones), and others are immune to DARK SYMMETRY CARDS (which is every single Dark Symmetry card). Be sure to notice the difference!

You mention in the rules that Personalities can come back into play later. How do they do that?
This is a slight misunderstanding. Only one of any personality may be in play at any one time. If that personality is discarded for some reason (killed or otherwise), the personality may"show up" again later in the game. There is no mystical way to get the personality out of the discard pile and back into play, this just means that if someone has a personality card that they want to put out, and that personality has already been"killed" it is OK for that player to play the card (plus, a GIFT OF FATE works well, too).

OK, I cast a spell during combat, and spent a ton of D to bump my Brother's A so he won't die. But my opponent then played a POWERFUL BLOW, and now my Brother is in trouble. Can I put more D into the spell?
Yes you may. Even though all Art spells are one-shots, the"Modify Combat" step can be thought of as a continuous action/reaction phase, with each warrior sizing up it's opponent's intentions and taking similiar measures. The Art spell is cast during combat, and is still in effect throughout the combat, and may be modified. Once the combat is over, however, the spell is spent and cannot be altered.

What happens when a Brotherhood warrior is tainted by the Dark Legion? Can it cast Art spells?
If a Brother is turned to the Dark Legion and becomes a Heretic it may still cast Art spells, unless the card that turned it says otherwise. The ability to cast the Art is something learned, not given. However, because the Brother is now in with the Great Darkness, it may only cast spells to benefit the Dark Legion, and not the Doomtroopers! Use your best judgment.

Does a warrior have to have a weapon before he can use his F or S, or do they automatically have something to start with?
All warriors are assumed to have some form of weaponry or ability which allow both types of combat right from the get-go (a few cards are different, but they will say when). Equipment cards simply provide "better" weapons and bonuses.

Can you bring more than one Warrior into play, using up your actions?
Absolutely. The only action you can't perform more than once is Attack.

Do Equipment cards such as the TELESCOPIC SIGHT have to be placed on a warrior's weapon or can I place it on the warrior to add to his S rating?
A few Equipment cards say something like ATTACH TO SHOOT WEAPON on them, which means that these equipment cards give bonuses to OTHER equipment cards. However, most equipment cards are used directly by the warriors. Those that ATTACH TO something may only be played on the item mentioned on the card.

Does BLOOD LUST give a fourth action, or do I have to spend my second and third actions on attacks?
BLOOD LUST gives you an EXTRA attack action. This means that you may take a fourth action that turn, but it MUST be an attack action. You do not have to attack previously, so you may even spend your first three actions meditating, and then attack with your BLOOD LUST.How do you handle if someone brings a personality into play in cover, and the next player brings the same personality into play in the open?
In this instance, if you add a personality in cover, and the opponent does not know what it is, and then that opponent puts the same personality into play, then you must announce that you already have the personality in play, and show the card (and pay the D cost). Your personality is still in cover, your opponent's personality is PUT BACK INTO HIS OR HER HAND, and all D spent to Add the warrior is returned to the player. Treat the situation as if the Add Warrior action never took place, and the opponent gets the action back as well. In the instance when the same personality is added IN COVER by two or more players, the first one to show it's face is the "real" one, and the other personalities are put back in their owner's hands (since no D was spent, none is given back, but the players do lose the actions they spent adding the warrior).

How do I complete Missions like EXONERATED RONIN (in which a Mishima warrior must kill a Mishima warrior to complete the mission) when I can't attack members of the same corp?
You'll see this again in the Revised Changes section below. These cards were also supposed to PERMIT attacking similar corporations, but was left out. Each of these cards will now also have the line "The mission-holder may attack non-personality [Mishima] Doomtroopers until the mission is fulfilled or otherwise removed." You may not want to fulfill the mission at this point, that's a great ability! However, once the parameters of the mission are met, it MUST be completed, you do not have a choice.

Does AIRMAN TREVOR BARTHOLOMEW gain the bonus for RAMS AIR CAVALRY, since he is a RAMS AIR CAV?
Yes, this is also the case with SEAN GALLAGHER, and other personalities that give bonuses to "their own". Unless, of course, the card says otherwise (like SGT. MCBRIDE).

Next, can BARTHOLOMEW and the RAMS AIR CAV use weapons or are they stuck with what they have?
They are stuck with what they have, because they cannot use equipment.

Also, can the RAMS AIR CAV (and such) be forced into a Fight combat by a card which changes the Battle Tactics?
No. Since RAMS AIR CAV (and BARTHOLOMEW) cannot be in Fight combats, the combat immediately ends if the Tactics are changed to Fight.

Can a FIRST AID KIT be used to save a Doomtrooper from dying when he is hit by, say, the CURATOR SWORD or other such device that says "warriors wounded are automatically killed"?
No. The FIRST AID KIT may not be used a just-killed warrior.

I know that two of the same combat modifiers cannot be placed on the same warrior in the same combat phase (such as POWERFUL BLOW) but what about JOY OF VICTORY? If after a successful attack, one in which my warrior survived may I play three JOY OF VICTORY cards all at the same time?
Absolutely! There no limits to the number you may "PLAY AT ANY TIME".

Can I give my warriors lots of Armor and Weapons?
No and yes. It is a matter of what you can HAVE and what you can USE. In the revised cards, each Armor card will have the designation of ARMOR, and will also say "A warrior may only be equipped with one suit of ARMOR." This all needs clarifying. While you can give a warrior any number of equipment cards, you can only USE so many. For instance, you may only USE one FIGHT WEAPON and one SHOOT WEAPON (or one FIGHT/SHOOT WEAPON). You may give warriors multiples of the same weapon, as backups in case something happens to one of them. So even though you may only USE one at a time, you may HAVE as many weapons and most equipment as you want. This is different with ARMOR. You may only HAVE one armor. You may only HAVE other cards as well. Look for the distinction.

My PUNISHER BLADE is hit with a MALFUNCTION during combat. I have another PUNISHER BLADE as a backup. Can I use it during this combat?
Yes. You go into combat with all your weapons ready-to-use. However, only one may be used. You must signify which one. If that weapon is discarded, you may then fall back on another weapon if you have one that will work in the combat.

Does a TAKE AIM card last for the rest of the game when you play it, or just for that combat round? It doesn't say to discard after use, but I can't believe that the card should stay in play. My friend disagrees, and says that since it doesn't say to discard, it stays. Who's right?
You are right. TAKE AIM and other cards that you PLAY DURING COMBAT are discarded after the combat is over, unless it says otherwise.

When a warrior goes into cover, do the cards played on it get flipped over with it?
Yes. All cards that "belong" to the warrior go into cover with the warrior, and must be remembered by your opponents!

The BACTERIA GRENADE causes my wounded enemy to lose -1V every turn that his owner doesn't spend 3D to stop it and once he hits 0V he is discarded. Do I get the full value in Promotion Points when he is discarded?
You don't get any points at all. Remember that DISCARDED warriors earn no points, only KILLED warriors. The BACTERIA GRENADE is both a good and a bad thing!

Can you still draw a card during your Draw Step if you have 7 or more cards in your hand and the FORTUNE OF WAR card in play?
You may draw one card during your Draw Step in this instance.

Exactly which (and who's) Equipment cards may I affect with the TELEPORTATION spell?
The revised wording of the TELEPORTATION card is "ART OF KINETICS. CAST AT ANY TIME. For every 1D spent, you may transfer any one equipment card from any one Doomtrooper to any other Doomtrooper in play in the same Squad. Your equipment cards may also be teleported back into your hand." That should clear things up! Take head to the words "in the same Squad". this means that the equipment may be teleported among warriors, but all teleportations MUST occur with a single squad. You chose the squad when casting, and it may be your's or your opponent's! Also, ANY DOOMTROOPER means just that, even if the new recipient of the equipment would not normally be allowed to have it due to affiliation. (Of course, warriors who aren't allowed to have equipment [like RAMS AIR CAV] at all wouldn't be allowed to have it).

Okay, Art can't be used to benefit a Dark Legion warrior. However,
if my opponent is attacking one of my Dark Legion warriors, could one of my Brotherhood warriors cast something like LESSER HYPNOSIS to move the attack away from the Dark Legion warrior, since that affects the general combat?Absolutely not - moslty. You are still effectively helping the Dark Legion warrior if you take the heat off of it and onto a Doomtrooper. However, you may change the target to another Dark Legion warrior! Art spells may never be cast to benefit the Dark Legion (unless the Brother is now a Heretic).

Please clarify PHANTASM.
PHANTASM is a spell in which the caster assumes the visage of any other warrior in play (for a D cost). The warrior gains ONLY the F, S, A and V of the warrior it is "copying", and does not gain any of the original's special abilities or equipment or anything else but its natural combat ratings. Remember, though, to include "permanent" effects of cards (like DEMOTED). If the "altered" Brother is killed during the combat, the opponent gains points equal to the V of the warrior the Brother was copying, not the Brother! After combat, the Brother reverts back to normal.

If a person attacking with a NIMROD AUTOCANNON kills his defender may he then attack someone else or the player with his second attack which may have been declared on the person that died? What of anAMBUSH, does that stop the second attack?
No to both. You must announce both Defenders with the NIMROD AUTOCANNON before combat starts, so you can't change your mind later. Both combats occur separately, so the AMBUSH would work with either combat. If either warrior is killed during the first combat, it can't take part in the second if it was to be involved.

Can the cards OUT OF AMMO, or DULL BLADE be used on such things as TANKS and AIRSHIPS? Are these things considered weapons?
No to both. VEHICLES are not considered "weapons" in game terms, but do give huge bonuses. That is why you can't use equipment with most of them, and cards that affect weapons don't effect them.

Do Freelancers have affiliation? Are they subject to the limitations and bonuses of a given corporate affiliation or not?
Freelancers do not have any affiliation, and may attack (and be attacked by) any warrior in play. However, they do have ties to their ex-employers, and can gain the bonuses from cards limited to that employer's warriors, but for a cost. I'll answer by example: The EX-BAUHAUS FREELANCER may have Bauhaus-only effects at the cost of 3 Destiny Points WHEN THE CARD IS PLAYED. This means that the Freelancer can have a VIOLATOR SWORD (yes, it is a Buahuas-only weapon, see below) by spending 3D. He can also gain the +2 bonus to A from HEIMBURG if 3D is spent WHEN THE CARD IS PLAYED, so the Freelancer can gain the +2 to A from HEIMBURG if you spend 3D when you add HEIMBURG to your squad. You do not have to spend the 3D each time you want to use the effects; the effects always work if the 3D is spent when the card is played. However, another EX-BAUHAUS FREELANCER added after HEIMBURG is played may not get the bonus, as he wasn't around when the card was played. Remember, the Freelancer must already be there when the affiliated card is played!

May I use a MALFUNCTION on the BAUHAUS GREAT INFURIOR?
No. The INFURIOR is in your squad, but is not "owned" by any Doomtrooper. The card is played on a warrior, and affects that warrior's equipment. The INFURIOR is by itself, and is held by no Doomtrooper.

Can I play BAMBOOZLED on my opponent after he trades in Destiny Points for Promotion Points (via RETRAINING)?
Yes. You may play this card anytime a player gains Promotion Points.

Can a Brotherhood warrior cast spells while in cover?
Yes. Often that is the best place for them.

Can OUT OF AMMO and DULL BLADE be used during combat on a warrior without weapons to stop the combat?
No. These cards may only be played to stop the use of the weapon equipment cards. They have no use against a warrior with no weapon equipment cards.

What happens when an AMBUSH is played after a SURPRISE ATTACK (or the other way around)?
They cancel each other out, and the combat is as normal. However, another AMBUSH or SURPRISE ATTACK will be effective.

May I play a card that has no direct affect on play just to get rid of it? For instance, can I play ESSENCE OF VIRTUE is there are no FOLLOWERS OF ALGEROTH in play, or BOTCHED ORDERS if there are no Missions in play?
No. You may not "burn" cards in this way. That is why we added the rule that you may discard a card at the end of your turn.

Do HEAVY FOG and CHASM! stop all combat between all players, or just between the two warriors?
These cards prohibit the type of combat for an entire circuit of turns - until the player who played the card starts a new turn.

What happens if you play INSUBORDINATION on a Freelancer?
Nothing. You can't get any lower than a freelancer! The card has no effect.

May I use OUT OF AMMO on a FIGHT/SHOOT WEAPON during a Fight combat?
Yes.

Does my Dark Legion warrior have to use a Dark Symmetry ability?
No. You always have a choice to use the ability.

You say that Cybertronic warriors are never allowed to use the Art (see below). What if I play a Special card giving them the ability?
Nope. If a warrior card says "never" it means NEVER!

Do you get points for a warrior that you kill, but was saved by a NARROW ESCAPE?
No. The warrior didn't die.

Suppose you kill a warrior, get Promotion Points, and are struck with a BAMBOOZLED. Can you then play PORTENTS OF VICTORY and still earn Destiny Points?
Yes. The warrior still earned Promotion Points, they were just stolen away!

Can I play AUTOMATIC FIRE on a FIGHT/SHOOT WEAPON during a Fight combat?
Yes, as long as the weapon is the type of weapon mentioned on the card.

Can I play a KNIGHTHOOD on a warrior in my Squad if there is a ROGUE there?
No. It would be considered adding another Imperial warrior to the Squad.

What happens with all modifications played in a combat where a SMOKE BOMB is suddenly detonated?
The combat is immediately ended and all modifiers are discarded (unless they have long-lasting effects).

Does a PORTABLE FORCE SHIELD count toward the ESTABLISH DEFENSIVE PERIMETER mission?
No. The mission states "fortification card", not just a fortification.

Are the awards given for completed missions added to the normal points earned, or is the award all I get?
It depends. Usually, you only get the points listed on the mission card (for instance "earn twice the normal V"). However,a few mission state that you earn X number of additional points, which are added to the normal points earnings.

If I send a warrior out to his doom, and intentionally kill it to kill an opponent, do I get the points? For instance, I give a wounded warrior the PERSONAL ANTI-PERSONNEL MINES and send him against ALAKHAI to wound this beast. Since I am essentially killing my own warrior, shouldn't I get the points for his death?
Nope, sorry. Anytime a warrior is killed in combat, the opponent gets the points. There are many instances in the game where you can send out sacrifices to wound or kill bigger opponents. That warrior still died in the combat, so the points go the opponent. remember, war is hell; you have to break a few eggs to make an omelette!

If I give a wounded warrior TICKER, and he is killed from using it, do I get the points because I am the one who killed him?
No. As noted above, whenever a warrior is killed in combat, the opponent earns the points, no matter "who+ did the actual killing.


Back one page