Cutting
1.
First find the picture you want to cut. I’ll be using this picture.

2.
Go File > Open > then find your picture.
3.
Check to see if the layer is locked.
If
the layer window is not open go Windows > Layers
If
there is a small padlock next to the layer that means it is locked.

If
the layer is locked Right click and go to Duplicate Layer.

Then
click back on the locked layer and click the little trashcan.
4.
Now we are ready to cut out the image. Select the lasso tool from the
tool panel.

Click the picture above to see the full sized image
5.
Set the feather to 1px. If the options box is not visible go Window
> Options
6.
Now zoom in on to the picture until it is about 300%
7.
Now click and drag the lasso tool and cut out the picture. Don’t
try and
cut the whole thing in one go. Take your time and do it in pieces.
8.
If your image is cut like this(below) then you will have to go Select
> Inverse.

If
it is cut like this(Below) then you won’t need to do this step.
9.
Now press delete to remove the background. Your picture should look
something like this.

10.
Once the background has been deleted go File > Save and save it as
a PSD.
You
are now done cutting your image. Keep the cut image as you can use
it
in other tutorials I am going to write.