Laser Text

1) Fist make a new document and make the background black.
2) Next use the type tool to write your text and then make it the size you want it. Make the text white or grey.
3) Create a new layer and then get the gradient tool and choose the "Reflected gradient" Now drag the gradient only alittle bit (see Below). Make sure the gradient is Black to white.
Click for enlarged pictureClick for bigger picture
4) You should now have something like below. Now go Image>Adjustments>Invert. Then go Image>Adjustments>Hue/Saturate. Make sure colorize is check and then set the Lightness to -25, saturation to 75 and the Hue to what every you like to get the colour you want.

5) You should now have something simular to below. Drag the gradient all the way to the left until yo cant see any colour and then fill the area where you can see text black, then drag the gradient all the way to the right until you can see no colour and then fill in the area where you can see text with black. Drag the gradient back over to the left until there is just about half of colour showing.

6) Now go Layers>Group with Previous. You should now have something like below(the top picture). If you want the text to be showing go to the layers window and set the blending mode to Soft light. this will make the colour less visable.
Normal blending Mode
Soft Light Blending Mode
7) Now go file>Jump to> Adobe ImageReady. Once ImageReady has loaded, in the animation Window click the little arrow in the top right corner and then go to new frame. you should now have 2 frames
8) On the 2nd frame drag the gradient all the way to the right until no colour can be seen.
9) Now select the first frame and then click the little arrow in the top right corner of the animation window and then go to tween. Use the settings shown below in the image. If you want the light to go fast, put 20 frames.

10) now press play and see if it works. when you have it how you want go File>Save Optimized and save it as a GIF. You should have something like one of the ones below.
Normal Blending mode
Soft Light Blending Mode

You are now Done.