Great Lakes Warhammer League (GLWL)
Summary of Army Composition & Magic Rules

GLWL Composition Rules Summary

The following army composition and magic rules have been put in place to encourage
players to build 2250 point armies which are balanced in nature. It is the opinion of the
League Office that when all players participating in a competitive event build balanced
lists, the likelihood of getting a bad match-up based on the army list build (i.e. the
“Rock / Paper / Scissors” affect) is reduced and the enjoyment factor for the vast
majority of players participating in the event is increased.

1) You may NOT include any Special Characters (e.g. Karl Franz, Teclis, Malekith, etc.),
including named unit champions (e.g. The Changeling, Kouran of the Black Guard, etc.),
in an army.

2) You may NOT expend more than 1000 points on characters in an army. This limit
includes all of the characters’ equipment, mounts, magic items, daemonic gifts, vampiric
powers, virtues, spites, etc. Unit upgrades to characters such as the Anvil of Doom, the
Casket of Souls, and the Cauldron of Blood are also included in this limit.

2) You MUST include at least 400 points of Core units in an army. Core units whose
descriptions specify that they do not count towards the minimum number of core units
in the army (e.g. Harpies, Furies, Dire Wolves, etc.) do not count towards this
requirement.

3) You may NOT expend more than half of your Special slots on the same unit choice in
an army. For example, a Tomb Kings army may not include more than 2 Tomb
Scorpions.

4) You may NOT expend more than half of your Rare slots on the same unit choice in an
army. For example, an Empire army may only include one Steam Tank.
Ogre Kingdoms: Gorgers are exempt from this restriction (i.e. you may field two
Gorgers if you desire).

5) You may NOT include more than one Unit Strength 5+ model (including any rider)
with the ability to fly in an army (e.g. you may not field two Dragons in an army).

6) You may NOT include more than 3 units with the ability to fly in your army list.
Note: Characters that fly and Characters mounted on flying mounts do count against
this limit.

7) You may NOT expend more than 4 Special / Rare slots on War Machines in an army.
For example an Orcs & Goblins army may field 2 Goblin Bolt Throwers (a 2 for 1 Special
Slot), 2 Goblin Rock Lobbers (2 Special Slots), and a Goblin Doom Diver (a Rare Slot).

8) You may NOT include more than 3 chariots in your army.

Orcs & Goblins: Pump Wagons do not count against this limit.
Tomb Kings: Tomb Kings may field up to 10 Light Chariots in an army.
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9) You may NOT include more than 1 unit of Dogs of War / Regiments of Renown /
Ogre Kingdoms mercenaries in your army list.
Dogs of War: This restriction does not apply to Dogs of War armies.
Giants: You may NOT include a Giant in your army, unless a Giant is included as
an actual entry in your Army Book / Army List.
Rhinox Riders: One unit of Rhinox Riders may be included in an Ogre Kingdoms
or Dogs of War army.

Additional details surrounding various Regiments of Renown, Kislev Allied
Contingent units, etc. will be provided in the full 2009 League Rules Packet.

GLWL Magic Rules

Power Dice

You can use a maximum of 10 power dice in each magic phase. The first bound spell
you use each magic phase counts as 1 power dice for purposes of this limit. All
subsequent bound spells used each magic phase count as 2 power dice for purposes of
this limit (exception: Prayers of Sigmar originating from Arch-Lectors & Warrior Priests,
and Treesinging originating from Treemen Ancients & Treemen only ever count as 1
power dice). All power dice from special rules, magic items, etc. such as the extra dice
per spell from a Second Generation Slann, Warpstone Tokens, the Black Periapt, etc.,
also count in the total number of dice you can use in a magic phase.

Extra dice earned from the Dark Magic spell, Power of Darkness and the Lore of
Tzeentch spell, Boon of Tzeentch do not count against this limit. Dice used to dispel
enemy remains in play spells do not count against this limit.

Tomb Kings count each dice they use for a spell as 1 power dice for purposes of this
limit and the Casket of Souls counts as 2 dice.

Dispel Dice
You may use a maximum of 10 dispel dice per magic phase. The first dispel scroll you

have in your army counts as 1 dispel dice, in every magic phase, whether you use one
that phase or not. The second and all other scrolls, count as 2 dispel dice in every
magic phase, whether you use it that phase or not. Note that items which work as
dispel scrolls (i.e. they automatically dispel a spell) count as dispel scrolls for purposes
of this limit even if they appear under a different name (e.g. spell breaker gift) or have
additional effects (such as having a chance to destroy the spell being cast). So if you
have 3 dispel scrolls in your army, you can use a maximum of 5 dispel dice each magic
phase, even if you used the dispel scrolls earlier and are no longer holding them. Dice
from magic resistance does not count against this limit.

uestions ?

If you have any questions related to this document, please e-mail Brian @
mi_whplayers@yahoo.com
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