Priorities

by tyloki

Be sure that you've read and fully understand the essay on Chaining before you try to tackle this topic. The concept of priorities is a little confusing at first and can take a little while to get used to. It's one of the most advanced concepts of the game, so if you don't understand it immediately, don't worry about it. The Official Tournament Rulings Page has rulings on it based on priorities, but the concept and reasons are not well explained. If this idea is more than you need to understand at this time, find the answers to your questions from the Tournament Rulings Flie and knowledgeable judges.

 Summoning Priorities

           Priorities is the easy way to decide which order card effects happen and what happens when a monster is summoned. The following is an explanation of how priorities are used in summoning:

Step 1 – Summon: A player summons or flip summons a monster to the field.

Step 2 – Summon negation: Priority goes to the opponent. He has the opportunity to counter the summon with Horn of Heaven or Solemn Judgment.

Step 3 – Effect activation and application of continuous and field effects: If he passes up that opportunity, priority returns to the summoning player. The monster is then considered summoned or flip summoned. If the monster has a continuous effect, it comes into play immediately, but the effect is not considered to be activated. In the case of Jinzo, no trap cards may be activated from this point on. You cannot chain to a continuous effect. If the monster has a trigger  or cost effect (an effect you choose to activate or is activated when the monster is summoned), the summoning player then has the option of using the summoned monster's effect. In the case of the flip summoned monster with a flip effect, that flip effect is activated here. Any trigger, cost, or flip effect activated here becomes chain link 1, and can be chained to.

Step 4 – Respond or Chain: At this point, it doesn't matter if the summoning player chose to use the monster's effect, or if he chose not to. Priority goes back to the opposing player, and he can now activate a magic or trap card. He can activate a spell speed 2 card, providing that the trigger is met. Cards such as Trap Hole can be activated at this time. If a monster effect was activated in the previous step, Trap Hole etc. would become chain link 2. If not, it would become chain link 1.

Step 5 – Complete Chain: Both players can then activate quickplay magic and traps cards in turn. If one player chooses not to activate a card, the other player may still activate one. If one player chooses not to activate a card, and the other player also chooses not to activate a card, the chain then ends and resolves (see chaining essay)

That's summoning priorities in a nutshell, here are a couple of examples:

Example 1:
Its Jill's turn. Jack has a Mystical Knight of Jackal in attack mode, a face-down Torrential Tribute, and a face-down Trap Hole. Jill has an Exiled Force in her hand.

Jill: Summons the Exiled Force to the field – priority goes to Jack.
Jack: Cannot negate the summon - priority returns to Jill.
Jill: Chooses to use Exiled Force's effect to destroy Jackal (Chain link 1). Exiled Force's effect has a cost (see costs), so that is paid immediately, and Exiled Force is sent to the Graveyard.
Jack: Attempts to use Trap Hole – he cannot because Exiled Force is no longer on the field.
        Attempts to chain Torrential Tribute to Exiled Force's effect (Chain link 2).
        - check: a monster was just summoned, it is legal to activate Torrential Tribute
Jill: Chooses not to chain – priority returns to Jack
Jack: Chooses not to chain – chain resolves.

Link 2: Torrential Tribute destroys all monsters on the field.
Link 1: Exiled Force attempts destroy Mystical Knight of Jackal, but it's no longer on the field. The effect disappears.

Example 2:
Jill has 3 face-down Trap Cards. Jack has 3 face-down monsters on the field. It's Jack's turn.

 Jack: Summons Moisture Creature – offers 3 monsters a Tribute.
Jill: Cannot negate summon – priority returns to Jack
Jack: Moisture Creature's effect is activated (Chain Link 1).
Jill: Chains *Trap Hole to the effect of Moisture Creature (Chain Link 2).
Jack: Chooses not to chain - priority returns to Jill
Jill: Chooses not to chain – chain resolves. 

Link 2: Trap Hole destroys Moisture Creature
Link 1: Moisture Creature destroys Jill's remaining Trap Cards. (The effect of moisture creature is an activated effect, so the effect still happens even if the monster leaves the field. Continuous monster effects end the moment the monster leaves the field.)

* Moisture Creature's summon is still considered a Normal Summon even if 3 monsters were offered as Tribute.

Standby Phase/Draw Phase/End Phase Priorities

When multiple effects have to happen during a Standby Phase or other Phase, those effects have to happen in some order. The turn player's effects activate first, in any order he or she chooses. After that, the opponent's effects happen in any order the opponent chooses.

Example 1: Sinister Serpent vs Mirage of Nightmare.
You are the turn player. You have Sinister Serpent in the graveyard and Mirage of Nightmare on the field. Because it is your Standby Phase, and you control both cards, you get to choose which effect to activate first. Let's say you choose to return the Sinister Serpent to your hand from the Graveyard. Afterwards, you choose to resolve the Mirage of Nightmare and discard from your hand. You discard the Sinister Serpent. Because it is still your Standby Phase, and you still have priority, you can return Sinister Serpent to your hand a second time.

Example 2: Imperial Order vs Snatch Steal
Your opponent has your Summoned Skull equipped with Snatch Steal, but the Summoned Skull is under your control because you have Imperial Order out. It's your Standby Phase, and you want to know if you'll still gain the 1000 Life Points if you send Imperial Order to the Graveyard. The answer is yes. It's your turn, so you have priority. Imperial Order is sent to the Graveyard, and Summoned Skull returns to your opponent's control. Because you have no more effects to resolve, your opponent begins resolving his/her effects. Your opponent's only card with a Standby Phase effect is the Snatch Steal, so it resolves, and you gain the 1000 Life Points.

Example 3: Infinite Dismissal vs. Yata-Garasu
Infinite Dismissal is active on your opponent's side of the field. You summoned Yata-Garasu this turn.
Because it's your turn, you choose to return the Yata-Garasu to your hand during your End Phase, and it's not destroyed by Infinite Dismissal.