The Collected Rulings File 

        This file exists to provide more in-depth explanations to rules in the 
book, new rulings made since the rulebook was published, and card errata. If 
you want a shorter, more concise guide to the most common problems, the FAQ 
may serve you better. 

        NOTE: The Term IBAD is used as a variable for the different type of rites 
Intrigue/Battle/Arbitration/Duel. 

1)      Cards 
        A. Card Types 
                i. Personas 
                ii. Personnel 
                iii. Ventures 
                iv. Tactics 
                v. Events 
        B. Allegiance 
        C. Talents 
        D. Special Operations 
                i. Direct 
                ii. Counter 
                iii. Capture 
        E. Resistance 

1)      Cards 

        A. Card Types 

        There are several different card types, most of which require no 
additional explanation. Here, however, we will address the five most complex 
types  Personas, Personnel, Ventures, Tactics, and Events. 

        i. Personas 

        Personas include all Aides and Allies. In other words, all the yellow 
bordered cards. Personas, once deployed or successfully Petitioned, sit in your 
House domain. They are not to be assigned to any homeworld, charter, or fief.  
Personas are the means via which you can directly affect your rivals through 
Rites which you initiate. Your personas only defend in Rites when eligible.  
This means in the case of all Intrigue and Dueling Rites, and in cases 
when your personas can Counter against a given Rite. 

        Personas are all either Allies or Aides. If one of your personas gains 
one of these types by virtue of another game card, they lose their previous 
subtype. In other words, a persona cannot be both an Ally and an Aide.  

        Allies are all either Nobles or Vassals. If one of your Allies gains 
one of these types by virtue of another game card, they lose their previous 
subtype. In other words, an Ally cannot be both a Noble and a Vassal.  

        Aides may become Nobles or Vassals, as a result of a card or game effect, 
but they remain Aides unless the effect also specifically grants them the Ally 
subtype. If an aide gains the Ally subtype, it ceases to be an Aide. 

        Native personas function exactly the same as other personas, except that 
you must govern a Dune fief in order to deploy them. Like all other personas, 
they are not assigned to a fief, they are placed in your House domain as 
normal. The Forbidden Zone has been fixed to include the phrase 'Dune fief' in 
the card subtype text. 

        ii. Personnel 

        Personnel are assigned to either personas, charters, or fiefs. What 
choice you can make in this respect is always stated on the card. Unless you 
choose to engage it to participate in a Rite, it has no effect on the Rite 
does not add any Force during Force Distribution, and  does not need to be 
subdued before its parent card can be Vanquished. 

        Personnel which do not state they can be engaged to participate can 
still participate, but they must be declared as participants during Defender 
Declaration.  Cards which do state they  can engage to participate as an 
Engagement tactic allow you to wait until Defender Engagement before you 
engage them and need not be named as participants during Declaration. 

        Personnel, along with all other resources, cannot be moved from one 
card to another, once assigned, unless you have a card which specifically 
allows you to do so. The exception to this occurs if you move to Dune, in 
which case all of your original Homeworlds resources may be transferred to 
Dune, providing Dune is a legal target for these resources. 

        iii. Ventures 

        Ventures are missions you order your personas to perform for you. They 
are deployed during your House Interval on an eligible target. An eligible 
target is one that meets the talent, etc.. requirements on the card.  You 
cannot assign a venture to a persona governed by a rival 

        You can assign as many ventures as you like to a given persona. 

        The venture just sits there, doing nothing, until you declare your intent 
to engage its parent persona to produce its effects, giving other players a 
chance to deploy Tactic : Declaration cards. This can be done immediately 
after deploying the venture, later that turn, or on a subsequent House 
Interval. But it can only be done by a disengaged persona who engages to 
produce the venture's effects. 

        Ventures initiating Rites are treated normally, requiring the player to 
Declare his intent to activate the venture followed by the engagement of the 
parent persona to produce its effects. Since its effect is a Rite, a Rite is 
immediately initiated with the venture's assigned persona becoming the Leader 
of the Rite. That Leader is now engaged, as a result of the venture, but thats 
fine. The Rite is initiated by the venture, not the persona, so the 'a persona 
must engage to initiate a Rite' rule is waived. Rites initiated by ventures do, 
normally, count against your House Limit unless the venture specifically 
states that its Rite does not count against your Limit. 

        If you have several ventures on a persona, you can pick which one (and 
only one) you intend to activate when you Declare your intent to activate a 
venture. If your persona engages for any other reason, as the result of a 
rivals tactic, your own choice to use that persona to initiate a Rite, or any 
other reason, the venture is not affected. It is not discarded. It continues to 
be assigned to the persona, and can be activated later on your House Interval 
if you manage to disengage the persona, or on one of your subsequent House 
Intervals. 

        Ventures such as Litany Against Fear and Wierding Way have been changed 
to read 'Initiate a Rite. . .' and then the text that's already there. In other 
words, you only get the bonus for those cards if you initiate the Rite with 
the venture. In both these cases, the acting persona can intitate any Rite, 
even one for which it does not have the appropriate talent. 

        Ventures often include the word Intrigue, Battle, Arbitration, or 
Dueling in the Card Subtype. These are references either to the talent 
necessary to deploy the persona, the talent the venture utilizes when 
activated, or both. 

        Ventures are discarded after their effects are resolved. Ventures which 
say Duration Effect continue to operate after being activated until the end of 
your House Interval, after which they are discarded. Once discarded, the 
effects of the venture cease. 

        If a persona with a venture assigned to it is captured or discarded, 
the ventures can be transferred to another eligible persona (i.e. a persona 
to whom the venture could have been assigned originally). If there is no such 
eligible persona, discard the venture. 

        If a persona with a venture is subdued, the venture is also subdued, but 
does not gain deferment tokens, and instantly redeploys when its parent card 
does. 

        iv. Tactics 

        Tactics are surprises you spring upon your opponents.  All tactics are 
deployed in reaction to something a player does. This player can be you, or 
any of your Rivals. With the exception of Duration Effect tactics, all 
tactics are all resolved instantly. You cannot deploy a tactic in response to 
another players tactic, in the hopes you will prevent his tactic. If two 
players wish to deploy tactics at the same time, they do so in order of 
Initiative. In the case of Duration Effect tactics, the tactic is deployed 
and remains in play, producing its effect, until the operation it effects has 
been resolved, after which is is discarded. These tactics can be the target 
of other cards which discard tactics. 

        There are two categories of Tactic: Declaration and Engagement. 

        Tactic : Declaration cards are deployed in response to any player 
Declaring his intent to perform any operation, including all Rites, 
Petitioning, a CHOAM Exchange, activating a venture, etc... If a Declaration 
Tactic has another term in its card subtype, such as Dueling, this means the 
tactic can only be used by one of the two players involved in that type of Rite. 

        Initiative Declaration tactics are deployed anytime during the Initiative 
phase before the order of play is determined. 

        Tactic : Engagement cards are deployed in response to any player engaging 
a card for any reason. Like Tactic : Declaration cards, if a 
Tactic :  Engagement card has another term in its subtype, this means it can 
only be deployed during that operation. 

        The target of a tactic need not be the persona enacting the operation 
(in the case of Rites, for instance) nor does it need to affect the player 
performing the operation. For instance, Matt can play Security Sweep on Craigs 
Homeworld in response to Daves Declaration of his intent to start a Dueling 
Rite. 

        During a Rite, Tactic : Declaration cards can be played by all players 
during the Attacker Declaration phase.  The two players involved can play 
Tactic : Declaration cards and Tactic cards specific to that Rite. After that, 
all tactics can only be played by the two players involved in the Rite. 

        v. Events 

        Events are large-scale occurrences which can dramatically shift the 
balance of power in the game. There are two types of events; Imperium and Dune. 

        All events are first placed face down in your House domain. This does not 
count as deployment.  Events accrue deferment tokens normally. You cannot make 
up the difference between an events deployment cost, and its current number of 
deferment tokens in solaris. Once an event has accrued its deployment cost in 
deferment tokens, you may, at your discretion, deploy the card on your House 
Interval. 

        Imperium events can only be deployed while you govern a Homeworld. Since 
Dune becomes your homeworld if you move to it, this means that you can deploy 
Imperium events as long as your homeworld is not subdued. You can only play 
one Imperium event per House Interval. 

        Dune events require you to govern a Dune fief before they can be deployed. 

        This includes Arrakeen, Carthag, The Open Bled, etc...and Dune itself.  
Therefore governing Dune fulfills the requirements for deploying both Imperium 
and Dune events. Only one Dune event can be deployed per House Interval. 

        B. Allegiance 

        Cards bearing the symbol of an Imperial Power in their upper right 
corner, have Allegiance to that power.  While you choose a Power when you buy 
a starter, you are not -technically- playing that Power in the game. You are 
playing your own, unique Minor House, with the Imperial Power you chose as 
your sponsor. 

        Regardless of the Imperial Power you choose as your sponsor, there is at 
least one other Power bent on your destruction. This is your Adversary. You 
cannot include cards with Adversarial Allegiance in either your Imperial or 
House deck. 

        If you capture a card bearing allegiance to your Adversary you must 
immediately subdue it. Once subdued, you can deploy the card, subject to 
normal deployment rules, but you must discard an amount of favor equal to the 
deployment cost of the card.  If the card is later subdued again, you must 
again burn favor equal to the cards deployment cost to bring it out. 

        You can freely place cards bearing allegiance to your sponsor in your 
Imperial and House deck. When Petitioning to deploy an Imperial Card bearing 
allegiance to your sponsor, you may choose to spend fewer solaris and make 
the difference up in favor. An Atreides player, deploying Duke Leto (deployment 
cost 5), may opt to pay only 2 solaris and 3 favor. This does not permit you 
to waive the rules for bidding. You must still have solaris equal to your final 
bid in order to deploy the card, and you cannot bid more solaris than you have. 

        You may place cards bearing allegiance to another, non-adversarial, power 
in your Imperial deck, but you gain that Power's Adversaries as well. These 
additional adversaries are treated exactly like your original adversary and 
acquire the same restrictions. 

        You can only place cards with allegiance to another, non-adversarial 
House, in your House Deck if you have included cards with the same allegiance 
in your Imperial deck. Any time you deploy a card with allegiance to another, 
non-adversarial power, or successfully Petition one, you must discard one 
favor. This includes deployment after subdual and deployment from your hand. 

        If a card has Allegiance to an Imperial Power you can only assign it to 
cards with the same allegiance, or no allegiance. 

        If a persona Gains or Adopts a new allegiance, the persona now has two 
allegiances and is immediately subject to all the above rules. If this new 
allegiance is to an Adversarial Power, you need not subdue the persona, but 
you must discard favor each time you redeploy it. If you have a card which 
changes allegiance depending on a certain condition (e.g. Doctor Kynes) and 
you have already met the condition before deploying or Petitioning the card, 
the card is played as though it already had the dual allegiance. If you 
already govern the card when the condition is met, immediately reevaluate the 
new allegiance and, if the new allegiance is Adversarial, subdue the card. 
Otherwise nothing significant occurs. 

        If you come to govern Dune, the Dune card (only) adopts allegiance to 
your Sponsor, losing any previous allegiance gained from another player. 

        C. Talents 

        Certain cards have talents listed on them. In the case of cards with a 
talent icon in the upper right, this is the talent and rank required to 
assign or play that card. Talent Rank 0 is a level of Rank and there are some 
cards which possess a listed Talent Rank of 0. Cards without a talent rank are 
not presumed to have a 0 in that talent. 

        Cards which give a bonus to a talent rank give their parent cards a rank 
of 0 + the listed bonus. For instance, Arms Training gives a persona +1 dueling 
rank. Breaking this down using the above rule; the card actually bestows rank 
0 +1, for a total of Dueling 1. If there were a card which stated: Target 
gains Dueling talent, this would bestow Dueling 0 on that persona. 

        Ventures often have talents listed in their card subtype. This is a 
reference to the talent required to play the card, or utilized by the card 
in its resolution. 

        Tactics often have talents listed in their card subtype. This is a 
reference to the type of Rite that must be initiated by someone (not 
necessarily you) in order to play the card. 

        Anytime a card, in its text, refers to a talent thusly; 'in a battle', 
or 'a battle', it means during that type of Rite. 

        Personas possessing Talent rankings can initiate a Rite against any 
legal target of that Rite. The only restrictions to what cards can be targets 
of Rites are 1: the target cannot possess the same allegiance as your acting 
persona. 2: the target must be a card of the appropriate type for the Rite.  
See fig. 6 on page 52 of your rulebook for a list of the appropriate targets 
of each Rite. Legal targets do not have to have the same talent. Any persona, 
for instance, without allegiance to your acting persona, can be the target of 
a Duel. 

        If a persona ends up, via Counter or some other method, defending in a 
Rite for which it does not have the talent, it merely applies no force to its 
opponent.  Such a persona receives force normally, even if it isnt the 
appropriate target of the Rite. A persona who can Counter against Battle 
Rites can become the target of a Battle Rite and could be subdued by Battle 
force normally. For more information on Rites, see that section in this file. 

        D. Special Operations 

        Certain cards possess interesting abilities, called Special operations. 
All Special operations are either Declaration operations, meaning they are 
played in response to a player declaring something, or Engagement operations, 
meaning they are used in response to a player engaging something. 

        There are two Special Declaration operations; Direct and Counter, both 
of which require additional explanation. 

        i. Direct 

        Direct is a Special Declaration operation which, during a Rite, allows 
your Leader to bring additional personas to the Rite with him, when he is the 
attack or defense leader. The additional participants must have a total command 
rank less than that of the Directing persona. For instance; Count Glossu 
Rabban can Direct when leading Battle Rites. He has a Command Rank of 2. He 
can, when Directing, bring one other persona of Command Rank 1 with him. If 
his Command Rank was somehow raised to 4, he could bring three personas of 
rank 1, or two of ranks 2 and 1, or one of rank 3. 

        All additional personas brought into the Rite by the persona Directing, 
must also be disengaged, and must posses the same allegiance as the Directing 
persona or no allegiance. Eligible personnel assigned to these additional 
personas may also be included as participants. 

        In order to vanquish a persona with Direct, you must do the following in 
order: vanquish all the participating personnel assigned to the additional 
personas brought into the Rite, vanquish the additional personas themselves, 
and vanquish the participating personnel on the Directing Leader. Then, if you 
still have enough force left over, you may vanquish the Directing persona. 

        Your leader must be disengaged to Direct. 

        ii. Counter 

        Counter is a Special Declaration operation which, during a Rite, allows 
you to change the target of the Rite to the persona Countering. In order for 
a persona to Counter, it must be disengaged and not posses the same allegiance 
as the attacking persona. 

        Cards which allow an Eligible target to Counter refer to a personas 
eligibility, as described in the preceding paragraph, not a cards eligibility 
to be the target of a Rite. Thus you could, via innate ability or card effect, 
have a persona Countering and becoming the new target of a Battle or 
Arbitration Rite. 

        In rare cases, a persona may Counter who has no applicable talent. At 
such times, the Countering persona merely assigns no force to the opposing 
persona, but can be subdued normally. 

        If a player changes the target of a Rite by Countering, the attacking 
player gains no bonus if the new target is subdued. A persona cannot Counter 
to himself in the hope of denying his rival a bonus. 

        iii. Capture 

        There are three Special Engagement operations; Surprise, Capture, and 
Discard. Surprise and Discard are explained sufficiently in the rulebook, but 
Capture requires a bit more clarification. 

        If you Capture an opposing persona, you gain control of them, usually 
permanently. Many cards which allow Capture are Duration Effect cards, but 
this means the card stays around longer than normal producing its effect.  
This is not a limit on the Capture, which is still permanent. 

        Capturing a persona allied to another Imperial Power does not cause 
you to gain that Powers adversaries as your own. 

        E. Resistance 

        Many cards have Resistance values which would not normally be the target 
of a Rite. However there are cards that can apply force to otherwise 
untargetable cards. For this reason also, cards with no listed Resistance are 
considered to have a Resistance of 1. 

2)      The Turn Sequence 
        A. The Opening Interval 
                i. Initiative 
        B. The House Interval 
                i. General Operations 
                        a. Deploying Cards 
                        b. Petitioning 
        C. Restricted Operations 
                i. Deploy Subdued Event (see Events) 
                ii. Rites 
                iii. CHOAM Exchange 
                iv. Requesting Admittance to the High Council (winning the game) 
        D. The Closing Interval 
                i. Imperial Discard 
                ii. Imperial Draw 
                iii. House Discard 
                iv. House Draw 

The Turn Sequence 

Certain segments of the Turn Sequence, such as Disengagement and Deferment, 
seem easily understandable. Others will benefit from further explanation. 

        A. The Opening Interval 

        i. Initiative 

        The initiative phase is broken down into two sections; declaration and 
assignment. During the declaration segment, all players announce their current 
favor, referred to as their declared favor. This is not the same as their 
actual favor, and cards which affect declared favor only change the declared 
amount, which is used solely for the purpose of determining initiative. 

        Declaration : Initiative tactics can be played at this point either 
prior to declaring your favor, after it, or in response to another players 
declaration of favor. 

        After all tactics and effects have been resolved, Initiative ranks are 
assigned. Ties are resolved by discarding cards normally. If your favor at 
this point is 0 or less, nothing significant happens. You still draw and 
discard cards normally to resolve ties. Having 0 or negative favor prevents 
you from drawing cards during the Closing Interval only, it does not restrict 
your ability to draw cards during the Initiative Phase. 

        On the seventh turn the player with the first initiative rank (i.e. 
highest declared favor) will effectively be forced to move to Dune unless 
they have removed deferment tokens from it, or have found some other mechanism, 
such as Usurp Holding, to delay its deployment. Being forced to move to Dune 
represents the very likely occurrence that the Landsraad has become 
dissatisfied with Dune's current governance, and has decided to command a 
favored House minor to assume its governorship. 

        B. The House Interval 

        Your House Interval is when you'll perform most of your game operations. 
Your House Interval is not synonymous with your turn because there are many 
things you may do during a given turn, but not necessarily during your House 
Interval. 

        There are two different types of operations you can perform during your 
House Interval, General operations and Restricted operations. You can perform 
these operations in any order. General operations and Restricted operations 
do not represent different segments of your House Interval. You could, for 
instance, perform a General, two Restricted, two more General, then another 
Restricted operation during your House Interval. 

        i. General Operations 

        a. Deploy Card. 

        The act of playing a card face-up is called deployment. This includes 
playing a card from your hand and turning a subdued card face up. 

        When playing a card from your hand, all you need to do is pay its cost 
in solaris. You may not reduce the cost for cards aligned to your sponsor and 
make up the difference with favor as is possible during a Petition. Cards 
played from your hand are always deployed disengaged. 

        For purposes of this operation, there are two types of cards; subdued 
event cards, and subdued non-event cards. 

        Subdued event cards gather deferment tokens normally; one per turn. You 
may not pay solaris to make up the difference between deferment tokens and 
deployment cost. When a subdued event has its deployment cost in deferment 
tokens, you may deploy it at any time on your House Interval. You may choose, 
however, to wait until a subsequent House Interval. For when each type of 
event can be played, see the section on events. 

        Subdued non-event cards accrue deferment tokens, one per turn, with the 
exception of subdued ventures. After a card has at least one deferment token 
on it, you may pay the difference, in solaris, between its deployment cost and 
the number of deferment tokens it has on it. You may deploy a card at any 
point during your House Interval, then later that Interval deploy its assigned 
cards. 

        Additionally, all subdued non-event cards must be deployed once they have 
accumulated their deployment cost in deferment tokens. You may choose to 
deploy these cards at the beginning of your House Interval, at the end, or 
anywhere in between. 

        The only restriction to these rules are assigned cards. Assigned cards 
can only be deployed once their parent cards have been deployed. This means 
an assigned card with its deployment cost in deferment tokens does not deploy 
normally until its parent card had been deployed. Once the parent card has 
been deployed, an assigned card which has accumulated its deployment cost 
in deferment tokens must be deployed during your House Interval, just like 
any other subdued non-event card. If the assigned card does not have its 
deployment cost in deferment tokens, the difference can still be made up in 
solaris to deploy it, but only after its parent card has been deployed. 

        Assigned cards being deployed from subdual must remain with their 
original parent cards. 

        All subdued cards are deployed disengaged. They may be immediately 
engaged to produce their effects. 

        You may not deploy subdued cards in your rivals territory. 

        b. Petition Assembly Card. 

        At any time during your House Interval, you may reveal one of the cards 
in your Assembly and announce your intent to Petition it. You begin the 
bidding and must bid at least the cost of the card, although you may bid 
higher in an attempt to lock other players out (or for any other reason). 

        Once you have passed your option to bid, you may not bid on that card 
again. 

        You may not bid higher than your current solaris. 

        When Petitioning cards bearing allegiance to your sponsor, you may 
discard an amount of favor in order to decrease the final cost by an equal 
amount.  This does not allow you to bid more solaris than you have. 

        If, via some card effect, you are the victor of Petition and cannot 
pay the cost normally, you must discard favor equal to amount you are unable 
to pay. You may then deploy the card normally. 

        Effects which return a card to into your Assembly, with no victor, are 
considered to cancel the Petition. You may then continue Petitioning for other 
cards at your discretion. Otherwise, barring some other card effect, once 
you have lost a Petition, you may not Petition another card during that House 
Interval. 

        You may not bid an amount equal to that bid by a previous player. You 
must, in other words, either raise or pass. 

        If the victor is not the player Petitioning the card, the amount paid 
is the difference between the cards deployment cost and the final bid. 

        If the victor is the Petitioning player, the card is deployed, engaged, 
in his House domain. 

        Cards successfully Petitioned for, if later subdued, need not be 
Petitioned again. They are deployed normally. 

        C. Restricted Operations 

        i. Deploy Subdued Event.  See the above section on Events. 

        ii. Initiate Rite. 

        Initiating Rites is perhaps the most common form of player interaction. 
All Rites are initiated by personas. The persona must have the required 
talent in order to Initiate the Rite. See figure 6, page 52 of the rulebook 
for the appropriate talents. 

        The target of the Rite must be a card appropriate to the Rite (a persona 
for Intrigue and Duels, a charter for Arbitration, and a fief for Battle) and 
must not bear the same allegiance as the attacking persona. You cannot 
initiate a Rite against your own cards. These are the only restrictions. The 
defending cards need not be disengaged. 

        After the attacker declares his intent to initiate a Rite, indicating 
which of his personas is the attacker and which of his rivals cards is his 
intended victim, all players, beginning with the defender may play 
Tactic : Declaration cards. The two players involved in the Rite may play 
Tactic : Declaration cards and Tactic : IBAD : Declaration cards. 

        After this phase, the Attacker Declaration phase, only the two players 
involved may play tactics. 

        Next, the Attacker engages his acting persona and any additional declared 
participants. The two players involved in the Rite may now play 
Tactic : Engagement cards and Tactic : IBAD :  Engagement cards. 

        Next, the Defending player may Counter. If his persona is disengaged, he 
declares the Countering persona as the new target. If he is not Countering, he 
declares the target of the Rite as his defense Leader. In either case, both 
players may now, again, play Tactic : Declaration cards and 
Tactic : IBAD : Declaration cards.  For more information on Countering, see 
that section. 

        The Defender now has the option to engage his Defense Leader. If he 
chooses to do so, the Rite proceeds normally, and a new round of 
Tactic : Engagements are played as before. If he chooses not to engage his 
Defense Leader, then his leader applies no force to his opponent, cannot 
declare any additional participants (even if otherwise eligible), but must 
still have its resistance equaled or exceeded in order to be subdued. 

        The Rite then proceeds normally as described in the Rulebook. 

        You may only subdue a leader once you have subdued all participating 
personnel. If assigned personnel are not engaged to participate they dont 
effect the Rite. Cards or rules which give bonuses for participating cards 
give no bonus for personnel not engaged to participate. 

        As described in the rulebook on page 54, bonuses are awarded for 
victory in the various Rites. Only the attacker gains these bonuses, and only 
if the original target was subdued. If a Countering target was subdued, or 
if assigned personnel were subdued, but not the target of the Rite, no bonus 
is awarded. Bonuses are awarded even if the attacking persona was subdued 
by the Rite. If, in a CHOAM Rite, the attacker vanquishes his original target, 
and chooses to impose a Solaris Penalty on his opponent when his opponent 
doesnt have enough solaris to meet the penalty, his opponent must pay all 
he has. 

        Directing leaders can only be subdued once all the other participants 
have been subdued.  For more information, see the Direct section of the CRF. 

        Personas which can Capture vanquished participants do so only if they 
Survive the Rite, or if their Capture ability is described as a tactic that 
takes effect before Rite Resolution. 

        When a card or rule refers to a leader in a Rite, it means either the 
Initiating persona, or the Target of the Rite. This means charters and fiefs 
can be Leaders just as personas can. 

        iii. CHOAM Exchange. 

        During your House Interval you may either buy or sell spice. Not both. 
All such transactions are limited to three spice. Cards which give additional 
CHOAM Exchanges grant another transaction of up to three spice. 

        A CHOAM Exchange is done in one block.  You may not buy/sell one spice, 
do something else, then buy/sell more spice. The CROE is adjusted after each 
individual spice traded. 

        You may never buy spice for less than 1 solaris per spice. 

        iv. Requesting Admittance to the High Council 

        You may request admittance the High Council at any time during your 
House Interval. To do this, you must engage your Homeworld or an aligned ally 
to win. If all your aligned allies and your Homeworld are already engaged, 
and you have no means via which to disengaged them, your turn proceeds 
normally and the game continues. 

        D. The Closing Interval 

        During the closing Interval, all players, in order, discard any 
undesirable Imperial cards, replace them if possible, then discard any 
undesirable House Cards, drawing to replace them. 

        i. Imperial Discard. 

        If you have any undesirable cards in your assembly, you may discard 
them now. If, as a result of game play, you end up with more cards in your 
Assembly than your Assembly limit, you must now discard at least enough to 
bring your number of cards back down to your limit. You may choose which 
cards to discard, and may discard more than the minimum needed to reach your 
Assembly limit if you desire. 

        ii. Imperial Draw. 

        You now draw cards, if possible. If your Imperial deck has been 
exhausted, you continue play normally. There is no penalty for being unable 
to draw Imperial Cards. If, during the course of your turn, you have 
increased your Assembly limit, now is when those changes take effect. 
Additional cards are drawn to fulfill your new Assembly limit. 

        iii. House Discard. 

        You may now discard as many cards from your hand as you wish. 

        iv. House Draw. 

        You now must replenish your hand to seven cards. If you have increased 
your Hand limit during the game, now is when additional cards must be drawn 
to meet your new size limit. 

        If your House Deck is depleted, and you must draw a card, you 
immediately lose. 

        If your favor is 0 or less, and you must draw a card, you immediately 
lose. 

        If you enter this phase with seven cards and choose not to discard, 
you continue play normally, regardless of favor or number of cards in your 
House Deck. 

        All discard cards are placed face-up in your discard pile. Discard 
piles are not kept secret from other players, who may, politely, examine 
your discards at any time. They must, however, maintain the order of cards. 

3) Rules and Terms 
        A. Favor 
        B. Governance 
        C. Subdual 
        D. Engagement 
        E. Spice Production 
        F. Solaris Production 

 Rules and Terms 

        A. Favor. 

        Apart from any other problems you may encounter as a result of having 
favor of 0 or less, you also cannot draw cards to replenish your hand. This 
is the only rule-induced penalty. You do not immediately lose. You will very 
likely lose once you come to your House Draw, but that rule is covered under 
that section of the CRF. 

        B. Governance 

        You govern all deployed cards in your House domain. Subdued cards are 
not considered governed by any player. 

        Anytime a card refers to subdued cards you govern or any reasonable 
variation thereof, consider the card to say subdued cards in your House domain. 

        Regardless of Governance, you always own all your cards. Anytime a card 
or a rule refers to a cards owner, it always means the physical property of 
the player, regardless of where in the game the card has been deployed. 

        C. Subdual 

        Whenever one of your cards becomes subdued, assigned cards only become 
subdued if this occurred during a Rite, and they participated. Cards which 
remain deployed continue to produce their effects and can be transferred off 
their subdued parent card if you have some way, such as a Carryall, to move 
them. Subdued assigned cards accrue deferment tokens normally and may not be 
deployed until their parent card is. You cannot assign cards to subdued cards. 

        Assembly cards are not considered Subdued, they are considered face-down. 
They do not gain deferment tokens. Once positioned within your domain, they 
need not be rePetitioned when redeployed from a subdued state. 

        A player may, at any time, examine all the face-down cards in their 
assembly and any subdued cards in their domain. Unless a card effect 
specifically allows it, a player may never examine the subdued or face-down 
cards in his rivals territory. 

        Spice tokens on deserts remain on those deserts even if subdued. While 
subdued they have no effect on the game unless a card specifically targets 
spice on subdued deserts. If later redeployed by the same player, they may 
again be the subject of normal game effects. If deployed by a different 
player, the new governor of the fief must discover his own spice. If the 
desert were captured by another player, and then deployed, the new governor 
would have access to all the spice produced by the old governor. 

        Like spice, deferment tokens remain assigned to subdued cards when 
captured. 

        Subdued cards may not be the target of Rites. 

        D. Engagement 

        Cards which produce effects without engaging do so even if they are 
engaged by a rule or card effect. 

        E. Spice Production 

        When designing your House Profile, your starting spice represents the 
amount of spice stockpiled by your House prior to the game. When establishing 
your starting spice, each unit of spice costs X solaris. X equals the 
starting CROE+1.  The starting spice you stockpile with your creation points 
is produced in your Hoard, and does not come from the Guild Hoard as if you 
had purchased it on the Exchange. 

        Cards which produce spice, such as deserts, deliver spice from means 
independant of CHOAM dealings.  Produced spice is therefore never taken from 
the Guild Hoard. 

        F. Solaris Production 

        The Imperial Treasury is boundless. It need not be kept track of. When 
a card or a CHOAM Exchange operation produces solaris, these may be taken 
from the Imperial Treasury. 

        G. IBAD 

        Any time a card, in its text, refers to Intrigue, Battle, Arbitration, 
or Duel, it is referring to a Rite. This is distinct from IBAD references in 
a cards subtype, for which see the card type (Ventures, Tactics, etc...) 

4) Errata 
        A. Rules Errata 
        B. Card Errata 


Official Errata 


        The following are changes to the official rules, and alterations to card 
text. All players are recommended to use these new rulings and should expect 
to see them enforced during sanctioned tournaments. 

New Rules 

        1) When designing your House Profile, the cost to buy spice is the CROE +1 

        2) At Setup, the amount of spice in the Guild Horde is 4 + 2 per player. 

        3) When a card becomes subdued during a Rite, only cards which 
participated in the Rite are also subdued. Cards which remain deployed 
continue to produce their effects. If you have a card which allows you to 
move attached cards off their parent, such as Carryall, you may use them to 
move deployed cards off subdued cards. 

        Attached cards which are subdued gain deferment tokens normally and 
cannot be redeployed until their parent card is. You cannot attach cards to 
subdued card. 

        4) During the Rite Initiation Interval, during Defender Engagement, the 
Defender has the option to engage the declared target. Targets which are not 
engaged during this phase do not apply force as normal, cannot have attached 
eligible cards engaged to participate, and must have their resistance equaled 
or exceeded normally in order to subdue them. 

        If the Defender opts to engage the Target of the Rite, the Rite proceeds 
normally. 

        5) The House Disadvantage has been errataed to read: 

        "Whenever you come to govern a persona bearing allegiance to another 
Imperial Power, you must discard one favor.  If you ever Capture a persona 
bearing Adversarial Allegiance, you must immedeately subdue it.  If you later 
deploy the card, you must discard favor equal to its deployment cost." 

Card Errata 

Wierding Way should read "Initiate a Rite. The assigned persona gains a +X 
bonus to their Force where X is the target's Wierding Rank." The Persona using 
this card need not posses the required talent for the Rite. 

Litany Against Fear should read: "Initiate a Rite. The assigned persona gains 
a +X bonus to their Resistance where X is the target's Wierding Rank." The 
Persona using this card need not posses the required talent for the Rite. 

Caladan Exports should have a resistance of 6. 

Forbidden Zone has the following card type/subtype: Homeworld : Dune Fief 

Petitioning Tithe should read: Once deployed, no other House may deploy 
Petitioning Tithe during the current petition. If this card is used by the 
Petitioner, the cost for the card is paid to himself. This does not lower the 
cost, or allow you to ignore the restrictions on bidding. 

Usurp Holding may be used to target Dune and should read: "Transfer a target 
subdued, non-homeworld holding to it's governor's assembly. " 

Well-Placed Bribes should be a declaration tactic, not an engagement tactic. 

Shield Failure should read "discard a target shield." 

Secret Allegiance is assigned once, and the second allegiance of the target 
persona is chosen then. This allegiance does not change from the initial 
assignment to further deployment from subdual. 

Best Blade should read "Apply X force to target ally. If applied force equals 
or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned 
persona's dueling rank." 

Implicate Traitor should read "Apply X force to target ally. If applied force 
equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the 
assigned persona's intrigue rank." 

Pogrom should read "Apply X force to target fief. If applied force equals or 
exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned 
persona's battle rank." This will affect Tupile, since Tupile is immune to 
Battle Rites, not Ventures, and this Venture does not create a Rite. 

Provoke Insurgency should read "Apply X force to target charter. If applied 
force equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals 
the assigned persona's arbitration rank." 

Brilliant Rhetoric should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter." 

Perilous Terrain should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter." 

Secund-Elect Dueling should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter." 

Unforeseen Difficulties should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may 
Counter." 

    Source: geocities.com/sherlockazulu