Frequently Asked Questions
on the Grenadier Rules
Army Lists
- Q: What do all the abbreviations in the Army Lists mean?
- A: The lists as given are rather cryptic in their use of abbreviations. Read the list headers as follows:
First comes the unit name, followed by the size of the unit (Regiment, Battallion, Company, or Battery). Then comes the number of figures in a unit and the type of figure (Cavalry, Infantry, or Artillery). For cavalry this is followed by the type of horse (Heavy, Medium, or Light). The Melee and Morale numbers for the unit comes next, followed by a note on wether the unit has skirmish ability. Last comes the type of stand the figures should be mounted on, see the Rules for more details on this.
Movement
- Q: Movement speeds for Infantry and Cavalry are given as March | Quick | Charge | Rout and Walk | Trot | Charge | Rout respectively. Is there any restriction in or penalty for using Quick or Trot pace instead of March or Walk?
- A: There is no restriction on using Quick or Trot pace. However, units quick-stepping or trotting are penalized in that they may not fire in the following fire phase. They may pre-contact fire if charged, though.
- Q: May a Command Tent move, or must it remain in it's starting position?
- A: The command tent moves at four inches per turn, just like infantry marching in open order.
Combat
- Q: Can infantry pre-contact fire when charged by cavalry, or is this only for artillery?
- A: Infantry may pre-contact fire, just like artillery. This is done at close range, just before contact.
- Q: Must infantry in line test morale when charged by cavalry?
- A: No, only infantry in open order must test morale, after pre-contact fire, in order to stand and fight. Close order infantry always stand and fight.
- Q: I am confused as exactly how many figure fight in hand to hand.
- A: Any that are in contact, basically.
- Q: Could you go thru a typical sequence. Say a french BN in column is 6" away from a British BN in line. The french declare a charge. It looks to me like the British will fire 11 figs at the column (Do you always use close range?).
- A: Any figures that have the target in their arc of fire (45 degrees to either side of straight forward) may shoot. Since the british battallion in line is 5½ inches wide against the french columns 1½, all figures can fire at a target 3 inches (or further) away as long as the target is in front of the mid-point of the line. Should the target be off to one side, or the firing line is long, some figures may be out of arc. This is how it works out:
- The British fire pre-contact fire. Since all figures can fire at the French column when it is three inches away, they may use the To-Hit number for close range (3" or less).
- The column charges home. Units do not break from casualties until after the charge melee is worked out.
- All figure in base-to-base contact roll for melee. British infantry is based more sparsely, due to their two deep line compared to the French three deep. Therefore, the British roll three dice to the French four. Technically, the casualties from the pre-contact fire came from the first rank, but since they are charging the following ranks push into contact.
- The charging unit get a bonus to their To-Hit number for charging, and if they were fresh before the charge begun they get a bonus for that too. Roll dice!
- Work out casualties and check for Breaking units.