Galactic Empires Questions and Answers
Return to the Galactic Empires Rules Base
A5 Temporal Comprehension
A5 Temporal Comprehension says that it "may perform its card actions twice each turn, once during each Card Play phase." If this card is layed to a Dragon, can the Dragon fire it's weapons twice, since a weapon's fire is considered an action, isn't it? Or can it only perform actions twice which normally take place on a card play phase as opposed to the weapons fire phase?
Actually, Weapons fire is not really considered a Card Action for this purpose, because it occurs in its own phase, so the answer is functions that are done in a card play phase can be done in each card play phase.
A6 Gaia Separation
My Opponent has a T5 Moon with a A6 Gaia Separation on it. Can I lay a O4 Flood to it?
Good question. TENTATIVE answer is no.
A6 Hostile Terrain
A T7 Sensor Planet has an O4 Flood played against it. Can the owner of the T7 Sensor Planet lay a A6 Hostile Terrain against it thereby negating the O4 Flood or does he still have to apply the necessary points to the O4 Flood in order to negate it?
Still must pay off the flood, as it was modified before the Hostile Terrain was played.
Base
Can more than 1 base be played to a Terrain\Terrain stack?
Yes. Each one can create its own stack, or can be part of the same stack. So, you could have a T9 Gas Giant with a R/B8 Citadel, and a few crew cards as one stack, a B7 Academy as a seperate stack on the T9, and a B9 Starbase with a B3 Heavy Planetary Shield, and some more crew as a third stack on the T9. Remember though, this kind of terrain stacking becomes a major target.
B1 Military Outpost
Does it have to be engaged in order to use the extra economy and supply that it produces (since these symbols are under the graphic, and not in the top right hand corner of the card.
It must be engaged to use those points. This is true of anything of a similar nature, R/S2 Fleet Tug, etc.
B1 Military Outpost
Does the B1 Military Outpost have to be engaged to produce the extra Economy and Supply?
Yes, but it can engage itself. (If it is going to be engaged, it produces the points.)
B1 Military Outpost
I have a B1 Military Outpost on a T6 Moon. My opponent lays a O4 Flood against it. Since the B1 Military Outpost adds an Economy and a Supply, do I need to apply these also to negate the O4 Flood?
Only if the Outpost is engaged the turn that the flood will be payed off.
B5 Penal Colony
Can the 3 economy points that the oponent allocates to the Penal Colony be used by the owner of the card? If the person does not have 3 economy, does it just allocate as much as it has? ie, if the person only has 2 economy?
No one can use the economy. Yes, you only allocate as many as there are available up to three.
R/B8 Citadel
If opponent fires on one of my Terrain, can I lay a R/B8 Citadel in reaction even if I have no available command slots open?
No. There must be a command slot open in the fleet that the Card that takes the command slot is going to be played to.
Dragon Empire
I am playing the POT empire and my wife plays the Dragon empire. I have many cards (i.e. Hazards) that say that it does damage to ships. Can I lay these against her Dragons?
Yes. Dragons are ships except for two instances. They cannot be effected by O cards, and you cannot play crew to them, unless you have a card that allows that.
D4 Rogue Dragoness
Opponent plays a D4 Rogue Dragoness one of my Terrains. Does the D4 Rogue Dragoness still protect the opponent's sector HQ is this case?
No it doesn't.
D4 Rogue Dragoness
Do I need a base or ship at the location (my Terrain) to kill the D4 Rogue Dragoness?
Not unless the Rogue Dragoness says it can only be damaged by cards at its location.
D4 Rogue Dragoness
Can I kill it the D4 Rogue Dragoness in any other way, such as with Hazard cards?
Yes, as long as it doesn't say it can't take damage from hazards. Dragons can be effected by hazards just like ships. Occurences cannot effect Dragons.
D7 Neutron Dragoness
If I have a D7 Neutron Dragoness, can I play a R/O4 Repair Delivery to repair it? Since I believe that the rule book says that Occurrence, Crew and Equipment can't be played to a Dragon.
No you can't, just because of the rule you stated.
E2 Nuclear Mine
Do I lay this card to my ship and hence it does 2 damage to my oponent's ship(or dragon), or do I lay this card onto my oponent's ship and it does to damage to my oponent's ship?
You play it to one of your ships to do damage to another ship. The Tufor's can reuse the mines on their ships, otherwise after they are played they are discarded. You must have a ship in play(any kind) to use a mine.
G4 Gas Solitude
During what phase do I pick up the 4 cards if I meet the criteria. Also if I lay this card (expose it), does the criteria have to be met on the current turn or can it be met on any future turn?
When the criteria is met. If it is exposed, it cannot be fullfilled until "one complete turn after the agenda has been played".
H6 Defensive Mine Field
This card says it's played to ships in play against the fleet? What exactly does this mean? Can I lay this card to all the ships in one of my opponent's fleet?
In Piracy one of the major themes is "playing a ship against someones fleet", this is usually done to steal the allocation costs from a planet to power your ship, and make your opponent lose those points from their allocation phase. This Mine Field is played to a ship played against your terrain.
H8 Quark
Do I lay this card to one of my Terrain's or to my opponent's Terrain? So if I can play it to my Terrain, suppose a T7 Sensor Planet, I can then go ahead and discard my own planet and draw 7 cards?
One of your own, and yes you draw the cards.
H9 Dimensional Portal
This card states, "Portal is discarded by research points equal to twice the strength of the ship. All research must be applied by the affected ship stack." Is there a way of applying the research points? Can you give an example?
This is like a permanent Time Warp unless you use this card on a Scintillating Dragoness, or a ship that produces Research.
L6 Artifact - Scepter of Time
This card states, "Two extra card draws". When do these 2 extra card draws take place? Immediately or during the card draw phase?
Card draw phase, as it does not say two immediate cards.
R/L7 Temporal Correction
If an O4 Flood is on one of my Terrain stacks and as a reaction I lay a R/L7 Temporal Correction to it, the O4 Flood is discarded. Do I still need to apply equal to that of my Terrain for that turn? How about consecutive turns?
The O4 Flood is gone. The terrain will not be available for use until next turn unless you managed to play the R/L7 on your allocation phase. By the way, while the O4 Flood is there even if you apply the proper points to the terrain during your allocation phase the terrain would not be available until the next turn.
R/L7 Temporal Correction
Can I use this card to discard a ship or base that an opponent plays, or does the opponent's card have to be played to my fleet?
It must be played to your fleet.
R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers
Opponent has a D4 Magus Dragoness which states "Damage only by research points". Can I lay a R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers against it, which says that it causes 2 damage per turn to ship or monster, so can this do damage to the D4 Magus Dragoness even though the D4 Magus Dragoness says it can only be damaged by Research Points
No. Magus Dragoness has special damage characteristics, that must be met by anything to do damage to it.
R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers
On whose turn does the R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers do the damage. I assume that when I lay it in reaction, it does the damage on my opponent's turn (as soon as I lay it) and then again on my turn and then on my following turn, etc.
Correct.
R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers
Can I lay a R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers to an M9 Kraken or a M5 Astromorph? Does the R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers do damage to these, since the M9 Kraken says that it can only be negated by 9 research points and the M5 Astromorph says that it can only be destroyed by Heavy Weapons.
You cannot play a Monster to a Monster, unless the text of the card specifically states that you can.
R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers
Opponent has a M7 Space Illness, which states "Discarded when the unit is destroyed", in play against my ship. Can I lay a R/M1 Sextaraan Web Crawlers to the M7 Space Illness. Since it says that it can be played against monsters.
No. The sextaraan web crawler is a monster. Monsters have rules on them for how it is negated or destroyed.
M3 Alien Parasites
This card states, "Discarded after research points equal to its strength have been applied". Does this mean the strength of the M3 Alien Parasites or the strength of the ship that it is played against?
Its strength is always the monsters strength unless the card states specifically the target of the monster. So in your case three research points.
M4 Vymezies Matter
I lay an M4 Vymezies Matter on an opponent's Terrain. As a reaction, my opponent lays an R/L7 Anomaly Portal. As a result of this, the M4 Vymezies Matter goes to me (as I am the only player left). If I have no Terrain of strength 4 or less (i.e., I only have a T5), is the M4 Vymezies Matter simply discarded and hence does no damage to me?
It is discarded, because it must be played to a terrain of equal or lesser strength.
M4 Vymezies Matter
If a Base or R/D6 Solar Dragoness is on a T4 Planet, can I still play a M4 Vymezies Matter to it?
Yes. It is played to the terrain.
M5 Astromorph
I play this card against an opponent's fleet. When the ship it is attacking is destroyed, is the Astromorph discarded or can it attack another ship in the fleet on the next turn?
The Astromorph says it can only be damaged by heavy weapons. On the next turn after it destroys its initial target, the player who played the M5 Astromorph may target another ship in the same fleet. If there are no ships it just hangs out until there are. Then on the next turn, the player who played it may target the new ship.
M5 Techonic Burrower
Can it be played against a Terrain with a base on it? Does it still damage the Terrain or does it do damage to the base first? If the Terrain is destroyed by the M5 Techonic Burrower, I assume that the base is discarded as well.
Bases only protect against Weapons fire, so... Yes it can be played, yes it damages the terrain, and the base goes away when the terrain does.
M6 Time Thief
If only 2 players are left in the game, can this card still be played, and if so that means that it can't be moved to another fleet, so that does mean that the person has no choice but to discard a card from the effected stack?
Yes to all the questions.
M7 Juggernaut
Can a M7 Juggernaut be played to a T/B6 Vektrean Asteroid Station.
Yes
M8 Creature from the Black Hole
This card says "Unit will take damage equal to it's strength when that unit is engaged." Does this mean that during each turn in which the effected ship is in the engaged position it will be damaged by its strength (strength of the ship)?
If you choose to engage the ship it will take the damage.
M8 Creature from the Black Hole
Does the ship that the M8 Creature from the Black Hole is played against take damage right away or during the next engagement phase?
All monsters that do damage do it on the turn they are played unless they state otherwise on their text.
M9 Kraken
Would an M9 Kraken do damage to a T/B6 Vektrean Asteroid Station? Only to the shields or can it do damage to the strength as well?
Only to the shields, otherwise it is damaged as a terrain, and a Kraken cannot damage a terrain.
O4 Flood
If I negate a O4 Flood during the allocation phase, can I allocate the points from the affected planet, or do I have to wait until my next turn?
If the flood goes away before the allocation phase is over you can use the terrain.
O4 Flood
Do the points needed to negate the flood be allocated at one time, or can they be allocated over a number of turns?
Over a number of turns. Just keep track.
O4 Flood
If I have a B9 Starbase on a Terrain, the B9 Starbase has a multiply of 3 x Supply. If the Terrain produces 2 supply, do I need to allocate 2 supply or 6 (2x3) supply to negate the O4 Flood?
The Starbase is a multiplier, not part of the terrains production itself. You only need to apply the original terrains points.
R/O4 Repair Delivery
Is an R/O4 Repair Delivery discarded after it is used, or can it be used each turn?
Discarded
R/O5 Tactical Retreat
Can this be played to a Dragon? I would say no because it's an occurance card and they can't be layed to a Dragon.
Correct (No.)
O6 Blockade
I am laying an O6 Blockade to an engaged ship? Who's engaged ship do I lay this to, mine or my opponent's?
Since it says played TO it is played to your ship.
O7 Terradeforming
I have a T9 Shinnicera (produces 3 economy) with a T4 White Dwarf on it (hence 3 x 2 = 6 economy). Opponent plays a O7 Terradeforming on my Terrain stack, on the first turn that the O7 Terradeforming is played, does my Terrain stack produce 4 (2 x 2 = 4) economy or 5 (3 x 2 - 1 = 5) economy?
You have a T13 that produces 6 economy. So it would produce five.
O9 Ship Collision
Can I lay this card against a ship and a dragon (since Occurance cards can't effect Dragons), or does the Dragon count as a ship in this case and hence it can be affected?
No.
Ship
If a ship is played to a Terrain (or on a Terrain), does it still block the Sector Head Quarters and also can it still fire at an opponent's Sector Head Quarters?
It depends on the ship. If the ship is a S1 Freighter, a S6 Police Ship, or any other ship of that type, it stills defends the Sector HQ. If the ship is a Pirate ship, and you are playing it against a terrain it does not protect the Sector HQ. Yes you can fire at an opponents Sector HQ.
Ship
If a Ship has a strength of 4 and 3 shields, is the maximimum that I can fire at it 7 or can I fire more weapons at it, ie just in case the opponent has a reaction card to negate some of the damage.
You can fire as many points as you want.
S1 P.O.T. Patrol Launch
The card states, "When discarded is returned to the owner's hand". What if I don't want the card anymore, can I choose not to return it to my hand or is there a way to get rid of it?
Right now, there is no way to get rid of it.
S5 Game Supply Ship
This S5 Game Supply Ship has a Damage Adjuster. My S5 Trade Ship has current shield damage of 2. Oponent fires damage adjuster and roles a 6 (instead of 2). Since the S5 Trade Ship only has 3 shields, does the rest of the damage go to the strength of the ship or is it wasted?
Wasted. (It shows damage against a shield)
S6 Companion Games Flagship
The card states "Hand Wrecker: Allows player to discard 1 card from opponent hand its fired at." It has 2 heavy weapons on the card with the word Hand Wrecker beside it. Does that mean that I need to allocate 2 Ammunition points in order to take 1 card from my opponent's hand, or since I allocate 2 Ammunition points, it would take 2 cards from my opponent's hand, one for each heavy weapon. Also, who chooses the card(s), me or my opponent?
1 per ammo, limit 2. Player who shoots chooses randomly from targets hand.
S8 Lost Pirate Ship
I have an S8 Lost Pirate Ship in play and it states, "As a reaction, when the ship is reduced to a current strength of 4 or less, return this stack to owner's hand". My opponent plays an M7 Space Illness against it, which states, "The unit's strength is permanently reduced by 1 point each turn". If my S8 Lost Pirate Ship is reduced to a strength of 4, as a result of the M7 Space Illness, as a reaction I put it back in my hand. What happens to the M7 Space Illness, is it discarded, since it states, "is only discarded when unit is destroyed"?
The M7 would go away because it has no target.
Or even though I returned the S8 Lost Pirate Ship to my hand, does the strength still go down by 1 each turn?
No. It no longer is in play in the fleet. It will come out as a new S8.
When I lay my S8 Lost Pirate Ship again, will it be restored to it's original strength of 8 or will it be the strength of when I returned it to my hand?
The strength on the card. Again it will be a new S8 when played.
Also the M7 Space Illness causes my ship's strength to be reduced by 1 each turn, so does that mean that on my turn it's strength is reduced by 1 and then on my opponent's turn it is reduced by 1 also and then on the 2nd opponent's turn it is reduced by another 1 strength and so on?
It is reduced on the turn of the player that played the M7.
Terrain
If a card says that it is "Played to a Terrain", is this played to an entire stack of Terrains or can it be played to an individual Terrain in the stack?
This is more complicated than the way you asked it. A terrain card is generally the basis of a stack. Most terrain that is played to another terrain is incorporated into that terrain. For example: You have a T5 Star, and you play a T5 planet to it. It is now a T10. You cannot damage them, or treat them as individuals. So when you say is it "played to an individual terrain in the stack", it is played to the only terrain in the stack whether a combined terrain, or an individual.
T4 White Dwarf
I have a T5 System (suppose with 1 economy, 1 supply and 2 energy), and I lay a T4 White Dwarf to it and then on the next turn I lay another T4 White Dwarf to it, how many of each point will it produce? i.e., 2 energy x 2 x 2 = 8? or 2 energy + 2 + 2 = 6?
You would have a T13 terrain that produces 4 economy, 4 supply, and 20 energy. The original 1 economy, 1 supply, and 2 energy. The multiplication of the first T4 plus its energy, and then the multiplication of the T9 you played the next T4 to plus its four energy. By the way, you would also have one hell of a target.
T/B6 Vektrean Asteroid Station
What kind of weapons can damage this card? I.e., I would think that to damage it's shields that I can use either phasers or heavy weapons, and once the shields are damage I need to use heavy weapons to damage the rest of the card. Is this correct?
Any weapons to damage the shields, and heavy weapons to damage the terrain. So if you wanted to destroy it with a single volley you could fire six phasers, and six heavy weapons at it.
T7 Quantum Black Hole
This card has 2 ** Energy points on the top right hand corner. It also says that it steals 2 energy from an opponent's Terrain. Does this mean that it now has 4 Energy to allocate during the allocation phase or are the 2 Energy on the top right hand corner of the card the 2 points that it steals?
The two energy points on the top of the card are the two you steal (NO!).
Command Points
How exactly do command points work? Do they count when the ship is engaged only, do if ship is disengaged, can I still use the command points to lay more ships?
Command points are allocated just like any other points. So you can only allocate those points available during your allocation phase. So a ship with a command point that is not engaged does not give you the command points for that turn.
Damage
If I have a card in play against my opponent which says that it does 2 (XX) damage per turn, during what phase does the damage take place.
During whatever phase you choose, and if you forget, it doesn't do any.
Damage
If a card says, "ignores 3 points of damage". Is this any kind of damage (i.e., Heavy weapons, phasers etc) or does it specifically mean DAMAGE points (i.e. XXX)?
Any damage.
Discarding
If an M2 Vymezies Particle or a M4 Vymezies Matter (or other card) is in play against one of my Terrains, can I discard the Terrain and if so, are these Monster cards which are in play against my Terrain discarded too?
Yes you may as long as the monster card does not say it cannot be discarded from play. There are a number of hazards, monsters, and occurances that when played keep you from discarding them.
Economy Points
Can economy points be used as repair points to repair a planet?
Yes, as long as the damage is not card damage. Card damage to terrain cannot be repaired unless you have a card that says its repair points can repair card damage.
Firing Weapons
Suppose I have a ship that has 5 Phasers and 3 Heavy Weapons, can I split the fire onto Multiple targets. I.e., can I fire 3 phasers against one unit and 2 phasers and 3 heavy weapons against another? Also, if I have 2 ships that I want to fire against a unit, do they fire at the same time, or can 1 ship fire it's weapons first, then fire some of its weapons against another unit and then have the 2nd ship fire its weapons against the first unit that the 1st ship fired on.
Yes you could fire at eight different targets if you wanted too. When you fire at a target the total fire at that target is a volley. This is true whether it comes from one ship, two ships, a ship, and a base, or whatever. This is an important concept in the game. The reason it is important is this. As a defending player I know you can fire one volley at each target in my fleet each turn. This allows me to have a defensive stratedgy. For example: I have a S2 Vektrean Frigate, and a S4 Vektrean Light Cruiser. In my hand I have a R/L2 Phaser Malfunction Card. You first fire four phasers at my Frigate destroying it. I allow this to happen. You then fire 2 heavy weapons, and five phasers from two different locations. Let's say that three phasers came from one location. I play the R/L2 Phaser Malfunction to that unit. My Light Cruiser sustains four hits, two heavy, and two phasers. You cannot fire at the Light Cruiser again. I have nothing left you can fire at because you cannot fire at my Sector HQ even if you have twenty points of damage you can do. It is defended by my Light Cruiser.
Fleet
What is the definition of a Fleet? Does Fleet mean just the ships? Ships and Bases? or all cards in play by a player?
Your fleet is everything in your field of play, ships, bases, crew, etc.
Healing
Opponent has a D6 Astral Dragoness in play with a current damage of 3. I have a M4 Vymezies Matter in play which does 4 damage to the D6 Astral Dragoness. In reaction, opponent lays a R/L4 Monster Healing to heal her D6 Astral Dragoness by 4. What will the current strength of the D6 Astral Dragoness be after all of this...3 (7-4) or 2 (6-4). I would say that since it had a strength of 3, and I did 4 damage (=7 damage total, even through it only is a D6), and then opponent heals it by 4, that it would go to 3 damage.
3. You heal damage assigned, not damage that you can take.
Healing
When you heal a ship or base, do the shields or the strength get healed first, or does the owning player have the option?
Owning Player has the option, but I would heal strength first. Remember you get one shield repaired automatically on each ship, and base each turn.
Reaction Cards
Can reaction cards be played at any time and if so, how many, or does the opponent have to play a card first or do an action in order for me to lay a reaction card?
Well, for instance R/L4 Repair Malfunction is played in reaction to someone repairing a ship. In other words, reaction cards can be played in reaction to anything, pretty much anytime, unless the card says it must be played at a specific time. How many can you play? How many do you have in your hand.
Reaction Cards
Can I lay a reaction card (on someone else's turn) even if it not reacting to anything (i.e., opponent has done anything yet). Does the reaction card that I lay in reaction to an opponent's action, have to effect the action of the opponent, or can the reaction card affect something else? I.e., if my opponent lays a Hazard against one of my bases, can I play a reaction card to heal a ship?
A reaction card can be played in reaction to any action. Allocating, repairing, firing, playing cards, etc. It does not have to be played against a specific thing unless the card states it does. So for example, someones Sector HQ is open to attack, you could play a R/S1 Ship form the Future as a reaction to another players card play, and fire the four phasers at the Sector HQ.
Stocking Ships Into Dragon Empire
When stocking ships into a deck, if I am playing the Dragon empire and I want to add some generic and minor empire ships, do I need to start with S1, S2, S3 etc, or do Dragons count as S cards in this situation?
Dragons count as a subset of ships for the purpose of stocking minor empire ships/dragons.
Stocking Ships Into Dragon Empire
If I am playing the Dragon Empire and I am stocking my deck and I have a D1,2,3,4,5,8,9,10, can I use an S6 & S7 generic\minor empire ship for the sequence or do I need to start over stocking the generic\minor empire ships with S1,2,3 etc?
You are using dragons as a major race, so ships even generic ones, can not be used to fill a gap in the D card type.
Turn
Is there a different between the meaning of "1 turn" and "1 complete turn"?
Yes. One turn is an individuals turn. One complete turn is everyones turn. To differentiate, a R/O1 Time Skip says until the next persons allocation phase. This is one turn. A H1 Time Warp, Time Warps a ship until the same players(player who played it) next turn. This would be a complete turn.

Return to Galactic Empires Home Page