40k General q+a


Here's some common problems and sollutions that I got from the Games-Workshop site.

Shooting

Question: My opponent tells me he can shoot a sustained fire weapon at a model in the open and use any extra hits on other targets within 4", even if the other targets are in more cover. He would normally suffer a -2 to hit modifier to shoot at them, but this doesn't apply. Is this correct?

Answer: At one point, but not anymore. Sustained fire weapons and the troops that use them, have to make decisions to keep themselves alive. These decisions work during targetting and dishing out the extra hits. Because of this, they obey the targetting rules just like everything else, so that extra shots can't be dished out to targets that are harder to hit than the original model. If you want to target a unit that is half in hard cover and half in the open, and you want to be able to dish out hits to all of them,
you have to shoot at the ones in hard cover, taking the -2 to hit modifier. Also, extra shots must be allocated within the same unit, and not to models from different units. Yes, sometimes this means a unit ends up extra dead. This is explained in the Tyranid Special Rules in the Tyranid Codex pretty well, as well as placing template weapons.



Question: Does overwatch fire only happen in the movement phase, or does it occur any time an eligible target appears? For example, what if hidden troops open fire, or if a psyker teleports into sight during the psychic phase?

Answer: In the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook it states that a model on overwatch may shoot during the opposing player's movement phase, but this really is an oversight on my part. I didn't take into account the other ways targets might appear later in the turn, but it seems perfectly reasonable for troops to wait and use overwatch fire at any point in your opponent's turn.

However, except for movement, you cannot interupt your opponent while he is performing an action. This means you can't wait until your opponent declares his target for a particular model before opening fire. In the same vein, you can't make an overwatch shot between your opponent making a successful to hit roll and his roll to wound (since this is patently silly), or when your opponent uses a psychic power. Basically, the only action you can actually interrupt is movement (whether this is a normal move, run, charge or follow-up move). If your opponent is performing some other action, you will have to wait until it is finished before you can fire.

Another area of the rules which can cause disagreement is models turning while on overwatch. Turning does not count as movement, so you can turn models freely whilst they are on overwatch. A model on overwatch may turn before it fires, unless it is shooting a move or fire weapon. This helps keep those pesky Tyranid Gargoyles and Eldar Swooping Hawks and Warp Spider Aspect Warriors from getting too cocky!



Question: What happens with grenades being thrown from the top of tall buildings, etc?

Answer: Good question. We'd guess that what you'd do is this: if you're throwing a grenade down from the top of a tower or something, you can measure the range from any level of the building. If you're throwing towards something on the same level or higher up, measure the range from the actual position of the model.



Question: In Warhammer 40,000 can you take an overwatch shot at Eldar Swooping Hawks or Tyranid Gargoyles as they take off to start flying high?

Answer: Yes, measure the range to where the models are starting off from. It can be imagined that the troops are shooting at the flyers as they take off and rise above the level of any intervening trees, buildings hills, or other terrain.



Question: Can an Imperial Assassin use his/her dodge ability to avoid a Vortex grenade?

Answer: Yes. A Vortex is still a template weapon, albeit a rather strange and deadly one. Assassins are highly-trained killers, and aren't put off by somebody collapsing dimensions nearby!



Question: In Warhammer 40,000, can a Lictor fire its flesh hooks at two separate targets?

Answer: No, but I can understand the confusion over this one. It's not terribly clear in the Lictor or flesh hooks descriptions in Codex Tyranids (though, weirdly enough, it is clear in the biomorphs) and I got it wrong in a recent battle report < sometimes I wonder how I sleep at night!



Question: Can a Warhammer 40,000 model carry anything in a hand which is equipped with a lightning claw (in other words, could I use it to fire a pistol or throw a grenade, etc.)?

Answer: Although this is not stated in the rules, common sense dictates that the answer is no.



Question: In Warhammer 40,000 does a model only benefit from cover if it is in base-to-base contact with it?

Answer: No, models which are partially obscured by intervening cover gain the benefits of it as well, though models which are less than half obscured by hard cover should only count a -1 to hit modifier, not -2.



Question: In Warhammer 40,000, do Virus weapons and the Virus Outbreak Strategy card work against daemons?

Answer: No.



Question: Is the autocannon a move or fire weapon?

Answer: Yes.

Close Combat

Question: If you fire a plasma pistol in hand-to-hand combat does it have to recharge next turn?

Answer: Yes.



Question: In Warhammer 40,000 can you charge a hidden model or one you can't see at the start of your move?

Answer: Yes.



Question: Lightning claws and parrying. In the Wargear book it says lightning claws give you a parry. Is that intended to be one parry per claw or one parry for having a pair of claws?

Answer: You get one parry per lightning claw, just like you get one parry per sword if you're using swords. In the Wargear book the profile shown is for one claw, not the pair. Ork power claws are far too clunky to give their user a parry (anyway, an Ork would tell you that parrying implies you're scared of getting hurt!). Bjorn gets a single parry for his one lightning claw.

Psionics

Question: Does the Daemonic Attack Warp card have any effect on the Ultimate Force card?

Answer: This potential rules conflict arises because Ultimate Force cannot be nullified in any way. However, the Daemonic Attack card states that the power currently being used is automatically nullified. So does this mean psykers using Ultimate Force are immune to the attack of predatory daemons? Well, there is a way that both players can have the cake and eat it. We've found that the best way to resolve this situation is to work out the Daemonic Attack as normal, as stated on the card. However, regardless of the psyker's fate, the power he was using goes ahead as normal, since Ultimate Force cannot be nullified, even by a daemon. Yes, even if he is killed, the psychic power still takes effect!



Question: If I have no psykers in Warhammer 40,000, do I still get dealt Warp cards?

Answer: Yes you do. Also note that the warp flux dice roll can never be reduced to less than 1D6, even if there are no psykers left in the game at all.



Question: What is the range of the Librarian psychic power Quickening, is it 3" or 6"?

Answer: 3"

Armour

Question: A number of models are allowed to dodge shooting and hand-to-hand combat attacks on an unmodified dice roll. Can you dodge a psychic attack?

Answer: This really depends on the kind of attack, so it needs a bit of common sense and interpretation. Basically, if the psychic attack is something which directly affects the target's mind or body (examples would include Smite, Mind War and Brain Bursta) you can't dodge it. If a psyker blasts the model with a physical bolt of energy (like Hellfire, Lightning Arc, Destructor or Da Krunch) then the model can try and dodge it like any other attack.

A good rule of the thumb to judge whether a psychic attack can be dodged is to see if it has a Strength value or not. If it has a Strength value it means it can probably be dodged! If you can't agree on an answer, resolve the situation with the old roll a D6: 1-3 you can't dodge it this time, 4-6 you can. This doesn't set a precedent, roll each time the situation crops up. Also remember that if the attack uses a template, a model which dodges must be moved to the edge of the template. If this is impossible (most
likely if the target is inside a bunker or other building) the attack cannot be dodged and the model suffers the full effects. If there is only room for them to partially dodge the blast, they will be hit on a D6 roll of 4, 5 or 6 like any other model not wholly covered by the blast marker.



Question: Come on, just what are the rules for displacer fields?

Answer: The rules on displacer fields are rather unclear. Basically, the field works by activating a miniature warp drive to move (displace) the protected model out of the way of incoming shots and blows. This is simple enough in theory (in terms of rules, not physics!), but the rules imply that the protected model will be moved each time it is hit, which is wrong.

Firstly, the field will only activate after the attacker has made a successful roll to wound, not just hit. Secondly, in the case of a model being hit by mutliple shots from a squad and/or sustained fire weapon firing at them, the model would take all of its saving throws together and then displace once (assuming the model wasn't killed and at least one saving throw was made by the displacer field).

Blast Marker Weapons
Even if the saving throw is made, the field may not displace the protected model completely out of danger if itŐs hit by weapons which affect a template or blast marker. If the model doesn't displace far enough to move it outside the template or blast marker it will still take the hit just as if it had failed to save in the first place. If the model makes it partially out of the area of effect the firer needs to roll a 4, 5 or 6 on a D6 to still catch the displacing model in the blast.

Flamers
Flamer shots will activate a displacer field and give a chance of saving as normal. If the protected model successfully saves and displaces completely out of the flamer template there is no chance of the model catching fire. If the protected model fails to save or doesn't makes it out of the template the model may catch fire. If the protected model catches fire the displacer field offers no further protection against hits as the burning fuel has got inside its protection radius.

Close Combat
In hand-to-hand combat a model with a displacer field rolls saving throws as it gets hit but even if the model is fighting multiple opponents it only displaces once after all of its combats that turn have been resolved.

Psychic Attacks
A displacer field offers protection against psychic attacks in much the same way as being able to dodge, so it will give a saving throw against those powers which make a direct, physical attack on the protected model. See the question about Dodging



Question: When do you test for destroying fields with the Tyranid Voltage Field biomorph?

Answer: The test is only made when the Voltage Field makes a saving throw. At that point the crackling field "flares" outwards and you test to see if it overloads every other field within 4" of the Tyranid model with the Voltage Field < on a 4 or more the field is destroyed. If the Voltage Field makes multiple saves in the same turn make multiple tests to see if it burns out nearby fields. If the Voltage Field fails a saving throw there is no chance of it destroying fields nearby. Remember that Tyranid fields are not affected by the Voltage Field.



Question: Is it possible to get an armour saving throw better than 1+?

Answer: No! Anything which increases a model's armour save can never increase it to greater than 1+, under any circumstances whatsoever.

Eldar

Question: How many shots does a Warpspider Exarch have, since he has two Deathspinners?

Answer: He can only fire once, but the two Deathspinners allow him to use the Fast Shot Exarch power (giving him two shots).



Question: Are Eldar Avatars affected by an Ork Shokk Attack Gun, if so which table do you use?

Answer: Yes they are, and so are Greater Daemons - treat them as foot models.



Question: Can the Web of Skulls and Silent Death cause multiple hits on one model?

Answer: No.

Orks

Question: How long does Ghazghkull's Waaagh! last for?

Answer: Two player turns.(the turn it is called upon and the next one).



Question: Is Ghazghull Thraka effected by a Vortex grenade if he has called on the power of the Waaagh since this makes him invulnerable?

Answer: No he isn't, as long as he had called up the Waaagh before he was hit by the Vortex (some players think that they can wait until Ghazghull is killed by an attack and then call up the Waaagh to save him - this just isn't the case!)

Sometimes a situation arises where there is no obvious solution (Total Power vs a Collar of Khorne, for example). In these situations, roll a dice to see which side "gains the upper hand" (in this example, whether the spell works or is automatically dispelled). This sets no precedent and you should roll every time the situation occurs.



Question: Can an Ork in Mega armour ride on a boar or Cyboar?

Answer: No.


Vehicles

Question: Can the Imperial Guard Basilisk and Leman Russ Demolisher tanks turn in place and still fire their respective "big guns"?

Answer: No, in order to fire their "big guns" they must be absolutely stationary.



Question: On page 75 of the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook it states that you can accelerate or decelerate by one speed band per turn after the start of the battle, but the example given seems to suggest that you cannot change speed in the first turn of the game. Can you accelerate/decelerate in the first turn of the game?

Answer: Yes, you can accelerate or decelerate normally in the first turn. The example isn't perhaps the best in the world, and assumes that you don't want to accelerate on the first turn. Oh well...



Question: Can the Warhammer 40,000 Ablative Armour Vehicle card save against an attacks by buzzer squigs or a Pulsa Rokkit?

Answer: No, the Ablative Armour card only works against weapons which punch through armour with an armour penetration roll. It would not work against an Eldar Distort cannon attack either, for example.

Angels of Death Codex

Question: In Codex Angels of Death, it states you can equip your entire Death Company with jump packs for 50 points. Is this true if you have fifteen, twenty or even more models in your Death Company?

Answer: Yes. In effect you get a "bulk purchase discount" if you equip a large Death Company squad with jump packs (and by the same token you pay a premium price if the squad consists of less than 10 models).



Question: Why is the Dark Angels Ravenwing Land Speeder so expensive? It has cheaper weapons than the standard Land Speeder: an assault cannon (45 points) and a heavy bolter (15 points), whereas the Codex Land Speeder has a multi-melta (65 points) and a heavy flamer (25 points) - the Codex Land Speeder has 30 points more weapons. It should cost 115 points + the extra cost for being a Ravenwing vehicle (in the case of Attack Bikes that's 10 points) = 125 points. Now it costs 195 points, which is 70 points too much - WHY?

Answer: The reason the Ravenwing Land Speeder costs 195 points is because that's what it's worth! This kind of thing is exactly why the weapon conversion rules are optional. They are simply a quick fix that allows players the chance to convert vehicles quickly and easily. However, if you want to get the true cost for a vehicle, you have to playtest and change the points value to reflect the actual performance of the vehicle in the game. This is common sense really, it stands to reason that some weapons are going to be more effective when used on one type of vehicle than another, in exactly the same way that a lascannon will be more effective in the hands of a Space Marine than an Imperial Guardsman. The complex variables involved in this equation mean that any points values we get from our spreadsheets and points value lists are always taken as a starting point, to be modified up or down in the light of playtesting and experience.



Question: Isn't the model listed as being Asmodai on page 41 in the 'Eavy Metal section of the Codex really Sapphon? Sapphon is described as having a power sword, which this model clearly has, while Asmodai carries the Blades of Reason instead. Also, can't the robes shown on the model only be worn by Grand Masters of the Dark Angels such as Sapphon?

Answer: The model shown in the Codex is Asmodai. Jes decided to give him a power sword because the model looked better with it, and I said it was OK as the upgrade was allowed by the rules. The reason you can't see the Blades of Reason is that they are actually quite small (I imagine them to be rather like a complex Swiss army penknife!) and are hidden under Asmodai's robes. He's not holding them as they are generally only used when Asmodai interrogates one of The Fallen. I've included a card for them because they were mentioned in the colour text about Asmodai, and because they add depth and interest to the character. As to Asmodai's robes, these are worn by most of the senior officers and Chaplains in the Dark Angels Chapter, not just Grand Masters.

By the way, please note that there is an error in the Asmodai Wargear section, where it mentions Sapphon. This is a mistake (it should read Asmodai), damn that cut and paste function!



Question: What are the feathers and strange icons on the Deathwing Terminator models?

Answer: The appearance of the Deathwing (ie their white armour, icons and feathers) is in honour of a group of Deathwing Terminators that single-handedly saved their homeworld from the terrors of a Genestealer invasion.

At that time, the Dark Angels were recruiting from a planet where the population shared many of the traits of the Native American Indians of our own planet. However, this was not the Dark Angels' original homeworld, and neither is it the one that they recruit from at the present time (the fact that the Dark Angels live in The Rock, a vast spaceship constantly travelling the galaxy, means that they recruit from many different worlds).



Question: Why does Dante have a strategy rating of only 5? After all, he is meant to be over 1100 years old, and he did take supreme command during the Armageddon Campaign. Is this a mistake?

Answer: No it's not a mistake, Dante really does have a strategy rating of "only" 5. This is because although Dante is a forceful and dynamic leader, he lacks the deep strategic insight of commanders such as Marneus Calgar of the Ultramarines, or Azrael of the Dark Angels. This being said, Dante is an awesome leader, and the fact that he has been around for so long means that he is held in great respect and awe by his fellow commanders. This is why he was chosen as supreme commander at Armageddon, and is generally deferred to in similar circumstances. However, Dante is wise enough to know when to delegate jobs to others, and also when to listen to the advice of his colleagues. Thus, for example, if Dante and Azrael were taking part in a joint operation, although Azrael would defer to Dante as supreme commander, Dante would certainly allow Azrael to plan the operation and would listen carefully to any advice he might have.