Option #1:
Normally unbalanced weapons require 1 turn to re-ready after use. Using this optional rule allows players to make one attack per round at a penalty to ST. At the beginning of any round the player may "choke up" or "down" on the weapon handle, this requires 1 round or optionally the player may roll vs DX or his weapon skill (GM's choice). By "choking up" the player shortens his grip on the handle of the weapon so that the weapon may be swung faster but with less leverage. In game terms this means that the players effective ST = (ST + (ST - (Min ST for Weapon + 5) ) ).
EXAMPLE: Duawg the Dwarf wants to "choke up" on his axe to do some close combat with a nasty orc. Duawg has ST 14, DX 13 and is using an axe that has a minimum ST of 12. The GM has Duawg roll at the beginning of his turn vs DX to be able to "choke up" on the handle. Duawg rolls 11 and successfully "chokes up" on his axe handle. His effective ST while "choking up" on his axe is 11 = (14 + (14 - (12 + 5) ) ). So, instead of swinging for 2D+2 every other turn, he swings every turn for 1D+1. Chop, Chop, Chop, thud goes the bad orc.
Option #2:
A player wants to make an additional attack with an unbalanced weapon in the round following an attack. As in Option #1 it still takes 1 round to "choke up" or "choke down", unless either a DX roll or a skill roll is made. The target number for the Re-Ready roll is calculated using the formula (Weapon Skill Level + (ST - (Min Strength for Weapon + 5) ) ). This skill roll can never be higher than 14. At the beginning of his turn the player rolls vs the Re-Ready target number. If he fails then he must roll immediately on the Critical Miss Table (B202). If he succeeds then he may make as normal.
EXAMPLE: Duawg sees the companion to the orc he just killed and prepares to choke up" on his mighty axe once more. Duawg has ST 14, DX 13, Axe-15 and is using an axe that has a minimum ST of 12. The GM has Duawg roll at the beginning of his turn vs DX to be able to "choke up" on the handle. Duawg rolls 9 (good job Duawg!) and successfully "chokes up" on his axe handle. To successfully Re-Ready his axe Duawg must roll <= 12 = (15 + (14 - (12 + 5) ) ). Duuawg rolls 11 and Re-Readies his axe to swing this turn. Chop, Chop, Chop, thud another orc goes down.