Q:  If I play Cloning Process, and then in the next battle when it takes affect I play a Draw 3 Cards Discard Duplicates, do I still have to discard the duplicates?

A: Yes. The text of the special played later (in this case the one stating that you should discard duplicates) takes precedence.



Q: If I have Holocaust in reserve and the Event Hellfire Club Attacked (move attack made on front-line to reserve, may defend) comes up, can i keep any defensive specials (Impervious Crystal, Otherworldly Evil) I may have for Holocaust if he has a special already placed? Or do I discard them?

A: You may keep the defensive cards. However, don't forget that if a card is placed (like an avoid) to Holocaust and is now usable, then a copy of it held in hand would still be a duplicate and need to be discarded.



Q: Hold on I thought if you place a card on a person in the reserve it is not part of your hand and is therefore not a duplicate.  We have been playing that way for years and one of the first tournaments I went to I had a ruling saying it was not a duplicate.

A: Cards which are placed to the Reserve that can be played during the Battle are considered toward duplicates for the hand.  Examples of this are Hawkeye's Dynamite Delivery, Spider-Woman's Rescue Operation, a Power card placed on Deathbird in Reserve, or a Teamwork placed on Kingpin in Reserve.

Cards placed to the Reserve which have no chance of becoming playable during the Battle are not considered toward duplicates for the hand.  Examples of this are Specials, Power cards, Universe cards, etc., placed to the Reserve, when there are no Inherent Abilities around that give them a chance to come into play.

Keep in mind that we're only talking about this for when the Character is still in the Reserve position.  In the battle after a Front Line Character gets KO'd, the Reserve's move to the Front happens before the Draw Phase, and any cards placed to that Character now count toward duplication for the hand drawn.


Q: The Trickster's "The Shell Game" special reads: "Target character must choose 1 card from Trickster's hand.  If card is an attack, then target is hit.  If not, chosen card is discarded to the Power Pack." So, for example, if Trickster attacked a character with the Shell Game, and an Avoid 1 Attack special were chosen from the Hand, then that means that the Avoid 1 attack special would be discarded to the Power Pack, making it available for redraw once you get into the Power Pack?

A: Correct.