Q: My opponent had his Danger Seeker KC in play so I was only able to target my attacks onto Grunge.  He wanted to stall and play something to "skip" his turn (need I say he was using Onslaught's Citadel?) so he plays a Dark Beast Activator to pull Acrobatics ("only attacks made with a Universe card may be played against {Character} for r.o.b.") from the Battlesite and play it offensively onto not Grunge but his Teammate, Zealot.  I told him that this play shouldn't be legal arguing that I couldn't target Zealot even if I wanted to because of his KC.  He didn't
see a problem with the play obviously, but eventually backtracked and pulled a Negate to remove a Special hit from a record somewhere.  Who would the official rules support in this scenario?

A: A KC Special only affects who you can target, it should not alter who I could target. Take a different card, for example - Baron Von Strucker. If KC is in play on Leader does that mean I cannot have Hydra play their card? I wouldn't see that argument. The argument MIGHT be able to be made for cards that target a character, like Trick Transport, but in the end I don't think I would rule that way since KC is so specific to state who is affected by the card.



Q: If I had Velocity as my last character and she was still in reserve, would that mean that if my opponent doesn't have cards enabling him to attack the reserve in his deck that it would basically be impossible for him to beat me?

{A question that comes to my mind when reading king's question relates to the ruling: "If, by playing a Special card, a player removes their own last front line Character from play (e.g., by moving them into reserve) then the battle is immediately over and that player loses the Venture."  We usually see this as a last-ditch play to immediately move the last Character back to immediately end the battle, but what about if Telepathic Manipulator gets played by White Queen on her teammate Velocity to shunt her back to Reserve, then WQ takes a hit to get KO'd...does the previous turn play of TM lose her the Battle even if she has more points on Venture Total?
Please write back with an answer to that situation and king's question... Thanks...  ---GDMJR}

A: As soon as the frontline is KO'd the battle is over. Period. I ko your last character that is it. End of battle. No follow up attack, even if it is required ala teamwork.

If I cause the battle to be over because I am removing my last front line character (e.g., via TM) then I forfeit venture. In the scenario you describe, that is not the case - you are causing my frontline to be removed by ko'ing White Queen.



Q: Could you re-explain the ruling on the Zealot card that allow you to keep cards that may be playable in the battle. I had a very vague explanation of it at the last tournament that I was in.

A: I wasn't at your tournament so I don't know exactly what you're talking about.  But I suspect you're referring to Zealot's Sister Support since I've seen some vague writing on the 'net about keeping cards because of this Special (Hi, Stryfe, howz it goin'!).  I don't see what all the fuss is
about.  Sister Support is either in play or it isn't; if it isn't in play yet, you still have to discard cards as normal in the Discard Phase before the Battle begins.  If during a Battle, Zealot takes a turn to put Sister Support into play by putting it with an appropriate Power card, then, great, for the remainder of game her Team can keep duplicates of that exact Power card.  I don't see how this Special should allow you to keep anything unusual just because you've drawn it or have it placed.



Q: If Darkness' "Shadow Motion" (Acts as a level 4 Energy attack, may be played from Reserve. If successful, The Darkness may continue to attack while in Reserve) gets through, can The Darkness only play attacks, i.e. cards which cross the invisible line, or can he make any offensive move,
like playing an Artifact or Demigod of Darkness?

A: This question almost begs for an official ruling but I'll field it since the answer is pretty self explanatory; feel free to ask OPGame if you dispute it, I really don't mind.

The wording is very specific that The Darkness may continue to "attack". Artifacts and Demigod only affect himself or his teammates and are not considered attacks.  I think the optimum use of Shadow Motion is that after it's successful he can throw Killing Touches, Teamworks, Power cards, etc. (or if he had one, something like a "Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle") at the opponent's guys.

The controversial point on this card is that since it's a non-OPD that doesn't state its duration, the effect of being able to attack from Reserve, I guess, only lasts for remainder of Battle.  Bummer huh.



Q: I've got some questions from some fellow players that I don't know if I can or should answer or not, about the workings of Linkstone.  An official statement on the more exact limits of the card is in order, I hope you can provide me with such.  Here are those questions that it should deal with:
"Can the Linkstone holder discard a card and play something placed to an Opponent's Character?" "Does Linkstone allow a Character to make an extra move?" {your guess is as good as mine as to what they are asking, but it may tie into the next one...} "Can the Linkstone Team Place all of their cards and then repeatedly discard a card for each Placed card and play out all of them in one turn?"

A: Linkstone basically allows the user of the Linkstone to play a card placed to a teammate (not an opponent's teammate) instead of one of their own. They can do this at anytime that they would normally play a card. The cost of doing so is discarding one card from the draw pile to the dead pile.

Hopefully, that answers your questions. In case it doesn't, here are direct responses:
Can they use an opponent's placed card? - No
Can they make an extra move? - No
Can they place everything and then play then all at once? - No.



Q: Say I've played Darkness' "Shadow Motion" (Acts as a level 4 Energy attack, may be played from Reserve. If successful, The Darkness may continue to attack while in Reserve) and it gets through. If I've got an Invisible Woman "Team Co-Ordination" (Acts as a level 3 Intellect attack. Each Front Line teammate may make 1 additional attack) activator, can Darkness play it, and so have 3 additional attacks made?

A: No. Shadow Motion does not alter Darkness' state of being in Reserve.



Q: I think I know the answer to this one, but. . . When playing Fairchild's Fist Full of Danger (JC), can I use an Any Hero special as my follow-up attack? I am guessing that I can not.

A: Correct. Any Hero cards cannot be used as follow up attacks.



Q: Fairchild plays her Fistful of Danger (JC) and follows up with a teammate's JW. Yes or No: she gets to make a Power card follow up that can't be blocked by a Special.

A: Yes. When Fairchild plays that follow-up Special, it is as if it is her Special, just like it would be if she played something via an Activator.



Q: On Spawn's special, Living Costume, it states:  Target Teammate may play any Spawn Special cards for remainder of game. By the wording of the card I would gather that the hero that this special is played on can play the specials, but not place them. Is this correct?

A: No. With Living Costume in play, any Spawn Special can be used by the target character as if it were their own - so it can be placed.



Q: If i play the Darkness' Demigod of the Dark on Zealot and play Zealot's Kherubim? My opponent Can't negate Demigod of the Dark (because he/she can't play negates) until Kherubim is negated, but Kherubim can't be negated. Is this true? This combo eliminates all of opponent's negates?

A: Correct.



Q: If you play Demigod Of The Dark on one of your characters and it is successful, can it still be negated later in the game offensively?

A: The opponent can negate Demigod Of The Dark on his turn at any time after it was played, as long as The Darkness had played it onto another of his Teammates.  But if he had played it onto himself then it would become utterly un-negateable.  Luckily Demigod only prevents negation of that Character's actual Specials; any Battlesite cards or Any Hero/Characters played by that Character can still be defensively negated as normal.



Q: Why would it be uneatable only against Darkness?

A: Demigod Of The Dark reads "Target Character's Special cards may not be Negated for remainder of game".  When Darkness successfully plays it onto one of his Teammates, then that other Character's Special cards cannot be Negated.  This does not prevent the opponent from playing a Negate against the Demigod card itself, so they can legally negate Demigod offensively on their turn and then they will be able to negate the other Character's Specials.  The only loophole here is that when The Darkness successfully plays Demigod onto himself, which is a perfectly legal play, then none of The Darkness' Specials can be Negated.  This of course includes Demigod itself.  Fine, his Killing Touches and Shadow Motions can't be defended by Negates, it's not too powerful of a play especially since it takes a non-Venture turn to get into play...



 Q: What's up with follow-up attacks?  Do you only get ONE SINGLE attack after an AA special, and lose any attacks after the second one?  I had the Living Costume on Invisible Woman, played the GJ 4-multi make one additional and followed with her 3-Intel FE special, but was told that her teammates couldn't follow.  I thought the rule only applied to follow-up attacks made BY teammates that had follow-ups attached. Should I have gotten four attacks from that combination (really five attacks because I started it with an Ally card)?

A: As of right now there's one and only one way that follow-up attacks are lost, and that's after FE, teammates are restricted to one attack only. In other words, your thinking is correct.  Ally + GJ + FE + 1stTm + 2ndTm is perfectly legal.  Here's the MetaRule from overpower.com's Guide To Specials that back us up on this:

(9) Specials that allow a follow up can be played after another Special that allows a follow up. If a Special allows for teammates to make follow-up attacks, then any follow-up actions allowed by Specials played as aresult of that are all lost. If the Special granting a follow up has been played following a non-Special card (like an Ally card) then the follow up attacks are not lost.


Q: How does "Living Costume" or a card like it play from a Battlesite as my OPD?  Can I name anyone to play one front-line character's specials?

A: Any card played out of the Battlesite gets its names replaced with the name of the Team Character who is using the Special now.  If Spider-Man plays a Spawn Activator to get "Living Costume", it now reads "Target Teammate may play any Spider-Man Special cards for remainder of game."


Q: I have just one quick question: If an opponent plays a card like Zealot's Warrior Soul, would Lil' Iceman make the opponent have to discard that card even if it hits? The card does say that "Zealots team may not attack for remainder of battle." Just wanted to know.

A: Yes it would be discarded and the effect would go away as well.