Q: When I retrieve something back from a dead pile, e.g.. with Web-Headed Wizard, do I have to show my opponent what card I retrieve (since the dead pile is open for the other player to see)?

A: No, it is not open for them (or you) to see. The opponent MAY ask a judge to view the draw to ensure that no cheating (keeping dupes) is going on, but they may not see the drawn card.



Q: Elektra has her Ninja Trap (BS) in play and gets attacked with a level 3 Power card that is getting a +1 bonus from a Teamwork.  She blocks with a level 4 Power card.  Does this work to deflect the defensive hit back on the attacker? The logic can easily be made that she is blocking "a Power card attack with an equal value Power card" (because of the word "attack").

A: A Power card attack is an attack that is made with a Power card and nothing but a Power card. An attack made with a Teamwork card is not a Power card attack. It does not work.

However, let's say Mojo attacks her with a level 3 MultiPower Power card (Mojo's Inherent is that he is +1 to attacks with MultiPower Power cards). In order for her to be able to block that attack, she needs to play a 4 or more. But, if she plays a 4, then she does not fulfill the condition of the
Special (blocking the attack with a Power card of equal value). However if she had something like Mysterio's Mist and Mirrors in play (+1 to all actions), then when she plays the power card of equal value, then she defends the hit and it reverses onto the attacker.



Q: If your playing New Lease on Life (Shuffle dead pile and power pack into drawpile) can Holocaust's Devastate prevent your opponent from shuffling his deadpile into the drawpile? Please tell me yes.

A: Yes.  Play Devastate to remove their Dead Pile from the game.  This effectively prevents it from become part of the reshuffle if it comes up later. Good call.



Q: What happens if you play Black Cat's card kiss of death (level 3 energy attack, cannot be defended by a male hero) against a team hero card? Most teams have both male and female members!

A: The card can only not be defended by a male character. Therefore a character which is not male and female (as with a team card) or is neither male nor female (as with a neuter card - e.g., Sentinels) then it can be defended by that character. 


Q: Does there have to be a reserve character for Metallo's I Will Be Right Back to work?

A: No.  I'll Be Back can be used to remove all Hits from Metallo and shunt him back into the empty Reserve position.  If Metallo was the last Character on his Front Line, however, this would forfeit his Venture and he would lose the Battle immediately.

MetaRule: (131) If, by playing a Special card, a player removes their own last front line Character from play (e.g., by moving them into reserve) then the battle is immediately over and that player loses the Venture.


Q: If you have a character in reserve and you place a power card or any card on them. then they come to the front line and you get a duplication your hand of that card is it considered a non duplicate because it was placed on them while they were in reserve, or is it now a duplicate
because they are no longer reserve?

A: Yes to the last part.  The Reserve moves to the Front Line before the new Hand is drawn.  They are now a Front Line Character and all cards placed to them count toward duplication when it comes to the Discard Phase.


Q: After a GA hits a character can that character use Activators afterwards?

A: The GA affected Character would not be able to use any Special cards at all, which includes Any-Heroes and cards from the Battlesite.  The Activators are still playable by their teammates so hopefully your Battlesite defense is flexible, because the GA affected Character will need some "teammate avoids" to save him.


Q: Alright this team I put together has Spawn, Cable, Professor X, and 3 stat Morph.  Tournament legal.  I have living costume played on Prof X, and I play Morph's one per where it acts like one special card on the table.  Can I use it like Spawns Living Costume but change it to where target character can play Cable Specials?

A: No, I don't see how that last part would be possible.  Power Mimic could copy Living Costume, but Morph has to be the one playing it so it will work like "Target Teammate may play any Morph Special cards".  There are combos possible to make Cable Specials playable by someone else, but not the way you're looking at here.  Keep trying.


Q: Ok the Morph Mimic one per, since it can't copy that way can it be played the following way: Living Costume is played on Prof. X  Morph's Mimic is played  acts identical to any special card on the table. Therefor I could play it on cable to mimic Living Costume and Cable could play spawn specials,  It is acting identical to living costume, but is it legal?

A: Morph's Power Mimic works somewhat like a card played out of the Battlesite; imagine that any names on the copied card now say "Morph".  Power Mimic copying Living Costume is now "Target Teammate may play Morph Specials".  So whoever Mimic-as-Costume is played onto can now play Morph Specials, not necessarily Spawn Specials (unless he's also the lucky recipient of the actual Living Costume).


Q: What can be done after passing?  Can I play an artifact, placed or in hand?  Can I play a non-attacking special, like Cassidy Keep or Luck of the Irish?  Can I play Fortress of Solitude or Web-Headed Wizard?  Can I play Run From Slaughter?  Can I negate a hit off my permanent record?

A: After passing, there are only two options.  Pass again, or concede.  That is all.  Most players were taking actions that didn't pass the imaginary line between them and the opponent after passing, up until only earlier this year, when we were corrected by an article on overpower.com.


Q: When you use "Infinite Gauntlet" to resurrect a KO'd character, where does the resurrected character go when you already have three characters in your front line?

A: Since that character is automatically KO'd at the end of the battle, the character would be placed on the front line, even with 3 other characters there already.