History of Currency Notes
Year Country


America The United States dollar, or American dollar, is the official currency of the United States. Commonly used dollar sign in U.S. is dollar sign ($).
Bahrain The Bahraini Dinar is the official currency of Bahrain. The dinar was introduced in 1965.
Bangladesh The Taka is the official currency of Bangladesh. Also, in neighboring India, speakers of Bengali and Assamese use the term taka to refer to the Indian Rupee
Brunei The Brunei dollar is pegged to the Singapore dollar at a 1:1 trade ratio. It is also known as ringgit locally in Malay. 
China The renminbi  is the official currency in the mainland of the People's Republic of China  It is issued by the People's Bank of China, 
Egypt All Egyptian banknotes are bilingual, with Arabic texts and Arabic-Indic numerals on one side, and English and European numbers on the other. 
Hong Kong The Hong Kong dollar is the currency of the Hong Kong 
India The Indian Rupee is the official currency of India. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India. The most commonly used symbol for the Rupee is Rs.

In most parts of India, the Rupee is known as the Rupee, Rupaye, Rubai, or one of other terms derived from the Sanskrit rupya, meaning silver. However, in the Bengali and Assamese languages, spoken in Assam, Tripura, and West Bengal, the Rupee is known as a Taka, and is written as such on Indian banknotes
Indonesia The name derives from the Indian monetary unit. The rupiah was first introduced during the World War II Japanese occupation. 
Laos Kip is the currency of Laos. By it is abbreviated as LAK. One Kip is divided in 100 At.
Malaya and British Borneo
Malaysia First issue banknotes was released in June 1967 in $1, $5, $10, $50, and $100 denominations. The $1000 denomination was issued in September 1968. The second issue was released with Malaysian traditional ornamental designs from August 1982 to January 1984, in RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20, RM50, RM100, RM500, and RM1000 denominations. The RM1 banknotes was replaced with RM1 coins on 1 January 1993. The current third issue was released with Wawasan 2020 designs from February 1996 to 1999, in RM1, RM5, RM10, RM50 and RM100 denominations. There are no longer any RM500 and RM1000 denominations. 2004 new issued of RM10 note with additional security features and a new polymer RM5 note.
Nepal The Nepalese Rupee is the currency used in Nepal.
Oman The Omani rial is the official currency of Oman. It is divided into 1000 baisa. 
North, Korea The won is the currency of North Korea. It is subdivided into 100 chon. 
Pakistan The Pakistani rupee is the currency of Pakistan. 
Philippines The Philippine peso is the official currency of the Philippines. The word piso derives from the Spanish word peso.
Saudi Arabia The Saudi riyal is the official currency of Saudi Arabia.
Singapore The dollar SGD is the currency of Singapore. It is abbreviated with the dollar sign $ or S$.
South, Korea The won is the currency of South Korea. It is subdivided into 100 jeon. 
Srilanka The rupee is the official currency of , divided into 100 cents. Rupee was introduced in 1870 before that British pound was Ceylon's official currency. It is issued by the Central Bank of Sri Lanka. 
Thailand Baht is the official currency of Thailand. It is divided into 100 satang. The issuance of currency is the responsibility of the Bank of Thailand
Vietnam Dong is the currency of Vietnam. It is issued by the State Bank of Vietnam. 


Home Page

This Website Design and created by: Webmaster
First created on : July 2005