JUNY "The Hawaiian WebMaster" P. LA PUTT

The Medal of Valor is the highest military award given by the Armed Forces of the Philippines. It is the equivalent to the Congressional Medal of Honor of the United States of America. This award is given by direction of the Philippine President, in pursuance to paragraph 1-6a, Section II, Chapter 1, Armed Forces of the Philippines Regulations G131-053, General Headquarters, Armed forces of the Philippines, Camp General Emilio Aguinaldo, Quezon City, dated 1 July 1986.

Among the graduates of the Philippine Military Academy, nine are known to have received this prestigious award; three were graduates of the pre-war period (1914, 1915, and 1943) when it was then known as the Philippine Constabulary Academy, and 6 belonged to classes in the post-war period (1979, 1987, 1988, and 1998) with three recipients belonging to the Class of 1987. The following alumni were the recipients of the award:

The medal is the most prestigious award attainable by military personnel and is given to those who served their country with courage, daring initiative, and unwavering devotion to duty in the face of extreme personal danger. It is also given in recognition of their gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of their lives, above and beyond the call of duty which reflects the highest credit upon themselves and enhances the finest traditions of the Armed Forces of the Philippines.


You Are Visitor No. Since Nov. 5, 2000

1 1