The Heidegger Collection

Abstract from the dissertation:

Tung-Lung Lin, The Heidegger Collection. Doctor of Musical Arts (Music Composition), December, 1999, 300 pp., 21 tables, 100 examples, bibliography, 30 titles. The dissertation consists of two parts: (1) the essay and (2) the composition. The essay elucidates the composer's creative process of the orchestral works, The Heidegger Collection. The Heidegger Collection has five movements. The titles of each movement are derived from the key philosophical concepts from Heidegger's most significant writing, Being and Time: (1) State-of-Mind, (2) Idle-Talk, (3) Moment-of-Vision, (4) Dread, and (5) Being-towards-the-End. The essay discusses the meanings of the five concepts, and explains how I express my reaction to Heidegger's thinking through music composition. The essay also discusses the essential musical language of The Heidegger Collection, such as interval cycles, polyrhythmic patterns, algorithmic elements, portamento effects, chaos theory, and oriental influence.

Dissertation: The Heidegger Collection by Tung-Lung Lin (2000)

Divisions File Names Descriptions
Part 1 part1.pdf Abstract and tables of contents
Part 2 part2.pdf The main body of the essay.
Part 3 part3.pdf Appendix
Part 4 part4.pdf Title page and performance note for the music score.
Part 5 mov1.pdf 1st Movement: State-of-Mind
Part 6 mov2.pdf 2nd movement: Idle-Talk
Part 7 mov3.pdf 3rd movement: Moment-of-Vision
Part 8 mov4.pdf 4th movement: Dread
Part 9 mov5.pdf 5th movement: Being-towards-the-End
URL for dissertations:

Copyright by Tung-Lung Lin

Last updated: Feb. 1, 2001.