1. Buying Ranks 2. Strength Training 3. Volunteering 4. Influence 5. Mistress Carousing 6. Mistress Courting 7. Loans 8. Hosting Parties |
9. Appointments 10. Appointments 11. Bravery and Poltroonery 12. Character Sheets 13. Duel Arrangements 14. Applications on Campaign 15. Influence in Trials 16. Frontier |
Q.1 If joining a regiment as a Captain, do I have to pay the purchase price for the rank of Subaltern as well as Captain?
A.1 Yes.
Q.2 If I spend a week doing strength training and my highest weapon expertise is the same for 2 or more weapons, do I get to choose which expertise suffers the 5 point loss?
A.2 Yes, if you state so in your orders. Otherwise the GM will choose whichever one that seems to be in your best interests. Note that it is the exp levels at the time you do the strength training that count, so any changes through duel results or practice in the month may change which weapon has the highest exp.
Q.3 Can I volunteer my Company for duty at the front?
A.3 No, the smallest sized unit that can volunteer/be volunteered is a Battalion/Squadron.
Q.4 Can I use influence/bribes to increase the chance of getting into a regiment or be accepted as a Theology Student?
A.4 No.
Q.5 According to the House Rules, if you take a wealthy mistress to a club or party you must pay her carousing cost, but if you take a wealthy mistress to church she pays her own collection money. Is this right?
A.5 Yes it is. It may seem inconsistent, but who said women are rational? (I mean 17th century women, of course...) Also, a mistress will carouse if taken to a club, even if her escort does not.
Q.6 Can I court a mistress whose SL is more than 6 higher than mine?
A.6 No.
Q.7 Can I repay a loan from the shylocks and take out a new one in the same month?
A.7 Yes, as long as only one loan is oustanding with the shylocks at a time. So you can not take out a new loan with the shylocks to repay an old one, but you can borrow money from other characters to repay a loan and then borrow some more in the same month.
Q.8 How do I host a party?
A.8 Firstly, you must have somewhere to stage it - either your club or at your property. Secondly, you must let people know when and where it is, who is invited, and any costs involved. This can either be to the press or by e-mail for private gatherings. Finally, of course, you must actually include it in your orders, with time, location, guest list, and details of costs involved and who is paying carousing costs. You should also order, and let potential guests know, whether mistresses are allowed and being paid for.
Q.9 Can I seek an NPC's resignation and apply for their appointment in the same month?
A.9 Yes, as long as both are announced beforehand.
Q.10 Can I use my appointment influence to try to get re-appointed in the same post when it expires?
A.10 Yes.
Q.11 How exactly are the bravery/poltroonery instructions applied?
A.11 Firstly, rolling over the death roll on 2d6 leads to death, while equalling it leads to 'dicing with death'. The death roll number is dependent on the unit's battle result (actual details are not included in the house rules as it doesn't really matter how) and is modified for rank, regt, command status and so on. Note that these modifiers apply to the death roll number, NOT the number rolled on the 'electronic' dice. This then gives a modified death roll which any bravery/poltroonery orders are judged against. Take a private in the Royal Marines who has an unmodified death roll of 9. This is modified to a 10 (+1 regt mod for RM).
If he is very cautious he may have ordered:
'if death roll under 12, increase it to 12' (i.e. Poltroon=12)
This would mean that he is applying a +2 poltroonery modifier (from 10+ to 12+) making death less likely, but leading to the possible drawbacks of being caught. The greater the modifier taken, the worse are the chances of being caught. All these effects are the same, regardless of the actual number that is rolled on the dice.
Now assuming the same chap was hell bent on death or glory, he might have ordered something like:
'if death roll is over 8, reduce it to 8' (i.e. Bravery=8)
This would mean he is applying a -2 bravery modifier (from 10+ to 8+), making death much more likely, but giving him a -2 (i.e. a favourable) modifier to his chances of getting promoted, mentioned, and picking up loot.
In general, people tend to be less brave the longer the character has been active, although it's always worth being brave down to 12, as a 12 always has some 'death' effect, even if the modified death roll is over 12.
Of course, the level of risk you want to subject your character to is up to you, but the following might be a sensible order:
Bravery=11, Poltroon=9
Although this will depend on the character (whether he is prepared to be a coward or if this is unacceptable to him), the rank and regt modifiers that will apply (someone in a safer regt can afford to be more conservative), and the kind of battle results that are likely to be cropping up. For example a private in the 4th Arquebusiers invloved in an Attack deployment with a regt CO who has a MA of 1, is going to be facing a pretty low death roll anyway in all probability. Being enough of a coward to ensure survival in that situation would almost certainly mean being noticed and court martialled.
Q.12 Why do costs and SP changes appear on my character sheet even though I am at the front?
A.12 This is because of the system I use. Even though such numbers appear on the character sheet, expenses are not paid and SPs do not change if at the front (exception - the current SP tally is altered for press awards and results of duels fought before departing for the front).
Q.13 What determines the order in which multiple duels are fought in a given month?
A.13 The order is as they are listed in the Matters of Honour section of the Gazette. This is: those held over from a previous month, those due to challenges that have been voted for, those arising from week 1 of the previous month, then week 2 and so on. Ties are resolved randomly.
Q.14 Can I apply for an appointment if I am at the front?
A.14 Yes, unless you are only at the front because of your current appointment, or the new appointment would require your presence in Paris (e.g., fencing school instructors, 'full-time' government appointments).
Q.15 Can I use influence to affect a trial outcome?
A.15 Of course. The influence acts as a modifier to the die roll needed for a conviction. For a court martial, such a modifier can result in NPCs arriving at a different verdict to each other even though only one roll is made for the NPCs. Example - assume a court martial is being judged by an NPC major and two NPC captains and the number required to be found guilty is 8+. If two level 1 favours are used to persuade the two captains to arrive at a not guilty verdict, then a roll of 8 would lead to a 2-1 decision in favour of the accused while a roll of 9 would give a 3-0 decision for a conviction.
Q.16 If I am at the front with a frontier regiment and my own unit arrives at the front which am I considered to be serving with?
A.16 With your own parent unit, unless serving a sentence at the frontier.